DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "wherein the second portion and the third portion are coupled to the second housing through at least screw fastening" in lines 9-10 of the claim. It is unclear from the disclosure as well as previously claim language how the second and third portions are coupled to the second housing through at least screw fastening when they are located in the first housing. Clarification or correction are required for the examiner to be able to interpret the claim properly.
Claim 4 is dependent upon claim 3 and therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onda (2014/0218854).
Regarding Claim 1: Onda teaches a foldable electronic device comprising: a first housing (1) and a second housing (2); and a hinge module (figs. 10a-15b) connecting the first housing and the second housing (figs. 9a-9c), wherein the hinge module comprises: a first bracket (31) disposed at least partially in the first housing (through 11 in figs. 9a-9c); a second bracket (32) connected to the first bracket (figs. 10a-15b) and configured to be slidable in a linear direction relative to the first bracket (figs. 10a-15b) and rotatably connected to the second housing (figs. 9a-9c) via a shaft (22) substantially perpendicular to the linear direction (figs. 10a-15b); and an elastic member (39), comprising elastic material (39 is a spring), positioned between at least the first bracket and the second bracket (figs. 10a-15b).
Regarding Claim 2: Onda teaches wherein the hinge module comprises a linear motion guide (figs. 10a-15b), and wherein the linear motion guide comprises: a linear motion guide rail (31M) included in the first bracket (fig. 10b); and a linear motion slider (portion of 32 in fig. 10B see paragraph [0040]) included in the second bracket (figs. 10a-10b) and positioned on the linear motion guide rail (figs. 10a-10b).
Regarding Claim 8: Onda teaches wherein the elastic member comprises a coil compression spring (figs. 10a-15b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda (2014/0218854) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Park (2004/0244146).
Regarding Claim 3: Onda teaches wherein the first bracket comprises a first portion (central portion of 31 in figs. 10a-10b), a second portion (portions 36 shown in figs. 10a-10b) extending from the first portion (figs. 10a-10b), and a third portion (bottom extending portions in figs. 10a-10b) extending from the first portion (figs. 10a-10b), wherein the second bracket comprises a fourth portion (center portion of 32 in fig. 10b), a first shaft support (first extending portion from 32 that connects with 22 in fig. 10b) extending from the fourth portion (figs. 10a-10b), and a second shaft support (second extending portion from 32 that connects with 22 in fig. 10b) extending from the fourth portion (figs. 10a-10b), wherein the fourth portion is connected to the first portion and configured to be slidable in the linear direction relative to the first portion (the elements are all interconnected and slidable as shown in figs. 10a-10b), wherein the second portion and the third portion are coupled to the second housing (through 41 in figs. 10a-15b), and wherein the first shaft support and the second shaft support are connected to the second housing via at least the shaft (figs. 10a-15b), but lacks a specific teaching of using a screw fastening.
Park teaches a hinging device (fig. 3a) including a first bracket (37) and a second bracket (53) wherein the first bracket includes a first portion (39) and a second portion (first extending portion where 37 points to in fig., 3a) and a third portion (second extending portion opposite to the first extending portion shown in fig. 3a) wherein the second portion and the third portion are coupled to the second housing (30) using a screw fastening (41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Onda by using a screw fastening as disclosed by Park in order to allow for a solid more secure connection between the first bracket and the first housing creating a more reliable hinging mechanism and in turn decreasing the chances of disconnection between the apparatus and the hinging mechanism which could lead to damage of the internal components of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 4: Onda teaches the second bracket further comprises a first support wall (36 in figs. 14a-14b) and a second support wall (upper portion of 32 in figs. 14a-14b) extending from the fourth portion (figs. 14a-14b), wherein the first support wall and the second support wall are spaced apart from each other in the linear direction (figs. 14a-14b), and the second support wall is positioned between at least the first support wall and the shaft (figs. 14a-14b), wherein the first portion of the first bracket is positioned in at least a portion of a space provided by a combination of the fourth portion, the first support wall, and the second support wall (figs. 14a-14b), and wherein the elastic member is disposed between at least the first portion and the first support wall (figs. 14a-14b).
Claim(s) 5-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda (2014/0218854) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Morrison (11,114,746).
Regarding Claim 5: Onda lacks a specific teaching of wherein one of the first housing and the second housing comprises a hook, and another one of the first housing and second housing comprises a coupling portion corresponding to the hook, and wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing, a first folded state in which interference exists between the hook and the coupling portion, and/or a second folded state in which interference between the hook and the coupling portion is released.
Morrison teaches wherein one of the first housing and the second housing comprises a hook (914), and another one of the first housing and second housing comprises a coupling portion (912) corresponding to the hook (figs. 9a and 9c), and wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device (figs. 9a and 9c) comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing (fig. 10a), a first folded state in which interference exists between the hook and the coupling portion (9a and 9c represent the lid being closed and that position shows interference between the hook and the coupling portion and it is relative to the position of the first bracket and the second bracket being in a specific position shown in fig. 10a), and/or a second folded state in which interference between the hook and the coupling portion is released.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Onda by having one of the first housing and the second housing comprises a hook, and another one of the first housing and second housing comprises a coupling portion corresponding to the hook, and wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing, a first folded state in which interference exists between the hook and the coupling portion, and/or a second folded state in which interference between the hook and the coupling portion is released as disclosed by Morrison in order to allow for a more secure closure of the first housing and second housing in order to protect the internal electronic component and decrease the chances of damage to the components while the first housing and second housing are in the folded state.
Regarding Claim 6: Onda lacks a specific teaching of wherein the second housing comprises a hook, wherein the first housing comprises a hook engagement part corresponding to the hook, and wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing, a first folded state in which interference exists between the hook and the hook engagement portion, and/or a second folded state in which interference between the hook and the hook engagement portion is released.
Morrison teaches wherein the second housing comprises a hook (914 as described in col. 19 lines 4-26), wherein the first housing comprises a hook engagement part (912 as described in col. 19 lines 4-26) corresponding to the hook, and wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device (figs. 9a and 9c) comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing (fig. 10a), a first folded state in which interference exists between the hook and the hook engagement portion (9a and 9c represent the lid being closed and that position shows interference between the hook and the coupling portion and it is relative to the position of the first bracket and the second bracket being in a specific position shown in fig. 10a), and/or a second folded state in which interference between the hook and the hook engagement portion is released.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Onda by having the second housing comprises a hook, wherein the first housing comprises a hook engagement part corresponding to the hook, and wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing, a first folded state in which interference exists between the hook and the hook engagement portion, and/or a second folded state in which interference between the hook and the hook engagement portion is released as disclosed by Morrison in order to allow for a more secure closure of the first housing and second housing in order to protect the internal electronic component and decrease the chances of damage to the components while the first housing and second housing are in the folded state.
Regarding Claim 7: Onda lacks a specific teaching of a first magnetic element positioned at least partially in the second housing; and a second magnetic element and a third magnetic element positioned at least partially in the first housing, wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing, a first folded state in which an attractive force between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element is greater than a repulsive force between the first magnetic element and the third magnetic element, and/or a second folded state in which the repulsive force between the first magnetic element and the third magnetic element is greater than the attractive force between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element.
Morrison teaches a first magnetic element (812) positioned at least partially in the second housing (fig. 8a); and a second magnetic element (814) and a third magnetic (824) element positioned at least partially in the first housing (fig. 8a), wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device (fig. 8a) comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing (fig. 10a), a first folded state in which an attractive force between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element is greater than a repulsive force between the first magnetic element and the third magnetic element (fig. 8a as described in col. 17 lines 41-53), and/or a second folded state in which the repulsive force between the first magnetic element and the third magnetic element is greater than the attractive force between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Onda by having a first magnetic element positioned at least partially in the second housing; and a second magnetic element and a third magnetic element positioned at least partially in the first housing, wherein a folded state of the foldable electronic device comprises, depending on a relative position between the first bracket coupled to the first housing and the second bracket coupled to the second housing, a first folded state in which an attractive force between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element is greater than a repulsive force between the first magnetic element and the third magnetic element, and/or a second folded state in which the repulsive force between the first magnetic element and the third magnetic element is greater than the attractive force between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element as disclosed by Morrison in order to allow for a more secure closure of the first housing and second housing in order to protect the internal electronic component and decrease the chances of damage to the components while the first housing and second housing are in the folded state.
Regarding Claim 9: Onda lacks a specific teaching of wherein, in a folded state of the foldable electronic device, the first housing comprises a first recess and a second recess provided on a first surface that faces the second housing, wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, the second housing comprises a third recess and a fourth recess provided on another surface that faces the first surface of the first housing, wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, a combination of the first recess and the third recess provides a first space configured to accommodate a first wireless earphone, and wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, a combination of the second recess and the fourth recess provides a second space configured to accommodate a second wireless earphone.
Morrison teaches wherein, in a folded state of the foldable electronic device (figs. 11-12b), the first housing comprises a first recess (132) and a second recess (134) provided on a first surface that faces the second housing (fig. 10d), wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, the second housing comprises a third recess (area holding top portion of 140 in figs. 11-12b) and a fourth recess (area holding top portion of 160 in figs. 11-12b) provided on another surface that faces the first surface of the first housing (figs. 11-12b), wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, a combination of the first recess and the third recess provides a first space configured to accommodate a first wireless earphone (140), and wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, a combination of the second recess and the fourth recess provides a second space configured to accommodate a second wireless earphone (160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Onda by having in a folded state of the foldable electronic device, the first housing comprises a first recess and a second recess provided on a first surface that faces the second housing, wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, the second housing comprises a third recess and a fourth recess provided on another surface that faces the first surface of the first housing, wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, a combination of the first recess and the third recess provides a first space configured to accommodate a first wireless earphone, and wherein, in the folded state of the foldable electronic device, a combination of the second recess and the fourth recess provides a second space configured to accommodate a second wireless earphone as disclosed by Morrison in order to allow for a more secure closure of the first housing and second housing in order to protect the internal electronic component and decrease the chances of damage to the components while the first housing and second housing are in the folded state.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda (2014/0218854) in view of Morrison (11,114,746) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Chandramohan (2017/0094399).
Regarding Claim 10: Onda in view of Morrison lacks a specific teaching of further comprising: a first connection terminal positioned at least partially in the first housing to correspond to the first recess and a second connection terminal positioned at least partially in the first housing to correspond to the second recess, wherein the first connection terminal is electrically connected to the first wireless earphone disposed in the first recess, and the second connection terminal is electrically connected to the second wireless earphone disposed in the second recess; an antenna structure, comprising an antenna, positioned at least partially in the first housing; and a power management module, comprising circuitry, configured to provide power, wirelessly received from an external electronic device via the antenna structure, to the first connection terminal and the second connection terminal
Chandramohan teaches a first connection terminal positioned at least partially in the first housing (figs. 1 and 7a-7b) to correspond to the first recess (figs. 1 and 7a-7b) and a second connection terminal positioned at least partially in the first housing (figs. 1 and 7a-7b) to correspond to the second recess (figs. 1 and 7a-7b), wherein the first connection terminal is electrically connected to the first wireless earphone disposed in the first recess (figs. 1 and 7a-7b), and the second connection terminal is electrically connected to the second wireless earphone disposed in the second recess (figs. 1 and 7a-7b); an antenna structure (250, wherein a wireless power receiving coil is a form of antenna), comprising an antenna, positioned at least partially in the first housing (figs. 1-2 and 7a-7b); and a power management module (210), comprising circuitry (225), configured to provide power, wirelessly received from an external electronic device via the antenna structure, to the first connection terminal and the second connection terminal (shown from block diagram in fig. 2 as described in paragraphs [0037] and [0123]-[0124]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Onda by having a first connection terminal positioned at least partially in the first housing to correspond to the first recess and a second connection terminal positioned at least partially in the first housing to correspond to the second recess, wherein the first connection terminal is electrically connected to the first wireless earphone disposed in the first recess, and the second connection terminal is electrically connected to the second wireless earphone disposed in the second recess; an antenna structure, comprising an antenna, positioned at least partially in the first housing; and a power management module, comprising circuitry, configured to provide power, wirelessly received from an external electronic device via the antenna structure, to the first connection terminal and the second connection terminal as disclosed by Chandramohan in order to allow for a more reliable charging course and connection for the internal components while allowing for the versatility of wireless charging within the apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in the notice of references PTO-892 but not relied upon above are related as they include multiple types of foldable electronic devices including hinges and the connections between multiple housings.
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841