DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“the actuating lever can be fixed by the blocking section in a state of the blocking lever deflected by the control contour” (examiner emphasis added) of claim 5.
“at least one blocking lever” of claims 4 and 11-12 (multiple blocking levers are not shown).
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 8-9, 13 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 2-3, 8-9, 13 and 19 “the driver” should be “the rotatable driver”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, “a drive mechanism” in line 6 is unclear. Specifically, “a drive mechanism” was already claimed in lines 1-2. Therefore, it’s unclear if the applicant intended to claim a new element or refer to the element previously introduced. For the purposes of examination, the latter is assumed.
In regards to claim 7, 14-17, “the blocking lever” lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. It’s unclear if the applicant intended to introduce this term in the claim or for the claim to depend on a claim which introduces this term. For the purposes of examination, the former is assumed and “the blocking lever” is assumed to read “a blocking lever”.
In regards to claims 5-6 and 20 “the driver” lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. It’s unclear if the applicant intended to introduce this term in the claim or for the claim to depend on a claim which introduces this term. For the purposes of examination, the former is assumed and “the driver” is assumed to read “a rotatable driver”.
Claims 2-4, 8-13 and 18-19 are rejected due to their dependencies on the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 10-12, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dupont FR 2768761 A1 (hereinafter Dupont).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Dupont teaches a double-stroke locking system, comprising: a rotary latch (5), a locking pawl (7 and 11) and a drive mechanism (at least 41 and 50), wherein the rotary latch has a receiving region (6) which is designed to receive a locking element (see fig 12), and wherein the locking pawl is designed to lock the rotary latch in at least one rotational position (see figs 13 and 15), wherein the locking pawl has an actuating lever (11) and can be moved into an unlocking position (see figs 17-18 and 12) or into a locking position by the actuating lever , wherein the actuating lever can be connected to a drive mechanism, wherein the actuating lever can be decoupled (at least operationally) from the drive mechanism by performing a first unlocking stroke by the drive mechanism (see figs 16 -17; also note fig 12 and para 107).
In regards to claim 2, Dupont teaches a locking system according to claim 1, wherein the actuating lever can be moved into an unlocking position by a rotatable driver (50) of the drive mechanism, wherein, after the first unlocking stroke, the actuating lever can be decoupled from the drive mechanism by the driver sliding off (note sliding is defined as “to move smoothly along a surface “ by Merriam-Webster) the actuating lever (see figs 16-18 and 12).
In regards to claim 3, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 2, wherein the driver can be moved into a basic position (fig 18 at least as this is the starting point for the movement in para 107) by the drive mechanism (at least partially) after actuation of a second unlocking stroke (see fig 17-18, at least stroke of 5), wherein, in the basic position of the driver, the actuating lever is coupled to the drive mechanism (see fig 18).
In regards to claim 4, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 1, wherein the locking system has at least one blocking lever (52), wherein the blocking lever is designed to interact with a positive fit with a control contour of the rotary latch (at 10, see fig 15).
In regards to claim 6, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 4, wherein a deflection of the blocking lever can be reset after rotation of the rotary latch and the driver (see figs 12 and 18) and/or the actuating lever can be released (from 5 via 49, see fig 18).
In regards to claim 7, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 1, wherein the locking pawl and/or the rotary latch and/or the blocking lever (49) are spring-loaded (at least via Pr), wherein the rotary latch is arranged to be rotatable about a first axis of rotation (5a) and the locking pawl is arranged to be rotatable about a second axis of rotation and the blocking lever is arranged to be rotatable about the second axis of rotation (see fig 12, 7 and 49 pivot about the same axis).
In regards to claim 10, Dupont teaches a method for operating a locking system, wherein a drive mechanism (50 and 41) is actuated and a first unlocking stroke is carried out (from figs 16-17), wherein during the first unlocking stroke a driver (50) of the drive mechanism moves a locking pawl (7) via an actuating lever (11) from a first tilting position (see fig 16) into a second tilting position (see fig 17), wherein after the end of the first unlocking stroke the driver is decoupled from the actuating lever (see fig 17, fig 12 and para 107).
In regards to claim 11, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 2, wherein the locking system has at least one blocking lever (52), wherein the blocking lever is designed to interact with a positive fit with a control contour (about 10, see fig 15) of the rotary latch.
In regards to claim 12, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 3, wherein the locking system has at least one blocking lever (52), wherein the blocking lever is designed to interact with a positive fit with a control contour (about 10, see fig 15) of the rotary latch.
In regards to claim 14, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 2, wherein the locking pawl and/or the rotary latch and/or the blocking lever (49, at least via Pr) are spring-loaded, wherein the rotary latch is arranged to be rotatable about a first axis of rotation (5a) and the locking pawl is arranged to be rotatable about a second axis of rotation and the blocking lever is arranged to be rotatable about the second axis of rotation (7 and 49 rotate about the same axis of rotation, see fig 12).
In regards to claim 15, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 3, wherein the locking pawl and/or the rotary latch and/or the blocking lever 49, at least via Pr) are spring-loaded, wherein the rotary latch is arranged to be rotatable about a first axis of rotation (5a) and the locking pawl is arranged to be rotatable about a second axis of rotation and the blocking lever is arranged to be rotatable about the second axis of rotation (7 and 49 rotate about the same axis of rotation, see fig 12).
**** Below is a separate interpretation of Dupont claims 4 and 6 for the purposes of claims 16 and 18.
In regards to claim 4, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 1, wherein the locking system has at least one blocking lever (49), wherein the blocking lever is designed to interact (indirectly) with a positive fit (of 7 and 8) with a control contour of the rotary latch (contour of 8).
In regards to claim 6, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 4, wherein a deflection of the blocking lever can be reset after rotation of the rotary latch and the driver and/or the actuating lever can be released (from interaction with 5; see fig 17) .
In regards to claim 16, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 4, wherein the locking pawl and/or the rotary latch and/or the blocking lever are spring-loaded (at least via Pr), wherein the rotary latch is arranged to be rotatable about a first axis of rotation and the locking pawl is arranged to be rotatable about a second axis of rotation and the blocking lever is arranged to be rotatable about the second axis of rotation (7 and 49 rotate about the same axis of rotation, see fig 12).
In regards to claim 18, Dupont teaches the locking system according to claim 6, wherein the locking pawl and/or the rotary latch and/or the blocking lever (at least via pr) are spring-loaded, wherein the rotary latch is arranged to be rotatable about a first axis of rotation and the locking pawl is arranged to be rotatable about a second axis of rotation and the blocking lever is arranged to be rotatable about the second axis of rotation (7 and 49 rotate about the same axis of rotation, see fig 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
If the relevant 112 rejections are properly overcome claims 5, 8-9, 13, 17 and 19-20 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hunt US 20180171680 A1 – teaches a sliding and pivoting driving member.
Digel et al. US 20190301212 A1 – teaches a similar blocking lever.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675