DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 5/7/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP 2024-75064 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Please see also the Office’s communication dated 10/7/2025. Examiner believes there might be a number missing from the submitted Japanese Application number in the original ADS filed with this Application, meaning the number above may be incorrect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 7, and 9, The term “many” in claims 1 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “many” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As described above, the term “many” is indefinite, as it is subjective in nature. Claims 2-8 are also rejected at least by their dependence upon claim 1.
This term “many” also appears in claims 4 and 7 – but is referring to the same element so this should be amended to not include this term, along with the above.
Regarding claim 2, Claim 2 recites the limitation "the degassing groove" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 requires “a plurality of flat plate-shaped degassing plate pieces, each of which is formed with a degassing groove . . . “ (emphasis added), meaning there are more than one degassing groove introduced in claim 1. Accordingly, it is not clear what is meant by “the degassing groove” when claim 1 requires more than one degassing groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (JP 2019-206135 A) in view of Kawai (US 2006/0051450).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Kondo discloses an injection molding mold comprising:
a columnar core mold (A1, A2) (Fig. 3);
(b) a pair of split molds (B1 and B2) (Figs. 3-4) disposed as to surround the core mold to form a cavity (C), wherein molten resin is injected into the cavity to mold an irregular tubular molded article opened only at one end (Fig. 9), and at an opened portion, provided with a quadrangular box-shaped great dimension (at the bottom) portion larger than the other portions (at the top) (see Fig. 9). The acts of using the claimed system (“. . . and thereafter, the split molds are separated . . . “) are not considered limiting, as an intended use. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 3- A machine translation is appended to the original copy of this reference.
Kondo does not explicitly disclose that there is a “piece plate stack” as is required in the claims. However, Kawai discloses an injection mold that includes “a number of thin plates” at the core of the mold in a mold including a core and a cavity (Kawai, par. 0024). The thin plates (3a, 3b) (par. 0025-0032) are placed at the bottom portion (corresponding with the box shaped portion of Kondo above) (see Kawai, Fig. 3) and placed with air bleeding grooves (20) as a means of venting the cavity. Kawai explains that the grooves allow air to flow out of the mold when resin is injected (Kawai, par. 0032) along with discharge holes (21) and they are placed in the split molds at the bottom, where the larger portion is present of the object.
Kondo discloses a “base” apparatus of an injection mold. Kawai discloses an “improvement” to the base apparatus that has been improved in the same manner as in the claimed invention, in that it further includes a stack of plates arranged as to form a venting means for the cavity. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have further included the stack of plates within the mold as required in the claimed invention, as to have provided a suitable means of venting in the ”base” apparatus of Kondo above.
Regarding claim 2, Kondo/Kawai discloses the subject matter of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose the size of a degassing groove.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to have specified the size of the grooves are as claimed as it has been held non-inventive to discover the workable or optimum ranges when the prior art discloses the general conditions present in the claims. In this case, Kawai mentions a groove of about 0.1 mm, which is slightly larger than the claimed 0.02-0.03 mm.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Kondo/Kawai discloses the subject matter of claims 1-2, but does not appear to explicitly disclose the variation in thicknesses of the plates.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used any suitable thickness for the plates, as to have achieved the correct pressure conditions within the mold, during molding, based on the size of the grooves selected, which depends at least partially upon the thickness of each layer.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Kondo/Kawai discloses the subject matter of claims 1-2, and further discloses that there is a gas discharge gap through which gas flows to the outside of the mold (see Kondo, Figs 3-5).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Kondo/Kawai discloses the subject matter of claims 1-2, and further discloses that the mold can mold two different articles (P1-P4 as in Kondo, are four distinct moldings produced).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742