DETAILED ACTION
Case Status
This office action is in response to remarks and amendments of 8/03/2026. Claims 21-26, 28-35, 37-40 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-26, 28-35, 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 21-40 are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter.
With respect to independent claims 21, 30, 39, the determining, selecting, transforming, generating, performing cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). The receiving, causing presentation limitations are recited at a high level of generality and do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea; these limitations are directed to insignificant extra solution activities. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claims 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 35, 37, 38 the determinings, process, generating, filling, validate cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). No additional elements are recited and so the claims do not provide a practical application and are not considered to be significantly more. The claims are not eligible.
With respect to dependent claims 22, 31, 40 fields, obtained are recited at a high level of generality and do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26, 28-35, and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., Pub. No.: US 20170221008 A1, hereinafter Li, in view of Zhang et al., US 20210104234 A1, hereinafter Zhang, and Kelkar et al., Pub. No.: US 20230274095 A1, hereinafter Kelkar.
As per claim 21, Li discloses a method comprising:
receiving a search query associated with an entity, wherein the search query is associated with executing a function on an online platform (pars. 30, 37, 45, 71-74 disclose segmenting and/or tagging received search queries into entity types/attributes with corresponding entity values/content, the search queries being “associated with” execution of many functions including search, rank, etc. on an online social networking platform);
determining […] an intent of the entity for the search query based on entity data associated with the entity […] (pars. 23, 31, 34, 46-49). Li does not expressly disclose, however Zhang in the related field of endeavor of information retrieval discloses doing the determining using a knowledge graph … wherein the knowledge graph comprises a dynamic graph configured to record relationships between entities on the online platform (Zhang, pars. 45-50, 65-73, 92-100 disclose using a knowledge graph to determine user intent, the graph having entity notes and relationship edges and automatically adding nodes and edges for new intents).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Zhang would have allowed Li to automatically expand its topic and intent capabilities and determine user intent with higher accuracy using a knowledge graph representing relationships between nodes (Zhang, pars. 6-9, 44, 70).
The combination does not expressly disclose, however Kelkar in the related field of endeavor of information retrieval discloses selecting a prompt template from a set of prompt templates based on the intent of the entity, wherein different intents are associated with different prompt templates (Kelkar, pars. 10-11, 85, 88, 92 disclose determining a template from a set of predefined templates based on a detected intent with entity/slot extraction used to predict (i.e. select and use) the best template).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Kelkar would have allowed Li’s method of determining user intent/entity context for ranking feature and model selection to select templates based on intent in order to improve personalization and output quality. Kelkar provides dynamically generated intent specific outputs rather than a list of ranked documents.
wherein the prompt template includes a set of fields, including at least a first field for a network of connections associated with the entity, wherein the network of connections associated with the entity corresponds to information obtained from the knowledge graph about the entity and relationships between the entity and one or more other entities (Zhang, pars. 65-73, 84-86 disclose entity nodes and edges representing relationships or connections between nodes, including intent, taxonomy and named entity nodes and Kelkar, pars. 11, 85, 88 disclose selecting a template based on intent, the template including fields/slots that are filled with corresponding information to generate the response).
transforming the intent of the entity into an intent parameter that characterizes the intent of the entity (Li, pars. 53-60, 68-74 disclose converting user skills, profiles, behaviors into feature vectors, matrices, latent factors, similarity metrics that parameterize user expertise and intent);
generating a prompt for a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model using the prompt template, the prompt based on the search query and including the intent parameter (Kelkar, pars. 11, 29, 85, 108 discloses NLG and DNN which convey GAI models that are used to carry out the generating as claimed);
performing a search, using the online platform, wherein the search comprises sending the prompt to the GAI model to generate an output based on the prompt (Li, pars. 71-74 discloses searching and ML based ranking using parameterized inputs and Kelkar, pars. 11, 85, 88 disclose sending a structured prompt to a generating model by means of invoking a generative DNN/NLG to generate the response conditioned on intent, slots/entities, and dialog context);
receiving the output from the GAI model in response to the prompt (Kelkar, pars. 85-93); and
causing presentation of the output at a graphical user interface (GUI) (Li, pars. 29, 30, 66, 74 and Kelkar, pars. 86-94).
As per claim 22, Li as modified discloses The method of claim 21, wherein the prompt template comprises fields for the intent, the search query, and a network of connections associated with the entity (Li, pars. 23, 31, 34, 46, 53-60 and Kelkar, pars. 11, 85).
As per claim 23, Li as modified discloses The method of claim 21, further comprising determining the intent of the entity based on the search query and the entity data, the entity data representing interactions between the entity and an online service (Li, pars. 23, 31-34, 46, 49 and Kelkar, pars. 10).
As per claim 24, Li as modified discloses The method of claim 23, wherein determining the intent of the entity includes: processing the search query, known characteristics about the entity, and the interactions between the entity and the online service with a machine learning (ML) model to determine the intent of the entity, wherein the ML model is trained on historical data of search queries, selected search results, and characteristics of entities associated with the online service (Li, pars. 53-60, 68-74 and Kelkar, pars. 10, 85).
As per claim 25, Li as modified discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the intent of the entity is determined from a set of predefined intents; wherein the set of prompt templates includes at least one prompt template for each of the set of predefined intents (Kelkar, par. 11 and Li, pars. 45, 61).
As per claim 26, Li as modified discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the set of fields further includes a second field for the intent of the entity and a third field for the search query (Kelkar, pars. 11, 85 and Li, pars. 23, 31, 53-60); and wherein generating the prompt includes filling in the first field with the intent of the entity, the second field with the search query, and the third field with connection information regarding the network of connections associated with the entity (Kelkar, pars. 11, 85 and Li, pars. 23, 31, 53-60).
As per claim 28, Li as modified discloses the method of claim 21, wherein performing the search includes determining, based on the intent parameter, a search index on which to perform the search, and performing the search in the search index (Li, pars. 38-45, 61, 71-74 and Kelkar, par. 10).
As per claim 29, Li as modified discloses The method of claim 21, comprising validating the output generated by the GAI model to ensure the output meets a predefined guideline (Kelkar, pars. 85-93, Li, pars. 71-74).
As per claims 30-35 and 37-40, they are analogous to claims above and therefore likewise rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/03/2026 have been fully considered. With respect to the prior art rejection, Zhang et al., US 20210104234 A1, has been applied in response to claim amendments.
Regarding the 35 USC 101 rejection, page 9 of the remarks includes:
This is not persuasive because the claim does not require millions of entities, any minimum graph size, or any particular computational scale. The computer-related limitations are considered under Step 2A, Prong Two.
Page 11 of the remarks includes:
This is not persuasive because the claim does not recite an improvement to the operation of the computer, knowledge graph technology, or GAI model itself, but instead uses those technologies as tools to obtain and process information in carrying out the abstract idea.
The remarks further include:
The claim does not require modifying the GAI model’s architecture, training or operation. It recites generating and providing particular information in a prompt based on information (intent and relationship). Thus, the alleged improvement has to do with content of the information provided to the GAI model, rather than an improvement in the functioning of the GAI model or computer itself.
Page 12 of the remarks includes:
This is not persuasive because the additional computer elements (individually and as an ordered combination) merely implement the judicial exception and do not provide an inventive concept.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED H HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154