DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation recites “an antenna reflector for reflecting a radio frequency (RF) signal,” the limitation recites “the first face including a reflective material for reflecting the RF signal,” and the limitation recites “wherein the antenna reflector is shaped to reflect the RF signal” are unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers. It is unclear that how does an antenna reflector reflect a radio frequency (RF) signal? What is a reflective material? And how does the reflective material reflect a radio frequency (RF) signal? How does the antenna reflector is shaped to reflect a radio frequency (RF) signal? Maybe, an antenna reflector is shaped to provide for accurate transmission and/or reception of RF signals.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation recites “the front face including a reflective material for reflecting a radio frequency (RF) signal” is unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers. It is unclear that what is a reflective material? And how does the reflective material reflect a radio frequency (RF) signal?
The claims above fail to recite sufficiently definite structure, material or acts for achieving the functional result recited in the claim to reasonably apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of the claim.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are depending on claims 1 and 11, and are rejected the same reasons under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Note: for compact prosecution purposes, the examiner interprets the claims above as best understood in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Petersson (U.S Publication No. 20050243016 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Petersson discloses an antenna reflector (which is a reflector for a reflector antenna and manufacturing methods for such reflectors) for reflecting a radio frequency (RF) signal (see fig. 1-4), the antenna reflector comprising:
a first face (which is a first skin 11), a second face (which is a second skin 12), and a core (which is a core 13), (see fig. 2 and 4, paragraph [0022]);
the first face (11) including a reflective material for reflecting the RF signal (which is an antenna with a conventional configuration is composed of a radio frequency source and a reflector with a parabolic form whose concave reflector surface constitutes the active surface; and a source is placed at the focal point of the reflector and is designed to emit or receive electromagnetic radiation focalized by the reflector, see paragraph [0002], [0025], and [0028]),
the first face (11) mounted to the core (13) and opposing the second face (12) mounted to the core (13), (see fig. 2 and 4), the first face (11) and the second face (12) together providing a monocoque structure to the antenna reflector (2), (see 2 and 4, and paragraph [0008], [0029]-[0034]);
the core (13) having a honeycomb structure (see fig. 2 and 3a-3b, paragraph [0009], [0022], [0024]) including a plurality of cells disposed between the first face (11) and the second face (12) for separating the first face and the second face (see fig. 2, 3a-3b, and 4paragraph [0023]-[0024], and [0032]-[0034]),
and integral support ribs for stiffening the antenna reflector (regardless of the choice of material for the core of the reflector, the pattern forming the stiffening structure includes a plurality of protruding ribs extending in at least two directions across the core and/or at least one circumferential protrusion; the structure disclosed in FIG. 3b is one embodiment for a stiffening structure 2b. However, this structure may also be formed by interconnected circumferential elements, rectilinear ribs, curved segments or by any such combination; and stiffening structure 2b discloses ribs integral to the core 13 for stiffening the antenna reflector, see fig. 2, 3a-3b and 4, paragraphs [0010], [0023], [0028], and [0030]);
wherein the antenna reflector is shaped to reflect the RF signal (an antenna with a conventional configuration is composed of a radio frequency source and a reflector with a parabolic form whose concave reflector surface constitutes the active surface; and a source is placed at the focal point of the reflector and is designed to emit or receive electromagnetic radiation focalized by the reflector, see fig. 1, paragraph [0002], [0006], [0007], and [0013]);
wherein the antenna reflector includes mounting points for attachment to a spacecraft (the antennas are in particular used in space applications to equip telecommunications satellite; and the antennas need to be as light as possible so as to facilitate the placing in orbit of a satellite equipped with antennas with reflector dishes, which implying that the disclosed antenna reflector includes mounting points for attachment to a spacecraft, see paragraph [0002] and [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Petersson discloses the antenna reflector of claim 1, wherein the first face (11) and the second face (12) are formed of resin carbon fiber (see paragraph [0009], [0011], [0022], and [0025]-[0027], and [0029]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Petersson discloses the antenna reflector of claim 1, wherein the antenna reflector is shaped through global curvature to reflect the RF signal, the global curvature including concave surfaces and/or convex surfaces (see 1-2 and 3a-3b, paragraph [0002], [0023], and [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Petersson discloses the antenna reflector of claim 1, wherein the antenna reflector is shaped through local curvature to reflect the RF signal, the local curvature including concave surfaces and/or convex surfaces (1-2 and 3a-3b, paragraph [0002], [0023], and [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Petersson discloses the antenna reflector of claim 1, wherein the honeycomb structure is an aluminum honeycomb structure (see paragraph [0009] and [0022]), and wherein the plurality of cells are columnar and hexagonal in shape (see fig. 4, paragraph [0002], [0009], and [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, Petersson discloses the antenna reflector of claim 1, wherein the integral support ribs are created by machining the core to one or more specified thicknesses, and wherein the support ribs are tapered (see fig. 4, paragraph [0010], [0013], and [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Petersson discloses a method of assembling a machined core antenna reflector (which is a reflector for a reflector antenna and manufacturing methods for such reflectors, fig. 1-4), the method comprising:
machining at least one side of a core (which is a core 13), (which is the stiffening structure 2b is machined in the honeycomb core 13 while the assembly still rests on the mould tool. It would also be possible to machine the honeycomb core before applying this to the first skin in the mould tool, see paragraph [0013], and [0033]);
mounting a front face and a back face to the respective sides of the core (13), (see fig. 2 and 4, paragraph [0022], and [0032]-[0034]), the front face including a reflective material for reflecting a radio frequency (RF) signal (which is an antenna with a conventional configuration is composed of a radio frequency source and a reflector with a parabolic form whose concave reflector surface constitutes the active surface; and a source is placed at the focal point of the reflector and is designed to emit or receive electromagnetic radiation focalized by the reflector, see paragraph [0002]); and
curing the front face and the back face to the core (13) at the respective sides, thereby providing a monocoque structure to the antenna reflector (2), (see 2 and 4, and paragraph [0008], [0029]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Petersson discloses the method of claim 11, wherein machining the at least one side of the core includes machining both sides of the core (which is the core 13 is machined so that the thickness of the core 13 varies in accordance with the pattern, see paragraphs [0013], [0023], [0028]-[0029], and [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Petersson discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the front face and the back face are cured to the core at the same time (it would be possible to machine the honeycomb core before applying this to the first skin in the mould tool,” and "the entire assembly is cured in e.g. an autoclave press or an oven, before removing the reflector 2 from the mould tool". During this curing of the entire assembly, the front face and the back face are cured to the core at the same time, paragraphs [0030]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Petersson discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the antenna reflector is machined through global and/or local curvature to reflect the RF signal, the machined global curvature and/or the machined local curvature including concave surfaces and convex surfaces (see 1-2 and 3a-3b, paragraph [0002], [0023], and [0033]).
Regarding claim 17, Petersson discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the core has an aluminum honeycomb structure including a plurality of columnar, hexagonal cells within the core and disposed between the front face and the back face for separating the front face and the back face (see fig. 4, paragraph [0002], [0009], and [0022]), the core including integral support ribs for stiffening the antenna reflector (regardless of the choice of material for the core of the reflector, the pattern forming the stiffening structure includes a plurality of protruding ribs extending in at least two directions across the core and/or at least one circumferential protrusion; the structure disclosed in FIG. 3b is one embodiment for a stiffening structure 2b. However, this structure may also be formed by interconnected circumferential elements, rectilinear ribs, curved segments or by any such combination; and stiffening structure 2b discloses ribs integral to the core 13 for stiffening the antenna reflector, see fig. 2, 3a-3b and 4, paragraphs [0010], [0023], [0028], and [0030]), the reflector including mounting points for attachment to a spacecraft (the antennas are in particular used in space applications to equip telecommunications satellite; and the antennas need to be as light as possible so as to facilitate the placing in orbit of a satellite equipped with antennas with reflector dishes, which implying that the disclosed antenna reflector includes mounting points for attachment to a spacecraft, see paragraph [0002] and [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Petersson discloses the method of claim 15 wherein machining the at least one side of the core includes machining the core to one or more specified thicknesses to create the integral support ribs tapered (see fig. 4, paragraph [0010], [0013], and [0028]).
Regarding claim 19, Petersson discloses the method of claim 18, wherein machining the core to one or more specified thicknesses to create the integral support ribs includes machining the global curvature and/or the local curvature (see paragraph [0008], [0023], and [0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Petersson discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the support ribs are tapered (see paragraph [0010] and [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersson (U.S Publication No. 20050243016 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Petersson discloses all the limitations of the antenna reflector of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, except for specifying that wherein the core has a variable thickness between 0.25 inches and 4 inches and a plurality of different densities.
However, Petersson further discloses the core has a thickness that varies in accordance with a given pattern so that a stiffening structure is formed in the reflector (see paragraph [0008]). The core 13 may also include more than one layer of honeycomb material, where the different layers of honeycomb material may provide different qualities for the core 13. In areas in the vicinity of an interface in the stiffening structure, the sandwich may include local stiffening e.g., in the form of a honeycomb material with higher density or by increasing the thickness of the first and second skin (see paragraph [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made that to modify the reflector antenna as taught by Petersson in order for the core has a variable thickness between 0.25 inches and 4 inches and a plurality of different densities, as the core has a thickness that varies in accordance with a given pattern so that a stiffening structure is formed in the reflector (see paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Petersson discloses all the limitations of the antenna reflector of claim 1, except for specifying that wherein the first face and the second face are mounted to the core using a 180°C+ glass transition temperature film adhesive (see paragraph [0008], [0013], [0025]-[0026], and [0028]-[0029]).
However, Petersson further discloses the antenna reflector comprising the first face (11) and the second face (12) are mounted to the core (13), (see fig. 2 and 4, paragraph [0022]). In a second aspect of the invention, there is provided a method of manufacturing a reflector. A first skin is arranged on a mould tool. A core is adhesively bonded to the first skin. The assembly is cured. The inventive method includes the further steps of machining the core to form a stiffening structure in the core for the reflector antenna. The machining is performed while the assembly is still arranged on the mould tool. After a given pattern for the stiffening structure has been machined in the core, a second skin is bonded to the machined core. The assembly is cured prior to removal from the mould tool (see paragraph [0013]). The first skin 11 includes fiber reinforced plastic with fibers arranged in at least three directions. The fibers may be arranged as netting in a tissue or by arranging a layup of multiple laminates with fibers in one or more directions. If one set of fibers is given a direction of 0.degree., the two other directions would preferably be .+-.60.degree.. It is also possible to use a configuration with two fabric layers of fiber reinforced plastic, each containing fibers in two directions and arranged in such a way that the skin contains fibers in four directions. The lay-up of the second skin 12 is a symmetric lay-up to the lay-up of the first skin 11, i.e., the fibers in the second skin 12 are arranged as a reflection of the fibers in the first skin. With fibers arranged in three directions 0.degree., +60.degree., -60.degree. in the first skin 11, the direction in the second skin 12 would preferable be -60.degree., +60.degree., 0.degree. (see paragraph [0025]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made that the first face and the second face are mounted to the core as taught by Petersson using a 180°C+ glass transition temperature film adhesive, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersson (U.S Publication No. 20050243016 A1) in view of Taylor (U.S Patent No. 10811759 B2).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Petersson discloses all the limitations of the antenna reflector of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, except for specifying that wherein the reflective material is a carbon-fiber-reinforced polymer (CFRP) resin pre-impregnated fabric skin.
Taylor, on the other hand, discloses an antenna reflector has a reflector surface which forms a predetermined dish-like shape. The reflector 101 includes a reflector surface 103 comprised of a conductive material that is suitable for reflecting radio frequency (RF) signals. In some scenarios, the material forming the reflector surface can be comprised of a pliant or highly flexible material, such as a woven or knitted metal mesh. In other scenarios, the reflector material can be a carbon fiber reinforced silicone (CFRS) type material. Reflector surfaces of each type are well-known in the in the field of deployable reflector antennas and therefore will not be described in detail. However, it should be understood that in both cases these reflector materials are pliant and highly flexible so that they can be folded and later unfolded to form a larger aperture reflector antenna. For purposes of the solution presented herein, the exact type of material used to form the reflector surface is not critical. Accordingly, any other type of material now known or known in the future can be used to form the reflector surface 103, provided that the material has similar properties to those reflecting surfaces described herein (see col. 3, lines 47-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna reflector as taught by Petersson with the antenna reflector as taught by Taylor having the reflective material is a carbon-fiber-reinforced polymer (CFRP) resin pre-impregnated fabric skin, as any other type of material now known or known in the future can be used to form the reflector surface, and which is also considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Conclusion
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 06/05/2026