DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Ushiro (US 2004/0062545).
Regarding claim 1, Ushiro discloses an image capture device (Ushiro, fig. 13, camera 200), comprising:
an image lens mount (lens unit 220) (Ushiro, fig. 13), comprising:
an imaging sensor (imaging element 224) (Ushiro, fig. 13) configured to detect light;
an image lens mount housing (housing of lens unit 220) that encloses the imaging sensor (imaging element 224) (Ushiro, fig. 13);
an image lens mount electrical connection (lens connectors 226) that electrically interfaces with the imaging sensor (imaging element 224) and is located on an external surface (rear surface) of the image lens mount housing (housing of lens unit 220) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0114], lens connectors 226 is on the rear surface of housing of lens unit 220); and
an image lens mount locator (space corresponding to member 210, i.e. space among connectors 226) positioned on the external surface of the image lens mount housing (Ushiro, fig. 14); and
a body (body 202) (Ushiro, fig. 13), comprising:
a receptacle (connector 206) configured to received the image lens mount (lens unit 220) (Ushiro, fig. 13);
a body electrical connection (connectors 206k) configured to releasably connect with the image lens mount electrical connection (lens connectors 226) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0114]); and
a body locator (member 210) configured to releasably connect with the image lens mount (lens unit 220) such that the body electrical connection (connectors 206k) and the image lens mount electrical connection (lens connectors 226) are aligned when the body locator (member 210) and the image lens mount locator (space corresponding to member 210) are connected (lens unit 220) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0117], wherein when member 210 of body 202 is aligned with space corresponding to member 210 of lens unit 220, electrical connection is established for connectors 206k and lens connectors 226).
Regarding claim 4, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
the image lens mount (lens unit 220) and the body (body 202) is waterproofed at a friction fit (friction fit) such that water (foreign matter i.e. one drop of water) does not impact the image lens mount electrical connection (lens connectors 226) and/or the body electrical connection (connectors 206k) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118], wherein when lens unit 220 is inserted into body 202, foreign matter i.e. dust, dust, one drop of water is prevented from combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226).
Regarding claim 5, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
the body comprises a processor (inherent part of body 202 for displaying images from imaging element 224) configured to process signals from the imaging sensor (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118]).
Regarding claim 7, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
the image lens mount (lens unit 220) defines slots (slots among lens connectors 226) configured to receive a portion (member 210) of the body (Ushiro, figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 8, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
a button (button 212) configured to release and/or connect the body locator (member 210) and the image lens mount locator (space corresponding to member 210) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118], wherein button 212 are in different positions when the lens unit is inserted or removed).
Regarding claim 9, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
a collar (button 212) configured to move between a shifted position (shifted position) and a locked position (locked position) to release and/or connect the body locator (member 210) and the image lens mount locator (space corresponding to member 210) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118], wherein button 212 are in different positions when the lens unit is inserted or removed).
Regarding claim 10, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
the collar (button 212) is connected with the body locator (member 210) and/or the image lens mount locator (space corresponding to member 210, i.e. space among connectors 226) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118], wherein button 212 is connected to member 210 and space corresponding to member 210 when the lens unit 220 is inserted or removed).
Regarding claim 11, Ushiro discloses an image capture device (Ushiro, fig. 13, camera 200), comprising:
an image lens mount (lens unit 220) comprising an image sensor (imaging element 224) (Ushiro, fig. 13);
a body (body 202) comprising a processor (inherent part of body 202 for displaying images from imaging element 224), (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118]);
an electrical connection (electrical connection established by connectors 206k and lens connectors 226) between the image sensor and the processor (inherent part of camera 200) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0117], wherein electrical connection is established for connectors 206k and lens connectors 226); and
a locator connection (combination of member 210 and space corresponding to member 210, i.e. space among connectors 226) that is configured to align the electrical connection (combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226) between the body (body 202) and the image lens mount (lens unit 220) and waterproof (waterproof) a location at the electrical connection (combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118], wherein when lens unit 220 is inserted into body 202, foreign matter i.e. dust, dust, one drop of water is prevented from combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226).
Regarding claim 12, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
the locator connection (combination of member 210 and space corresponding to member 210, i.e. space among connectors 226) has a friction fit (friction fit) between one (member 210) or more first locators of the body (body 202) and one (space corresponding to member 210) or more second locators of the image lens mount (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118], wherein there is friction fit when lens unit 220 is inserted into body 202).
Regarding claim 13, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
the locator connection (combination of member 210 and space corresponding to member 210, i.e. space among connectors 226) is defined within or on the image lens mount (lens unit 220) and the body (body 202) and is configured to guide the body and the image lens mount toward one another along an axis (a lens axis of lens 222) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 16, Ushiro discloses an image capture device (Ushiro, fig. 13, camera 200), comprising:
an image lens mount (lens unit 220) comprising an imaging sensor (imaging element 224) (Ushiro, fig. 13) configured to detect light;
a body (body 202) releasably connectable with the image lens mount (lens unit 220) (Ushiro, fig. 13);
an external electrical connection (combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226) included on external surfaces of the body (surface 207) and the image lens mount (rear surface of lens unit 220) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14); and
a locking mechanism (member 210 and button 212) separate from the external electrical connection (combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226) and configured to connect the body and the image lens mount such that the external electrical connection (combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226) is waterproofed (waterproofed) while the body and the image lens mount are connected (Ushiro, figs. 13-14, par [0113-0118], wherein when lens unit 220 is inserted into body 202, foreign matter i.e. dust, dust, one drop of water is prevented from combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226).
Regarding claim 17, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
a locator assembly (space among connectors 226) that is separate (separate) from the locking mechanism (member 210 and button 212) and defined on the external surfaces of the body (surface 207) and the image lens mount (rear surface of lens unit 220) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 18, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
the locator assembly (space among connectors 226) is separate (separate) from the locking mechanism (member 210 and button 212) and the external electrical connection (combination of connectors 206k and lens connectors 226) on the external surfaces of the body (surface 207) and the image lens mount (rear surface of lens unit 220) (Ushiro, figs. 13-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6, 14-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ushiro (US 2004/0062545) in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 2, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. However, Ushiro does not disclose:
the body comprises a battery, and wherein the image lens mount does not include a battery.
On the other hand, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of the body comprising a battery, and wherein the image lens mount not including a battery as claimed are well known and expected in the art. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the body comprising a battery, and wherein the image lens mount not including a battery into the device by Ushiro because such implementation allows for a wide range of lenses to be used with the same power source.
Regarding claim 3, Ushiro and Official Notice disclose aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ushiro discloses:
the body (body 202) does not comprise an imaging sensor (imaging elements 224) configured to detect light (Ushiro, figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 6, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. However, Ushiro does not disclose:
the body locator and/or the image lens mount locator comprises a seal configured to form a friction fit between the body and the image lens mount.
On the other hand, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of the body locator and/or the image lens mount locator comprising a seal configured to form a friction fit between the body and the image lens mount as claimed are well known and expected in the art. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the body locator and/or the image lens mount locator comprising a seal configured to form a friction fit between the body and the image lens mount into the device by Ushiro because such implementation enhances sealing performance.
Regarding claim 14, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. However, Ushiro does not disclose:
a battery that is not incorporated into the image lens mount.
On the other hand, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of a battery that is not incorporated into the image lens mount as claimed are well known and expected in the art. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have implemented a battery that is not incorporated into the image lens mount into the device by Ushiro because such implementation allows for a wide range of lenses to be used with the same power source.
Regarding claim 15, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. However, Ushiro does not disclose:
the battery is separate from the image lens mount and included with the body.
On the other hand, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of the battery being separate from the image lens mount and being included with the body as claimed are well known and expected in the art. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the battery being separate from the image lens mount and being included with the body into the device by Ushiro because such implementation allows for a wide range of lenses to be used with the same power source.
Regarding claim 19, Ushiro discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. However, Ushiro does not disclose:
the external electrical connection is waterproofed at a seal included at the locator assembly.
On the other hand, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of the external electrical connection being waterproofed at a seal included at the locator assembly as claimed are well known and expected in the art. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the external electrical connection being waterproofed at a seal included at the locator assembly into the device by Ushiro because such implementation enhances sealing performance.
Regarding claim 20, Ushiro and Official Notice disclose aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. However, Ushiro does not disclose:
the seal includes an elastic material.
On the other hand, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of the seal including an elastic material as claimed are well known and expected in the art. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the seal including an elastic material into the device by Ushiro because such implementation provides flexibility, cost-effectiveness, and reliable performance.
Conclusion
/TUAN H LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638