Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of receive coils” disposed in the body part. Claim 7 subsequently recites an additional element “that has the plurality of receive coils disposed therein.” It is unclear whether “the plurality of receive coils” in claim 7 refers to the same plurality of receive coils already recited as being disposed in the body part or to a separate plurality of receive coils disposed in the additional element. Therefore, the scope of claim 7 is unclear.
For clarification, claim 7 may be amended to recite, for example, “an additional element that is connected to an end portion of the body part, that has a plurality of additional receive coils disposed therein, and that covers the front side and the lateral side of the subject under examination.”
For examination purposes, claim 7 is interpreted as requiring the additional element to have a plurality of additional receive coils disposed therein, separate from the plurality of receive coils disposed in the body part. The prior art rejections set forth below are based on this interpretation. This interpretation is made solely to facilitate examination and does not withdraw or otherwise resolve the foregoing rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincent et al. (U.S. 2022/0334202 A1) in view of Deng et al. (U.S. 2018/0210043 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Vincent et al. disclose a receive coil unit having an apron shape (see RF coil assembly 600 configured as a wearable vest, paragraph [0097]), comprising: a body part in which a plurality of receive coils that receive magnetic resonance signals from a subject under examination are disposed (see RF coil array 700 comprising a plurality of RF coils 702, paragraph [0101]), and that covers a front side of the subject under examination (see vest-shaped assembly having a front section containing RF coils, paragraph [0097]) and a lateral side of the subject under examination (see armpit portion 752 positioned sideways from contoured portion 750, paragraph [0118]); and a first strap-shaped part and a second strap-shaped part that each have one end portion connected to an upper portion of the body part and that have strap shapes respectively placed on both shoulders of the subject under examination (see straps 601 extending between shoulder portions 610 and lower portions 612, paragraph [0096], Fig. 6E).
Vincent et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a first belt and a second belt that are connected to the other end portion of the first strap-shaped part and the other end portion of the second strap-shaped part and that are attachable to and detachable from each other.
Deng et al. disclose a first belt and a second belt that are connected to the other end portion of the first strap-shaped part and the other end portion of the second strap-shaped part and that are attachable to and detachable from each other (see [0034], wherein first and second fixing straps that are pulled toward each other and connected together at their free ends to hold the flexible RF coil, paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Vincent et al. by incorporating first and second belt portions connected to the other ends of the respective shoulder straps and having free ends attachable to and detachable from each other, as taught by Deng et al., as doing so would permit the wearable receive coil to be opened for donning, adjusted around subjects having different torso sizes, and securely fastened through a detachable connection because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that the detachable fixation arrangement permits convenient attachment and release by an operator, thus improving ease of use and maintaining the receive coils in a stable position relative to the subject. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Vincent et al. and Deng et al. use conventional flexible straps and detachable fastening structures to position flexible MRI receive coils relative to a subject.
As to claim 2; Vincent et al. and Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein Vincent et al. further disclose that the plurality of receive coils are disposed in the first strap-shaped part and the second strap-shaped part (see RF coil assembly 600 used as a shoulder coil with the coil-containing contoured section 603 conforming to the subject’s shoulder, paragraph [0122], Fig. 11; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the portions of the wearable RF coil assembly extending over the respective shoulders correspond to the claimed first and second strap-shaped parts containing receive coils).
Vincent et al. does not disclose the mutually attachable and detachable first and second belt portions.
Deng et al. disclose the mutually attachable and detachable first and second belt portions (see first and second fixing straps (7) whose free ends are pulled toward each other and detachably connected together to secure the flexible RF coil relative to the subject; see paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Vincent et al.’s coil-containing shoulder portions by incorporating the mutually connectable belt ends taught by Deng et al., as doing so would permit the shoulder-supported receive coil assembly to be easily donned, adjusted, and securely fastened around the subject because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that the detachable fixation arrangement facilitates convenient attachment and release by an operator, thus improving patient setup while maintaining the receive coils close to the shoulder anatomy. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the modification concerns the mechanical closure of an existing wearable RF coil assembly and would not alter the electrical operation of the receive coils disposed over the shoulder regions.
As to claim 3; Vincent et al. and Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein Vincent et al. further disclose that straps (601) may be attachable and detachably secured using hook-and-loop fasteners (see paragraph [0096]).
Vincent et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose that the hook-and-loop fastener is positioned specifically between the free ends of the claimed first and second belts.
Deng et al. disclose the hook-and-loop fastener is positioned specifically between the free ends of the claimed first and second belts (see [0039], wherein first and second fixing straps whose respective free ends are pulled toward each other and detachably connected together; also see paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Vincent et al. by positioning Vincent et al.’s hook-and-loop fastener between the mutually connectable free strap ends taught by Deng et al., as doing so would provide an adjustable, low-profile, and readily detachable connection between the belt ends because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that a detachable fixation arrangement provides convenient attachment and release, thus improving patient setup and removal of the receive coil. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because using a hook-and-loop fastener at the free ends of flexible straps would have constituted the predictable use of a known fastener according to its established function.
As to claim 4; Vincent et al. and Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein Vincent et al. further disclose first and second strap portions constructed and positioned to support and adjust the fit of the wearable coil assembly relative to the subject (see straps 601 used to adjust the fitting of RF coil assembly 600, paragraph [0096]).
Vincent et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose that a total weight of the first belt and the second belt is 20% or more of a weight of the body part.
Deng et al. disclose a total weight of the first belt and the second belt is 20% or more of a weight of the body part (see first and second fixation straps constructed with sufficient size, material, and mechanical strength to hold a flexible torso RF coil securely relative to the subject when the straps are pulled together and connected, paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify the material, thickness, and resulting combined weight of Vincent et al.’s first and second belt portions such that the total belt weight is at least 20% of the weight of the lightweight flexible coil body, as doing so would provide sufficient counterbalancing mass and mechanical stability to maintain the front-mounted coil body against the subject because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0035] that the two straps are pulled and connected to hold the flexible RF coil securely in position, thus improving coil stability and reducing displacement during examination. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because selecting the dimensions and material of known fixation straps to obtain a workable degree of support would have involved routine mechanical optimization, and the claimed lower limit of 20% has not been shown to produce a critical or unexpected result relative to other workable belt-to-body weight ratios.
As to claim 5; Vincent et al. and Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein Vincent et al. further disclose that the body part has a connector to which a reception cable connected to a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus is connected (see coil interfacing connector 606 connected to RF coil array interfacing cable 604 for coupling RF coil assembly 600 to RF system 30, paragraph [0095]).
Vincent et al. disclose do not expressly disclose the mutually attachable and detachable first and second belt portions.
Deng et al. disclose the mutually attachable and detachable first and second belt portions (see [0039], wherein the mutually attachable and detachable first and second belt portions first and second fixing straps whose free ends are pulled toward each other and detachably connected together, also see paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Vincent et al.’s connector-equipped receive coil unit by incorporating the mutually connectable belt ends taught by Deng et al., as doing so would permit the receive coil unit to be secured to the subject before connector 606 and reception cable 604 are connected to the MRI apparatus because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that the detachable fixation arrangement provides convenient attachment and release, thus simplifying patient preparation and maintaining the connector-equipped coil unit in a stable position. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the modification concerns the mechanical strap closure and would not alter the electrical operation of Vincent et al.’s connector, cable, or RF receive coils.
As to claim 6; Vincent et al. and Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of claim 5 as discussed above, wherein Vincent et al. further disclose that coil interfacing connector 606 is disposed at a position corresponding to the chest of the subject under examination (see connector 606 positioned on the front torso portion of wearable RF coil assembly 600, paragraph [0095], Fig. 6C; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the illustrated front-torso location of connector 606 corresponds to the subject’s chest).
Vincent et al. do not expressly disclose the mutually attachable and detachable first and second belt portions.
Deng et al. disclose the mutually attachable and detachable first and second belt portions (see Figs. 4-5, wherein first and second fixing straps whose free ends are pulled toward each other and detachably connected together to secure a flexible RF coil relative to the subject, see paragraphs [0037 & 0039]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to incorporate the mutually connectable belt ends taught by Deng et al. into Vincent et al.’s receive coil assembly having front-torso connector, as doing so would stabilize the receive coil and maintain the connector at an accessible chest position during connection of the reception cable because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that the detachable fixation arrangement permits convenient attachment and release, thus improving access to the connector and simplifying preparation for the MRI examination. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the mechanical strap modification would not interfere with the position or electrical operation of connector.
As to claim 7; Vincent et al. and Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein Vincent et al. further disclose an additional element that is connected to an end portion of the body part (see [0042 & 0057]), that has a plurality of receive coils disposed therein, and that covers the front side and lateral side of the subject under examination (see RF coil assembly 600 having separable left and right portions 804 and 806, each including a respective section of RF coil array 700, paragraph [0116], Fig. 8; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, either coil-containing portion constitutes a body part and the other coil-containing portion constitutes an additional element connected at an end along the longitudinal midline, with the portions collectively covering the front and lateral regions of the subject).
Vincent et al. do not expressly disclose the mutually attachable and detachable first and second belt portions required by claim 1.
Deng et al. disclose first and second fixing straps whose free ends are pulled toward each other and detachably connected together to secure the flexible RF coil relative to the subject (see paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to incorporate the mutually connectable belt ends taught by Deng et al. into Vincent et al.’s receive coil assembly having separable coil-containing portions, as doing so would allow the assembled coil-containing portions to be securely maintained over the front and lateral regions of subjects having different torso sizes because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that the detachable fixation arrangement provides convenient attachment and release, thus improving the adaptability and positional stability of the modular receive coil. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the straps would mechanically secure Vincent et al.’s existing coil-containing portions without changing their RF signal-reception functions.
As to claim 8, Vincent et al. and Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein Vincent et al. further disclose flexible straps attached to the receive coil body for securing and adjusting the coil assembly relative to the subject (see straps (601) attached to enclosure 602, paragraph [0096]).
Vincent et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a fixing belt that is attached to the body part and that fixes the subject under examination to a table of an examination bed of a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus.
Deng et al. disclose a fixing belt that is attached to the body part and that fixes the subject under examination to a table of an examination bed of a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (see Fig. 5, wherein fixing straps associated with a flexible RF coil, wherein clips at the straps engage corresponding slots of the MRI patient-support structure and the straps are pulled and connected to hold the flexible RF coil and subject relative to the patient-support structure; see paragraph [0035]; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, securing the flexible torso coil over the subject to the patient-support structure fixes the subject relative to the examination table).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Vincent et al. by attaching Deng et al.’s table-fixation straps to the body part of Vincent et al.’s wearable receive coil unit, as doing so would stabilize both the receive coil and the subject relative to the MRI examination table and reduce coil displacement and patient motion during imaging because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that the clip-and-slot fixation arrangement enables convenient and easy attachment and release, thus improving workflow and positional stability during the MRI examination. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because attaching conventional nonmagnetic fixation straps to a flexible coil enclosure would have been a predictable mechanical modification that would not affect the electrical operation of the receive coils.
As to claim 9, Vincent et al. and Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein Vincent et al. further disclose a winding belt for winding the body part around a body of the subject under examination (see back strap 601-b that wraps around the subject and forms a loop around the subject to adjust the fit of RF coil assembly 600, paragraph [0096]).
Vincent et al. do not expressly disclose that the first and second shoulder-connected belt portions have free ends that are attachable to and detachable from each other.
Deng et al. disclose the first and second shoulder-connected belt portions have free ends that are attachable to and detachable from each other (see Fig. 4, wherein first and second fixing straps whose free ends are pulled toward each other and detachably connected together around the subject and flexible RF coil; see paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Vincent et al.’s torso-wrapping belt by incorporating the mutually connectable belt ends taught by Deng et al., as doing so would permit the winding belt to be opened, wrapped around subjects of different body sizes, tightened, and detachably secured because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that the detachable fixation arrangement provides convenient attachment and release, thus improving the adjustability and usability of the wearable receive coil. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both references use flexible straps to conform and secure an MRI receive coil relative to the subject’s body.
As to claim 10, Vincent et al. disclose a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus comprising a receive coil unit (see MR system 10 including RF system 30 and an RF receive coil configured to receive magnetic resonance signals from a subject, paragraph [0041]).
Vincent et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose that the receive coil unit of the MRI apparatus includes first and second shoulder-connected belts whose free ends are attachable to and detachable from each other.
Deng et al. disclose the receive coil unit of the MRI apparatus includes first and second shoulder-connected belts whose free ends are attachable to and detachable from each other (see Fig. 7, an MRI system having a flexible RF receive coil, see paragraph [0040], and first and second fixing straps whose free ends are pulled toward each other and connected together to secure the receive coil relative to the subject, see paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to incorporate the mutually connectable strap arrangement taught by Deng et al. into the receive coil unit of Vincent et al.’s MRI apparatus, as doing so would facilitate attachment of the receive coil to the subject and maintain repeatable coil positioning during MRI signal acquisition because Deng et al. emphasize in paragraph [0013] that the detachable fixation arrangement provides convenient attachment and release, thus simplifying MRI preparation and improving receive-coil stability. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the strap modification is mechanical and would not alter the magnetic-field generation, RF transmission, or magnetic-resonance signal-reception functions of Vincent et al.’s MRI apparatus.
The two publications and the cited Vincent disclosures concerning shoulder imaging, separable coil sections, chest coverage, straps, connector, and winding belt were verified against the available patent record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2012/0133365 A1 to Davis et al. disclose a coil and pad system for use with an MRI machine. The coil and pad system includes a plurality of coils sized to accommodate a plurality of patient ranges of various heights and body weights. There is also a plurality of pads designed to work in conjunction with the plurality of coils to accommodate patient ranges of various heights and body weights.
U.S. 2020/0025846 A1 to Nelson et al. disclose a magnetic resonance imaging system capable of imaging a patient is provided. The magnetic resonance imaging system comprising at least one B0 magnet to produce a magnetic field to contribute to a B0 magnetic field for the magnetic resonance imaging system and a member configured to engage with a releasable securing mechanism of a radio frequency coil apparatus, the member attached to the magnetic resonance imaging system at a location so that, when the member is engaged with the releasable securing mechanism of the radio frequency coil apparatus, the radio frequency coil apparatus is secured to the magnetic resonance imaging system substantially within an imaging region of the magnetic resonance imaging system.
U.S. 2015/0168511 A1 to Jeong et al. disclose an RF receiving coil, which is retained in an interior receiving space of a patient table and is extractable from the patient table, and an MRI apparatus including the same. The MRI apparatus includes a patient table having an interior space, and at least one Radio Frequency (RF) receiving coil integrated with the patient table and retained in the space, the RF receiving coil being movable outward of the patient table.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/ALVARO E FORTICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858