EXAMINER’S NOTE: The claims have been reviewed and considered under the new guidance pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG 2019) issued January 7, 2019.
This communication is in response to Applicant’s claims filed on 25 April 2025. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 recites “A computer-readable storage medium storing instructions” and “an apparatus, comprising the processor and performing zero-knowledge proof” it is unclear whether applicant intended to claim a computer readable medium or an apparatus claim as both are cited in the preamble. In addition, while reviewing the Applicant’s specification, the computer-readable storage medium is defined as a storage means in the form of a single piece of hardware or a combination of multiple pieces of hardware which isn’t a signal, See page 35, lines 18-25 but the specification does not explicitly exclude signal or limit the medium to the computer-readable storage medium is deemed non-transitory. Appropriate correction is required. 20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements respectfully submitted on 25 April 2025 and 15 December 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dung Bui et al. “Improved All-But-One Vector Commitment with Applications to Post-Quantum Signatures”.
Referring to the rejection of claim 1, Dung Bui et al. discloses a method for performing zero-knowledge proof using a computing apparatus, the method comprising: (See Dung Bui et al., Abstract, i.e., an improved all-but-one vector commitment scheme using MPC-in-the-Head and VOLE-in-the-Head techniques for constructing post-quantum signatures from zero-knowledge proof systems)
configuring, by a signatory, based on a secret key, a binary tree comprising a second child node produced based on an XOR operation result of a first child node, among child nodes located at level N+1 (where, N ≥ 1) with respect to a parent node located at level N, and the parent node; (See Dung Bui et al., pages 5 and 9-11, Figures 2 and 4, Sections 2.2 and 4.1, i.e., for a parent x, the left child is constructed using H(x) and the right child is constructed using H(x) ⊕ x as disclosed in Figure 2. The root sd is first expanded into two children X0,X1 using a length doubling PRG. Then, the intermediate nodes are computed the same way as in a correlated GGM tree using a CCR hash function Hccr where the correlation ∆=X0⊕X1 is defined by the first level nodes. Finally, once the tree is expanded, derive both a message sdi and a commitment comi using the same Hccr (and not a random oracle) while taking care to break the correlation with ∆ so that revealing of all the commitments does not leak additional information. To maintain security, we modify the way to compute the commitment comi, instead of calling Hccr once, we use the concatenation of two Hccr calls to extend the length of comi to be 2λ, this helps us to avoid a collision attack in the commitment scheme against the binding property. We then formally prove that our VCHT construction satisfies hiding and straight-line extractable binding. Specifically, the original all-but-one vector commitment construction relies on the random oracle model for its security proof. This is because in the proof we need to create the secret un-opened leaf using the CCR oracle without knowing the nodes leading to the secret leaf. Specifically, we define (sdi = Hccr(Xi),comi := Hccr(Xi ⊕1)∥Hccr(Xi ⊕2) where Xi is corresponding parent in previous layer. The final commitment com to the tree is still computed using the random oracle H1 as in the FAEST specification. Suppose the secret path is j∗ = (1,0), we sample the first off-path node X $ ← {0,1}λ. Then the second off-path node X(1,1) ← Hccr(X ⊕∆)⊕(X ⊕∆) can be computed using Occr(X,1) ⊕ X. Next we need to compute the secret seed sd(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)) and commitment com(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕1)∥Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕2). Example of how to use Occr to construct a VC opening where the secret path is (1, 0), i.e., traverse right and then traverse left as disclosed in Figure 4)
transmitting, by the signatory, to a verifier, data for verification configured based on a plurality of nodes comprising some leaf nodes, excluding one or more leaf nodes, among all leaf nodes of the binary tree; (See Dung Bui et al., pages 4-6, Sections 2.1-2.3, i.e., Consider the GGM-based punturable pseudorandom function where one party has a master sd and then expands it into a binary tree of depth log2 N with N leaves {sd0,...,sdN−1} by using a length-doubling PRG. To reveal all the seeds except sdi, for a given i, the party only needs to send log2N nodes on the co-path from the root sd to the i-th leave. Taking advantage of correlated GGM trees, we propose an all-but-one vector commitment construction VCHT revealing of all the commitments does not leak additional information. To maintain security, we modify the way to compute the commitment comi, instead of calling Hccr once, we use the concatenation of two Hccr calls to extend the length of comi to be 2λ, this helps us to avoid a collision attack in the commitment scheme against the binding property. We then formally prove that our VCHT construction satisfies hiding and straight-line extractable binding. Specifically, the original all-but-one vector commitment construction relies on the random oracle model for its security proof in both signing and verification times)
and proving that the signatory possesses the secret key, based on the transmitted data for verification. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 3-4, Section 1.2.1-1.2.2, i.e., the HVZK proof of knowledge of ⃗x such that f(⃗x) = 1 is constructed as follows: Prover additively shares the witness ⃗x into (⃗x1,..., ⃗xN) among N virtual parties (P1,··· ,PN) and emulate the MPC protocol “in the head”. Prover sends commitments to the view of each party to the verifier. Verifier chooses randomly (N −1) parties and asks Prover to open the view of these parties except one. Verifier later accepts if all the views are consistent with an honest execution of MPC protocol with output 1 and the commitment. If the prover holds (⃗u,⃗v) and the verifier holds (⃗w,∆) such that the correlation ⃗w = ⃗u∆ −⃗v holds, it is possible to create a very efficient ZK proof for circuits. The prover commits to (⃗u,⃗v) and then runs the VOLE-based proof system with the verifier. At the end, the verifier sends the challenge ∆ which then allows it to compute ⃗w. The procedure above makes use of an all-but-one vector commitment (VC) scheme)
Referring to the rejection of claims 2 and 12, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein, in the configuring, the first child node is produced by applying a hash function to the parent node and a given first salt value. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 7-8 and 10, Section 3.2 and Definition 4, and Figure 3, i.e., A CCR hash function can be constructed from a fixed-key block cipher (e.g., AES) modelled as a random permutation and a linear orthomorphism [GKWY20]. Specifically, the construction Hccr(x) = AES(σ(x)) + σ(x) is proven to be secure, where σ is the linear orthomorphism. Let VC be a vector commitment constructed from two hash functions H1 and Hccr and let Ext be a PPT algorithm defined as: • Ext(pp,(Q1,Qπ),com) → (sdi)i∈[N]: given an instance of VC public parameters pp, query-response lists Q1 and Qπ, and a commitment com ∈ C, return the messages committed to by com)
Referring to the rejection of claim 3, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein, in the configuring, the first child node is produced by applying a block cipher to the parent node. (See Dung Bui et al., page 7, Section 3.2, i.e., A CCR hash function can be constructed from a fixed-key block cipher (e.g., AES) modelled as a random permutation and a linear orthomorphism [GKWY20]. Specifically, the construction Hccr(x) = AES(σ(x)) + σ(x) is proven to be secure, where σ is the linear orthomorphism. The authors give two efficient constructions for the linear orthomorphism. (1) If x is in a finite field, then we can define σ(x) = c · x, where c ̸ = {0,1}. (2) In the bit-vector representation, another orthomorphism can be defined as σ(xl∥xr) = (xl ⊕xr)∥xl)
Referring to the rejection of claims 4 and 13, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein the configuring comprises: producing an XOR operation result (= first operation value) of the parent node and a given 2-1st salt value; producing a first output value by applying the block cipher to the first operation value and a given 2-2nd salt value; and producing the first child node, based on an XOR operation result (= second operation value) of a second output value of a predetermined first function for the parent node and the first output value. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 7 and 9-10, Sections 3.1, 4, and 4.1, i.e., The random permutation model (RPM) assumes that all parties have oracle access to a public permutation π: {0,1}n → {0,1}n (selected at random from the set of permutations) and its inverse π−1. An ideal cipher is an ideal primitive that models a random block cipher E: {0,1}λ ×{0,1}n → {0,1}n. Each key k ∈ {0,1}λ defines a random permutation Ek = E(k,.) on {0,1}n. The ideal primitive provides oracle access to E and E−1; that is, on query (0,k,m), the primitive answers c = Ek(m), and on query (1,k,c), the primitive answers m such that c = Ek(m). Modelling a fixed-key block cipher as a random permutation. This is because in the proof we need to create the secret un-opened leaf using the CCR oracle without knowing the nodes leading to the secret leaf. Specifically, we define (sdi = Hccr(Xi),comi := Hccr(Xi ⊕1)∥Hccr(Xi ⊕2) where Xi is corresponding parent in previous layer. The final commitment com to the tree is still computed using the random oracle H1 as in the FAEST specification. All-but-one hiding security wherein we start with two nodes (X,X ⊕∆) in the correlated GGM tree, we show an example of how to construct inputs for adversary A using the CCR oracle Occr, i.e., without knowing ∆. Suppose the secret path is j∗ = (1,0), we sample the first off-path node X $ ← {0,1}λ. Then the second off-path node X(1,1) ← Hccr(X ⊕∆)⊕(X ⊕∆) can be computed using Occr(X,1) ⊕ X. Next we need to compute the secret seed sd(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)) and commitment com(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕1)∥Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕2). This can be done using calls to Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X,0) and Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X ⊕ 1,0). Observe that in the real world, Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X,0) = Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)), as desired. Using Occr with a fixed second input 0 for the left and the right child is a trick that bypasses the need to compute the parent of (sd(1,0),com(1,0))
Referring to the rejection of claims 5 and 14, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein the first function is an orthomorphism function having a characteristic in which an output value for a given input value and an XOR operation result of the input value and the output value are permutations. (See Dung Bui et al., page 5, 2nd paragraph and page 7, Section 3.2, 2nd paragraph, i.e., ∆ and an ideal oracle that outputs the result of a random function. Existing instantiations of CCR-secure functions H are all based on a random permutation π : {0,1}λ → {0,1}λ and a linear orthomorphism σ : {0,1}λ → {0,1}λ, where λ is the security parameter. A CCR hash function can be constructed from a fixed-key block cipher (e.g., AES) modelled as a random permutation and a linear orthomorphism [GKWY20]. Specifically, the construction Hccr(x) = AES(σ(x)) + σ(x) is proven to be secure, where σ is the linear orthomorphism. The authors give two efficient constructions for the linear orthomorphism. (1) If x is in a finite field, then we can define σ(x) = c · x, where c ̸ = {0,1}. (2) In the bit-vector representation, another orthomorphism can be defined as σ(xl∥xr) = (xl ⊕xr)∥xl)
Referring to the rejection of claims 6 and 15, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein, in the configuring, the secret key is injected into a root node of the binary tree. (See Bung Dui et al., pages 10-11, i.e., we start with two nodes (X,X ⊕∆) in the correlated GGM tree, we show an example of how to construct inputs for adversary A using the CCR oracle Occr, i.e., without knowing ∆. Suppose the secret path is j∗ = (1,0), we sample the first off-path node X $ ← {0,1}λ. Then the second off-path node X(1,1) ← Hccr(X ⊕∆)⊕(X ⊕∆) can be computed using Occr(X,1) ⊕ X. Next we need to compute the secret seed sd(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)) and commitment com(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕1)∥Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕2). This can be done using calls to Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X,0) and Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X ⊕ 1,0). Observe that in the real world, Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X,0) = Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)), as desired. Using Occr with a fixed second input 0 for the left and the right child is a trick that bypasses the need to compute the parent of (sd(1,0),com(1,0)). View j∗ as the secret path in the tree in binary, i.e., j∗ = d i=12d+1−ibi. If bi = 0, it means traverse to the left child, otherwise traverse to the right child. 5. Assume w.l.o.g. b1 = 1, i.e., the secret path begins on the right sub-tree)
Referring to the rejection of claims 7 and 16, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein, in the configuring, the binary tree is a GGM (Goldreich-Goldwasser-Micali) tree. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 2 and 4, Section 1, 2nd-4th paragraphs, Section 2.1, and Figure 1, i.e., A common requirement between the two techniques, MPCitH and VOLEitH, is the need to commit to a set of randomness (e.g., transcript of the parties) and then to reveal all but one element in this set. This can be accomplished using GGM trees where a single seed is expanded to many leaves using a length-doubling PRG. Revealing all but one leaf then requires a communication cost that is only logarithmic in the total number of leaves since the prover can simply send the co-path to the verifier, and the verifier can expand the sub-trees defined by this co-path to obtain all the leaves except one. This work constructs an all-but-one vector commitment scheme using correlated GGM trees and demonstrates how it can be applied to post-quantum ZK proof systems and signature schemes. Consider the GGM-based punturable pseudorandom function where one party has a master sd and then expands it into a binary tree of depth log2 N with N leaves {sd0,...,sdN−1} by using a length-doubling PRG. To reveal all the seeds except sdi, for a given i, the party only needs to send log2N nodes on the co-path from the root sd to the i-th leave. An example is given in Figure 1)
Referring to the rejection of claims 8 and 17, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein, in the transmitting, the data for verification is configured for a first leaf node that is not transmitted, among leaf nodes of the binary tree, by including: another child node (= second leaf node) of a parent node (= first parent node) corresponding to the first leaf node; and another child node (= first branch node) of a parent node (= second parent node) corresponding to the first parent node therein. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 9-10 and Figures 3-4, i.e., This is because in the proof we need to create the secret un-opened leaf using the CCR oracle without knowing the nodes leading to the secret leaf. Specifically, we define (sdi = Hccr(Xi),comi := Hccr(Xi ⊕1)∥Hccr(Xi ⊕2) where Xi is corresponding parent in previous layer. The final commitment com to the tree is still computed using the random oracle H1 as in the FAEST specification. Our construction, which we name VCHT, is given in Figure 3. we start with two nodes (X,X ⊕∆) in the correlated GGM tree, we show an example of how to construct inputs for adversary A using the CCR oracle Occr, i.e., without knowing ∆. Suppose the secret path is j∗ = (1,0), we sample the first off-path node X $ ← {0,1}λ. Then the second off-path node X(1,1) ← Hccr(X ⊕∆)⊕(X ⊕∆) can be computed using Occr(X,1) ⊕ X. Next we need to compute the secret seed sd(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)) and commitment com(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕1)∥Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕2). This can be done using calls to Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X,0) and Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X ⊕ 1,0). Observe that in the real world, Occr(X(1,1) ⊕ X,0) = Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)), as desired. Using Occr with a fixed second input 0 for the left and the right child is a trick that bypasses the need to compute the parent of (sd(1,0),com(1,0)).
Referring to the rejection of claims 9 and 18, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein, in the transmitting, in a case where a level of the binary tree is 3 or higher, the data for verification is configured for a second sub-tree to which the first leaf node does not belong, among sub-trees under the root node, by further including a second branch node belonging to the second sub-tree, among child nodes of the root node, therein. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 2 and 11, 2nd paragraph, i.e., Revealing all but one leaf then requires a communication cost that is only logarithmic in the total number of leaves since the prover can simply send the co-path to the verifier, and the verifier can expand the sub-trees defined by this co-path to obtain all the leaves except one. View j∗ as the secret path in the tree in binary, i.e., j∗ = d i=12d+1−ibi. If bi = 0, it means traverse to the left child, otherwise traverse to the right child. 5. Assume w.l.o.g. b1 = 1, i.e., the secret path begins on the right sub-tree. Then we simulate the execution of Commit(sd) as follows. (a) Sample X¯ b1 ← {0,1}λ as the left node. (b) For i ∈ [2,d], compute Xb1,...,¯ bi ← Occr Xb1,...,¯ bj , ¯ bi j∈[i−1] X′ b1,...,¯ bi ← Xb1,...,¯ bi ⊕ ¯ bi · j∈[i−1] ⊕ ¯ bi · Xb1,...,¯ bj . Xb1,...,¯ bj j∈[i−1] 6. Given the sibling nodes {X¯ b1 ,...,Xb1,...,¯ bd }, all nodes before the final level in the tree can be obtained using Hccr except Xb1,...,bd (i.e., Xj∗).
Referring to the rejection of claims 10 and 19, Dung Bui et al. discloses wherein, in the proving, electronic signature is performed using zero-knowledge proof based on an MPC (Multi-Party Computation)-in-the-Head or VOLE (Vector Oblivious Linear Evaluation)-in-the-Head technique. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 1-2, i.e., MPC in-the-Head and VOLE-in-the-Head are general techniques for constructing such signatures from zero-knowledge proof systems. A common theme between the two is an all-but-one vector commitment scheme which internally uses GGM trees. This primitive is responsible for a significant part of the computational time during signing and verification. MPCitH and VOLEitH, is the need to commit to a set of randomness (e.g., transcript of the parties) and then to reveal all but one element in this set. This can be accomplished using GGM trees where a single seed is expanded to many leaves using a length-doubling PRG. Revealing all but one leaf then requires a communication cost that is only logarithmic in the total number of leaves since the prover can simply send the co-path to the verifier, and the verifier can expand the sub-trees defined by this co-path to obtain all the leaves except one)
Referring to the rejection of claim 11, Dung Bui et al. discloses an apparatus for performing a zero-knowledge proof, the apparatus comprising: (See Dung Bui et al., Abstract, i.e., an improved all-but-one vector commitment scheme using MPC-in-the-Head and VOLE-in-the-Head techniques for constructing post-quantum signatures from zero-knowledge proof systems)
a processor; (See Dung Bui et al., page 5, Section 2.2, i.e., hardware for AES provided by modern processors)
and a memory, wherein the memory comprises instructions configured to cause, when executed by the processor, the apparatus to implement specific operations, and wherein the specific operations comprise: (See Dung Bui et al., page 9, i.e., Qπ stores the permutation queries which is used internally by Hccr)
configuring, by a signatory, based on a secret key, a binary tree comprising a second child node produced based on an XOR operation result of a first child node, among child nodes located at level N+1 (where, N ≥ 1) with respect to a parent node located at level N, and the parent node; (See Dung Bui et al., pages 5 and 9-11, Figures 2 and 4, Sections 2.2 and 4.1, i.e., for a parent x, the left child is constructed using H(x) and the right child is constructed using H(x) ⊕ x as disclosed in Figure 2. The root sd is first expanded into two children X0,X1 using a length doubling PRG. Then, the intermediate nodes are computed the same way as in a correlated GGM tree using a CCR hash function Hccr where the correlation ∆=X0⊕X1 is defined by the first level nodes. Finally, once the tree is expanded, derive both a message sdi and a commitment comi using the same Hccr (and not a random oracle) while taking care to break the correlation with ∆ so that revealing of all the commitments does not leak additional information. To maintain security, we modify the way to compute the commitment comi, instead of calling Hccr once, we use the concatenation of two Hccr calls to extend the length of comi to be 2λ, this helps us to avoid a collision attack in the commitment scheme against the binding property. We then formally prove that our VCHT construction satisfies hiding and straight-line extractable binding. Specifically, the original all-but-one vector commitment construction relies on the random oracle model for its security proof. This is because in the proof we need to create the secret un-opened leaf using the CCR oracle without knowing the nodes leading to the secret leaf. Specifically, we define (sdi = Hccr(Xi),comi := Hccr(Xi ⊕1)∥Hccr(Xi ⊕2) where Xi is corresponding parent in previous layer. The final commitment com to the tree is still computed using the random oracle H1 as in the FAEST specification. Suppose the secret path is j∗ = (1,0), we sample the first off-path node X $ ← {0,1}λ. Then the second off-path node X(1,1) ← Hccr(X ⊕∆)⊕(X ⊕∆) can be computed using Occr(X,1) ⊕ X. Next we need to compute the secret seed sd(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)) and commitment com(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕1)∥Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕2). Example of how to use Occr to construct a VC opening where the secret path is (1, 0), i.e., traverse right and then traverse left as disclosed in Figure 4)
transmitting, by the signatory, to a verifier, data for verification configured based on a plurality of nodes comprising some leaf nodes, excluding one or more leaf nodes, among all leaf nodes of the binary tree; (See Dung Bui et al., pages 4-6, Sections 2.1-2.3, i.e., Consider the GGM-based punturable pseudorandom function where one party has a master sd and then expands it into a binary tree of depth log2 N with N leaves {sd0,...,sdN−1} by using a length-doubling PRG. To reveal all the seeds except sdi, for a given i, the party only needs to send log2N nodes on the co-path from the root sd to the i-th leave. Taking advantage of correlated GGM trees, we propose an all-but-one vector commitment construction VCHT revealing of all the commitments does not leak additional information. To maintain security, we modify the way to compute the commitment comi, instead of calling Hccr once, we use the concatenation of two Hccr calls to extend the length of comi to be 2λ, this helps us to avoid a collision attack in the commitment scheme against the binding property. We then formally prove that our VCHT construction satisfies hiding and straight-line extractable binding. Specifically, the original all-but-one vector commitment construction relies on the random oracle model for its security proof in both signing and verification times)
and proving that the signatory possesses the secret key, based on the transmitted data for verification. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 3-4, Section 1.2.1-1.2.2, i.e., the HVZK proof of knowledge of ⃗x such that f(⃗x) = 1 is constructed as follows: Prover additively shares the witness ⃗x into (⃗x1,..., ⃗xN) among N virtual parties (P1,··· ,PN) and emulate the MPC protocol “in the head”. Prover sends commitments to the view of each party to the verifier. Verifier chooses randomly (N −1) parties and asks Prover to open the view of these parties except one. Verifier later accepts if all the views are consistent with an honest execution of MPC protocol with output 1 and the commitment. If the prover holds (⃗u,⃗v) and the verifier holds (⃗w,∆) such that the correlation ⃗w = ⃗u∆ −⃗v holds, it is possible to create a very efficient ZK proof for circuits. The prover commits to (⃗u,⃗v) and then runs the VOLE-based proof system with the verifier. At the end, the verifier sends the challenge ∆ which then allows it to compute ⃗w. The procedure above makes use of an all-but-one vector commitment (VC) scheme)
Referring to the rejection of claim 20, Dung Bui et al. discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions configured to cause, when executed by a processor, an apparatus, comprising the processor and performing zero-knowledge proof, to implement specific operations, wherein the specific operations comprise: (See Dung Bui et al., Abstract, i.e., an improved all-but-one vector commitment scheme using MPC-in-the-Head and VOLE-in-the-Head techniques for constructing post-quantum signatures from zero-knowledge proof systems)
configuring, by a signatory, based on a secret key, a binary tree comprising a second child node produced based on an XOR operation result of a first child node, among child nodes located at level N+1 (where, N ≥ 1) with respect to a parent node located at level N, and the parent node; (See Dung Bui et al., pages 5 and 9-11, Figures 2 and 4, Sections 2.2 and 4.1, i.e., for a parent x, the left child is constructed using H(x) and the right child is constructed using H(x) ⊕ x as disclosed in Figure 2. The root sd is first expanded into two children X0,X1 using a length doubling PRG. Then, the intermediate nodes are computed the same way as in a correlated GGM tree using a CCR hash function Hccr where the correlation ∆=X0⊕X1 is defined by the first level nodes. Finally, once the tree is expanded, derive both a message sdi and a commitment comi using the same Hccr (and not a random oracle) while taking care to break the correlation with ∆ so that revealing of all the commitments does not leak additional information. To maintain security, we modify the way to compute the commitment comi, instead of calling Hccr once, we use the concatenation of two Hccr calls to extend the length of comi to be 2λ, this helps us to avoid a collision attack in the commitment scheme against the binding property. We then formally prove that our VCHT construction satisfies hiding and straight-line extractable binding. Specifically, the original all-but-one vector commitment construction relies on the random oracle model for its security proof. This is because in the proof we need to create the secret un-opened leaf using the CCR oracle without knowing the nodes leading to the secret leaf. Specifically, we define (sdi = Hccr(Xi),comi := Hccr(Xi ⊕1)∥Hccr(Xi ⊕2) where Xi is corresponding parent in previous layer. The final commitment com to the tree is still computed using the random oracle H1 as in the FAEST specification. Suppose the secret path is j∗ = (1,0), we sample the first off-path node X $ ← {0,1}λ. Then the second off-path node X(1,1) ← Hccr(X ⊕∆)⊕(X ⊕∆) can be computed using Occr(X,1) ⊕ X. Next we need to compute the secret seed sd(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆)) and commitment com(1,0) ← Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕1)∥Hccr(Hccr(X ⊕ ∆) ⊕2). Example of how to use Occr to construct a VC opening where the secret path is (1, 0), i.e., traverse right and then traverse left as disclosed in Figure 4)
transmitting, by the signatory, to a verifier, data for verification configured based on a plurality of nodes comprising some leaf nodes, excluding one or more leaf nodes, among all leaf nodes of the binary tree; (See Dung Bui et al., pages 4-6, Sections 2.1-2.3, i.e., Consider the GGM-based punturable pseudorandom function where one party has a master sd and then expands it into a binary tree of depth log2 N with N leaves {sd0,...,sdN−1} by using a length-doubling PRG. To reveal all the seeds except sdi, for a given i, the party only needs to send log2N nodes on the co-path from the root sd to the i-th leave. Taking advantage of correlated GGM trees, we propose an all-but-one vector commitment construction VCHT revealing of all the commitments does not leak additional information. To maintain security, we modify the way to compute the commitment comi, instead of calling Hccr once, we use the concatenation of two Hccr calls to extend the length of comi to be 2λ, this helps us to avoid a collision attack in the commitment scheme against the binding property. We then formally prove that our VCHT construction satisfies hiding and straight-line extractable binding. Specifically, the original all-but-one vector commitment construction relies on the random oracle model for its security proof in both signing and verification times)
and proving that the signatory possesses the secret key, based on the transmitted data for verification. (See Dung Bui et al., pages 3-4, Section 1.2.1-1.2.2, i.e., the HVZK proof of knowledge of ⃗x such that f(⃗x) = 1 is constructed as follows: Prover additively shares the witness ⃗x into (⃗x1,..., ⃗xN) among N virtual parties (P1,··· ,PN) and emulate the MPC protocol “in the head”. Prover sends commitments to the view of each party to the verifier. Verifier chooses randomly (N −1) parties and asks Prover to open the view of these parties except one. Verifier later accepts if all the views are consistent with an honest execution of MPC protocol with output 1 and the commitment. If the prover holds (⃗u,⃗v) and the verifier holds (⃗w,∆) such that the correlation ⃗w = ⃗u∆ −⃗v holds, it is possible to create a very efficient ZK proof for circuits. The prover commits to (⃗u,⃗v) and then runs the VOLE-based proof system with the verifier. At the end, the verifier sends the challenge ∆ which then allows it to compute ⃗w. The procedure above makes use of an all-but-one vector commitment (VC) scheme)
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
8. Jayachandran et al. (Pub No. 2025/0119293) discloses an apparatus and method for facilitating zero-knowledge proofs to identify a trace, divide the trace into a plurality of trace segment, identifying at least an operation of the trace and dividing the trace into the plurality of trace segments as a function of the at least an operation of the trace, recompile the plurality of trace segments for zero-knowledge proof generation and generate a zero-knowledge proof for each of the plurality of recompiled trace segments.
/COURTNEY D FIELDS/Examiner, Art Unit 2436 October 4, 2026
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436