DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 04/25/2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Oath/Declaration
Oath has not been filed.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 04/25/2025 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14,
The recitation “the layers” in line 1 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 16,
The recitation “opposite sides of the first layer” in line 2 is considered vague because it is unclear that what opposite sides of the first layer are. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 20,
The recitation “opposite sides of the first layer” in line 2 is considered vague because it is unclear that what opposite sides of the first layer are. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 14-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20150263417), hereinafter Kim, in view of Li et al (US 20240275036), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1,
Kim discloses a housing (an upper housing 101, Fig 5) for an antenna (a satellite antenna 200, Fig 5), the housing comprising:
a wall (a wall W, Fig 5), the wall comprising a first layer (a layer 140, Fig 6) and a second layer (a layer 130, Fig 6), wherein one of the first layer and the second layer (a layer 150, Fig 6) is an outer layer of the wall and another one of the first layer and the second layer (a layer 110, Fig 6) is an inner layer of the wall; the first layer and the second layer are at least partly in contact with each other (Fig 6); and the first layer is thicker than the second layer (Fig 6).
Kim does not explicitly teach the first layer is elastically or plastically deformable by an impact on the wall.
However, Li teaches an antenna housing (a radome 10, Fig 10) comprises first layer 101 and a second layer 102 (Fig 10), wherein the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]) and the second layer (102a, Fig 11B) is made of a PP foam material (paragraph [0143]), and to enhance impact resistance performance of the radome 10, a surface density of the first layer 101b formed by weaving the composite material fibers formed by compounding the low melting point PP material and the high melting point PP material is 450 g/m.sup.2 (paragraph [0170]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first layer being elastically or plastically deformable by an impact on a wall in Kim, as taught by Li, in order to protect an antenna from being subject to an external impact.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ANT)][AltContent: textbox (W)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Kim (US 20150263417))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (S1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (S2)][AltContent: textbox (Kim (US 20150263417))]
[AltContent: textbox (Li (US 20240275036))]
[AltContent: textbox (Li (US 20240275036))]
Regarding claim 2,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim as modified does not explicitly teach the second layer is weatherproof, waterproof, or dustproof.
However, it is well known in the art that an antenna housing is weatherproof, waterproof, or dustproof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second layer being weatherproof, waterproof, or dustproof in Kim as modified, in order to provide an antenna housing that can prevent a decrease in mechanical strength while reducing a transmission loss of radio waves.
Regarding claim 3,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Kim as modified does not explicitly teach the second layer is weatherproof, waterproof, and dustproof.
However, it is well known in the art that an antenna housing is weatherproof, waterproof, or dustproof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second layer being weatherproof, waterproof, or dustproof in Kim as modified, in order to provide an antenna housing that can prevent a decrease in mechanical strength while reducing a transmission loss of radio waves.
Regarding claim 4,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim as modified does not explicitly teach the first layer is more brittle than the second layer.
However, Li teaches the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]), and the second layer (102a, Fig 11B) is made of a PP foam material (paragraph [0143]). It is well known in the art that a composite fiber material is more brittle than a foam material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first layer being more brittle than the second layer in Kim as modified, in order to protect an antenna from being subject to an external impact.
Regarding claim 5,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim as modified does not explicitly teach the first layer has a greater stiffness compared to the second layer.
However, Li teaches the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]), and the second layer (102a, Fig 11B) is made of a PP foam material (paragraph [0143]). It is well known in the art that a composite fiber material is greater stiffness compared to a foam material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first layer having a greater stiffness compared to a second layer in Kim as modified, in order to protect an antenna from being subject to an external impact.
Regarding claim 6,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim teaches the first layer (the layer 140, Fig 6) is at least three times thicker (paragraph [0029]) than the second layer (the layer 130, Fig 6).
Regarding claim 8,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li teaches the second layer (102a, Fig 11B) is made of a plastic material (a polypropylene (PP) foam plate (paragraph [0148]) that is not fiber reinforced.
Regarding claim 9,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li teaches the second layer (102a, Fig 11B) is made of a PVC foam plate (paragraph [0148]).
Regarding claim 10,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim teaches the first layer (the layer 140, Fig 6) has a lattice structure (a non-woven fabric 121, Fig 6).
Regarding claim 11,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li teaches the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of a fiber reinforced plastic material (composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]).
Regarding claim 12,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim as modified does not explicitly teach that the first layer is made of at least one of PET GF40, PA GF40, POM GF40, PBT GF40, ABS GF40, PS GF40, PI GF40 and PVC GF40.
However, Li teaches the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]), and the organic fiber includes at least one of a PP fiber, a PE fiber, a PBT fiber, a PET fiber, and a PTT fiber (paragraph [0120]). It is well known in the art that composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PET fibers are PET GF40.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first layer being made of at least one of PET GF40, PA GF40, POM GF40, PBT GF40, ABS GF40, PS GF40, PI GF40 and PVC GF40 in Kim as modified, in order to protect an antenna from being subject to an external impact.
Regarding claim 14,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim as modified does not explicitly teach the layers of the wall are configured such that they each are at most elastically deformable in case the impact on the wall causes a pressure less than or equal to 3 kPa.
However, Li teaches the first layer 101g of the radome in this embodiment is formed by the glass mats and the PP film, and after being melted through hot pressing, the PP film is filled between the glass mats, so that the glass mats are more compact, impact resistance performance of a first surface layer 100g is improved, and falling hammer impact that can be resisted is increased and may up to more than 1.8 kg (for example, 2 kg or 3 kg). In addition, because the glass mat, the PP film, and the PP foam plate are used, in comparison with the weight of the radome manufactured by using the material shown in Table 1, a weight of the radome manufactured in this embodiment of this application is reduced by 62%. Moreover, it can be learned from Table 6 that a dielectric constant (3.0) and a dielectric loss (0.006) of the radome manufactured in this embodiment of this application are lower than the dielectric constant (4.8) and the dielectric loss (0.03) of the fiberglass in Table 1, and therefore, the radome manufactured in this embodiment of this application has better dielectric performance (paragraph [0225]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use layers of a wall being configured such that they each being at most elastically deformable in case an impact on the wall causing a pressure less than or equal to 3 kPa in Kim as modified, in order to protect an antenna from being subject to an external impact.
Regarding claim 15,
Kim discloses a housing (an upper housing 101, Fig 5) for an antenna (a satellite antenna 200, Fig 5), the housing comprising:
a wall (a wall W, Fig 5), the wall comprising a first layer (a layer 140, Fig 6), a second layer (a layer 130, Fig 6), and a third layer (a layer 110, Fig 6), wherein one of the first layer and the second layer (a layer 150, Fig 6) is an outer layer of the wall and another one of the first layer and the second layer (the layer 110 is another one of the first layer and the second layer, Fig 6) is an inner layer of the wall; the first layer and the second layer are at least partly in contact with each other (Fig 6); and the first layer is thicker than the second layer (Fig 6), the first layer and the third layer are at least partly in contact at a second side (a side S2, Fig 6) opposite to a first side (a side S1, Fig 6) at which the first layer and the second layer are at least partly in contact (Fig 6); and the first layer is thicker than the third layer (Fig 6).
Kim does not teach the first layer is elastically or plastically deformable by an impact on the wall.
However, Li teaches an antenna housing (a radome 10, Fig 10) comprises first layer 101 and a second layer 102 (Fig 10), wherein the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]), and to enhance impact resistance performance of the radome 10, a surface density of the first layer 101b formed by weaving the composite material fibers formed by compounding the low melting point PP material and the high melting point PP material is 450 g/m.sup.2 (paragraph [0170]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first layer being elastically or plastically deformable by an impact on a wall in Kim, as taught by Li, in order to protect an antenna from being subject to an external impact.
Regarding claim 16,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 15.
Kim teaches the second layer (the layer 130, Fig 6) and the third layer (the layer 110, Fig 6) are the same type of layer (Fig 6) arranged on opposite sides of the first layer (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 17,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 15.
Li teaches the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of a fiber reinforced plastic material (composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]), and wherein the second layer (102a, Fig 11B) is made of a plastic material (a PVC foam plate; paragraph [0148]) that is not fiber reinforced.
Regarding claim 18,
Kim discloses an antenna device (an antenna ANT, Fig 5) comprising:
an antenna (a satellite antenna 200, Fig 5); and
a housing (an upper housing 101, Fig 5), the antenna being arranged at least partly inside the housing (Fig 5), and the housing having a wall (a wall W, Fig 5) that comprises a first layer (a layer 140, Fig 6) and a second layer (a layer 130, Fig 6), wherein one of the first layer and the second layer (a layer 150, Fig 6) is an outer layer of the wall and another one of the first layer and the second layer (a layer 110, Fig 6) is an inner layer of the wall; the first layer and the second layer are at least partly in contact with each other (Fig 6); and the first layer is thicker than the second layer (Fig 6).
Kim does not explicitly teach the first layer is elastically or plastically deformable by an impact on the wall.
However, Li teaches an antenna housing (a radome 10, Fig 10) comprises first layer 101 and a second layer 102 (Fig 10), wherein the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]) and the second layer (102a, Fig 11B) is made of a PP foam material (paragraph [0143]), and to enhance impact resistance performance of the radome 10, a surface density of the first layer 101b formed by weaving the composite material fibers formed by compounding the low melting point PP material and the high melting point PP material is 450 g/m.sup.2 (paragraph [0170]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first layer being elastically or plastically deformable by an impact on a wall in Kim, as taught by Li, in order to protect an antenna from being subject to an external impact.
Regarding claim 19,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 18.
Kim the wall comprises a third layer (a layer 110, Fig 6); the first layer and the third layer are at least partly in contact at a second side (a side S2, Fig 6) opposite to a first side (a side S1, Fig 6), at which the first layer and the second layer are at least partly in contact (Fig 6); and the first layer is thicker than the third layer (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 20,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 19.
Kim teaches the second layer and the third layer are the same type of layer (Fig 6) arranged on opposite sides of the first layer (Fig 6).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20150263417), hereinafter Kim, in view of Li et al (US 20240275036), hereinafter Li, and Morin (US 20080187734), hereinafter Morin.
Regarding claim 7,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Li teaches the first layer (101a, Fig 11B) is made of composite fibers obtained by mixing glass fibers and PP fibers based on a specific weight ratio (as shown in FIG. 11(A)), and the composite fibers are woven into the first layer 101a in a plain weaving manner (paragraph [0143]). Li does not teach composite fibers of the first layer 101a has a greater section modulus compared to the second layer 102a.
However, Morin teaches a molded substrate (e.g. composite fibers) can be utilized in various application, for instance in a circuit board substrate, in a radome, or in an antenna (paragraph [0009]), wherein amorphous thermoplastic polymeric fibers (e.g. composite fibers) may have a tensile modulus of more than about 2.5 GPa (paragraph [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first layer having a greater section modulus compared to a second layer in Kim as modified, as taught by Morin, in order to provide low loss dielectric composite materials for circuit board substrates, radomes, antenna, and the like.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20150263417), hereinafter Kim, in view of Li et al (US 20240275036), hereinafter Li, and Johansson et al (US 20210384621), hereinafter Johansson.
Regarding claim 13,
Kim in view of Li discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim as modified does not teach the first layer has a foam structure.
However, Johansson teaches an antenna housing (a radome 130a, Fig 2) comprises a first layer 132 (Fig 2) has a foam structure (a first dielectric material could be a solid foam; paragraph [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first layer having a foam structure in Kim as modified, as taught by Johansson, in order to provide a radome that has a negligible impact on the RF-radiation performance of an antenna.
[AltContent: textbox (Johansson (US 20210384621))]
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845