Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (CN 117111803 A).
Regarding claim 10,
Huang teaches:
A method of component display, comprising: filling a first background of a first component and a second background of a second component by using a target element,(Huang Abstract “receiving a first operation of a user, the first operation is used for indicating to display a first interface, the first interface comprises a first list, and the bottom layer of the first list displays a first background image; in response to the first operation, a first view is created, and the first view comprises at least one first list item view; a second view is created, the second view is overlapped on the upper layer of the first view, the second view comprises at least one second list item view, the at least one second list item view occupies the layout of the second view or exceeds the layout of the second view, and the size of each second list item view is smaller than or equal to the size of the first background image; filling each first list item view with the content of the first list; and filling each second list item view with a first background image.”
¶117 “The main interface 502 includes list 5021, list 5022, list 5023, etc., and the bottom layer of list 5021, list 5022, and list 5023 does not contain a background image … The main interface 502 also includes an application list control 503. When the user clicks the application list control 503, the interface jumps to the application list interface 504, as shown in (c) of Figure 5. The application list interface 504 displays information of multiple applications, and the information of these applications is displayed in the form of a list 505. A splicing background is displayed at the bottom of the list 505. The spliced background is composed of multiple original background images (also called first background images), which are shown as original background image 5051, original background image 5052 and original background image 5053 respectively.”
¶9 “The background image display method provided in the first aspect constructs a first view and a second view respectively, displays the content of the list through the first view, displays the first background image through the second view … In this way, each second list view is filled with the first background image. After the image is drawn, the first background image can cover or exceed the second view without stretching the first background image. The background image will not be blurred, unclear, deformed, etc., thereby improving the display effect and thereby improving the user's visual experience.”
¶18 “Therefore, when filling the first background image into the second list view, the reduction of the first background image is an equal reduction, which will not cause the second list view to be reduced in proportion to its width. The background image is distorted to further improve the display effect and improve the user's visual experience.”
Note: To establish that Huang properly teaches a “component” and “target element” as defined by the specifications an example provided in the ¶36 of the specs is provided “In some embodiments, referring to Fig. 3A, the electronic device 110 may fill a first background of a first component 320 by using a target element 310. It can be understood that, if the target element is not enough to fill the first component, the electronic device 110 splices the target element to obtain the first background of the first component. That is, the first background may be filled by a portion of a target element, a single target element, or more target elements. [0037] In some embodiments, such target elements may include, but are not limited to, various types of graphical elements, e. g., images, expressions, stickers, etc. [0038] In some embodiments, the size of such a first component may be dynamically changed. As an example, the size of the first component may vary depending on the information content to be displayed within the first component. For example, the first component may be a component for displaying a comment, and then the size of the first component may correspondingly change according to the length of the content of the comment.”
. Thus, a component is understood to be analogous to a UI element, node, widget, etc…, and is simply a dedicated area of the display that can display content in front of a background. Huang teaches this same concept, a “component” that is a specific part of the display area and the type of content that will be in the foreground, and refers to these different components as “first list view” items. This can be seen above in Fig. 5 where first list element 5022 defines a specific area of the display, shown by the dotted line border, and content that is in the display area, in this case application icons. The target element, or background image, is provided to the second list view which handles formatting the image as the background in the component area. Thus, the background image placed in the second list view is the claims target element. As seen in Fig. 5 (c), multiple second list views 5051, 5052, and 5053 all contain the same target element, aka background image, placed behind their respective first list view items aka the claims components.) wherein the first component is adjacent to the second component,(Huang ¶178 “the dividing line of the background list item can be set to be transparent” Note: As established previously, Huang Fig. 5 and the accompanying explanation in ¶117 detail first and second components with a target background image placed behind them. As can be seen from Fig. 5 (c) and (b), multiple examples of components adjacent to each other are provided, in this case they are vertically adjacent. The provided citation from ¶178 simply clarifies that the line that divides components can be made transparent, teaching that they can be made directly adjacent with no divider.) and the first component and the second component have different sizes;(Huang Fig. 5 (c), cited above, depicts three components with three backgrounds containing the same target image 5051, 5052, and 5053 respectively. As seen from (c) of Fig. 5, the bottom most component of the three displayed is significantly smaller than the two above it. While this is due to the scrolling nature of the present UI, it nonetheless depicts a plurality of components where some have different sizes. Thus, a first and second component with different sizes is taught.) displaying the first component and the second component, causing the target element to be continuously presented across the first background of the first component and the second background of the second component;(Huang ¶178 “the dividing line of the background list item can be set to be transparent. In this way, the display of content in content recycler view 4 will not be affected, further improving the display effect.” ¶236 “In addition, as the user continues to slide upward, if the loaded list content and splicing background are displayed, the App Market APP can continue to load the list content and splicing background … the newly loaded splicing background can be the same as the first loaded splicing background, and the newly loaded splicing background is displayed continuously with the originally loaded splicing background, as shown in (d) in Figure 17.”
Note: Huang ¶117 details that the dividing line between background images placed behind content can be made transparent, Huang ¶236 teaches that partial “spliced” backgrounds of smaller components entering view can be made, this has the effect of multiple background with the same background image being displayed continuously. A visual example of this is depicted above across Fig. 17(a)-(d), where a user swipes down to access new components/content below. Each component has the same background image with no divider (as the dotted lines of the figure are annotations, not displayed content) giving the appearance of a continuous background.) and in response to a move operation (Huang Fig. 17, and its accompanying description in ¶236, teach a move operation, specifically a slide upwards operation that moves the content on the display.) for at least one of the first component or the second component, moving the first component and the second component, causing the first background and the second background to move in coordination with the first component and the second component. (Huang Fig. 17 and its accompanying description in ¶236 contain the above-described process. A user operation, in this case sliding upwards, causes new content and backgrounds to be loaded on the display. As seen from Fig .17 (a) to (b), a sliding operation causes a first component to be moved upwards so that only its bottom most content is visible, when the first component is moved it can also be seen that the second and third components move upwards as well. Here it can also be seen that the backgrounds of the respective components move in coordination with their components.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-13, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 117111803 A) in view of the W3C’s 2011 specifications for Scalable Vector Graphs, hereinafter SVG.
Regarding claims 14, 1,
Huang teaches:
An electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, (Huang ¶44 “The electronic device includes: a processor, a memory, and an interface; the processor, the memory, and the interface cooperate with each other to enable the electronic device to execute any method in the technical solution of the first aspect. ") the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, cause the electronic device to perform acts comprising: filling a first background of a first component by using a target element;(Huang Abstract and ¶18, cited in the rejection of claim 10, teach filling a first background of a first component by using a target element.) determining first drawing information of the first component, the first drawing information comprising at least one of a first start position of the target element or a first end position of the target element in the first component, (Huang ¶11 “determining the layout information of the second list item view based on the size of the first background image and the layout size of the first view; creating the second view” ¶204 “Exemplarily, FIG. 14 is a schematic diagram of a background list item layout provided by this embodiment of the present application. Referring to Figure 14, during the above calculation process, according to the relationship between the width of the background original image and the layout width, the following three situations can be included:
1) The width wb of the original background image is wider than the layout width W, that is, wb⟩W.
Referring to (a) in Figure 14, in this case, 0⟨W/wb⟨1, Qw=1, K⟨1. That is to say, in this case, the number of layouts of the background list item along the width direction is 1, and the width wi of the background list item is the layout width W. When filling the background original image into the background list item, the background original image can be compressed Fill so that the original background image will not be distorted.
2) The width wb of the original background image is narrower than the layout width W, that is, wb⟨W”
¶214 “The background layout calculation component uses the width wb of the background original image as the width wi of each background list item, and uses the height hb of the background original image as the height hi of the background list item.”
Note: To establish that a first start and end position is taught as described by the claims, the specification is referenced ¶42 “As shown in Fig. 3B, the first start position 370 and the first end position 380 may represent an offset position in a target element. For example, the first start position 370 may correspond to a height "0" of the target element; the first end position may correspond to a height offset of a corresponding position in the target element, e. g., "h1". It should be appreciated that after determining the first start position 370, the electronic device 110 may determine the corresponding first end position 380 based on the height of the component 340.”
The target element/background image that is used to fill a component can be used multiple times to fill the area, as seen above in Fig. 3A. The start/end position of a target element is seen to refer the start/end of an individual target element, and not the entire component region that can have multiple target elements. Huang Fig. 14, and its accompanying description found in ¶214, teaches that the drawing information (the start/end points for a first target element in a first component) is determined. A calculation using the height and width of the target element and the height and width of the component is performed to determine how many target elements will fit in the component without stretching or shrinking the proper proportionate width of the target element (examples can be seen in Fig. 14, where the first component is the entire screen) This calculation directly determines where the target elements will be tiled, and what width/height they will have in the component, or in other words it determines the start/end position of multiple target elements. Thus, Huang teaches determining a first target element’s start/end position in a first component.) wherein the first start position and the first end position indicating an offset position of the target element; (Huang Fig. 14 and ¶214 cited above teach that given a target element’s height and width determine how many target elements can fit within a component without stretching/shrinking its proportional dimensions. As seen from Fig. 14, this means differently sized target elements will fill the component differently. Example (a) has a different start/end position of its first element than example (b), which makes their second target elements in the component start at a different place. From the implicit nature of how Huang handles placing target elements, it can be seen that the start/end positions of a first element are offset positions for where a next target element will start.)
While Huang teaches determining drawing information of a start and end position is determined for a first target element of a first component that indicates an offset position, Huang does not teach determining second drawing information for a second target element of a second component. This is found in SVG which teaches determining, based on the first drawing information, (SVG 13.3 Patterns “A pattern is used to fill or stroke an object using a pre-defined graphic object which can be replicated ("tiled") at fixed intervals in x and y to cover the areas to be painted. Patterns are defined using a ‘pattern’ element and then referenced by properties ‘fill’ and ‘stroke’ on a given graphics element to indicate that the given element shall be filled or stroked with the referenced pattern.
Attributes ‘x’, ‘y’, ‘width’, ‘height’ and ‘patternUnits’ define a reference rectangle somewhere on the infinite canvas. The reference rectangle has its top/left at (x, y) and its bottom/right at (x + width, y + height). The tiling theoretically extends a series of such rectangles to infinity in X and Y (positive and negative), with rectangles starting at (x + m*width, y + n* height) for each possible integer value for m and n.” Note: SVG teaches a “reference rectangle”, a designated area of a UI that can be filled with content, analogous to the claim’s component. SVG teaches that reference rectangles can accept a “pattern element” that will be used to tile/fill the reference rectangle, analogous to the claims target element. ) second drawing information of a second component associated with the first component,(SVG 13.3 Patterns, cited above, teaches that for a given reference rectangle/second component any amount of additional adjacent components can be created in the X or Y direction of the first component.) the second drawing information comprising at least one of a second start position of the target element or a second end position of the target element in the second component; and filling a second background of the second component by using the target element based on the second drawing information.(SVG 13.3 Patterns, cited above, teaches this portion of the claim. Note: SVG teaches a rectangle is defined by its attributes of rectangle height/width, and x/y coordinates. It is further taught that there can be additional refence rectangles that continue the tiling pattern the first rectangle starts. Regardless of whether the rectangles extended from in the X or Y direction, the tiling of the pattern is taught to extend, meaning it is continuous. This is accomplished by defining the rectangles on an infinite canvas of the pattern tiling. Thus, the end point (side of rectangle on X or Y dimension) of the first component (reference rectangle) becomes the starting point of the second component. This exact same approach, to have the second component’s pattern of target elements start at the end point of the first to create the appearance of a single continuous background is employed by the present application, as seen from the specifications ¶42 and Fig. 3B cited above.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Huang with SVG where a first component’s drawing information consisting of a target element’s start and end position is used to determine a second component’s drawing information.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, when using the same target element for multiple components/areas of the UI to make a tiled background, the background may appear jagged, uneven, or otherwise unaesthetic due to the patterned elements not aligning across different UI elements. If one wished to improve the aesthetic quality of the UI by giving the appearance of a continuous background pattern, the second drawing information of a second component could be determined using the first drawing information of a first component to determine how to properly align the target elements.
Although out of order, claim 11 is addressed here as its content is identical to the content of claim 1, other than its preamble referencing the method of claim 10. It is rejected below using the same citations and reasoning as found in claim 1, simply reprovided.
Regarding claim 11,
Huang teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein filling the first background of the first component and the second background of the second component by using the target element comprises: filling the first background of the first component by using the target element;(Huang Abstract and ¶18, cited in the rejection of claim 10, teach filling a first background of a first component by using a target element) determining first drawing information of the first component, the first drawing information comprising at least one of a first start position of the target element or a first end position of the target element in the first component, wherein the first start position and the first end position indicate an offset position of the target element;( (Huang ¶11 “determining the layout information of the second list item view based on the size of the first background image and the layout size of the first view; creating the second view” ¶204 “Exemplarily, FIG. 14 is a schematic diagram of a background list item layout provided by this embodiment of the present application. Referring to Figure 14, during the above calculation process, according to the relationship between the width of the background original image and the layout width, the following three situations can be included:
1) The width wb of the original background image is wider than the layout width W, that is, wb⟩W.
Referring to (a) in Figure 14, in this case, 0⟨W/wb⟨1, Qw=1, K⟨1. That is to say, in this case, the number of layouts of the background list item along the width direction is 1, and the width wi of the background list item is the layout width W. When filling the background original image into the background list item, the background original image can be compressed Fill so that the original background image will not be distorted.
2) The width wb of the original background image is narrower than the layout width W, that is, wb⟨W”
¶214 “The background layout calculation component uses the width wb of the background original image as the width wi of each background list item, and uses the height hb of the background original image as the height hi of the background list item.”
Note: To establish that a first start and end position is taught as described by the claims, the specification is referenced ¶42 “As shown in Fig. 3B, the first start position 370 and the first end position 380 may represent an offset position in a target element. For example, the first start position 370 may correspond to a height "0" of the target element; the first end position may correspond to a height offset of a corresponding position in the target element, e. g., "h1". It should be appreciated that after determining the first start position 370, the electronic device 110 may determine the corresponding first end position 380 based on the height of the component 340.”
The target element/background image that is used to fill a component can be used multiple times to fill the area, as seen above in Fig. 3A. The start/end position of a target element is seen to refer the start/end of an individual target element, and not the entire component region that can have multiple target elements. Huang Fig. 14, and its accompanying description found in ¶214, teaches that the drawing information (the start/end points for a first target element in a first component) is determined. A calculation using the height and width of the target element and the height and width of the component is performed to determine how many target elements will fit in the component without stretching or shrinking the proper proportionate width of the target element (examples can be seen in Fig. 14, where the first component is the entire screen) This calculation directly determines where the target elements will be tiled, and what width/height they will have in the component, or in other words it determines the start/end position of multiple target elements. Thus, Huang teaches determining a first target element’s start/end position in a first component.) wherein the first start position and the first end position indicating an offset position of the target element; (Huang Fig. 14 and ¶214 cited above teach that given a target element’s height and width determine how many target elements can fit within a component without stretching/shrinking its proportional dimensions. As seen from Fig. 14, this means differently sized target elements will fill the component differently. Example (a) has a different start/end position of its first element than example (b), which makes their second target elements in the component start at a different place. From the implicit nature of how Huang handles placing target elements, it can be seen that the start/end positions of a first element are offset positions for where a next target element will start.)
While Huang teaches determining drawing information of a start and end position is determined for a first target element of a first component that indicates an offset position, Huang does not teach determining second drawing information for a second target element of a second component. This is found in SVG which teaches determining, based on the first drawing information, (SVG 13.3 Patterns “A pattern is used to fill or stroke an object using a pre-defined graphic object which can be replicated ("tiled") at fixed intervals in x and y to cover the areas to be painted. Patterns are defined using a ‘pattern’ element and then referenced by properties ‘fill’ and ‘stroke’ on a given graphics element to indicate that the given element shall be filled or stroked with the referenced pattern.
Attributes ‘x’, ‘y’, ‘width’, ‘height’ and ‘patternUnits’ define a reference rectangle somewhere on the infinite canvas. The reference rectangle has its top/left at (x, y) and its bottom/right at (x + width, y + height). The tiling theoretically extends a series of such rectangles to infinity in X and Y (positive and negative), with rectangles starting at (x + m*width, y + n* height) for each possible integer value for m and n.” Note: SVG teaches a “reference rectangle”, a designated area of a UI that can be filled with content, analogous to the claim’s component. SVG teaches that reference rectangles can accept a “pattern element” that will be used to tile/fill the reference rectangle, analogous to the claims target element. ) second drawing information of a second component associated with the first component,(SVG 13.3 Patterns, cited above, teaches that for a given reference rectangle/second component any amount of additional adjacent components can be created in the X or Y direction of the first component.) the second drawing information comprising at least one of a second start position of the target element or a second end position of the target element in the second component; and filling a second background of the second component by using the target element based on the second drawing information.(SVG 13.3 Patterns, cited above, teaches this portion of the claim. Note: SVG teaches a rectangle is defined by its attributes of rectangle height/width, and x/y coordinates. It is further taught that there can be additional refence rectangles that continue the tiling pattern the first rectangle starts. Regardless of whether the rectangles extended from in the X or Y direction, the tiling of the pattern is taught to extend, meaning it is continuous. This is accomplished by defining the rectangles on an infinite canvas of the pattern tiling. Thus, the end point (side of rectangle on X or Y dimension) of the first component (reference rectangle) becomes the starting point of the second component. This exact same approach, to have the second component’s pattern of target elements start at the end point of the first to create the appearance of a single continuous background is employed by the present application, as seen from the specifications ¶42 and Fig. 3B cited above.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Huang with SVG where a first component’s drawing information consisting of a target element’s start and end position is used to determine a second component’s drawing information.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, when using the same target element for multiple components/areas of the UI to make a tiled background, the background may appear jagged, uneven, or otherwise unaesthetic due to the patterned elements not aligning across different UI elements. If one wished to improve the aesthetic quality of the UI by giving the appearance of a continuous background pattern, the second drawing information of a second component could be determined using the first drawing information of a first component to determine how to properly align the target elements.
As claims independent claims 1, 10, and 14 have all been rejected, and claim 10’s subsequent dependents after 11 all depend on 11, the below listed dependent claims all rely on the same prior art and have independent claims previously shown to be rejected. They are therefore addressed together as they contain identical body content.
Regarding claims 15, 12, 2,
Huang teaches:
The electronic device of claim 14, wherein determining, based on the first drawing information, the second drawing information of the second component associated with the first component comprises
Huang does not however teach that the second drawing information of a second component is determined by its relative direction to the first component. This idea is found in SVG which teaches determining a target direction of the second component relative to the first component and determining the second drawing information of the second component according to the target direction and based on the first drawing information. ;( SVG 13.3 Patterns “A pattern is used to fill or stroke an object using a pre-defined graphic object which can be replicated ("tiled") at fixed intervals in x and y to cover the areas to be painted. Patterns are defined using a ‘pattern’ element and then referenced by properties ‘fill’ and ‘stroke’ on a given graphics element to indicate that the given element shall be filled or stroked with the referenced pattern. Attributes ‘x’, ‘y’, ‘width’, ‘height’ and ‘patternUnits’ define a reference rectangle somewhere on the infinite canvas. The reference rectangle has its top/left at (x, y) and its bottom/right at (x + width, y + height). The tiling theoretically extends a series of such rectangles to infinity in X and Y (positive and negative), with rectangles starting at (x + m*width, y + n* height) for each possible integer value for m and n.” Note: As established previously in the rejection of claim 1, SVG determines a second component’s drawing information based on the first. SVG specifically teaches that an additional second component can be made starting in the direction of the X or Y direction of the first component. SVG fills the background of its first component by placing it over an infinite canvas of the tiled target element. To handle where the starting point of the second component should be, it simply places the rectangle of the second component adjacent to the first rectangle in the X or Y direction, which implicitly makes the starting point (adjacent side) of the second component the ending point of the first component. Thus, SVG teaches a target direction is used in determining the second drawing information.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Huang with SVG where a target direction is used in determining the second drawing information of the second component along with the first drawing information.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, the motivation to make the second component’s start be the first component’s end is to align their target elements to create the appearance of a continuous background. Using the target direction to determine the start point ensures that the target elements will not be incorrectly oriented, and the desired result of a continuous background can be achieved.
Regarding claims 16, 13, 3,
Huang teaches:
The electronic device of claim 15, wherein determining the second drawing information of the second component according to the target direction of the second component relative to the first component and based on the first drawing information comprises:
Huang does not directly detail start/end positions being determined based on target directions. This is found in SVG which teaches in response to the target direction being a first direction, determining the second end position based on the first start position, or in response to the target direction being a second direction, determining the second start position based on the first end position.(SVG 13.3 Patterns, cited previously, has been shown to teach a second start position based on the first component, where the second component can ‘extend’ from the first (be adjacent to) in either the X or Y direction. As there is no limit on how many rectangles, or in what direction X or Y they can extend, SVG teaches the ability for the second start position to be based on the first component’s end or start position, as it can be adjacent on any side.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Huang with SVG where a target direction determines which second start/end position will be based on the first component’s start/end position.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, determining the start position of the second component based on the end position of the first is a step being performed to create a continuous background, where the second component’s target elements continue where the first component’s cut off. This desired goal, to properly align the two component backgrounds implicitly requires the target direction, as rectangles adjacent to different sides will have different areas of the background pattern they need to line up with.
Regarding claims 17, 4,
Huang teaches:
The electronic device of claim 14, wherein determining the first drawing information of the first component comprises: determining the first drawing information of the first component based on size information of the first component. (Huang ¶11 “determining the layout information of the second list item view based on the size of the first background image and the layout size of the first view; creating the second view” ¶204 “Exemplarily, FIG. 14 is a schematic diagram of a background list item layout provided by this embodiment of the present application. Referring to Figure 14, during the above calculation process, according to the relationship between the width of the background original image and the layout width, the following three situations can be included:
1) The width wb of the original background image is wider than the layout width W, that is, wb⟩W.
Referring to (a) in Figure 14, in this case, 0⟨W/wb⟨1, Qw=1, K⟨1. That is to say, in this case, the number of layouts of the background list item along the width direction is 1, and the width wi of the background list item is the layout width W. When filling the background original image into the background list item, the background original image can be compressed Fill so that the original background image will not be distorted.
2) The width wb of the original background image is narrower than the layout width W, that is, wb⟨W”
¶214 “The background layout calculation component uses the width wb of the background original image as the width wi of each background list item, and uses the height hb of the background original image as the height hi of the background list item.”
Note: Huang ¶11 states the layout of the second list element, aka the background that the target element will be used in, is determined by the first list element, aka the component and its content. Huang ¶214 further teaches how the size information of the first component is used in determining the drawing information of the target element. Specifically, the target element’s height/width ratio is used with the width/height of the given component to determine the placement of the target elements, aka the first drawing information.)
Regarding claims 5, 18,
Huang teaches:
The electronic device of claim 17, wherein the size information varies based on content presented in the first component. (Huang ¶117 “The main interface 502 includes list 5021, list 5022, list 5023, etc., and the bottom layer of list 5021, list 5022, and list 5023 does not contain a background image … The main interface 502 also includes an application list control 503. When the user clicks the application list control 503, the interface jumps to the application list interface 504, as shown in (c) of Figure 5. The application list interface 504 displays information of multiple applications, and the information of these applications is displayed in the form of a list 505. A splicing background is displayed at the bottom of the list 505. The spliced background is composed of multiple original background images (also called first background images), which are shown as original background image 5051, original background image 5052 and original background image 5053 respectively.”
Note: As seen from Fig. 5 and its accompanying description in ¶117, Huang teaches that different component, aka first list elements, can contain different types of content. As seen from Fig. 5 (b), List items 5021 and 5022 are of the same size and display a similar type of content, whereas list 5023 displays a different type of content that takes up more space, causing the component to be larger. Thus, Huang teaches the ability for components to be of variable size based on the content they contain.)
Regarding claims 19, 6,
Huang teaches;
The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first component and the second component are comprised in a component list,(Huang Abstract “receiving a first operation of a user, the first operation is used for indicating to display a first interface, the first interface comprises a first list, and the bottom layer of the first list displays a first background image; in response to the first operation, a first view is created, and the first view comprises at least one first list item view; a second view is created, the second view is overlapped on the upper layer of the first view, the second view comprises at least one second list item view, the at least one second list item view occupies the layout of the second view or exceeds the layout of the second view, and the size of each second list item view is smaller than or equal to the size of the first background image; filling each first list item view with the content of the first list; and filling each second list item view with a first background image.” Note: It has been previously established, particularly in claim 1, that Huang’s first list items are analogous to the claim’s components. As these ‘first list items’ exist in an ordered list of multiple other first list items, Huang teaches a component list.) and determining the first drawing information of the first component comprises: determining whether the component list comprises a third component (Huang ¶117, cited previously, provides an example where three components in the component list are present, 5051-5053. Huang Abstract clarifies that the components are items in a first list, with no limit on how many elements can be placed into the list. Thus, Huang teaches the ability to have a plurality of components, where the total amount can be three.) associated with the first component, the third component having a higher priority in the component list than the first component;(Huang ¶260 “Content recycler view 4 determines that it is currently slid to content recycler view 4 based on the ID of the first content list item on the current interface, the number of content list items visible in the current interface, and the total number of content list items with filled content. Specifically, for any recycler view, the IDs can be set in sequence for each list item (for example, the IDs are set sequentially starting from 0). The ID of the list item displayed in the current interface and the number of list items visible in the current interface can be known. Additionally, the total number of list items in the recycler view that has been filled with content is known.” Note: Huang teaches that the components in a list of multiple components can have an ID assigned to them, where the ID can be used to determine the sequence to set the components in. Huang gives an example where the IDs can sequentially start from 0, where the component with ID 0 will be placed first. Thus, Huang teaches the claims language that one component can have a higher priority over another.) in response to the component list not comprising a third component, determining the first start position of the first component based on a predetermined offset of the filling element; (Note: This portion of the claim is stating the “first component” is not in a list with a “third component”, where the third component is defined as being a component with a higher priority than the first. That is simply to say that the first component is also the first sequential component we will handle in the list. Since this is the first component being placed we cannot use an existing component’s side as the “first start position”, a position that determines where we will start placing target elements to fill the background. Although phrased in an indirect manner, this portion of the claim is simply saying that the first item being placed has to figure out how to fill the background with target elements without being given a starting point, and will thus have to use a ‘predetermined offset’. This predetermined offset is taught by Huang ¶204 which teaches that a target element’s dimensions and the dimensions of the component can be used to determine how to place the target elements, aka the “first start position”.) and determining the first end position based on size information of the first component and the first start position. (Note: The “first end position” of a target element is simply the side opposite to the “first start position” that Huang determines using a “predetermined offset”. The first start position of a first component is a value determined prior to placement using the dimension info of the target element and the component detailed in Huang ¶204. Thus, determine a “first end position” is implicitly done when determining the first start position of the first component.)
Regarding claims 20, 7,
Huang teaches:
The electronic device of claim 19, wherein determining the first drawing information of the first component comprises: in response to the component list comprising a third component, (Note: This third component, as defined by claim 6 above, refers to a component in the list that has a higher priority than the “first component”. Thus, this portion of the claim is simply stating that our named “first component” is not the highest priority component.)
Huang is not relied on to teach the language regarding determining one component’s first start position based on another’s, SVG is used which teaches determining the first start position of the first component based on third drawing information of the third component;(SVG 13.3 Patterns, cited previously in the rejection of claim 1, has been shown to teach how one component that is placed first will have its drawing information, aka its start or end position of its target element(s), used in determining the start position of another component placed after the other has been placed. As the claims “third component” is defined as a component with a higher priority than the named “first component”, when SVG teaches a later placed component has its start position based on the earlier placed component’s drawing information (start/end positions), it teaches the claims language that a first start position of a first component is based on the third drawing information of the third component.) and determining the first end position of the first component based on the first start location.(It is implicit that an ending point of a component, or area of the UI, is determined by where it starts.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Huang with SVG where a first component’s first start position is based on a third component’s drawing information.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, Huang and the present invention aim to create a continuous background between components when adding new ones to a series of existing ones by basing the start of the newest on the end of the previous. To perform this process properly and to avoid errors the components could be added in sequential order to ensure that every newly added component properly continues the pattern with no breaks.
Claims 8, 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 117111803 A) in view of the W3C’s 2011 specifications for Scalable Vector Graphs, hereinafter SVG and further in view of Simonyi (US 10402478 B2).
Regarding claim 8,
Huang teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: a first component with first drawing information
Huang teaches drawing information associated with components, and that a first component can be associated with a second component as the second drawing information can be determined using the first. This idea to associate positional information, in Huang and the invention the drawing information, with nodes that are also associated with each other is found in Simonyi which teaches constructing a first node corresponding to the first component (Simonyi Abstract “A layout engine generates a visual layout tree for a visual description tree of a document whose content is to be rendered in one or more display areas. A visual description tree describes the content of a document along with formatting and logical arrangement the content. Visual description nodes of a visual description tree represent the organization of the constituent elements a document hierarchically.” Col. 2 Line 65 “For example, a visual layout tree may include a container visual layout node representing a display area that contains one or more paragraphs of a chapter. The container visual layout node may have a child visual layout node for each paragraph that it contains and have positioning information indicating where the text of each paragraph is to be positioned in the display area of the container.” Note: Simonyi teaches a visual description tree that contains visual layout nodes. Each individual visual layout defines a display area where content is to displayed, and details the content itself and the layout/positioning information of how the display area should be formatted. As the individual display area content and formatting is analogous to the claims component, the visual layout nodes that store this information are the claims component nodes.) and a second node corresponding to the second component;(Simonyi Abstract, cited above, teaches a plurality of nodes.) establishing an association between the first node and the second node to indicate an association between the first component and the second component;(Simonyi Col. 4 Line 28 “For each visual layout node, the layout engine generates a positioning pointer for the visual layout node that links the visual layout nodes to form the visual layout tree. Each positioning pointer has a pointer to a child visual layout node and positioning information for positioning the child visual layout node within the context (e.g., coordinate space) of a parent visual layout node so that the position of the child visual layout node within the context of the parent visual layout node can be changed without having to recreate the visual layout node.” Note: Simonyi teaches that nodes a first and second node can be associated with each other as one node can define another as its parent, and the parent can define the other node as its child.) and storing the first position information of the first component in the first node.(Simonyi Col. 4 Line 28, cited above, not only teaches that noes can be associated via an assigned parent/child relationship but also teaches that nodes can store the positioning information of how the content described should be laid out. This positioning info that defines where the content will be placed is analogous to the claims first drawing information, which refers to the start/end positions of a component.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Huang with Simonyi where a first and second component associated with each other have nodes that are associated with each other, and the position information the nodes store is the component’s drawing information.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, storing component information in nodes that link to each other in both ways provides a number of benefits that may be relevant. If a user were to input a move operation, like sliding in one direction, component content would be loaded in the sequential priority order. If a user were to then input the inverse operation, like sliding up after sliding down, they would be requesting to see the content in its reverse order. A situation like this could easily be handled if each component’s info is stored in a node that knows both its next component’s node and its previous, allowing for easy accessing in any direction. It would be similarly beneficial to include Huang and the application’s drawing information where Simonyi stores its position information in the node for efficient access to it when needed.
Regarding claim 9,
The method of claim 8, wherein determining, based on the first drawing information, the second drawing information of the second component associated with the first component comprises:
Huang teaches a first and second component with first and second drawing info. Huang teaches that the second drawing information can be based on the first, where the second drawing information defines its start position using an adjacent end position of the first component. This idea taken in the context of nodes, where the specific position info of how one component connects to another through their shared start and end position can be stored in nodes is taught by Simonyi: in response to completing storage of the first position information in the first node, determining the second position information based on the first position information, to store the second position information in the second node.( Simonyi Col. 4 Line 28 “For each visual layout node, the layout engine generates a positioning pointer for the visual layout node that links the visual layout nodes to form the visual layout tree. Each positioning pointer has a pointer to a child visual layout node and positioning information for positioning the child visual layout node within the context (e.g., coordinate space) of a parent visual layout node so that the position of the child visual layout node within the context of the parent visual layout node can be changed without having to recreate the visual layout node.” Note: Simonyi’s nodes store content analogous to the claims components, including the position and layout info for the component and the content that will fill the component. Simonyi teaches that aside from nodes storing their parent/child relationship, allowing one to determine the previous and next component given any single component node, they also store relevant position and layout information that is used to determine how a next should be positioned. Simonyi not only teaches a first and second component with respective nods that each store their position and layout information, but that the second component’s position information is determined based on the first components, as all parent nodes inform how their child node should be positioned.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Huang with Simonyi where a first component that has been determined, and had its content stored in a node, can use its position information to determine the position information of another second component to store in its second node, where the position information is the drawing information.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, moving a component next to another different component requires examining the adjacent component’s target element end position to determine the current target element start position, aka determining the second drawing info based on the first. Simonyi details a similar situation, where position info in a second node for a second component is based on the position info of a first node, where the first node details how any component after it should be laid out. If one wished for the computation of a second node’s drawing info based on the first to be more efficient, each node could store info on how its next component node should be formatted to reduce time determining how they should align.
Conclusion
/ALAN GREGORY HAKALA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617