DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mire et al. (US 2017/0190118), hereinafter Mire, in view of Schlachter (US 2016/0318247).
Regarding claim 1, Mire discloses a 3D printing apparatus comprising: (a) a material extrusion unit (e.g., Fig. 4) designed to move a piston (105) in a primary direction, pressurize a printing material stored within a material capsule (104) (Figs. 1-4; par. 0040-0044), and extrude the printing material (par. 0030); and
(b) a capsule fixing unit (including at least first end piece 402) positioned beneath the material extrusion unit and coupled to the capsule, ensuring that the inner storage space of the capsule is aligned with the piston (105) (as shown, Fig. 4),
wherein the material capsule comprises:
a body designed in a columnar shape (as shown, a syringe, which has a shape of a column) with an open top surface with an inner storage space formed therein (as shown, Fig. 4); and
a nozzle (116) is attached to the bottom surface of the body (not labeled in Fig. 4, shown in Fig. 1), through which the printing material is discharged; and
The “printing material” is considered to be the article or material worked upon by the claimed structure, and as such, is not directly limiting to the claim. See MPEP 2115. However, this element is not explicitly disclosed.
Additionally or alternatively regarding the biopolymer, Schlachter discloses a 3D printing device which includes a biopolymer (Schlachter, par. 0055, 0095) which demonstrates that such a material was known in the art for use with a similar type of extrusion 3D printing head. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the material within the capsule is a biopolymer as is claimed.
Furthermore, regarding “a thermal module disposed in the body and configured to heat the printing material stored in the inner storage space of the body,” as now amended in claim 1, Schlachter describes in par. 0057 that the material can be heated or cooled within the reservoir of the printing unit as to allow for the desired flowability of the material. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the material is heated within the reservoir body of Mire above, before deposition as to have caused the material to flow from the extruder.
Regarding claims 2-4, Mire/Schlachter discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and the extrusion unit comprises: a motor (“extruder motor” – Mire, par. 0008); a piston rod (107) (par. 0031) disposed under the motor and configured to rotate (par. 0043) by receiving power from the motor (implied); and a pressurizing unit configured to pressurize the printing material by moving the piston in the first direction by rotation of the piston rod (par. 0008, 0042, 0051), and a movable member (“movable plunger gripper” 403) (par. 0041, Fig. 4) connected to the rotation shaft (“extruder motor threaded screw” 408) and configured to move in a first or second direction as a result of the rotation of the shaft (par. 0043)
Regarding claim 5, Mire/Schlachter discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the material capsule comprises a coupling plate (as shown in Fig. 4, coupling at first end piece 402), and wherein the capsule fixing unit comprises: (i) an upper fixing unit to which the coupling plate is coupled (“first end piece” 402); (ii) a lower fixing unit (frame 102) that is spaced apart from the upper fixing unit (Fig. 1) and is where the capsule (104) (Figs. 1-2) is disposed and the nozzle (116) is inserted; and a connecting unit coupled to each of one side of the upper and lower fixing unit (part of frame 102).
Regarding claim 6, Mire/Schlachter discloses the subject matter of claim 5, and further discloses that the upper fixing unit (“first end piece” 402) comprises a first plate and a second plate spaced apart from the first plate (Fig. 4) with an insertion hole (as shown) for the material capsule to be inserted, and a connecting plate (as shown in Fig. 1) connecting the first and second plates.
Regarding claims 7-8, Mire/Schlachter discloses the subject matter of claim 6, and further discloses that the lower fixing unit is in a hexahedral shape (see Mire, Fig. 1) with an open top surface and side surface with a hole into which the capsule/nozzle are placed (see Figs. 1-2 and 4).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 12, Mire/Schlachter discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the use of a material curing unit (laser 60) (Schlachter, par. 0060) which can be microwave or UV (par. 0060). With respect to the thermal module, Schlachter, par. 0057 describes a hot end (heated printed surface 12) and a heater within the body or reservoir as outlined in claim 1 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument focuses upon the thermal module element in claim 1, which Applicant argues is not taught in the prior art.
In response, Examiner points at par. 0057 of Schlachter, which appears to suggest this feature with respect to the reservoir of an extruder, explaining that it helps the material to be heated as to properly flow from the device. Examiner reasons that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found this obvious in view of the teachings of Mire and Schlachter as outlined above. It is noted that limitations from the specification are not read directly into the claims (see p. 10, Remarks).
Accordingly, the rejections are maintained as updated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See also Courval et al. (US Patent No. 5,204,045), hereinafter Courval, which also shows the heaters on the outside of the body of the die (Fig. 3) in multiple locations.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742