DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the application filed 04/25/2025 which claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the at least partially bordered application surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuhl (US 2006/0109657).
Regarding claim 1, Kuhl discloses a motor vehicle with a lighting device (10) which is arranged on the motor vehicle, and which comprises:
a first flat reflection element (14) arranged in a first reflection plane of the lighting device (see figs. 2 and 9; paras. 0029, 0031),
a second flat reflection element (18) arranged in a second reflection plane and spaced from the first reflection element, wherein the second reflection element is designed to reflect light and is partially transparent (see figs. 2 and 9; paras. 0029, 0034),
wherein both reflection elements (14, 18) are aligned with each other such that their reflecting surfaces face each other and form an intermediate space, and wherein the first reflection element is arranged on the motor vehicle (see figs. 2 and 9; paras. 0029, 0031, 0035);
wherein the lighting device (10) has at least one lighting element (16) which is arranged in the intermediate space in such a way that, when switched on, the lighting device (10) emits light onto at least one of the two reflection elements (see figs. 2 and 9; paras. 0032, 0034-0035, 0046); and
wherein the lighting device (10) forms a light strip (see figs. 2 and 9; para. 0032).
Regarding claim 2, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the lighting device forms a curved light strip (see fig. 1; paras. 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 3, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a display device is arranged on an application surface adjacent to the lighting device (see paras. 0037, 0042, 0054).
Regarding claim 4, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein at least one operating element is arranged on an application surface adjacent to the lighting device (see fig. 9; paras. 0042-0043, 0052-0053).
Regarding claim 7, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first reflection element (14) is designed as mirror (paras. 0029-0030).
Regarding claim 8, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the second reflection element is designed as frosted glass or partially opaque (paras. 0034, 0037).
Regarding claim 9, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first reflection element (14) is a surface of an interior trim element of the motor vehicle, or is a surface of the body of the motor vehicle (paras. 0030, 0037, 0054).
Regarding claim 10, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the lighting device (10) is arranged on an interior trim element of the motor vehicle or on an outer side of the body of the motor vehicle (paras. 0030, 0039-0040, 0054).
Regarding claim 11, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 2, wherein a display device is arranged on an application surface adjacent to the lighting device (see paras. 0037, 0042, 0054).
Regarding claim 12, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 2, wherein at least one operating element is arranged on an application surface adjacent to the lighting device (see fig. 9; paras. 0042-0043, 0052-0053).
Regarding claim 13, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 3, wherein at least one operating element is arranged on an application surface adjacent to the lighting device (see fig. 9; paras. 0042-0043, 0052-0053).
Regarding claim 17, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 2, wherein the first reflection element is designed as a mirror (paras. 0029-0030).
Regarding claim 18, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the first reflection element is designed as a mirror (paras. 0029-0030).
Regarding claim 19, Kuhl further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 4, wherein the first reflection element is designed as a mirror (paras. 0029-0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhl (US 2006/0109657) in view of Mueller et al. (WO 2007/025574 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Mueller). The teachings of Kuhl have been discussed above.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Kuhl discloses wherein the lighting device may be for any portion of a motor vehicle (paras. 0042, 0054), but fails to specifically teach wherein the lighting device is arranged on an inner side of a door of the motor vehicle.
Mueller discloses a lighting device arranged on an inner side of a door of the motor vehicle, and wherein a door opening handle is arranged on an application surface of the door (see abstract; and figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kuhl and Mueller in order to increase the visual appeal and enhance the appearance of a vehicle (see Kuhl, paras. 0010, 0035).
Regarding claims 14-16, Kuhl discloses wherein the lighting device may be for any portion of a motor vehicle (paras. 0042, 0054), but fails to specifically teach wherein the lighting device is arranged on an inner side of a door of the motor vehicle.
Mueller discloses a lighting device arranged on an inner side of a door of the motor vehicle, and wherein a door opening handle is arranged on an application surface of the door (see abstract; and figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kuhl and Mueller in order to increase the visual appeal and enhance the appearance of a vehicle (see Kuhl, paras. 0010, 0035).
Regarding claim 20, Kuhl as modified by Mueller further discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 5, wherein the first reflection element is designed as a mirror (see Kuhl, paras. 0029-0030).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 form.
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876