DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the claims filed on 21 July 2026. Claims 1 and 13 were amended. Claims 8 and 20 were canceled. Claims 1-7 and 9-19 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “at least one processor” in line 1. Claim 12 depends on claim 1, which now recites “at least one processor” in line 7 based on the amendment. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim based on the amendment in claim 1. It is unclear if this is the same or different “at least one processor” already recited. For the purposes of examination, claim 12 will be considered to recite all the language of claim 1 with the executing step reciting “the at least on processor.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 fall within one or more statutory categories. Claims 1-7 and 9-11 fall within the category of a process. Claim 12 falls within the category of a machine. Claims 13-19 fall within the category of a manufacture.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 recite an abstract idea. Representative claim 1 recites a method of providing an accommodation assessment, the steps comprising:
receiving an input, the input comprising at least individualized user data, the individualized user data related to at least one disability of a user;
[associating the] individualized user data with common data, the common data related to: workplace environments, workplace accommodations, functional impacts and disability types;
generating the accommodation assessment based on the association …;
determining whether the accommodation assessment is within a score threshold;
upon determining that the accommodation assessment is outside of the score threshold, requesting additional user data and associating the additional user data with the common data to increase a likelihood the accommodation assessment is within the score threshold; and,
based on the determination, finalizing and automatically sending the accommodation assessment,
wherein the accommodation assessment … is specifically tailored to both the user and the workplace environment by using learned relationships between disability data and the workplace accommodations.
Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “assessing workplace accommodation,” which is an abstract idea because it is a method of organizing human activity. “Assessing workplace accommodation” is considered to be a method of organizing human activity because it is an example of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the interaction between an employer and employee, or a provider and a patient.
Alternatively, the claims are directed to a mental process because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include concepts capable of being performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the observation and evaluation of the individualized user data.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the following additional element(s):
the method is computer implemented;
preprocessing the individualized user data by formatting and labelling the individualized user data for processing;
executing, by at least one processor, an artificial intelligence (AI) model trained [to associate the preprocessed individualized user data with common data];
[the association is] generated by the AI model.
The additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application. These additional elements merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Further, preprocessing the data is considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claim 1 does not include additional elements, considered individually or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s), individually and in combination, merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Further, preprocessing the data is considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the AI model is configured to query the user to finetune the accommodation assessment.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 2 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 3 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the individualized user data is comprised of at least one of: a user narrative and user medical documentation.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 3 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 4 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
sending the generated accommodation assessment to an employer of the user for consideration.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 4 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 5 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
if the accommodation assessment falls outside the score threshold, requesting additional information from the user.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 5 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 6 recites the method of claim 5, wherein:
if the additional information results in another accommodation assessment that falls outside the score threshold, issuing a notice; and,
if the additional results in a second accommodation assessment that falls within the score threshold, sending the second accommodation assessment to a third party.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 6 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 7 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the input is comprised of the common data.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 7 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 9 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
utilizing an algorithm to score the accommodation assessment.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 9 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 10 recites the method of claim 9, wherein:
the algorithm is a bilingual evaluation understudy (BLEU).
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 10 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 11 recites the method of claim 10, wherein:
the BLEU score threshold is 0.8.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 11 is ineligible.
Claim 12 is parallel in nature to claim 1. Accordingly claim 12 is rejected as being directed towards ineligible subject matter based upon the same analysis above.
Claims 13-19 are parallel in nature to claims 1-7. Accordingly claims 13-19 are rejected as being directed towards ineligible subject matter based upon the same analysis above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (W.O. 2025/111215 ), hereinafter “Thomas,” in view of Newman et al. (U.S. 2024/0427999), hereinafter “Newman,” and further in view of Na (U.S. 2019/0155909), hereinafter “Na.”
Regarding Claim 1, Thomas discloses a computer-implemented method of providing an accommodation assessment, the steps comprising:
receiving an input, the input comprising at least individualized user data, the individualized user data related to at least one disability of a user (See Thomas [0021] The method also can include determining, using a second LLM whether or not a user query is related to accommodations or disabilities. [0045] setting up a profile can include applicant inputting information into employment system about applicant, including information about the abilities and/or disabilities of applicant, and/or requested accommodations.);
executing, by at least one processor (See Thomas [0022] A number of embodiments include a system including one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computing instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform various operations.), an artificial intelligence (AI) model trained to associate the preprocessed individualized user data with common data (See Thomas [0021] The method also can include determining, using a second LLM whether or not a user query is related to accommodations or disabilities. [0040] The one or more databases can include medical disorder data, job codes data, job openings posted by employers. [0073] method is performed by LLM models. [0046] the system determines if the request includes success enablers that are accommodations, such as workplace accommodations (although not limited to workplace), which can enable success for applicants with one or more disabilities. See also [0078].), the common data related to: workplace environments, workplace accommodations, functional impacts and disability types (See Thomas [0045] setting up a profile can include applicant inputting information into employment system about applicant, including information about the requested accommodations. [0047] applicant can search for job postings related to one or more accommodations and/or disabilities of applicant. Applicant can perform a search for job postings using employment system based on search options related to one or more abilities, disabilities, disorders, accommodations, medical conditions.);
generating the accommodation assessment based on the association generated by the AI model (See Thomas [0021] The method also can include determining, using a second LLM whether or not a user query is related to accommodations or disabilities. [0040] The one or more databases can include medical disorder data, job codes data, job openings posted by employers. [0073] method is performed by LLM models. [0046] the system determines if the request includes success enablers that are accommodations, such as workplace accommodations (although not limited to workplace), which can enable success for applicants with one or more disabilities. See also [0069].);
requesting additional user data and associating the additional user data with the common data (See Thomas [0076] system can request additional information in the form of including chat history in order to rephrase the query and check again for information about accommodation or disability.) to increase a likelihood the accommodation assessment is within the score threshold (Examiner notes that this language is considered to be non-limiting intended result which merely describes a desired result from use of the recited structure and is not given patentable weight); and,
based on the determination, finalizing and automatically sending the accommodation assessment (See Thomas [0045] setting up a profile can include applicant inputting information into employment system about applicant, including information about the requested accommodations. [0047] applicant can search for job postings related to one or more accommodations and/or disabilities of applicant. applicant can perform a search for job postings using employment system based on search options related to one or more abilities, disabilities, disorders, accommodations, medical conditions. See also [0069].);
wherein the accommodation assessment generated by the AI model is specifically tailored to both the user and the workplace environment (See Thomas [0021] The method also can include determining, using a second LLM whether or not a user query is related to accommodations or disabilities. [0045] setting up a profile can include applicant inputting information into employment system about applicant, including information about the abilities and/or disabilities of applicant, and/or requested accommodations. [0051] The coaching and/or guidance can assist applicant with preparing a resume, accommodation request, and/or cover letter, preparing for a job interview, and/or preparing for working at the job position, depending on the abilities and/or disabilities of applicant.) by using learned relationships between disability data and the workplace accommodations (See Thomas [0051] The coaching and/or guidance can assist applicant with preparing a resume, accommodation request, and/or cover letter, preparing for a job interview, and/or preparing for working at the job position, depending on the abilities and/or disabilities of applicant.).
Thomas does not disclose:
preprocessing the individualized user data by formatting and labelling the individualized user data for processing;
determining whether the accommodation assessment is within a score threshold;
upon determining that the accommodation assessment is outside of the score threshold, [perform an action].
Newman teaches:
preprocessing the individualized user data by formatting and labelling the individualized user data for processing (See Newman [0121] system can process the input by generating and tagging the constituent terms with labels corresponding to the categories and subcategories.).
The system of Newman is applicable to the disclosure of Thomas as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to natural language processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thomas to include data labeling for preprocessing as taught by Newman. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Thomas in order to address a lack of flexibility and dynamic capacity that would otherwise provide for a context- and intent-accurate conversational experience (see Newman 0003]).
Na teaches:
determining whether the accommodation assessment is within a score threshold (See Na [0088] the system compares a BLEU score to a threshold value to determine whether the sentence needs correcting. [0092] the threshold value 0.8 is given as an example.);
upon determining that the accommodation assessment is outside of the score threshold, [perform an action] (See Na [0088] the system compares a BLEU score to a threshold value to determine whether the sentence needs correcting. [0092] the threshold value 0.8 is given as an example. See also [0054].).
The system of Na is applicable to the disclosure of Thomas as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to natural language processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thomas to include BLEU assessment as taught by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Thomas in order to aid in readily and correctly understand the result of the machine translation (see Na [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Thomas further discloses a method, wherein:
the AI model is configured to query the user to finetune the accommodation assessment (See Thomas [0048] employment system can be used by applicant to perform an activity of completing or partially completing an assessment. Assessment used to determine the abilities and/or disabilities of applicant to perform various skills and/or tasks. The employment system can present applicant with a series of questions to perform a self-assessment.).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Thomas further discloses a method, wherein:
the individualized user data is comprised of at least one of: a user narrative and user medical documentation (See Thomas [0045] setting up a profile can include applicant inputting information into employment system about applicant, including information about the abilities and/or disabilities of applicant, and/or requested accommodations.) [0048] employment system can be used by applicant to perform an activity of completing or partially completing an assessment. Assessment used to determine the abilities and/or disabilities of applicant to perform various skills and/or tasks. The employment system can present applicant with a series of questions to perform a self-assessment.).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Thomas further discloses a method, comprising:
sending the generated accommodation assessment to an employer of the user for consideration (See Thomas [0049] the employment system can notify employers that posted those job postings of the applications by applicant.).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Thomas further discloses a method, comprising:
requesting additional information from the user (See Thomas [0076] system can request additional information in the form of including chat history in order to rephrase the query and check again for information about accommodation or disability.).
Thomas does not disclose:
if the accommodation assessment falls outside the score threshold, [performing an action].
Na teaches:
if the accommodation assessment falls outside the score threshold, [performing an action] (See Na [0088] the system compares a BLEU score to a threshold value to determine whether the sentence needs correcting. [0092] the threshold value 0.8 is given as an example.).
The system of Na is applicable to the disclosure of Thomas as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to natural language processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thomas to include BLEU assessment as taught by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Thomas in order to aid in readily and correctly understand the result of the machine translation (see Na [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 5 as discussed above. Thomas further discloses a method, comprising:
if the additional information results in another accommodation assessment [failure], issuing a notice (See Thomas [0076] system can request additional information in the form of including chat history in order to rephrase the query and check again for information about accommodation or disability. [0087] when the query is not related to accommodations or disabilities, the system can include activity of generating a declining response using a text-generation LLM (i.e. “issuing a notice”).); and,
if the additional results in a second accommodation assessment [success], sending the second accommodation assessment to a third party (See Thomas [0076] system can request additional information in the form of including chat history in order to rephrase the query and check again for information about accommodation or disability.).
Thomas does not disclose:
if the additional information results in another accommodation assessment that falls outside the score threshold, [performing an action];
if the additional results in a second accommodation assessment that falls within the score threshold, [performing a different action].
Na teaches:
if the additional information results in another accommodation assessment that falls outside the score threshold, [performing an action] (See Na [0088] the system compares a BLEU score to a threshold value to determine whether the sentence needs correcting. [0092] the threshold value 0.8 is given as an example.);
if the additional results in a second accommodation assessment that falls within the score threshold, [performing a different action] (See Na [0088] the system compares a BLEU score to a threshold value to determine whether the sentence needs correcting. [0092] the threshold value 0.8 is given as an example.).
The system of Na is applicable to the disclosure of Thomas as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to natural language processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thomas to include BLEU assessment as taught by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Thomas in order to aid in readily and correctly understand the result of the machine translation (see Na [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Thomas further discloses a method, wherein:
the input is comprised of the common data (See Thomas [0045] setting up a profile can include applicant inputting information into employment system about applicant, including information about the requested accommodations. [0047] applicant can search for job postings related to one or more accommodations and/or disabilities of applicant. applicant can perform a search for job postings using employment system based on search options related to one or more abilities, disabilities, disorders, accommodations, medical conditions).
Regarding claim 9, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Thomas does not further disclose a method, wherein:
utilizing an algorithm to score the accommodation assessment.
Na teaches:
utilizing an algorithm to score the accommodation assessment (See Na [0088] the system compares a BLEU score to a threshold value to determine whether the sentence needs correcting.).
The system of Na is applicable to the disclosure of Thomas as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to natural language processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thomas to include BLEU assessment as taught by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Thomas in order to aid in readily and correctly understand the result of the machine translation (see Na [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 9 as discussed above. Thomas does not further disclose a method, wherein:
the algorithm is a bilingual evaluation understudy (BLEU).
Na teaches:
the algorithm is a bilingual evaluation understudy (BLEU) (See Na [0088] the system compares a BLEU score to a threshold value to determine whether the sentence needs correcting.).
The system of Na is applicable to the disclosure of Thomas as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to natural language processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thomas to include BLEU assessment as taught by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Thomas in order to aid in readily and correctly understand the result of the machine translation (see Na [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas in view of Newman and Na discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above. Thomas does not further disclose a method, wherein:
the BLEU score threshold is 0.8.
Na teaches:
the BLEU score threshold is 0.8 (See Na [0088] the system compares a BLEU score to a threshold value to determine whether the sentence needs correcting. [0092] the threshold value 0.8 is given as an example.).
The system of Na is applicable to the disclosure of Thomas as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to natural language processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thomas to include BLEU assessment as taught by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Thomas in order to aid in readily and correctly understand the result of the machine translation (see Na [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Thomas discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Claim 12 recites a system that performs the method of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 12 is rejected based on the same analysis.
Regarding claims 13-19, Thomas discloses the method of claims 1-7 as discussed above. Claims 13-19 recite a non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions to perform a method substantially similar to the method of claims 1-7. Accordingly, claims 13-19 are rejected based on the same analysis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 July 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejection of the claims, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claims recite a “technical improvement in data preparation and ingestion” amounting to a practical application (see Applicant Remarks pages 6-7). This is not persuasive. As discussed above, the additional element(s), individually and in combination, merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Further, preprocessing the data is considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, the claims are rejected for being directed to ineligible subject matter.
Applicant's arguments filed 21 July 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of the claims, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the newly cited Newman reference (and previously uncited portions of the Thomas and Na references).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Otsuki et al. (U.S. 2020/0410882) teaches a system and method to retrieve job information appropriate to the body and mind functions of a person with disabilities.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684