DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimasaki et al (US. 4822059).
Shimasaki discloses a seal assembly, comprising a housing (e.g. 2) having a first opening and a second opening having centers aligned along an axis, a first seal ring (e.g. 3) carried within the housing and aligned along the axis between the first and second opening (e.g. see figure 2), a second seal ring (e.g. 4) carried within the housing and aligned along the axis and located between the first seal ring and the second opening and a third seal ring (e.g. 10) mounted to the second opening (e.g. figure 2 shows this).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the first and second seal rings include seal lips (e.g. lips capable of contacting shaft 5, see figure 2) extended in a first direction toward the first opening (e.g. extends toward 8b).
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the third seal ring includes a seal lip (e.g. lip 10a) extended in a second direction opposite the first direction (10a extends away from the first direction).
Regarding claim 4: Wherein the first and second seal rings are composed of polytetrafluoroethylene (material of 3 and 4) and the third seal ring is composed of rubber (e.g. see description of dust lip which is made of rubber and also see description of 15 by way of example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (US.20240035573A1) in view of Oldenburg (US. 6315296).
Yoshimura discloses (e.g. figure 1) a seal assembly, comprising a metal skeleton portion (e.g. 11 and 13), an internal primary sealing ring (e.g. 21), an internal secondary sealing ring (e.g. 31), wherein the metal skeleton portion includes a first metal skeleton portion (e.g. 11) and a second metal skeleton portion (e.g. 13), the first and second metal skeleton portions are configured as cylindrical housings (figure below shows this), wherein the first metal skeleton portion (e.g. 11) and the second metal skeleton portion (e.g. 13), have L-shaped cross-sections (e.g. L-shape having 13a and 13b), the first metal skeleton portion including an annular rim portion (e.g. 11a) and a contiguous annular ring portion (e.g. 12), the second metal skeleton portion (e.g. 13) including an annular rim portion (e.g. 13a) and a contiguous annular ring portion (e.g. 13b), wherein one end of the first metal skeleton portion is fitted around the outside perimeter of the outward sealing ring (see figure), and at the other end, the rim portion of the first metal skeleton portion is bonded (e.g. 13 is press fitted to 11) to the rim portion of the second metal skeleton portion. Regarding claim 6, Wherein the internal primary sealing ring (e.g. 20) includes a fixed end portion (e.g. 23) and a contiguous free end portion (e.g. 20a), wherein the fixed portion is an annular and flat and the free end portion is shaped as a truncated cone but with a curved side wall (e.g. see figures). Regarding claim 8, wherein the internal secondary sealing ring includes a fixed end portion (e.g. 33), a contiguous free end portion (e.g. 30a), the fixed end portion is flat and annular (see figures) and a spacer element (e.g. 14). Regarding claim 9, the free end portion of the internal secondary sealing ring is shaped as a truncated cone but with a curved sidewall (e.g. figures shows this). Regarding claim 10, wherein a curvature of the sidewall free end portion of the internal secondary sealing ring is semi-circular in profile (e.g. curve surface at the connection portion 34). Regarding claim 13, wherein rim portion of the second metal skeleton portion is bonded to the rim portion of the first metal skeleton portion and the ring portion of the second metal skeleton portion is bonded to the fixed end portion of the internal primary sealing ring (e.g. that is the case since 13 is pressed fitted to 11 the internal primary sealing ring). Regarding claim 14, wherein the fixed end portion (e.g. 23) of the primary sealing ring is held between the second annular pad (e.g. 14) and the ring portion (e.g. 13b) of the second metal skeleton portion. Regarding claim 15, wherein axial end of the rim portion of the first metal skeleton portion is bent inward by 90 ° (e.g. 15) and wrapped outside the axial end of the rim portion of the second metal skeleton portion on an end of the seal assembly opposite the outward sealing ring (e.g. figure 1 shows this at 15 and end of 13a). Regarding claim 18, wherein the internal primary sealing ring and the internal secondary sealing ring are composed of PTFE (see description of material for 20 and 30 in Yoshimura).
Yoshimura discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose an outward sealing ring, the outward sealing ring is provided with an outward sealing lip and the outward sealing lip having elastic characteristics. Oldenburg discloses a seal assembly having plurality of internal lips extending in a first direction (e.g. lips 70 and 58 extending right of figure 1), an outward sealing ring (e.g. sealing ring having 86) provided with an outward sealing lip (e.g. lip 86) and the outward sealing lip having elastic characteristic and extending in a second direction that is opposite the first direction (86 extending left of figure 1). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the seal assembly of Yoshimura to have an outward sealing ring with lip as taught by Oldenburg with reasonable expectation of success, to provide a wiper seal (e.g. see descriptions of 86).
The combination of Yoshimura and Oldenburg teach the free end portions of the internal primary and the internal secondary sealing rings and the outward sealing lip extend in opposite directions (this provides reasonable expectation of success to sealing an air side and a fluid side, where angle surface on the air side receives pressure from the air side to press the outward seal on shaft and where angle surface on the fluid side receives pressure from the fluid side to press the 1st or 2nd internal seal on the shaft).
The combination of Yoshimura and Oldenburg teach that the casing or skeleton can be made from different material (see Oldenburg “sleeve, case, faceplate of metal such as stainless, carbon steel or similar materials). The choosing of stainless steel provides reasonable expectation of success to reduce rust and longer lasting than generic metal (generic metallic skeleton is taught by Yoshimura).
The combination of Yoshimura and Oldenburg teach wherein inner ring diameter of the internal primary sealing ring and the internal secondary sealing ring is less than the inner ring diameter of the outer secondary sealing ring (see lips of Oldenburg on a tip end of 12 which would be satisfy the claims as seen in figure 5).
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura and Oldenburg and further in view of Sekulich (US. 3572732).
Yoshimura discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose a spring ring surrounding the free end portion of the internal primary sealing ring to maintain close sealing contact between the primary sealing ring and a rotating shaft extended through the assembly. Sekulich discloses a seal assembly having a first seal (e.g. 50) having lip (e.g. 54) with a free end portion and the first seal having a spring ring (e.g. 70) surrounding the free end portion (e.g. figure 1). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the free end of Yoshimura to have a spring as taught by Sekulich with reasonable expectation of success to provide inward force that presses the free end to a shaft (e.g. see description of spring 70).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura, Oldenburg and Sekulich and further in view of Shimasaki et al (US. 4822059).
Yoshimura discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the internal secondary sealing ring is fitted on opposite axial sides with first and second annular pads. Shimasaki discloses in figure 2 a seal assembly with a casing (2) with a first sealing ring (3), a second sealing ring (4), the second sealing ring having a free end (e.g. end capable of contacting shaft) and a fixing portion (e.g. portion of 4 between 10b and 9b), the fixing portion fitted on opposite axial sides with first (e.g. 10b) and second annular pads (e.g. 9b and/or 16). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fixed end portion of the secondary sealing ring of Yoshimura to be fitted between first and second pads as taught by Shimasaki with reasonable expectation of success to provide spacing between the first and second sealing lips (inherent function of elements 16, 9b and 10b), sealing of the fitted end portion (e.g. see description of 10b in Shimasaki) and proper mounting (see description of 8, 16, 9b and 10b in Shimasaki).
Claim(s) 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura, Oldenburg, Sekulich and Shimasaki and further in view of Paykin (US. 7832735).
Yoshimura discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose wherein free end portion of the internal secondary sealing ring is provided with four convex ribs on an inside surface thereof. Paykin disclose a seal assembly with a casing (casing having 20 and 66), a first internal seal (e.g. 78), a second internal seal with free end (e.g. end having four ribs 36), an outward seal (e.g. 42) and the free end having four convex ribs (e.g. 36) on an inside surface thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the free end of the internal secondary sealing ring of Yoshimura to have four convex ribs as taught by Paykin with reasonable expectation of success to provide pumping effect (e.g. inherent teaching of ribs 36 creating pumping effect for the lip 28, see Paykin) or multiple seal contact system (e.g. inherent each rib will provide a seal on the shaft).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form 892 for references that teach claims limitations.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675