DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “driving control mechanism” in claim 1.
The corresponding structure in the specification includes driving units 11a and 11b.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 19/190048 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application anticipates the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (JP 6411775 B2) in view of D2 (US 20140180082 A1).
With regards to claim 1, D1 discloses an X-ray image capture system comprising:
an X-ray source 5 (Figs. 1 and 2);
an X-ray detector that includes an X-ray line sensor with X-ray detection elements 3 that are arranged in a one-dimensional manner with respect to a horizontal direction and a collimator that is provided on an end part of the X-ray line sensor that faces the X-ray source [0021, 0028, 0029] (Figs. 1-4);
a signal processing circuit 9 that processes a measurement signal that is measured by the X-ray detector to produce an X-ray transmission image [0023] (Fig. 2); and
a driving control mechanism that moves the X-ray detector in upward and downward directions and rotates the X-ray detector around an axis in a pixel pitch direction of the X-ray line sensor in association with movement of the X-ray detector to tilt the X-ray detector with respect to a horizontal plane and thereby match an emission direction of an X-ray that is emitted from the X-ray source and an X-ray introduction direction of the collimator [0022, 0024, 0025, 0027] (Figs 1 and 3-5; detector array 3 and collimator 2 are moved up and down and inclined at each height to face X-ray source 5 using independently controlled driving units 11a and 11b positioned on four corner guide structures).
D1 does not explicitly teach an X-ray introduction width of the collimator being greater than widths of the X-ray detection elements.
However, this limitation is taught by D2 by teaching a collimator having 4 mm openings while the detectors are approximately 27x27 microns [0072, 0074]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the collimator of D1 with the claimed configuration as taught by D2 to increase usable X-ray flux and properly illuminate the detector elements.
With regards to claim 3, D1 discloses wherein the X-ray line sensor includes a scintillator [0030] and a light detector that detects scintillation light that is emitted by the scintillator (not expressly taught but an inherent feature).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 and D3 (US 20080192899 A1).
With regards to claim 4, D1 does not teach the claimed configuration. However, D3 teaches an X-ray system comprising a temperature sensor providing feedback regarding the temperature of a detector (Claims 20-22) and further teaches selecting stored temperature dependent calibration or correction maps based on the measured detector temperature and applying the selected map to acquired radiographic data (Claims 21, 22, 27, and 32-24). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration as taught by D3 to reduce image artifacts.
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 and D4 (US 8563941 B1).
With regards to claim 5, D1 does not teach the claimed source and circuit. However, D5 teaches an imaging system comprising the missing limitations (Claims 1-3, 14, and 15; Figs. 6 and 12). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration as taught by D4 to compensate for dark current or scintillator afterglow and improve image accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art teach the introduction collimator width as claimed in claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884