DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 9/30/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and have not been found persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argued that Hettinger (US 10,316,742) fails to disclose that the cutout portion has a straight horizontal shape. After further consideration, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since the claim does not specify the size of the small-radius area, the small-radius area can be interpreted as the area identified in Figure I found in the “Claims Rejections - 35 USC § 102” section . Based on this interpretation, the small-radius area does include a straight horizontal shape which was highlighted in Figure I with a dotted line. For this reason Applicant’s argument was not found persuasive.
Regarding claim 9, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that Hettinger fails to disclose all the claimed limitations, specifically that a part of the non-small radius area is not press fit into the groove. Since the claim does not limit the size of the small-radius area, the small-radius area can be restricted to the region identified below in Fig. I. Based on this interpretation, there would be a non-small radius area that is not press-fitted into the groove, since Hettinger (Col. 8, lines 42-44) teaches that the recessed portion of the recessed surface of the housing can serve as a place to drain lubricant. In order for this to be done the plate in that region cannot be entirely pressed onto the surface of the housing. For this reason Applicant’s argument has not been found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hettinger et al. (US 10,316,742; hereinafter Hettinger).
Regarding claim 1, Hettinger (Fig. 1-6) discloses a turbocharger (200) comprising: a shaft (252); a rolling bearing (400) that includes an inner ring (430) mounted on the shaft (252) and an outer ring (410) arranged around the inner ring (430); a housing (310) that includes a bearing hole accommodating the rolling bearing (400) and a side wall (330) intersecting the bearing hole; and a bearing retainer (640) that is attached to the side wall (330) and that faces a side face of the outer ring (410), a lower part of the bearing retainer (640) including a small-radius area, a first distance from a central axis of the shaft (252) to an outer edge of the small-radius area being shorter than a second distance from the central axis to the outer edge of other areas of the bearing retainer (640), the first distance of the small-radius area being greater than a radius of the bearing hole and less than or equal to a third distance from the central axis to an outer edge of an area facing the small-radius area in the side wall, wherein the outer edge of the small-radius area has a horizontal straight shape when seen in an axial direction of the shaft (252). Refer to Fig. I and II below.
Fig. I. Hettinger, Fig. 6 (Annotated)
Fig. II. Hettinger, Fig. 4 (Annotated)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettinger et al. (US 10,316,742; hereinafter Hettinger) in view of Matsuyama (US 8,794,905).
Regarding claim 2, Hettinger discloses the turbocharger according to claim 1, but fails to disclose that a part of the outer edge of the bearing retainer is press-fitted into the housing, and the small-radius area is formed in an area that is not press-fitted into the housing in the bearing retainer.
Matsuyama (Col. 2, lines 57-) teaches that a seal plate for a turbocharger can be coupled to a housing via a press-fit. By using a press-fit to couple the bearing retainer to the housing, this simplifies installation by reducing the number of parts needed (eliminating the bolts, etc.). Based on this it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hettinger by coupling the bearing retainer to the housing with a press-fit, as taught by Matsuyama, in order to produce the predictable result of simplifying installation by reducing the number of parts needed to install the retainer plate.
Regarding claim 9, Hettinger (Fig. 1-6) discloses a turbocharger (200) comprising: a shaft (282); a rolling bearing (400) that includes an inner ring (430) mounted on the shaft (282) and an outer ring (410) arranged around the inner ring (430); a housing (310) that includes a bearing hole accommodating the rolling bearing (400) and a side wall (330) intersecting the bearing hole; and a bearing retainer (640) that is attached to the side wall (330) and that faces a side face of the outer ring (410), a lower part of the bearing retainer (640) including a small-radius area, a first distance from a central axis of the shaft to an outer edge of the small-radius area being shorter than a second distance from the central axis to the outer edge of other areas of the bearing retainer (640), the first distance of the small-radius area being greater than a radius of the bearing hole and less than or equal to a third distance from the central axis to an outer edge of an area facing the small-radius area in the side wall, wherein the housing (310) further includes: a groove having an arc shape that is greater than 180 degrees (a circle is an arc shape that is greater than 180 degrees) when seen in an axial direction of the shaft (282), and an oil drainage space that is formed below the groove, the bearing retainer (640) further includes a non-small-radius area that is an area other than the small-radius area, and the small-radius area and the rest of the non-small-radius area are exposed to the oil drainage space. Refer to Fig. I-II above and Fig. III below.
Fig. III. Hettinger, Fig. 4 (Annotated)
Hettinger fails to disclose a part of the non-small-radius area is press-fitted into the groove.
Matsuyama (Col. 2, lines 57-) teaches that a seal plate for a turbocharger can be coupled to a housing via a press-fit. By using a press-fit to couple the bearing retainer to the housing, this simplifies installation by reducing the number of parts needed (eliminating the bolts, etc.). Based on this it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hettinger by coupling the bearing retainer to the housing with a press-fit, as taught by Matsuyama, in order to produce the predictable result of simplifying installation by reducing the number of parts needed to install the retainer plate.
Regarding claim 11, Hettinger, as modified, discloses the turbocharger according to claim 9, wherein Hettinger (Fig. 6), as modified, further discloses that the outer edge of the small-radius area has a horizontal straight shape when seen in an axial direction of the shaft. Refer to Fig. II above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-4, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-8 are allowed.
Regarding claim 3:
Closest prior art: Hettinger et al. (US 10,316,742)
Hettinger discloses the turbocharger of claim 1.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that the small-radius area includes a tapered surface of which radius from the central axis decreases from a first end face that faces the side face of the outer ring to a second end face that is positioned on an opposite side to the first end face.
Regarding claim 4:
Closest prior art: Hettinger et al. (US 10,316,742)
Hettinger discloses the turbocharger of claim 1.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that the bearing retainer further incudes an oil drainage surface, a thickness of the bearing retainer at the oil drainage surface in an axial direction of the shaft is smaller than that of other areas of the bearing retainer, and the outer edge of the small-radius area is positioned within an outer edge of the oil drainage surface.
Regarding claim 5:
Closest prior art: Hettinger et al. (US 10,316,742)
Hettinger discloses a turbocharger comprising: a shaft; a rolling bearing that includes an inner ring mounted on the shaft and an outer ring arranged around the inner ring; a housing that includes a bearing hole accommodating the rolling bearing and a side wall intersecting the bearing hole: and a bearing retainer that is attached to the side wall and that faces a side face of the outer ring, a lower part of the bearing retainer including a small-radius area, a first distance from a central axis of the shaft to an outer edge of the small-radius area being shorter than a second distance from the central axis to the outer edge of other areas of the bearing retainer, the first distance of the small-radius area being greater than a radius of the bearing hole and less than or equal to a third distance from the central axis to an outer edge of an area facing the small-radius area in the side wall.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that the bearing retainer further includes an oil drainage surface, a thickness of the bearing retainer at the oil drainage surface in an axial direction of the shaft is smaller than that of other areas of the bearing retainer, and the outer edge of the small-radius area is positioned within an outer edge of the oil drainage surface.
Claims 6-8 depend upon claim 5 and so are allowable.
Regarding claim 10:
Closest prior art: Hettinger et al. (US 10,316,742)
Hettinger discloses the turbocharger according to claim 9.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that the small-radius area includes a tapered surface of which radius from the central axis decreases from a first end face that faces the side face of the outer ring to a second end face that is positioned on an opposite side to the first end face.
Regarding claim 12:
Closest prior art: Hettinger et al. (US 10,316,742)
Hettinger discloses the turbocharger according to claim 9.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that the bearing retainer further incudes an oil drainage surface, a thickness of the bearing retainer at the oil drainage surface in an axial direction of the shaft is smaller than that of other areas of the bearing retainer, and the outer edge of the small-radius area is positioned within an outer edge of the oil drainage surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DMC/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745