DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/9/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the election of species requirement in the reply filed on 6/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species 1 and 4 as defined in the office action dated 4/9/2026 are not mutually exclusive and should be combined into a single species. Applicant argument is found persuasive and the requirement has been withdrawn. Applicant has elected species 1 as defined by Fig 1A-2B and 5-7B.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Detry et al., US PGPub0205745.
Regarding claim 5, Detry et al. discloses a valve (9) for an aircraft (1) fluid system, comprising: a valve housing (outer hatched surface in fig 2A) defining a flow inlet (IN), a first flow outlet (M) fluidly connected to the flow inlet (IN), and a second flow outlet (BP) fluidly connected to the flow inlet (IN) a body (14) within the valve housing (as described above) moveable (see fig 2A vs 2B) within the housing (as described above) between: a first state (fig 2A) in which the body fluidly connects the flow inlet (IN) to the first flow outlet (M) while fluidly disconnecting the flow inlet (IN) from the second flow outlet (BP); and a second state (fig 2B) in which the body fluidly connects the flow inlet (IN) to the second flow outlet (BP) while fluidly disconnecting the flow inlet (IN) from the first flow outlet (M); and a biasing member (16) operatively connected to the body (see fig 2a) and biasing the body (14) to the first state (as described above); wherein a construction of the body (14) and a biasing strength (determined by properties of 16) of the biasing member (16) are selected such that when a fluid of the aircraft fluid system acts at a predefined pressure (feed pressure) on the body (14) through the flow inlet (IN), a force produced by the fluid on the body (14) overcomes the biasing strength (as described above) and thereby moves the body (14) toward the second position (fig 2B).
Regarding claim 6, Detry et al. discloses the valve of claim 5, further comprising a reference port (17) fluidly open to the body (14) at a location relative to the body (14) that is selected such that fluid pressure applied to the reference port (17) opposes fluid pressure applied to the flow inlet (IN).
Regarding claim 7, Detry et al. discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the housing (as described above) is cylindrical (see fig 2a-2b) and the body (14) is a piston translatable within the cylindrical housing (as described above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detry et al..
Regarding claim 8, Detry et al. discloses the valve of claim 7, wherein: the piston (14) is translatable axially (see fig 2a vs 2b) in the housing (as described above) and has opposed axial sides (left and right in fig 2a), the flow inlet (IN) is disposed on one of the opposed axial sides (left side). Detry et al. does not specify that the reference port (18) is fluidly open to the other one of the opposed axial sides. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to position the reference port in the specified location in the specified manner since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to position the reference port in the specified manner in order to allow for a spring with greater compression and reduce the axial size of the valve structure.
Regarding claim 9, Detry et al. discloses the valve of claim 5, wherein the flow inlet (IN) and the first flow outlet (M) are different sizes (as can be seen in fig 2A), but does not specify the flow inlet (IN) and the second flow outlet (BP) are the same size. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the channels as specified since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA). One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to size the channels as specified in order to increase the flow rate through the second outlet for rapid release during overpressure situations.
Claim(s) 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detry et al. in view of Molesini et al., US PGPub 2021/0010392.
Regarding claim 10, Detry et al. discloses an aircraft engine, comprising: the valve of claim 5 but does not specify a turbine engine.
Molesini et al. teaches a similar aircraft bypass circuit (see fig 1-2) a compressor section (22) fluidly connected to air to a cavity (110) of the aircraft engine (10), a pumped oil circulation circuit (see fig 2) including an oil tank (102) and the cavity (110); and a bypass conduit (112) fluidly connecting the first flow outlet (see fig 2) of the valve (115) to a location in the oil circulation circuit (as described above) that is downstream (see fig 2) of the cavity (110); and wherein the flow inlet (from 104) and the second flow outlet (connected to 112) of the valve (115) are part of the oil circulation circuit (as described above) at a location fluidly upstream (see fig 2) of the cavity (110). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bypass valve disclosed by Detry et al. to the system described by Molesini et al. in order to optimize lubrication distribution in a gas turbine engine.
Regarding claim 11, Detry et al. in view of Molesini et al. disclose the aircraft engine of claim 10, wherein: the valve (9) further comprises a reference port (18) fluidly open to the body (14) at a location relative to the body (14) that is selected such that fluid pressure applied to the reference port (18) opposes fluid pressure applied to the flow inlet (IN), and the reference port (18) is connected to the oil tank (6) to receive fluid pressure from the oil tank (6).
Regarding claim 12, Detry et al. in view of Molesini et al. disclose the aircraft engine of claim 11, wherein the reference port (18) is connected to the oil tank (6) at a location in the oil tank (6) that is above a maximum oil level (note 6 is open at its top and lubricant drains into it from above – see fig 1) of the oil tank (6).
Regarding claim 13, Detry et al. in view of Molesini et al. disclose the aircraft engine of claim 12, further comprising an oil pump (13) in the oil circulation circuit (see fig 1) at a location downstream of the location in the oil circulation circuit (as described above) that is downstream of the cavity (110 – Molesini et al.) to which the bypass conduit (112 – Molesini et al.) fluidly connects the first flow outlet (124) of the valve (115 – Molesini et al.), and wherein the oil pump (13) is operable to pump oil toward the oil tank (6).
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654