DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Numbers (17/314,725, 18/502,074, 18/316,655, 18/651,588), fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
In regard to Claim 1 – Over-center mechanism is mentioned or described in Zero places in the relevant specifications.
In regards to Claim 3-12 – Over-center mechanism components required for the function of the claimed over-center mechanism are described in Zero places in the relevant specifications.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12059758 in view of Shimajiri (US 6655563 – hereafter referred to as Shimajiri).
US Patent 12089758 teaches all the limitations of the parent claim including:
A MAIN MEMBER, A TOP AND BOTTOM MEMBER, THAT PIVOTALLY MOVE BETWEEN THE OPEN AND CLOSED POSITION, AND A RACK AND PINION SYSTEM SHOWN IN Figure 8 (parts 122, 124 and 128 that are disposed in a central track on the main member.)
US Patent 12089758 does not teach an over center mechanism.
Shimajiri – in a similar disclosure within the foldable cupholder technical area – does teach the missing over center concept, including: an over center mechanism (Urge Open – Column 6, Line 53 to Column 7, Line 5 and Urge Close – Column 7, Lines 22-41 and Drawings 1-8d where the structures are taught that enable the mechanism.) (Motivation: to improve the operational characteristics of the cupholder assembly – Column 3, Lines 4-12.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the opening and closing mechanism of 12089758 (Rack and Pinion Mechanism), providing the over-centering structure taught by Shimajiri, motivated by the benefit of improving the operational characteristics of the cupholder assembly – Column 3, Lines 4-12. Moreover, the combination of Prior Art Elements according to known methods to yield predicable results is rationale A of the rationales that supports a conclusion of obviousness issued by the Supreme Court in KSR v. Teleflex. See MPEP 2141(III).
In regards to Claim 2, 12089758 already teaches a channel on the main member that is clearly taught by 12089758 -Figure 8.
Claim Objections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding Claim 9, the metes and bounds of the claim limitation “stadium shaped” with respect to planar dowels cannot be determined by the examiner because it is unclear what is meant by the limitation “stadium shaped.” Since this configuration seems to be a key component to the over-centering mechanism, the shape-as described – is not further limiting, and that shape that describes the interaction of both components (see Paragraph 0026 and parts 150 and 152 with critical structural characteristic (flex modulus that results in a flexible structure without permeant deformation) interact with the mounting shape 136, 138 and 139 that have a specific structural characteristic (stiffer or more rigid). The Examiner is open to further defining the characteristics within the scope of the disclosure in order to fully disclose the structure and method of operation with respect to the potentially unique capabilities developed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimajiri (US 6655563 – hereafter referred to as Shimajiri) in further view of Tong (US 9241554 – hereafter referred to as Tong). The Examiner’s Annotated Diagram A for Shimajiri follows:
Examiner's Annotated Diagram A
In regard to Claim 1, Shimajiri teaches: a cupholder assembly (Shimajiri – Cupholder Assembly – 50), comprising:
a main member (Base Member – 2) having opposed first (Diagram A, Item A) and second end Diagram B, Item B) portions (See Annotated Diagram A, Figure 5 – where base member has 2 ends.).
a bottom member (Receiving Portion – 35 and Column 5, Line 40-55) pivotably attached to the first end portion (A) of the main member (2), the bottom member (35) having a container receiver (Diagram A, Item C) to receive a beverage container (Figure 1 shows a container in the container receiver that is formed by the opened assembly – 50);
a top member (Holding Member – 4) pivotably attached to the second end portion (Annotated Diagram A, Item B) of the main member (2), the top member (4) having an opening (Inner Side – 43) to receive the beverage container (See Figure 1 of Diagram A), wherein the bottom (35) and top members (4) are pivotable between an open position (Figure 1) in which the bottom (35) and top members (4) are generally perpendicular to the main member (See Figure 1 where this limitation is met) allowing the bottom (35) and top members (4) to receive the beverage container (In Figure 1), and a closed position (Figure 2) in which the bottom (35) and top members (4) are generally parallel to the main member (4) (SEE MODIFICATION BELOW FOR SHAPE MODIFICATION.); and
an over-centering mechanism (Inversion Spring – 5) that urges the bottom (35) and top members (4) toward the open position (Figure 1, Diagram A) when the bottom (35) and top members (4) are between the open position and an over-center position (Column 7, Lines 34-41), and that urges the bottom (35) and top members (4) toward the closed position (Figure 2, Diagram A) when the bottom (35) and top members (4) are between the closed position (Figure 2, Diagram A) and the over-center position (Column 7, Lines 22-32) (NOTE: The language – “the inversion spring – 5 shifts its urging direction to the closed position…” – Column 7, Lines 32 and “…the inversion spring shifts its urging direction so that the lid member – 3 is automatically rotated to the open position…” – Column 7, Lines 37-40 implies an inflection point of the force change that the instant application identifies as the “over-center position.”).
Shimajiri does not teach the “generally parallel” portion of the claimed folding mechanism as presented in the instant application.
Tong – in a similar disclosure on collapsible cup holder structures – does teach the missing limitations. See Examiner’s Annotated Diagram B as follows:
Examiner's Annotated Diagram B
Tong teaches: a generally parallel surfaces for the assembly when in the closed position (See Figure 8 of Annotated Diagram B where this is true – The Bottom surface of the top member and the Top Member and the Top Surface of the Bottom Member meet this requirement.) (MOTIVATION: improve collapsible configuration that conceals internal mechanisms within the framework of the assembly – Column 1, Lines 36-40.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the collapsible structure of Shimajiri, providing the generally parallel collapsed structure taught by Tong, motivated by the benefit of improving the collapsed configuration that conceals internal mechanisms within the framework of the assembly – Column 1, Lines 36-40. Moreover, simple substitution of a known element for another (Configuration changes with respect to geometric relationships incorporating the same structure.) with a predictable result (Securely collapsing to protect mechanisms.) is rationale (B) of the rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness issued by the Supreme Court in KSR v. Teleflex. See MPEP 2141(III).
In regard to Claim 2, Shimajiri – as modified previously – teaches a cupholder assembly (Shimajiri – Cupholder Assembly – 50): wherein the main member (2) includes opposed front (Annotated Diagram A, Item D) and back walls (Back Surface Portion – 24 and Column 4, Liens 27-45) and opposed first (22 Left from Diagram A, Figure 5) and second internal side walls (22 Right from Diagram A, Figure 5) disposed between the front (D) and back walls (24) and generally perpendicular to the front and back walls (See Figure 5, Annotated Diagram A where the structure is generally rectangular), and wherein the first (22 Left) and second internal side walls (22 Right) define a channel (Between 22 Left and Right) therebetween.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to teach the structures presented in Claim 3 – especially:
The combination of the slidable member disposed in the channel of the main member that is pinned to the top and bottom member that results in an eccentric motion to the slidable member that translates to a vertical motion of a pair of biasing members that are constrained by indentations in the main member that result in an over-centering mechanism for the cupholder assembly that changes between and urge open and urge close configuration while actuating either the top or bottom member.
For illustration purposes, Examiner’s Allowability Analysis Diagram AA shows the closest prior art that does not anticipate the over-centering mechanism as claimed in the instant application.
Examiner's Allowability Analysis AA
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Dependent Claims 4-12 are allowable as they depend from the allowed claim.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lerner (US 5342009) discloses Figures 1-4 and structure features required to synchronize movement of bottom and top members with respect to the main member as well as general features relevant to the scope and structure of the claimed invention.
Miklas (US 20130075562) discloses Figures 1-7 and force open mechanism to simplify the operation of a collapsible cup holder.
Gehring et al. (US 6427960) discloses Figures 1-4 with similar structural features with a centerline structure that has a ramp surface – 63 and Slots – 60/62 that provide resistance that indicate the midpoint between opening and closing as well as general features relevant to the scope and structure of the claimed invention.
Leopold et al. (US 20030062458) discloses Figures 1-5 and an over center mechanism for a container hold-down device.
/JOHN MARTIN HOPPMANN/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733