Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2025 and 05/19/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 12 in the reply filed on 08/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 17 - 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20180003445 A1 - Bergan.
Regarding claim 13, Bergan is directed towards an high temperature thermal energy storage. Bergan does teach at least one electric heating device for converting electrical energy into thermal energy ([0076] to add steam or other gas via an inlet at a lowest elevation of the storage, whereby the gas is added to the liquid either through a pipe or generated via electrical resistors inside the pipe, when charging thermal energy,), a plurality of heat storage cassettes, wherein each heat storage cassette comprises a cassette frame and a plurality of heat storage rods held in the cassette frame ([0088] FIG. 2 illustrates a cassette 19 preferable for a storage of the invention. The cassette comprises a frame 20 and 9 by 6 columns of concrete thermal energy storage elements 2), wherein each heat storage cassette comprises retainers for holding the heat storage rods in a predetermined position ([0087] The illustrated support system 11 comprises a honeycomb support structure 12 and a support steel frame 13), and wherein at least one end of each heat storage rod is left unfixed so as to allow a free thermal expansion of the heat storage rods in a longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods inside the cassette frame ([0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.), the heat store further comprising a plurality of heat storage modules, wherein each heat storage module comprises a module frame which is configured to hold a plurality of the heat storage cassettes (Figure 3, it can be seen in the figure that multiple heating units stacked on top of each other.), and at least one electric heating device without fixation ([0038] to arrange heat exchangers and optional electric heaters into said metal shells).
Regarding claim 17, Bergan does teach the limitations of claim 13. Bergan does teach wherein at least some of the heat storage modules are arranged next to one another with a gap that allows thermal expansion, so that heat transfer fluid flowing through them flows through them successively, and their module frames are not rigidly fixed to one another ([0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.).
Regarding claim 18, Bergan does teach the limitations of claim 13. Bergan does teach wherein the heat storage cassettes of one of the heat storage modules stand on a base plate of this heat storage module, wherein the base plate bears the weight of the heat storage cassettes, wherein the heat storage cassettes are prevented from tipping over by receiving grooves on sides of the heat storage module and edge sections of the heat storage cassettes which project into the receiving grooves (Figure 2, element 20 and [0028] to arrange the elements in stacks, with inlays, supports, shims or similar objects between the elements, at regular or irregular positions along the length of the elements, providing a distance between the elements, said inlays, supports, shims or similar objects between the elements comprising coupling parts providing a self-supporting cassette structure as stacked and coupled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180003445 A1 – Bergan in view of CN 105757982 A - Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Bergan does teach at least one electric heating device for converting electrical energy into thermal energy ([0076] to add steam or other gas via an inlet at a lowest elevation of the storage, whereby the gas is added to the liquid either through a pipe or generated via electrical resistors inside the pipe, when charging thermal energy,), a plurality of heat storage cassettes, wherein each heat storage cassette comprises a cassette frame and a plurality of heat storage rods held in the cassette frame ([0088] FIG. 2 illustrates a cassette 19 preferable for a storage of the invention. The cassette comprises a frame 20 and 9 by 6 columns of concrete thermal energy storage elements 2), wherein each heat storage cassette comprises retainers for holding the heat storage rods in a predetermined position ([0087] The illustrated support system 11 comprises a honeycomb support structure 12 and a support steel frame 13), and wherein at least one end of each heat storage rod is left unfixed so as to allow a free thermal expansion of the heat storage rods in a longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods inside the cassette frame ([0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.), and wherein a clearance delimited by one of the cassette frames in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods is greater than a length of the heat storage rods so as to allow the free thermal expansion of the heat storage rods in the longitudinal direction (Figures 1-2 and [0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.), whereas, in cases where the cassette frame does not comprise receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance extends between opposite parts of the cassette frame (Figure 1 and [0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.).
Bergan does not expressly teach wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes.
Zhang is directed towards a composite phase-change heat storage device. Zhang does teach a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction ([0047] 14 is the sealing strip; 15 is the inner tank upper cover; 16 is the outer shell upper cover), and in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes ([0047] The heat storage element fixing holes 52 form an array for fixing the heat storage element 1,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes by Zhang in the system of Bergan, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes of Zhang could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Bergan in a manner which would have predictably allow the rods to remain within the unit in a specific direction. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes of Zhang with the well-known system of Bergan.
Regarding claim 2, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 1. Bergan does teach wherein the clearance and the length of the heat storage rods are chosen so that a gap remains in the longitudinal direction that is greater than a thermal expansion length of the heat storage rods when the heat storage rods are heated over a design temperature range of the heat store (Figures 1-2 and [0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.).
Regarding claim 3, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 1. Bergan does not expressly teach wherein the retainers of one of the cassette frames comprise at least one guide rail and wherein each guide rail extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods and comprises a plurality of holes, wherein one of the heat storage rods extends through each hole.
Zhang does teach wherein the retainers of one of the cassette frames comprise at least one guide rail and wherein each guide rail extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods and comprises a plurality of holes, wherein one of the heat storage rods extends through each hole (Figure 2, it can be seen in the figure there is a guild rail halfway up the frame 54.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to retainers of one of the cassette frames comprise at least one guide rail and wherein each guide rail extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods and comprises a plurality of holes, wherein one of the heat storage rods extends through each hole by Zhang in the system of Bergan, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the retainers of one of the cassette frames comprise at least one guide rail and wherein each guide rail extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods and comprises a plurality of holes, wherein one of the heat storage rods extends through each hole of Zhang could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Bergan in a manner which would have predictably hold the thermal rods in place. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the retainers of one of the cassette frames comprise at least one guide rail and wherein each guide rail extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods and comprises a plurality of holes, wherein one of the heat storage rods extends through each hole of Zhang with the well-known system of Bergan.
Regarding claim 4, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 1. Bergan does teach each cassette frame has a base side and an opposite end side and wherein the cassette frame comprises, on the base side and/or on the end side (Figure 1 and [0086] The storage comprises a housing 5 into which said elements have been arranged, with a floor 6, also termed a foundation, a fundament or a base, sidewalls 7 and a roof 8. The floor includes concrete fill-ins 9, or similar, for supporting and positioning the lowest row of elements. The housing comprises thermal insulation 10, in the illustrated embodiment integrated in the housing floor, sidewalls and roof and not illustrated specifically. Alternatively, the insulation can be inside or outside the walls, floor and roof of the housing as distinct layers of insulation.), a frame part with receiving holes or receiving recesses for supporting the heat storage rods, wherein the frame part with receiving holes or receiving recesses forms part of the retainers ([0087] The illustrated support system 11 comprises a honeycomb support structure 12 and a support steel frame 13. The honeycomb support structure consists of honeycomb support layers 14, arranged layer by layer, “valley over hill”. The honeycomb layers provide a self-supporting structure, in addition to preferably being supported also by the support frame toward the sidewalls and the floor below.).
Regarding claim 5, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 1. Bergan does teach a plurality of heat storage modules, wherein each heat storage module comprises a module frame which is configured to hold a plurality of the heat storage cassettes (Figure 3, it can be seen in the figure that multiple heating units stacked on top of each other.), and at least one electric heating device without fixation ([0038] to arrange heat exchangers and optional electric heaters into said metal shells).
Regarding claim 6, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 5. Bergan does teach wherein the module frame respectively has a plurality of receiving grooves on two opposite sides for a respective projection of one of the heat storage cassettes, so that every heat storage cassette is held in two opposite receiving grooves (Figure 1, holding elements 11 and 12.).
Regarding claim 8, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 5. Bergan does teach at least some of the heat storage modules are arranged next to one another with a gap that allows thermal expansion, so that heat transfer fluid flowing through them flows through them successively, and their module frames are not rigidly fixed to one another (Figures 1-2 and [0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.).
Regarding claim 9, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 5. Bergan does teach wherein the heat storage cassettes of one of the heat storage modules stand on a base plate of this heat storage module, wherein the base plate bears the weight of the heat storage cassettes (Figure 2, element 20), the heat storage cassettes are prevented from tipping over by receiving grooves on sides of the heat storage module and edge sections of the heat storage cassettes which project into the receiving grooves ([0028] to arrange the elements in stacks, with inlays, supports, shims or similar objects between the elements, at regular or irregular positions along the length of the elements, providing a distance between the elements, said inlays, supports, shims or similar objects between the elements comprising coupling parts providing a self-supporting cassette structure as stacked and coupled).
Regarding claim 10, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 5. Bergan does teach wherein at least one of the heat storage modules is arranged horizontally so that the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods is oriented horizontally and wherein the retainers bear the weight of the heat storage rods and support each heat storage rod in at least two places, without a fixing of the heat storage rod, in order to ensure the free thermal expansion of the heat storage rods in the longitudinal direction (Figures 1-2 and [0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.).
Regarding claim 11, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 1. Bergan does teach wherein the heat storage rods stand on a cassette frame base so that they are free to expand thermally in a vertical direction ([0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.).
Bergan does not expressly teach wherein the heat storage cassettes are arranged upright so that the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods is oriented vertically and wherein the retainers form a protection against tilting for the heat storage rods.
Zhang does teach wherein the heat storage cassettes are arranged upright so that the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods is oriented vertically (Figure 1) and wherein the retainers form a protection against tilting for the heat storage rods (Figure 2 shows a rack that will hold the rods and not allow them to tilt).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to wherein the heat storage cassettes are arranged upright so that the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods is oriented vertically and wherein the retainers form a protection against tilting for the heat storage rods by Zhang in the system of Bergan, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the wherein the heat storage cassettes are arranged upright so that the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods is oriented vertically and wherein the retainers form a protection against tilting for the heat storage rods of Zhang could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Bergan in a manner which would have predictably place the heating rods in a vertical orientation while restricting the rods from tilting and damaging the rods. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the wherein the heat storage cassettes are arranged upright so that the longitudinal direction of the heat storage rods is oriented vertically and wherein the retainers form a protection against tilting for the heat storage rods of Zhang with the well-known system of Bergan.
Regarding claim 14, Bergan does teach the limitations of claim 13. Bergan does teach wherein a clearance delimited by one of the cassette frames in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods is greater than a length of the heat storage rods so as to allow the free thermal expansion of the heat storage rods in the longitudinal direction ([0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.) and in cases where the cassette frame does not comprise receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance extends between opposite parts of the cassette frame (Figure 1 and [0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.).
Bergan does not expressly teach wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes.
Zhang does teach wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction ([0047] 14 is the sealing strip; 15 is the inner tank upper cover; 16 is the outer shell upper cover) and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes ([0047] The heat storage element fixing holes 52 form an array for fixing the heat storage element 1,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes by Zhang in the system of Bergan, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes of Zhang could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Bergan in a manner which would have predictably allow the rods to remain within the unit in a specific direction. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the wherein, in a fully assembled state of the heat storage cassettes, each cassette frame is closed in the longitudinal direction of the held heat storage rods, so that it is not possible for the heat storage rods to exit the cassette frame in the longitudinal direction and wherein, in cases where the cassette frame has receiving holes for the heat storage rods, the clearance includes the space that extends into the receiving holes of Zhang with the well-known system of Bergan.
Regarding claim 15, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 14. Bergan does teach wherein the clearance and the length of the heat storage rods are chosen so that a gap remains in the longitudinal direction that is greater than a thermal expansion length of the heat storage rods when the heat storage rods are heated over a design temperature range of the heat store ([0063] The outer metal shell preferably is the only reinforcement for the concrete. The outer metal shell also increases the maximum acceptable temperature and temperature range for the storage, since durability is improved thereby, compared to concrete storage elements without outer metal shell. and [0087] The support system must be dimensioned to provide structural strength over the operating conditions and life of the storage, allowing thermal expansion of the elements at a sufficient degree to avoid cracking of the elements.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180003445 A1 – Bergan and CN 105757982 A - Zhang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20170030656 A1 - Lien.
Regarding claim 7, Bergan and Zhang does teach the limitations of claim 5. Bergan and Zhang does not expressly teach in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device.
Lien is directed towards an thermal energy storage facility. Lien does teach in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device ([0045] Further referring to FIG. 4, the opening of each of the grooves 52 of the heat storage board 50 is hermetically sealed with the other heat storage/heat exchange unit 40 which is stacked alternately by a diffusion bonding process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device by Lien in the system of Bergan and Zhang, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device of Lien could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Bergan and Zhang in a manner which would have predictably hold an element such as a heater to the casing of a heat storge device. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device of Lien with the well-known system of Bergan and Zhang.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180003445 A1 – Bergan as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 20170030656 A1 - Lien.
Regarding claim 16, Bergan does teach the limitations of claim 13. Bergan does not expressly teach in order to hold the electric heating device; the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device.
Lien is directed towards an thermal energy storage facility. Lien does teach in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device ([0045] Further referring to FIG. 4, the opening of each of the grooves 52 of the heat storage board 50 is hermetically sealed with the other heat storage/heat exchange unit 40 which is stacked alternately by a diffusion bonding process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device by Lien in the system of Bergan, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device of Lien could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Bergan in a manner which would have predictably hold an element such as a heater to the casing of a heat storge device. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the in order to hold the electric heating device, the module frame comprises on two opposite sides at least one respective heating-device receiving groove for a respective edge section of the electric heating device of Lien with the well-known system of Bergan.
Conclusion
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761