DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: Line 16 indicates “wherein the PUR adhesive is located between the top panel portion of the elongate first…” It is unclear if this is the same PUR adhesive indicated previously or an additional adhesive. It is assumed it is an additional (line or bead) of adhesive and will be examined accordingly. It is suggested it read “wherein a PUR adhesive is additionally located…” or similar.
Regarding claim 10: Line 19 indicates “wherein the PUR adhesive is located between the top panel portion of…” It is unclear if this is the same PUR adhesive indicated previously or an additional adhesive. It is assumed it is an additional (line or bead) of adhesive and will be examined accordingly. It is suggested it read “wherein a PUR adhesive is additionally located…” or similar.
Additional claims rejected under 35 USC 112 but not addressed are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and failing to further remedy the issue(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US PGPub No 2007/0251162) in view of Hofmann (US PGPub No 2005/0069693).
Referring to claim 16: Schmid teaches a method of making a furring strip, the method comprising the steps of: providing a panel component (item 2) and a solid component (item 3); applying a adhesive between the panel component and the solid component; closing the panel component onto the solid component (paragraph 0014); and adhering the panel component to the solid component with the adhesive forming the furring strip (paragraph 0014). Schmid does not teach the adhesive is polyurethane reactive (PUR). However, Hofmann teaches a polyurethane reactive adhesive (paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device using the method of Schmid with the adhesive taught by Hofmann in order to provide a strong bond between the two components.
Referring to claim 17: Schmid and Hofmann teach all the limitations of claim 16 as noted above. They do not specifically teach further comprising the step of applying a corona treatment to a surface of the panel component. However, the Examiner gives Official Notice that it is known in the art to apply corona treatments to plastic materials in order to aid in the bonding of said materials using adhesive.
Referring to claim 18: Schmid and Hofmann teach all the limitations of claim 16 as noted above. They do not teach further comprising the step of curing the PUR adhesive while packaging the furring strip. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to let the adhesive cure during packaging in order to speed up the assembly process to deliver materials earlier.
Conclusion
/PATRICK J MAESTRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635