DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 7/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/8/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al U.S 2020/0390455.
Claim 1: Nguyen et al disclose a guidewire system (a treatment device 100) for traversing a patient's vasculature, the guidewire system comprising: a guidewire (shaft 170 function in a similar manner to a guidewire, see fig. 7, paragraph 598) comprising a tubular sidewall defining a lumen therein, the guidewire extending between a proximal portion and a distal portion, and wherein the distal portion of the guidewire is configured to be intravascularly delivered to a treatment site within a blood vessel (see paragraph 598); an elongate delivery member 120 slidably positioned within the lumen of the guidewire 170, the delivery member 120 having a proximal region and a distal region; and an interventional element140/140b carried by the distal region of the delivery member and configured to be positioned within the lumen of the guidewire in a collapsed configuration, wherein the delivery member 120 is configured to be pushed distally within the lumen to expel the interventional element from the lumen, thereby allowing the interventional element to expand to an expanded configuration (see abstract, paragraph 7).
Claims 3-4: Nguyen et al disclose further comprising a stiffening member fixed to the distal portion of the delivery member 120, proximal of the interventional element; wherein the stiffening member comprises a coil (see claims 10-11 of Nguyen).
Claims 5-6: Nguyen et al disclose further comprising a visualization
Member (2020, see paragraph 669) fixed to the distal portion of the delivery member, distal of the interventional element; wherein the visualization member comprises a coil (see fig. 20c, paragraph 681).
Claims 7-8: Nguyen et al disclose further comprising: a stiffening member (see claims 10-11 of Nguyen) fixed to the distal portion of the delivery member, proximal of the interventional element; and a visualization member 2020 fixed to the distal portion of the delivery member, distal of the interventional element; wherein one or both of the stiffening member and the visualization member comprise a coil (see paragraph 681).
Claims 9, 11-12: Nguyen et al disclose wherein at least a distal portion of
the sidewall of the guidewire comprises a laser-cut hypotube (see paragraphs 262,668); wherein the interventional element is an expandable stent comprising a plurality of interconnected struts (see paragraphs 263,605); wherein at least a distal portion of the sidewall of the guidewire includes a plurality of slits (groove wires 180/182, fig. 8a, paragraph 599).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al.
Claims 2, 10: Nguyen et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed but is silent regarding wherein the guidewire has an outer diameter of 0.024 inches or less; or the distal region of the delivery member has an outer diameter than is smaller than an outer diameter of the proximal region. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the device of Nguyen et al by making the guidewire has an outer diameter of 0.024 inches or less; or the distal region of the delivery member has an outer diameter than is smaller than an outer diameter of the proximal region, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior arts and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device" Gardner V. Tec Syst., Inc., 725 F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984). In the instant case it appears there has been no critically placed on the specific the diameter of the guidwire or the diameter of the distal region of the delivery member, as evidence in applicant's specification at paragraph 6, wherein the ranges and values are given with no preference to one over another nor any evidence of unexpected results.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771