DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to 12/31/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaodan PAN et al. (US 2025/0184773 A1) hereinafter PAN.
For claim 1, PAN teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by a first wireless device to a base station, an uplink data via a direct path between the first wireless device and the base station (PAN, Fig. 7 first step teach uplink data pass through a direct link from a remote UE to a base station.);
transmitting, by the first wireless device to the base station, an information message comprising an identifier of a second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 step 702b and paragraphs 214-216 teach transmitting, by the remote to the base station, measurement result comprising an identifier of a relay UE.);
receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while passing uplink data and downlink data through the direct link (Pan, Fig. 7 steps 703-704 and paragraphs 217, 219 teach while passing uplink and downlink data through the direct link, the base station sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the remote UE after the base station determines, based on the measurement result, to configure a plurality of paths for the remote UE, and selects, for the remote UE, a relay UE configured to set up an indirect link. Pan, Fig. 7 further teaches an indirect link is added to the system after the remote UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message in addition to the uplink data and downlink data passing through the direct link.);
establishing, by the first wireless device, a PC5 link with the second wireless device for the indirect path of the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 step 705 and paragraphs 221-248 teach establishing, by the remote UE, a PC5 link with the relay UE for the indirect path of the remote UE and the base station via the relay UE. See also Fig. 3.);
after the establishing, transmitting, by the first wireless device to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path (PAN, Fig. 7 step 706b-708b and paragraphs231-240 teach after the establishing, transmitting, by the remote UE to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path.); and
performing, by the first wireless device, data transmission to the base station via:
the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and
the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 last step teach performing, by the remote UE, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the remote UE and the base station; and the indirect path between the remote UE and the base station via the relay UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while passing uplink data and downlink data through the direct link to have receive, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device and while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station to ensure that a plurality of paths between a terminal device and an access network device are successfully configured for the terminal device. This can improve reliability of communication between the remote terminal device and the access network device, and improve quality of service and user experience. [Pan: summary].
For claim 8, PAN teaches a first wireless device comprising one or more processors and memory (PAN, Fig. 12) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device to:
transmit, to a base station, an uplink data via a direct path between the first wireless device and the base station (PAN, Fig. 7 first step teach uplink data pass through a direct link from a remote UE to a base station.);
transmit, to the base station, an information message comprising an identifier of a second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 step 702b and paragraphs 214-216 teach transmitting, by the remote to the base station, measurement result comprising an identifier of a relay UE.);
receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while passing uplink data and downlink data through the direct link (Pan, Fig. 7 steps 703-704 and paragraphs 217, 219 teach while passing uplink and downlink data through the direct link, the base station sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the remote UE after the base station determines, based on the measurement result, to configure a plurality of paths for the remote UE, and selects, for the remote UE, a relay UE configured to set up an indirect link. Pan, Fig. 7 further teaches an indirect link is added to the system after the remote UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message in addition to the uplink data and downlink data passing through the direct link.);
establish a PC5 link with the second wireless device for the indirect path of the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 step 705 and paragraphs 221-248 teach establishing, by the remote UE, a PC5 link with the relay UE for the indirect path of the remote UE and the base station via the relay UE. See also Fig. 3.);
after the establishing, transmit, to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path (PAN, Fig. 7 step 706b-708b and paragraphs231-240 teach after the establishing, transmitting, by the remote UE to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path.); and
perform data transmission to the base station via:
the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and
the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 last step teach performing, by the remote UE, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the remote UE and the base station; and the indirect path between the remote UE and the base station via the relay UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while passing uplink data and downlink data through the direct link to have receive, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device and while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station to ensure that a plurality of paths between a terminal device and an access network device are successfully configured for the terminal device. This can improve reliability of communication between the remote terminal device and the access network device, and improve quality of service and user experience. [Pan: summary].
For claim 15, PAN teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first wireless device, cause the first wireless device (PAN, Fig. 12) to:
transmit, to a base station, an uplink data via a direct path between the first wireless device and the base station (PAN, Fig. 7 first step teach uplink data pass through a direct link from a remote UE to a base station.);
transmit, to the base station, an information message comprising an identifier of a second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 step 702b and paragraphs 214-216 teach transmitting, by the remote to the base station, measurement result comprising an identifier of a relay UE.);
receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while passing uplink data and downlink data through the direct link (Pan, Fig. 7 steps 703-704 and paragraphs 217, 219 teach while passing uplink and downlink data through the direct link, the base station sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the remote UE after the base station determines, based on the measurement result, to configure a plurality of paths for the remote UE, and selects, for the remote UE, a relay UE configured to set up an indirect link. Pan, Fig. 7 further teaches an indirect link is added to the system after the remote UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message in addition to the uplink data and downlink data passing through the direct link.);
establish a PC5 link with the second wireless device for the indirect path of the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 step 705 and paragraphs 221-248 teach establishing, by the remote UE, a PC5 link with the relay UE for the indirect path of the remote UE and the base station via the relay UE. See also Fig. 3.);
after the establishing, transmit, to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path (PAN, Fig. 7 step 706b-708b and paragraphs231-240 teach after the establishing, transmitting, by the remote UE to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message via the indirect path.); and
perform data transmission to the base station via:
the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station; and
the indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device (PAN, Fig. 7 last step teach performing, by the remote UE, data transmission to the base station via: the direct path between the remote UE and the base station; and the indirect path between the remote UE and the base station via the relay UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device while passing uplink data and downlink data through the direct link to have receive, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message indicating to add an indirect path between the first wireless device and the base station via the second wireless device and while keeping the direct path between the first wireless device and the base station to ensure that a plurality of paths between a terminal device and an access network device are successfully configured for the terminal device. This can improve reliability of communication between the remote terminal device and the access network device, and improve quality of service and user experience. [PAN: summary].
9. Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaodan PAN et al. (US 2025/0184773) hereinafter PAN, in view of Chuting Yao et al. (US 2025/0048229 A1), hereinafter Yao.
For claim 2, PAN teaches all the limitations of parent claim 1. PAN does not explicitly teach sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path.
However, Yao explicitly teaches sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path taught in Yao to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary].
For claim 3, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 2, wherein the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path (PAN, Figs 14, 15I. and paragraph 122 teach when a signal of the direct path deteriorates, for example, is lower than a threshold, the access network device may indicate the remote UE to switch from the direct path to the indirect path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with Yao to have the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary]).
For claim 5, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 3, wherein the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Radio Link Failure (RLF) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device (PAN, Fig. 8(b) and paragraph 189 teach when determining that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station, the remote UE sends second failure indication information to the base station via the relay UE, where the second failure indication information indicates that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station. The link failure may be a Uu RLF, and the connection failure may be a non-3GPP connection failure or the like.).
For claim 6, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 2, further comprising the first wireless device further communicating with the base station via the indirect path after sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, the second message indicating the release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 7, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 2, wherein the first wireless device sends the second message to the base station via the indirect path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 9, PAN teaches all the limitations of parent claim 8. PAN does not explicitly teach sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path.
However, Yao explicitly teaches sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path taught in Yao to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary].
For claim 10, PAN and Yao further teach the method of claim 9, wherein the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path (PAN, Figs 14, 15I. and paragraph 122 teach when a signal of the direct path deteriorates, for example, is lower than a threshold, the access network device may indicate the remote UE to switch from the direct path to the indirect path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with Yao to have the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary]).
For claim 12, PAN and Yao further teach the first wireless device of claim 10, wherein the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Radio Link Failure (RLF) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device (PAN, Fig. 8(b) and paragraph 189 teach when determining that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station, the remote UE sends second failure indication information to the base station via the relay UE, where the second failure indication information indicates that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station. The link failure may be a Uu RLF, and the connection failure may be a non-3GPP connection failure or the like.).
For claim 13, PAN and Yao further teach the first wireless device of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the first wireless device to communicate with the base station via the indirect path after sending, to the base station, the second message indicating the release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 14, PAN and Yao further teach the first wireless device of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device to send the second message to the base station via the indirect path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 16, PAN teaches all the limitations of parent claim 15. PAN does not explicitly teach sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path.
However, Yao explicitly teaches sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a second message indicating a release of the direct path taught in Yao to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary].
For claim 17, PAN and Yao further teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the first wireless device to determine a channel condition of the direct path, wherein the release of the direct path is based on the determination of the channel condition of the direct path (PAN, Figs 14, 15I. and paragraph 122 teach when a signal of the direct path deteriorates, for example, is lower than a threshold, the access network device may indicate the remote UE to switch from the direct path to the indirect path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN with Yao to have the release of the direct path is based on a determination, by the first wireless device of a channel condition of the direct path to improve resource utilization [Yao: summary]).
For claim 18, PAN and Yao further teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the channel condition is determined based on Radio Link Failure (RLF) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device (PAN, Fig. 8(b) and paragraph 189 teach when determining that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station, the remote UE sends second failure indication information to the base station via the relay UE, where the second failure indication information indicates that a link failure or a connection failure occurs between the remote UE and the base station. The link failure may be a Uu RLF, and the connection failure may be a non-3GPP connection failure or the like.).
For claim 19, PAN and Yao further teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the first wireless device to communicate with the base station via the indirect path after sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, the second message indicating the release of the direct path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
For claim 20, PAN and Yao further teach the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the first wireless device sends the second message to the base station via the indirect path (Yao, Figs. 14, 15I, and paragraphs 248-252 teach sending, by the remote UE to the access network device, an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating a release of the direct path.).
10. Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaodan PAN et al. (US 2025/0184773) hereinafter PAN, in view of Chuting Yao et al. (US 2025/0048229 A1), hereinafter Yao and SANGEETHA BANGOLAE et al. (US 2018/0098370 A1), hereinafter BANGOLAE.
For claim 4, PAN and Yao teach all the limitations of parent claim 3. PAN further teaches RSRP (PAN, paragraph 215). PAN and Yao do not explicitly teach the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold.
However, BANGOLAE explicitly teaches the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold (BANGOLAE, Fig. 13 and paragraph 100 teach the remote UE can compare its own measurements (e.g., RSRP or RSRQ measurements) to the measurement threshold, and based on the comparison, the remote UE can perform the relay discovery procedure and further relay communication. See also paragraph 97.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN and Yao with the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold taught in BANGOLAE thereby releasing the remote UE's direct connection [BANGOLAE: paragraph 116].
For claim 11, PAN and Yao teach all the limitations of parent claim 10. PAN further teaches RSRP (PAN, paragraph 215). PAN and Yao do not explicitly teach the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold.
However, BANGOLAE explicitly teaches the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold (BANGOLAE, Fig. 13 and paragraph 100 teach the remote UE can compare its own measurements (e.g., RSRP or RSRQ measurements) to the measurement threshold, and based on the comparison, the remote UE can perform the relay discovery procedure and further relay communication. See also paragraph 97.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in PAN and Yao with the channel condition is determined, by the first wireless device, based on Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of Uu interface between the base station and the first wireless device being below a configured threshold taught in BANGOLAE thereby releasing the remote UE's direct connection [BANGOLAE: paragraph 116].
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412