DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, 16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mondello et al. (US 2023/0396607), hereon referred to as Mondello, in view of Islam et al. (US 2024/0283664), and hereon referred to as Islam.
In regards to claims 1, 10, 16 & 20, Mondello discloses in response to receipt of a passkey list request from a passkey agent installed on a second terminal based on a second platform, different from the first platform, providing information regarding a registered passkey list to the second terminal while displaying the authentication credential management user interface (e.g., 690a in FIGS. 6N-6P) displaying an authentication credential listing user interface element (e.g., 628 in FIGS. 6N-6P) that identifies one or more authentication credentials (e.g., saved passwords or passkeys) associated with the first user; Paragraphs 0280-0285); and in response to receipt of a request for the first passkey, among passkeys included in the registered passkey list, from the passkey agent of the second terminal, transmitting the first passkey to the second terminal (the private key (710) was established (e.g., created, generated, or selected) by a second computer system that is different from the first computer system (e.g., when the second computer system was used to create and or modify authentication credentials for authenticating with the remote service), and the second computer system is also associated (712) with the first user account; Paragraphs 0220-0225).
However, Mondello does not disclose in response to receipt of a passkey generation request from a passkey agent installed on a first terminal based on a first platform, generating a first passkey usable on multiple platforms, and transmitting the first passkey to the first terminal. In an analogous art Islam discloses in response to receipt of a passkey generation request from a passkey agent installed on a first terminal based on a first platform, generating a first passkey usable on multiple platforms, and transmitting the first passkey to the first terminal ( the secure enclave 110 generates authentication credentials (e.g., a secret authentication key (K.sub.SAK) 105 and a public authentication key (K.sub.PAK) 115) for the relying party; Paragraphs 0030; 0076).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by Mondello, with the teachings disclosed by Islam regarding in response to receipt of a passkey generation request from a passkey agent installed on a first terminal based on a first platform, generating a first passkey usable on multiple platforms, and transmitting the first passkey to the first terminal. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide security that protects secret authentication keys associated with relying parties to which a user is authenticating (Islam; Abs).
In regards to claim 3, Islam discloses wherein the generating and transmitting of the first passkey comprises receiving the passkey generation request from the passkey agent of the first terminal upon completion of user authentication by the passkey agent of the first terminal in response to a login request from a first service application installed on the first terminal (A first data communication 702 represents the user computing device 108 initiating a registration process with a relying party 116 (e.g., via a web browser, desktop application, or mobile application) operating on the user computing device; Paragraphs 0073-0076).
In regards to claim 4, Mondello discloses wherein the providing of the information regarding the registered passkey list comprises receiving the passkey list request from the passkey agent of the second terminal upon completion of user authentication by the passkey agent of the second terminal in response to a login request from a first service application installed on the second terminal (in response to receiving a request to provide, to a remote service (e.g., media streaming service, remote messaging service, and/or remote content providing service) that requires authentication, displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable user interface element (e.g., 614 in FIG. 6B) corresponding to an authentication credential associated with the remote service in an autofill user interface (e.g., inline near a credential entry field 618 in FIG. 6B, or near a text entry user interface 610 in FIG. 6B such as a software keyboard); Paragraphs 0290-0298).
In regards to claim 9, Mondello discloses providing information regarding the registered passkey list to the first terminal; receiving, from the passkey agent of the first terminal, a deletion request for a second passkey among the passkeys included in the registered passkey list; updating the registered passkey list by deleting the second passkey; and providing information regarding the updated passkey list to the second terminal (receiving a request (e.g., input 664 in FIG. 6I and/or input 6150 in FIG. 6Y) to mark an authentication credential shared with one or more sharing groups for deletion and in response to receiving the request to mark a shared authentication credential for deletion moving the authentication credential requested to be deleted from the one or more sharing groups to a recently deleted collection (e.g., elements 636c or 636f in FIG. 6AN); Paragraphs 0314; 0325-0330).
Claims 2, 11, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mondello and Islam, in view of McDonald (US 2024/0039707), hereon referred to as McDonald.
In regards to claims 2, 11 & 17, the combination of Mondello and Islam does not disclose wherein the first and second platforms are different OS platforms. However, in an analogous art McDonald discloses wherein the first and second platforms are different OS platforms (the discoverer 214 may interface with a NT service (e.g., Windows OS) or LaunchDaemon or similar Daemon (e.g., macOS or Linux-based OS) that performs device discovery on interfaces that use transport layers; Paragraphs 0086; 0110-0115).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by the combination of Mondello and Islam, with the teachings disclosed by Islam regarding wherein the first and second platforms are different OS platforms. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide security to identity management techniques leveraging mobile devices of users (McDonald; Paragraph 0002).
In regards to claim 18, McDonald discloses wherein the receiving of the passkey authentication request from the first terminal comprises receiving a user authentication request and the passkey authentication request in response to the user’s login request for a specific website via a browser installed on the first terminal (an application 110 may be a web browser configured to request data on and receive data from remote servers for presentation on a display of the relying device; Paragraphs 0084; 0129; 0147).
In regards to claim 19, wherein the transmitting of the authentication result of the user’s passkey to the first terminal comprises, if user authentication and passkey authentication for the user are successfully performed, transmitting the authentication result of the user’s passkey to the first platform (Successful authentication of the user of the mobile device 101 upon one or more user credentials, such as based on a matching of supplied credentials to previously stored credential values, may cause the mobile device to permit use of secure values, such as a private key or other secure values corresponding to an authenticator of the authentication application; Paragraphs 0145-0150).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mondello and Islam, in view of Vasishth et al. (US 2006/0143126), hereon referred to as Vas.
In regards to claim 14, the combination of Mondello and Islam does not disclose checking, at intervals of a predefined time period, whether each passkey included in the updated passkey list is in an unused state; if the checking result shows that the first passkey is in the unused state, updating the registered passkey list by deleting the information regarding the first passkey from the passkey list; and providing information regarding the updated passkey list to the passkey agent of the second terminal. In an analogous art Vas discloses checking, at intervals of a predefined time period, whether each passkey included in the updated passkey list is in an unused state; if the checking result shows that the first passkey is in the unused state, updating the registered passkey list by deleting the information regarding the first passkey from the passkey list; and providing information regarding the updated passkey list to the passkey agent of the second terminal ( if the account object 128 is inactive (i.e., unused) for a specified period of time (e.g., 3 months), the account object is automatically deleted; At a predetermined time, the working state of the identity store will be analyzed with respect to a definitive state of the identity store; the determining operation 404 determines whether the time since the last logon time is greater than a first specified length of time (T1); Paragraphs 0022; 0031; 0044).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by the combination of Mondello and Islam, with the teachings disclosed by Vas regarding checking, at intervals of a predefined time period, whether each passkey included in the updated passkey list is in an unused state; if the checking result shows that the first passkey is in the unused state, updating the registered passkey list by deleting the information regarding the first passkey from the passkey list; and providing information regarding the updated passkey list to the passkey agent of the second terminal. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide security for identifying inactive accounts and identifying and correcting inconsistencies between a working state and a definitive state of the identity store. (Vas; Paragraph 0005).
In regards to claim 15, Mondello discloses transmitting a push notification of a deletion result of the first passkey to the passkey agent of the second terminal (receiving a request (e.g., input 664 in FIG. 6I and/or input 6150 in FIG. 6Y) to mark an authentication credential shared with one or more sharing groups for deletion and contributed by a member of the one or more sharing groups, and in response to receiving the request to mark a shared authentication credential for deletion sending a notification (e.g., wake screen notification, and/or banner notification displayed over a different application or system user interface) (e.g., security notification 697 in FIG. 6AP) to the contributing member that the authentication credential has been deleted; Paragraph 0328.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 & 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHARIF E ULLAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495