DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 107-120 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 2/11/26.
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 107-119 without traverse in the reply filed on 2/11/26 has been acknowledged.
Accordingly, claim 120 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 107-119 are under consideration in the instant application.
The instant application comprises one independent claim and the claimed invention relates a composition comprising a plurality of Risankizumab species with N-glycosylation and less than 5.4 % of Risankizumab has a high mannose N-glycan.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 7/22/25 and 2/6/26 have been acknowledged.
4. The oath filed on 4/25/25 has been acknowledged.
7. Claims 107-119 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2013/165791 (IDS reference) in view of Higel et al (European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceuticals, vol. 100, p. 94-100, 2016).
The ‘791 publication teaches IL-23p19 formulation including Risankizumab (p. 12, 40, 85) in CHO cells. As evidenced in p. 98 and 160, the antibody is produced in CHO and modification includes glycosylation. Further, the ‘791 publication teaches N-glycosylation and the necessary post-translational modification improves processing as well as modification to improve stability and accessibility (p. 94-96).
IN addition, the ‘791 publication teaches subcutaneous administrations of antibody at 150mg (p.20) and various additional administrations for completion of treatment (p. 21). The subsequent administration can be later than 2weeks (example 7) and readable upon limitation of claim 108 between 15days and 85 days.
The disclosure of the ‘791 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of less than 5.4% of N-glycosylation have high mannose N-glycan as in claim 107-119 of the instant application.
Higel at al teach the use of N-glycosylation in modification of monoclonal antibody. The reference teaches N-glycosylation influences monoclonal antibody effector function (p. 94) and the conventional high mannose in N-glycosylation is M5, M6 and M7 and the presence of such mannose improve clearance (p. 96). In addition, Fig 3 of the reference teaches mean percentage of glycan level is under 1% and meets the limitation of claim 107, 112 and 116 of the instant application. The glycation level contributes to ADCC and effector function and the individual glycan analysis and approaches influences PK level (p.98).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize glycation level or percentage taught by Higel publications into the IL-23p19 antibody formulation taught by the ‘791 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of glycosylation level influences ADCC and effector function and glycan attributes to PK level of the administration of antibody. Glycosylation may attribute effector and clearance of drug and is controllable by the glycosylation profile.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
8. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
February 17, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641