DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The preliminary amendment dated 5/11/26 is entered. Claims 1, 16, and 20 are amended. Claims 8, 9, 12, and 13, are cancelled. Claims 1-7, 10, 11, and 14-20 are pending.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 16, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12314469. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are fully taught by the parent case, as shown below:
Current Application 19189802
US-12314469
1. A method comprising: at an electronic device including a non-transitory memory, one or more processors, an extremity tracker, and a display:
1. A method comprising: at an electronic device including a non-transitory memory, one or more processors, an eye tracker, a spatial selector tracker, and a display:
displaying, on the display, a user interface that includes: a plurality of content regions, a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with the plurality of content regions, and
displaying a content manipulation region on the display, wherein the content manipulation region comprises less than the entirety of the display;
a computer-generated representation of a trackpad associated with a physical surface;
...displaying, on the display, a computer-generated representation of a trackpad at a placement location on the physical surface…
while displaying the content manipulation region on the display:
determining a first gaze position within the content manipulation region based on eye tracking data from the eye tracker;
while displaying the user interface, detecting, via the extremity tracker, a first input directed to a first affordance of the plurality of affordances, wherein the first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions;
determining a selection point associated with a physical surface, based on spatial selector data from the spatial selector tracker; and
and in response to detecting the first input, associating the computer-generated representation of the trackpad with the first manipulation region.
displaying, on the display, a computer-generated representation of a trackpad at a placement location on the physical surface, wherein the placement location is based on the first gaze position and the selection point.
16. An electronic device comprising: one or more processors; a non-transitory memory; an extremity tracker; a display; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the non-transitory memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
18. An electronic device comprising: one or more processors; a non-transitory memory; an eye tracker; a spatial selector tracker; a display; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the non-transitory memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, on the display, a user interface that includes: a plurality of content regions, a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with the plurality of content regions, and
displaying a content manipulation region on the display, wherein the content manipulation region comprises less than the entirety of the display;
a computer-generated representation of a trackpad associated with a physical surface;
...displaying, on the display, a computer-generated representation of a trackpad at a placement location on the physical surface…
while displaying the content manipulation region on the display:
determining a first gaze position within the content manipulation region based on eye tracking data from the eye tracker;
while displaying the user interface, detecting, via the extremity tracker, a first input directed to a first affordance of the plurality of affordances, wherein the first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions;
determining a selection point associated with a physical surface, based on spatial selector data from the spatial selector tracker; and
and in response to detecting the first input, associating the computer-generated representation of the trackpad with the first manipulation region.
displaying, on the display, a computer-generated representation of a trackpad at a placement location on the physical surface, wherein the placement location is based on the first gaze position and the selection point.
20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which, when executed by an electronic device with one or more processors, an extremity tracker, and a display, cause the electronic device to:
21. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which, when executed by an electronic device with one or more processors, an eye tracker, a spatial selector tracker, and a display, cause the electronic device to:
displaying, on the display, a user interface that includes: a plurality of content regions, a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with the plurality of content regions, and
displaying a content manipulation region on the display, wherein the content manipulation region comprises less than the entirety of the display;
a computer-generated representation of a trackpad associated with a physical surface;
...displaying, on the display, a computer-generated representation of a trackpad at a placement location on the physical surface…
while displaying the content manipulation region on the display:
determining a first gaze position within the content manipulation region based on eye tracking data from the eye tracker;
while displaying the user interface, detecting, via the extremity tracker, a first input directed to a first affordance of the plurality of affordances, wherein the first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions;
determining a selection point associated with a physical surface, based on spatial selector data from the spatial selector tracker; and
and in response to detecting the first input, associating the computer-generated representation of the trackpad with the first manipulation region.
displaying, on the display, a computer-generated representation of a trackpad at a placement location on the physical surface, wherein the placement location is based on the first gaze position and the selection point.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 11, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilytsch, US-11054896, in view of Khalid, US-20100299436, and in further view of Klein, US-20200174653.
In regards to claim 1, Wilytsch discloses a method (Fig. 7; Col. 8, 25-27 "a method for generating a reference plane and presenting a virtual interaction object to a user wearing an HMD") comprising: at an electronic device (Fig. 1, 100 HMD) including a non-transitory memory (Col. 9, 55-60 “a non-transitory, tangible computer readable”), one or more processors (Col. 9, 55-60 “computer processor”), an extremity tracker (Fig. 4, 420 hand tracking module; Col. 5, 29-31 and Col. 3, 35-37 “hand tracking module 420 receives and analyzes image data from the cameras 120 to tracks [sic] hands 105, 110 of the user 101”, wherein “one or more cameras [are] integrated into the HMD 100”), and a display (Fig. 4, 405 display): displaying, on the display, a user interface (Fig. 3, 300 virtual reality view) that includes: a content region (Fig. 3, 320 virtual screen), a plurality of affordances respectively associated with the content region (Fig. 3, items displayed in 320 virtual screen including 335 message), and a computer-generated representation of a trackpad (Fig. 3, 330 virtual trackpad) associated with a physical surface (Fig. 3, 315 reference plane; Col. 4, 13-14 “In FIG. 3, the reference plane 315 is on the surface 115 of a real-world object (e.g., a table)”); while displaying the user interface, detecting, via the extremity tracker, a first input directed to a first affordance of the plurality of affordances (Fig. 3, items displayed in 320 virtual screen including 335 message; Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”), wherein the first affordance is associated with a first content region (Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”); and in response to detecting the first input, associating the computer-generated representation of the trackpad with the first content region (Fig. 3, 330 virtual trackpad; Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”).
Wilytsch does not disclose expressly a plurality of content regions; a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions; the first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions.
Khalid discloses a display screen (Fig. 2C, screen of 202 external display device) comprising: a plurality of content regions (Fig. 2C, 204a-n resources, i.e. content regions); a first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions (Fig. 2C, each 204a-n resources, i.e. content regions, contains affordances, i.e. graphical, textual, etc… information).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
Wilytsch and Khalid do not disclose expressly a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions.
Klein discloses a plurality of affordances (Fig. 16, 1602A-E UI controls adjacent 110A virtual trackpad area) visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions (Par. 0093-0095 the UI controls launch applications, i.e. content region, and other functionality, which is associated with the applications, i.e. content regions, running).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual trackpad of Wilytsch can have UI controls, i.e. affordances, adjacent the virtual trackpad in the manner of Klein to control content regions. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide application shortcuts and additional functionality within easy distance for the user.
In regards to claim 16, Wilytsch discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1, 100 HMD) comprising: one or more processors (Col. 9, 55-60 “computer processor”); a non-transitory memory (Col. 9, 55-60 “a non-transitory, tangible computer readable”); a extremity tracker (Fig. 4, 420 hand tracking module; Col. 5, 29-31 and Col. 3, 35-37 “hand tracking module 420 receives and analyzes image data from the cameras 120 to tracks [sic] hands 105, 110 of the user 101”, wherein “one or more cameras [are] integrated into the HMD 100”); a display (Fig. 4, 405 display); and one or more programs (Col. 9, 32-40 programs), wherein the one or more programs (Col. 9, 32-40 programs) are stored in the non-transitory memory (Col. 9, 55-60 “a non-transitory, tangible computer readable”) and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Col. 9, 55-60 “computer processor”), the one or more programs (Col. 9, 32-40 programs) including instructions for:: displaying, on the display, a user interface (Fig. 3, 300 virtual reality view) that includes: a content region (Fig. 3, 320 virtual screen), a plurality of affordances respectively associated with the content region (Fig. 3, items displayed in 320 virtual screen including 335 message), and a computer-generated representation of a trackpad (Fig. 3, 330 virtual trackpad) associated with a physical surface (Fig. 3, 315 reference plane; Col. 4, 13-14 “In FIG. 3, the reference plane 315 is on the surface 115 of a real-world object (e.g., a table)”); while displaying the user interface, detecting, via the extremity tracker, a first input directed to a first affordance of the plurality of affordances (Fig. 3, items displayed in 320 virtual screen including 335 message; Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”), wherein the first affordance is associated with a first content region (Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”); and in response to detecting the first input, associating the computer-generated representation of the trackpad with the first content region (Fig. 3, 330 virtual trackpad; Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”).
Wilytsch does not disclose expressly a plurality of content regions; a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions; the first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions.
Khalid discloses a display screen (Fig. 2C, screen of 202 external display device) comprising: a plurality of content regions (Fig. 2C, 204a-n resources, i.e. content regions); a first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions (Fig. 2C, each 204a-n resources, i.e. content regions, contains affordances, i.e. graphical, textual, etc… information).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
Wilytsch and Khalid do not disclose expressly a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions.
Klein discloses a plurality of affordances (Fig. 16, 1602A-E UI controls adjacent 110A virtual trackpad area) visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions (Par. 0093-0095 the UI controls launch applications, i.e. content region, and other functionality, which is associated with the applications, i.e. content regions, running).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual trackpad of Wilytsch can have UI controls, i.e. affordances, adjacent the virtual trackpad in the manner of Klein to control content regions. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide application shortcuts and additional functionality within easy distance for the user.
In regards to claim 20, Wilytsch discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Col. 9, 46-47 “non-transitory, tangible computer readable storage medium”) storing one or more programs (Col. 9, 32-40 programs), the one or more programs (Col. 9, 32-40 programs) comprising instructions, which, when executed by an electronic device (Fig. 1, 100 HMD) with one or more processors (Col. 9, 55-60 “computer processor”), a extremity tracker (Fig. 4, 420 hand tracking module; Col. 5, 29-31 and Col. 3, 35-37 “hand tracking module 420 receives and analyzes image data from the cameras 120 to tracks [sic] hands 105, 110 of the user 101”, wherein “one or more cameras [are] integrated into the HMD 100”), and a display (Fig. 4, 405 display), cause the electronic device to: display, on the display, a user interface (Fig. 3, 300 virtual reality view) that includes: a content region (Fig. 3, 320 virtual screen), a plurality of affordances respectively associated with the content region (Fig. 3, items displayed in 320 virtual screen including 335 message), and a computer-generated representation of a trackpad (Fig. 3, 330 virtual trackpad) associated with a physical surface (Fig. 3, 315 reference plane; Col. 4, 13-14 “In FIG. 3, the reference plane 315 is on the surface 115 of a real-world object (e.g., a table)”); while displaying the user interface, detecting, via the extremity tracker, a first input directed to a first affordance of the plurality of affordances (Fig. 3, items displayed in 320 virtual screen including 335 message; Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”), wherein the first affordance is associated with a first content region (Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”); and in response to detecting the first input, associating the computer-generated representation of the trackpad with the first content region (Fig. 3, 330 virtual trackpad; Col. 4, 54-64 “In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.”).
Wilytsch does not disclose expressly a plurality of content regions; a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions; the first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions.
Khalid discloses a display screen (Fig. 2C, screen of 202 external display device) comprising: a plurality of content regions (Fig. 2C, 204a-n resources, i.e. content regions); a first affordance is associated with a first content region of the plurality of content regions (Fig. 2C, each 204a-n resources, i.e. content regions, contains affordances, i.e. graphical, textual, etc… information).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
Wilytsch and Khalid do not disclose expressly a plurality of affordances visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions.
Klein discloses a plurality of affordances (Fig. 16, 1602A-E UI controls adjacent 110A virtual trackpad area) visually separate from and respectively associated with plurality of content regions (Par. 0093-0095 the UI controls launch applications, i.e. content region, and other functionality, which is associated with the applications, i.e. content regions, running).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual trackpad of Wilytsch can have UI controls, i.e. affordances, adjacent the virtual trackpad in the manner of Klein to control content regions. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide application shortcuts and additional functionality within easy distance for the user.
In regards to claim 2, Khalid further discloses while the computer-generated representation of the trackpad is associated with the first content region: detecting, via the extremity tracker, a second input directed to within the computer-generated representation of the trackpad (Khalid Par. 0280 “drag graphical user interface elements from one portion of the display to another” as a second input; Khalid Fig. 2C show scroll bars which can be interacted with as a second input); and in response to receiving the second input, performing a first content manipulation operation with respect to the first content region according to the second input (Khalid Par. 0280 “drag graphical user interface elements from one portion of the display to another” as a second input; Khalid Fig. 2C show scroll bars which can be interacted with as a second input).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 3, Khalid further discloses the first content manipulation operation includes a drawing operation within the first content region (Khalid Par. 0280 “drag graphical user interface elements from one portion of the display to another”, as a second input; dragging graphical user interface is moving a finger on the touchpad i.e. drawing).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 4, Khalid further discloses the first content manipulation operation includes a navigational operation with respect to content within the first content region (Khalid Fig. 2C show scroll bars which can be interacted with as a second input).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 5, Khalid further discloses the first content region includes an object, and wherein the first content manipulation operation including pasting the object to a second content region of the plurality of content regions (Khalid Par. 0280 “drag graphical user interface elements from one portion of the display to another” as a second input, which is a pasting from one resource, i.e. content region, to another resource, i.e. content region).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 18, Khalid further discloses the first content region includes an object, and wherein the first content manipulation operation including pasting the object to a second content region of the plurality of content regions (Khalid Par. 0280 “drag graphical user interface elements from one portion of the display to another” as a second input, which is a pasting from one resource, i.e. content region, to another resource, i.e. content region).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 6, Khalid further discloses the second input corresponds to a drag and drop movement that begins at a location within the computer-generated representation of the trackpad that maps to the object within the first content region, wherein the drag and drop movement terminates within a second affordance of the plurality of affordances, and wherein the second affordance is associated with the second content region (Khalid Par. 0280 “drag graphical user interface elements from one portion of the display to another” as a second input from one resource, i.e. content region, to another resource, i.e. content region, which has another affordance, i.e. background and other GUI elements).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 19, Khalid further discloses the second input corresponds to a drag and drop movement that begins at a location within the computer-generated representation of the trackpad that maps to the object within the first content region, wherein the drag and drop movement terminates within a second affordance of the plurality of affordances, and wherein the second affordance is associated with the second content region (Khalid Par. 0280 “drag graphical user interface elements from one portion of the display to another” as a second input from one resource, i.e. content region, to another resource, i.e. content region, which has another affordance, i.e. background and other GUI elements).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 7, Khalid further discloses while detecting the second input, displaying a representation of the object that follows the drag and drop movement (Khalid Par. 0280 “drag graphical user interface elements from one portion of the display to another” as a second input from one resource, i.e. content region, to another resource, i.e. content region, which has another affordance, i.e. background and other GUI elements).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 10, Khalid further discloses a particular affordance of the plurality of affordances includes an application icon that indicates a corresponding application (Khalid Fig. 2C, 204b affordances, i.e. background and other GUI elements, that are associated with different applications).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 11, Khalid further discloses each of a portion of the plurality of affordances includes a representation of content displayed within a corresponding one of the plurality of content regions (Khalid Fig. 2C, 204b affordances, i.e. GUI elements, that are associated with different applications is a representation of the application which can be opened as a content region).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 14, Khalid further discloses before detecting the first input, the computer-generated representation of the trackpad is associated with a second content region, the method further comprising, in response to detecting the first input, dissociating the computer-generated representation of the trackpad with the second content region (Khalid Par. 0263 “a virtual input device 1402 includes a virtual track pad. In still another embodiments, a virtual input device 1402 includes a virtual pointing device, such as a cursor which may be manipulated by interacting with the virtual input device 1402.”; Khalid Par. 0279 “output data may include one or more graphical user interface elements, such as a cursor”; Khalid Par. 0280 “users may access a pointing device (such as a mouse) to manipulate an image of a cursor on a screen in order to interact with a graphical user interface element”; a location of a cursor in regards to the resources indicates the resource, i.e. content region, currently associated with the virtual trackpad).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 15, Khalid further discloses in further response to receiving the first input, displaying, on the display, a selection indicator that is indicative of the association of the computer-generated representation of the trackpad with the first content region (Khalid Par. 0263 “a virtual input device 1402 includes a virtual track pad. In still another embodiments, a virtual input device 1402 includes a virtual pointing device, such as a cursor which may be manipulated by interacting with the virtual input device 1402.”; Khalid Par. 0279 “output data may include one or more graphical user interface elements, such as a cursor”; Khalid Par. 0280 “users may access a pointing device (such as a mouse) to manipulate an image of a cursor on a screen in order to interact with a graphical user interface element”; a location of a cursor in regards to the resources indicates the resource, i.e. content region, currently associated with the virtual trackpad; the cursor is the selection indicator).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed amendment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual screen of Wilytsch can include a plurality of resources, i.e. content regions, as Khalid discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide different resources/content to the user for interaction.
In regards to claim 21, Klein further discloses a location of the plurality of affordances is based on a location of the computer-generated representation of the trackpad.
Klein discloses a location of the plurality of affordances is based on a location of the computer-generated representation of the trackpad (Fig. 16, 1602A-E UI controls adjacent 110A virtual trackpad area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual trackpad of Wilytsch can have UI controls, i.e. affordances, adjacent the virtual trackpad in the manner of Klein to control content regions. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide application shortcuts and additional functionality within easy distance for the user.
In regards to claim 22, Klein further discloses the location of the plurality of affordances is proximate to the location of the computer-generated representation of the trackpad.
Klein discloses the location of the plurality of affordances is proximate to the location of the computer-generated representation of the trackpad (Fig. 16, 1602A-E UI controls adjacent 110A virtual trackpad area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual trackpad of Wilytsch can have UI controls, i.e. affordances, adjacent the virtual trackpad in the manner of Klein to control content regions. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide application shortcuts and additional functionality within easy distance for the user.
In regards to claim 23, Klein further discloses the location of the plurality of affordances is adjacent to the location of the computer-generated representation of the trackpad.
Klein discloses the location of the plurality of affordances is adjacent to the location of the computer-generated representation of the trackpad (Fig. 16, 1602A-E UI controls adjacent 110A virtual trackpad area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the virtual trackpad of Wilytsch can have UI controls, i.e. affordances, adjacent the virtual trackpad in the manner of Klein to control content regions. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide application shortcuts and additional functionality within easy distance for the user.
In regards to claim 24, Wilytsch, Khalid, and Klein, as combined above, disclose the location of the plurality of affordances (Klein Fig. 16, 1602A-E UI controls adjacent 110A virtual trackpad area) is adjacent to the location of the computer-generated representation of the trackpad (Klein Fig. 16, 1602A-E UI controls adjacent 110A virtual trackpad area; Wilytsch Fig. 3, 330 virtual trackpad; Kleins UI controls, i.e. affordances, placed adjacent Wilytsch virtual trackpad as combined above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 5/21/26