DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: different font types throughout specification (e.g., pg. 7). The office respectfully request applicant’s to respectfully choose one font type.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: lines 1-2, “configured to acquire”, should be “configured to: acquire”.
Claims 4 & 6-18 objected to because of the following informalities: claims include different font types, and the office respectfully request applicant’s to respectfully choose one font type.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 4 & 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kurokawa (U.S. 2014/0043232 A1).
With respect to claim 1 - Kurokawa discloses: an apparatus comprising circuitry (Kurokawa, figs. 1-2, apparatus 100, disclosed in ¶ [0039]- ¶ [0045] & ¶ [0054]- ¶ [0055]; please note, the office respectfully construes cited multiple computing hardware to respectfully include interconnecting circuitry) configured to acquire information related to a shape of a pointing object from a sensor that acquires the information, and recognize a gesture operation based on the acquired information (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, sensor = camera 2, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0053], ¶ [0079], ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088], & abstract), the gesture operation corresponding to a motion of the pointing object and being recognizable in one of at least three layers in which a plurality of gesture operations are classified (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0053], ¶ [0079], & ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088]; please note, {movement= motion} & {three layers = short-distance, middle-distance, & long-distance}), wherein when the circuitry recognizes a first gesture operation in a top layer of the at least three layers, the circuitry becomes ready to recognize a gesture operation classified in a second layer of the at least three layers, and when the circuitry recognizes a second gesture operation in the second layer, the circuitry becomes ready to recognize a gesture operation classified in a third layer of the at least three layers (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0053], ¶ [0079], & ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088]; please note, three layers = long-distance {moving cursor gesture, ¶ [0051]}, middle-distance {menu number designating gesture, ¶ [0052]}, & short-distance/ top layer {scrolling gesture, ¶ [0053]}).
With respect to claim 2 - Kurokawa discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the circuitry recognizes, in the second layer, a gesture operation for ending the recognition of the gesture operation classified in the second layer, the circuitry becomes ready to recognize a gesture operation classified in the top layer, and wherein when the circuitry recognizes, in the third layer, a gesture operation for ending the recognition of the gesture operation classified in the third layer, the circuitry becomes ready to recognize the gesture operation classified in the second layer (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0053], ¶ [0079], & ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088]; please note, three layers = long-distance {moving cursor gesture, ¶ [0051]}, middle-distance {menu number designating gesture, ¶ [0052]}, & short-distance/ top layer {scrolling gesture, ¶ [0053]}).
With respect to claim 3 - Kurokawa discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry causes transition from a current layer to an upper layer or a lower layer in the at least three layers (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0053], ¶ [0079], & ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088]; please note, three layers = long-distance {moving cursor gesture, ¶ [0051]}, middle-distance {menu number designating gesture, ¶ [0052]}, & short-distance/ top layer {scrolling gesture, ¶ [0053]}).
With respect to claim 4 - Kurokawa discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the circuitry recognizes the pointing object in an initial state, the circuitry identifies the top layer and becomes ready to recognize a gesture operation classified in the top layer (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0053], ¶ [0079], & ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088]; please note, three layers = long-distance {moving cursor gesture, ¶ [0051]}, middle-distance {menu number designating gesture, ¶ [0052]}, & short-distance/ top layer {scrolling gesture, ¶ [0053]}).
With respect to claim 18 - Kurokawa discloses: a display system (Kurokawa, figs. 1-2 illustrates a display system 100, disclosed in ¶ [0039]- ¶ [0045], ¶ [0054]- ¶ [0055], & abstract) comprising: an apparatus to recognize a gesture operation corresponding to a motion of a pointing object and receive an operation according to the gesture operation; and an information processing system to communicate with the apparatus via a network, the apparatus including first circuitry configured to acquire information related to a shape of the pointing object from a sensor that acquires the information (Kurokawa, figs. 1-7 illustrate apparatus = 51+ 52+ 53+ 54, information processing system = processor {not illustrated, described in ¶ [0054]}, sensor = camera 2, & corresponding illustrated networking circuitry; disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0066], ¶ [0079], ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088], & abstract; please note, {movement= motion} & {three layers = short-distance, middle-distance, & long-distance}), and a first network interface circuit to transmit the information to the information processing system, and the information processing system including second circuitry configured to analyze the information received from the apparatus and recognize the gesture operation based on the information acquired by the sensor, the gesture operation being recognizable in one of at least three layers in which a plurality of gesture operations are classified, and a second network interface circuit to report to the apparatus a layer of the at least three layers corresponding to the recognized gesture operation (Kurokawa, figs. 1-7 illustrate apparatus = 51+ 52+ 53+ 54, information processing system = processor {not illustrated, described in ¶ [0054]}, sensor = camera 2, & corresponding illustrated networking circuitry; disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0066], ¶ [0079], ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088], & abstract; please note, three layers = long-distance {moving cursor gesture, ¶ [0051]}, middle-distance {menu number designating gesture, ¶ [0052]}, & short-distance/ top layer {scrolling gesture, ¶ [0053]}; the office respectfully construes that the connected processor within the controller 5 to respectfully include circuitry thereto {i.e., first network interface circuit} & therefrom {i.e., second circuitry}, in order for proper operation and functionality thereof), wherein when the second circuitry of the information processing system recognizes a first gesture operation in a top layer of the at least three layers, the second circuitry of the information processing system becomes ready to recognize a gesture operation classified in a second layer of the at least three layers, when the second circuitry of the information processing system recognizes a second gesture operation in the second layer, the second circuitry of the information processing system becomes ready to recognize a gesture operation classified in a third layer of the at least three layers, and the first circuity of the apparatus executes a process in the layer reported from the information processing system (Kurokawa, figs. 1-7 illustrate networking circuitry; disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0066], ¶ [0079], ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088], & abstract; please note, three layers = long-distance {moving cursor gesture, ¶ [0051]}, middle-distance {menu number designating gesture, ¶ [0052]}, & short-distance/ top layer {scrolling gesture, ¶ [0053]}; the office respectfully construes that the connected processor within the controller 5 to respectfully include circuitry thereto {i.e., first network interface circuit} & therefrom {i.e., second circuitry}, in order for proper operation and functionality thereof).
With respect to claim 19 - Kurokawa discloses: a gesture recognition method (Kurokawa, figs. 1-2, apparatus 100, disclosed in ¶ [0039]- ¶ [0045], ¶ [0054]- ¶ [0055], & abstract) comprising: acquiring information related to a shape of a pointing object from a sensor; and recognizing a gesture operation based on the acquired information (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, sensor = camera 2, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0053], ¶ [0079], ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088], & abstract), the gesture operation corresponding to a motion of the pointing object and being recognizable in one of at least three layers in which a plurality of gesture operations are classified (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0053], ¶ [0079], & ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088]; please note, {movement= motion} & {three layers = short-distance, middle-distance, & long-distance}), wherein, when the recognizing recognizes a first gesture operation in a top layer of the at least three layers, the method further comprises: becoming ready to recognize a gesture operation classified in a second layer of the at least three layers, and wherein, when the recognizing recognizes a second gesture operation in the second layer, the method further comprises: becoming ready to recognize a gesture operation classified in a third layer of the at least three layers (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0055], ¶ [0079], & ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088]; please note, three layers = long-distance {moving cursor gesture, ¶ [0051]}, middle-distance {menu number designating gesture, ¶ [0052]}, & short-distance/ top layer {scrolling gesture, ¶ [0053]}).
With respect to claim 20 - Kurokawa discloses: a non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the method according to claim 19 (Kurokawa, figs. 1-5D, disclosed in ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0055], ¶ [0079], & ¶ [0087]- ¶ [0088]; please note, three layers = long-distance {moving cursor gesture, ¶ [0051]}, middle-distance {menu number designating gesture, ¶ [0052]}, & short-distance/ top layer {scrolling gesture, ¶ [0053]}; please note, non-transitory recording medium = RAM - with respect to ¶ [0045] & ¶ [0054]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-17 are objected above in Claim Objections without any withstanding Claim Rejections.
Conclusion
Duane N. Taylor Jr.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2626
/DUANE N TAYLOR JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626