DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 04/29/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim 2 contains subject matter “sending, by the first wireless device to the base station via the indirect path, a second message indicating a release of the direct path” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 3-7 depend on claim 2, thus they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 7-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng CHENG et al. (US 2025/0048483 A1), hereinafter CHENG, in view of Xiaodan PAN et al. (US 2025/0184773 A1), hereinafter PAN.
For claim 1, CHENG teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by a first wireless device to a base station, uplink data via a direct path between the first wireless device and the base station (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 520 and paragraph 77.);
transmitting, by the first wireless device to the base station, an information message comprising an identifier of a second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 525 and paragraph 78.);
receiving, from the base station, a second radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 535 and paragraphs 77-82.);
establishing, by the first wireless device, a PC5 link with the second wireless device for the indirect path of the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device, wherein the PC5 link is established after a first RRC reconfiguration message is provided to the second wireless device to configure the indirect path (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 540 and paragraphs 77-82.);
after the establishing, transmitting, by the first wireless device to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 545 and paragraphs 77-82.); and
performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 550 and paragraphs 77-82.).
CHENG does not explicitly teach adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device.
However, PAN explicitly teaches adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 and paragraphs 210-248.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in CHENG with adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device taught in PAN so that the relay terminal device can provide a relay service for the remote terminal device, thereby ensuring that a plurality of paths between the remote terminal device and the access network device are successfully configured for the remote terminal device. This can improve reliability of communication between the remote terminal device and the access network device, and improve quality of service and user experience.
For claim 8, CHENG teaches a first wireless device comprising one or more processors and memory (CHENG, Fig. 2 items 120, 280, 282) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device to:
transmit, to a base station, uplink data via a direct path between the first wireless device and the base station (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 520 and paragraph 77.);
transmit, to the base station, an information message comprising an identifier of a second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 525 and paragraph 78.);
receive, from the base station, a second radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 535 and paragraphs 77-82.);
establish a PC5 link with the second wireless device for the indirect path of the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device, wherein the PC5 link is established after a first RRC reconfiguration message is provided to the second wireless device to configure the indirect path (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 540 and paragraphs 77-82.);
after the establishing, transmit, to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 545 and paragraphs 77-82.); and
perform data transmission to the base station via the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 550 and paragraphs 77-82.).
CHENG does not explicitly teach adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device.
However, PAN explicitly teaches adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 and paragraphs 210-248.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in CHENG with adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device taught in PAN so that the relay terminal device can provide a relay service for the remote terminal device, thereby ensuring that a plurality of paths between the remote terminal device and the access network device are successfully configured for the remote terminal device. This can improve reliability of communication between the remote terminal device and the access network device, and improve quality of service and user experience.
For claim 15, CHENG teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (CHENG, Fig. 2 item 282) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first wireless device, cause the first wireless device to:
transmit, to a base station, uplink data via a direct path between the first wireless device and the base station (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 520 and paragraph 77.);
transmit, to the base station, an information message comprising an identifier of a second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 525 and paragraph 78.);
receive, from the base station, a second radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 535 and paragraphs 77-82.);
establish a PC5 link with the second wireless device for the indirect path of the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device, wherein the PC5 link is established after a first RRC reconfiguration message is provided to the second wireless device to configure the indirect path (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 540 and paragraphs 77-82.);
after the establishing, transmit, to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 545 and paragraphs 77-82.); and
perform data transmission to the base station via the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 550 and paragraphs 77-82.).
CHENG does not explicitly teach adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device.
However, PAN explicitly teaches adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 and paragraphs 210-248.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in CHENG with adding the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device taught in PAN so that the relay terminal device can provide a relay service for the remote terminal device, thereby ensuring that a plurality of paths between the remote terminal device and the access network device are successfully configured for the remote terminal device. This can improve reliability of communication between the remote terminal device and the access network device, and improve quality of service and user experience.
11. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9-10, 12-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng CHENG et al. (US 2025/0048483 A1), hereinafter CHENG, in view of Xiaodan PAN et al. (US 2025/0184773 A1), hereinafter PAN, and Chuting Yao et al. (US 2025/0048229 A1), hereinafter Yao.
For claim 2, CHENG and PAN teach the method of claim 1, comprising: sending, by the first wireless device to the base station via the indirect path, a second message (CHENG, Fig. 5 step 545 and paragraphs 77-82.). CHENG and PAN do not explicitly teach sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path.
However, Yao explicitly teaches sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in CHENG and PAN further teach with sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path taught in Yao to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary].
For claim 3, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 2, wherein the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path (CHENG, paragraph 67 teaches the UE may measure a RSSI parameter, RSRP parameter or RSRQ parameter associated with various sidelink channels and select a channel for transmission of a sidelink communication based at least in part on the measurement(s). PAN, Figs 14, 15I. and paragraph 122 teach when a signal of the direct path deteriorates, for example, is lower than a threshold, the access network device may indicate the remote UE to switch from the direct path to the indirect path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in CHEN with Yao to have the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary]).
For claim 5, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 3, wherein the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Radio Link Failure (RLF) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device (PAN, Fig. 8(b) and paragraph 189 teach when determining that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station, the remote UE sends second failure indication information to the base station via the relay UE, where the second failure indication information indicates that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station. The link failure may be a Uu RLF, and the connection failure may be a non-3GPP connection failure or the like.).
For claim 6, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 2, further comprising the first wireless device further communicating with the base station via the indirect path after sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, the second message indicating the release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 9, CHENG and PAN teach all the limitations of parent claim 8. CHENG and PAN do not explicitly teach sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path.
However, Yao explicitly teaches sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path taught in Yao to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary].
For claim 10, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 9, wherein the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path (CHENG, paragraph 67 teaches the UE may measure a RSSI parameter, RSRP parameter or RSRQ parameter associated with various sidelink channels and select a channel for transmission of a sidelink communication based at least in part on the measurement(s). PAN, Figs 14, 15I. and paragraph 122 teach when a signal of the direct path deteriorates, for example, is lower than a threshold, the access network device may indicate the remote UE to switch from the direct path to the indirect path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with Yao to have the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary]).
For claim 12, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the first wireless device of claim 10, wherein the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Radio Link Failure (RLF) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device (PAN, Fig. 8(b) and paragraph 189 teach when determining that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station, the remote UE sends second failure indication information to the base station via the relay UE, where the second failure indication information indicates that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station. The link failure may be a Uu RLF, and the connection failure may be a non-3GPP connection failure or the like.).
For claim 13, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the first wireless device of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the first wireless device to communicate with the base station via the indirect path after sending, to the base station, the second message indicating the release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 14, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the first wireless device of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device to send the second message to the base station via the indirect path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 16, CHENG and PAN teach all the limitations of parent claim 15. CHENG and PAN do not explicitly teach sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path.
However, Yao explicitly teaches sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path taught in Yao to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary].
For claim 17, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the first wireless device to determine a channel condition of the direct path, wherein the release of the direct path is based on the determination of the channel condition of the direct path (CHENG, paragraph 67 teaches the UE may measure a RSSI parameter, RSRP parameter or RSRQ parameter associated with various sidelink channels and select a channel for transmission of a sidelink communication based at least in part on the measurement(s). PAN, Figs 14, 15I. and paragraph 122 teach when a signal of the direct path deteriorates, for example, is lower than a threshold, the access network device may indicate the remote UE to switch from the direct path to the indirect path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with Yao to have the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary]).
For claim 18, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the channel condition is determined based on Radio Link Failure (RLF) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device (PAN, Fig. 8(b) and paragraph 189 teach when determining that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station, the remote UE sends second failure indication information to the base station via the relay UE, where the second failure indication information indicates that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station. The link failure may be a Uu RLF, and the connection failure may be a non-3GPP connection failure or the like.).
For claim 19, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the first wireless device to communicate with the base station via the indirect path after sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, the second message indicating the release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 20, CHENG, PAN and Yao further teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the first wireless device sends the second message to the base station via the indirect path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
12. Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng CHENG et al. (US 2025/0048483 A1), hereinafter CHENG, in view of Xiaodan PAN et al. (US 2025/0184773 A1), hereinafter PAN, and Chuting Yao et al. (US 2025/0048229 A1), hereinafter Yao, and SANGEETHA BANGOLAE et al. (US 2018/0098370 A1), hereinafter BANGOLAE.
For claim 4, CHENG, PAN and Yao teach all the limitations of parent claim 3. PAN further teaches RSRP (PAN, paragraph 215). CHENG, PAN and Yao do not explicitly teach the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold.
However, BANGOLAE explicitly teaches the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold (BANGOLAE, Fig. 13 and paragraph 100 teach the remote UE can compare its own measurements (e.g., RSRP or RSRQ measurements) to the measurement threshold, and based on the comparison, the remote UE can perform the relay discovery procedure and further relay communication. See also paragraph 97.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in CHENG, PAN and Yao with the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold taught in BANGOLAE thereby releasing the remote UE's direct connection [BANGOLAE: paragraph 116].
For claim 11, CHENG, PAN and Yao all the limitations of parent claim 10. PAN further teaches RSRP (PAN, paragraph 215). PAN and Yao do not explicitly teach the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold.
However, BANGOLAE explicitly teaches the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold (BANGOLAE, Fig. 13 and paragraph 100 teach the remote UE can compare its own measurements (e.g., RSRP or RSRQ measurements) to the measurement threshold, and based on the comparison, the remote UE can perform the relay discovery procedure and further relay communication. See also paragraph 97.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN and Yao with the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold taught in BANGOLAE thereby releasing the remote UE's direct connection [BANGOLAE: paragraph 116].
13. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng CHENG et al. (US 2025/0048483 A1), hereinafter CHENG, in view of Xiaodan PAN et al. (US 2025/0184773 A1), hereinafter PAN, and Chuting Yao et al. (US 2025/0048229 A1), hereinafter Yao, and Youngdae LEE et al. (US 2026/0046742 A1), hereinafter LEE.
For claim 7, CHENG, PAN and Yao teach all the limitations of parent claim 1. CHENG and PAN do not explicitly teach the first RRC reconfiguration message comprises a layer two (L2) identifier of the first wireless device and a local identifier of the first wireless device.
However, LEE explicitly teaches the first RRC reconfiguration message comprises a layer two (L2) identifier of the first wireless device and a local identifier of the first wireless device (LEE, Fig. 15 and paragraph 350 teach the gNB sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the target U2N Relay UE, which can include at least Remote UE's local ID and L2 ID.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in CHENG and PAN with the first RRC reconfiguration message comprises a layer two (L2) identifier of the first wireless device and a local identifier of the first wireless device taught in LEE. Because all references directed to the same technical field of establishing communication via direct path and indirect path via relay by using RRC messages, LEE explicitly teaches the RRC reconfiguration message comprises a layer two (L2) identifier of the first wireless device and a local identifier of the first wireless device.
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
15. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412