CTNF 19/190,112 CTNF 99866 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over DE102018217232A1 to Gasser et al. (herein after “Gasser”) in view of CN 112799530 A to Xue et al. (herein after “Xue”). Regarding claim 1, Gasser teaches A method to determine a pitch angle of a vehicle relative to a surface on which the vehicle stands for luminous range control of a headlight of the vehicle, the method comprising: (see Gasser para[0001] a method and a device for automatic headlight range control of a front headlight assembly of a vehicle.) determining, as the vehicle is driven, an average value of the pitch angle of the vehicle and an average value of a dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle, the average value of the dynamic pitch angle determined via output from an acceleration sensor (see Gasser para[0010] Furthermore, it is already known to determine the pitch angle of the vehicle using an acceleration sensor arranged on the vehicle,) determining a current value of the dynamic pitch angle via the output from the acceleration sensor; (See Gasser para[0057] For such, e.g. B. occasional "readjustment of the pitch angle value" come z. B. also processes known from the prior art. In one embodiment, it is provided for this purpose that the vehicle has a fixed orientation relative to the Headlight device arranged to use acceleration sensor, which (in particular) while driving z) determining a current value of the load pitch angle of the vehicle based on the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch angle; (See Gasser para[0030] For example, it can be provided that each camera takes a first image at the first point in time and a second image at the second point in time and, when evaluating in parallel, a pitch angle difference is determined for each camera, with the pitch angle difference to be used in the further method then e.g. B. an average (z. B. arithmetic mean) of the several individual pitch angle differences can be formed.) determining, based on the current value of the load pitch angle and the current value of the dynamic pitch angle, the pitch angle of the vehicle relative to the surface (See para[0057] For such, e.g. B. occasional "readjustment of the pitch angle value" come z. B. also processes known from the prior art. In one embodiment, it is provided for this purpose that the vehicle has a fixed orientation relative to the Headlight device arranged to use acceleration sensor, which (in particular) while driving z. B. measures the amount and direction of acceleration. By evaluating these variables (e.g. by the control device), e.g. B. with statistical methods, the pitch angle can be determined independently of the method described here (the determination of pitch angle differences).) ; and controlling an orientation of the headlight of the vehicle based on the pitch angle of the vehicle relative to the surface. (See Gasser para[0109] Based on the pitch angle difference ΔWF determined by the comparative evaluation of images P1 and P2, the control unit 10 causes a corresponding change in the emission angle of the front headlight unit 6 (from WS to ) in order to compensate for this pitch angle difference ΔWF.) However, Gasser does not disclose or otherwise teach determining, at a standstill of the vehicle, a change of a load pitch angle of the vehicle based on output from a gravitation sensor . Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches determining, at a standstill of the vehicle, a change of a load pitch angle of the vehicle based on output from a gravitation sensor (See Xiu para[0088] In one embodiment, if the second operation is that the user tilts the electronic device, then the third parameter can characterize the tilt angle of the electronic device. For example, the third parameter can be the changes in the pitch angle, azimuth angle, and roll angle of the electronic device detected by the gravity sensor. ) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 2, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 1. However, Gasser does not teach wherein the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch value are determined during a calibration time window based on the determination of the change of the load pitch angle of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches wherein the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch value are determined during a calibration time window based on the determination of the change of the load pitch angle of the vehicle (See Xue para[0106] the calibrated estimated position can be used as a sample for subsequent predictions, and the learning function of the NN layers can be used to further improve the accuracy of subsequent predictions.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 3, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 1. However, Gasser does not teach wherein the change of the load pitch angle of the vehicle is determined based on a measured gravitation angle of the gravitation sensor in relation to a stored gravitation angle. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches wherein the change of the load pitch angle of the vehicle is determined based on a measured gravitation angle of the gravitation sensor in relation to a stored gravitation angle. (See Xiu para[0088] In one embodiment, if the second operation is that the user tilts the electronic device, then the third parameter can characterize the tilt angle of the electronic device. For example, the third parameter can be the changes in the pitch angle, azimuth angle, and roll angle of the electronic device detected by the gravity sensor.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 4, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 1. Gasser teaches wherein the current value of the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle is determined based on a model. (See Gasser para[0061] Taking the current longitudinal acceleration of the vehicle into account can, for example, B. based on a mathematical model that describes the characteristics of a vehicle's suspension system and/or the dependence of the vehicle's pitching motion (time change of the pitch angle) on the vehicle's longitudinal acceleration.). Regarding claim 5, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 1. Gasser teaches wherein the average value of the dynamic pitch angle is determined based on a model for determining the dynamic pitch angle. ( see Gasser para[0010] the influences of gravitational acceleration and vehicle acceleration on the sensor signal being taken into account using a mathematical algorithm.). Regarding claim 6, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 1. Gasser teaches wherein the current value of the load pitch angle is determined by subtraction of the average value of the dynamic pitch angle from the average value of the pitch angle. (See Gasser para[0063] an image evaluation device which is designed to evaluate the first and second images in order to determine a pitch angle difference between a first pitch angle which is present at the first time and a second pitch angle which is present at the second time, the control device being designed to determine the pitch angle to use the pitch angle difference determined by the image evaluation device). Regarding claim 7, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 1. Gasser teaches wherein at least one camera is utilized to determine the average value of the pitch angle. (See Gasser para[0022] The predetermined e.g. Fixed orientation of the camera relative to the headlight device of the vehicle can be realized in that a camera is used in the method). Regarding claim 8, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 1. Gasser teaches determining a deviation of the headlight from a setting position of the headlight based on the pitch angle of the vehicle relative to the surface; and adapting the setting of the headlight based on the deviation . (See Gasser para[0009] a method for automatic headlight range control is known for motor vehicles, in which the pitch angle of the vehicle is determined and the light emission of front headlights is adjusted based on the determined pitch angle, whereby one or two height sensors are used in the area of vehicle axles of the vehicle in order to determine the pitch angle from the sensor signals obtained.). Regarding claim 9, Gasser teaches An apparatus for luminous range control of a headlight of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising (see Gasser para[0001] a method and a device for automatic headlight range control of a front headlight assembly of a vehicle.) : an acceleration sensor for determining: an average value of the pitch angle of the vehicle and an average value of a dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle ( see Gasser para[0010] Furthermore, it is already known to determine the pitch angle of the vehicle using an acceleration sensor arranged on the vehicle,) as the vehicle is driven in a calibration phase, and a current value of the dynamic pitch angle; machine readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to execute the instructions to: determine a current value of the load pitch angle of the vehicle based on the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch angle, (See Gasser para[0057] For such, e.g. B. occasional "readjustment of the pitch angle value" come z. B. also processes known from the prior art. In one embodiment, it is provided for this purpose that the vehicle has a fixed orientation relative to the Headlight device arranged to use acceleration sensor, which (in particular) while driving z) determine, based on the current value of the load pitch angle and the current value of the dynamic pitch angle, a pitch angle of the vehicle relative to a surface on which the vehicle stands (See Gasser para[0030] ) and control an orientation of the headlight of the vehicle based on the pitch angle of the vehicle relative to the surface. (See Gasser para[0109] Based on the pitch angle difference ΔWF determined by the comparative evaluation of images P1 and P2, the control unit 10 causes a corresponding change in the emission angle of the front headlight unit 6 (from WS to ) in order to compensate for this pitch angle difference ΔWF.) . However, Gasser does not teach a gravitation sensor for determining, at a standstill of the vehicle, a change of a load pitch angle of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches a gravitation sensor for determining, at a standstill of the vehicle, a change of a load pitch angle of the vehicle (See Xiu para[0088] In one embodiment, if the second operation is that the user tilts the electronic device, then the third parameter can characterize the tilt angle of the electronic device. For example, the third parameter can be the changes in the pitch angle, azimuth angle, and roll angle of the electronic device detected by the gravity sensor.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 10, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. Gasser teaches wherein the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch value are determined in response to the determination of the change of the load pitch angle of the vehicle. (See Gasser abstract determine a pitch angle difference (ΔWF) between a first pitch angle present at the first point in time and a second pitch angle present at the second point in time,) . Regarding claim 11, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. However, Gasser does not teach wherein the change of the load pitch angle of the vehicle is determined based on a measured gravitation angle of the gravitation sensor in relation to a stored gravitation angle. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches wherein the change of the load pitch angle of the vehicle is determined based on a measured gravitation angle of the gravitation sensor in relation to a stored gravitation angle (See Xiu para[0088] In one embodiment, if the second operation is that the user tilts the electronic device, then the third parameter can characterize the tilt angle of the electronic device. For example, the third parameter can be the changes in the pitch angle, azimuth angle, and roll angle of the electronic device detected by the gravity sensor.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 12, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. Gasser teaches determine at least one of the current value of the dynamic pitch angle or the average value of the dynamic pitch angle is determined based on at least one model (See Gasser para[0061] Taking the current longitudinal acceleration of the vehicle into account can, for example, B. based on a mathematical model that describes the characteristics of a vehicle's suspension system and/or the dependence of the vehicle's pitching motion (time change of the pitch angle) on the vehicle's longitudinal acceleration ( see Gasser para[0010] the influences of gravitational acceleration and vehicle acceleration on the sensor signal being taken into account using a mathematical algorithm.). However, Gasser does not teach wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine (See Xiu para[0178] The computer-readable storage medium includes program commands, data files, data structures, or combinations thereof.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 13, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. Gasser teaches the current value of the load pitch angle based on subtraction of the average value of the dynamic pitch angle from the average value of the pitch angle. (See Gasser para[0063] an image evaluation device which is designed to evaluate the first and second images in order to determine a pitch angle difference between a first pitch angle which is present at the first time and a second pitch angle which is present at the second time, the control device being designed to determine the pitch angle to use the pitch angle difference determined by the image evaluation device) . However, Gasser does not teach wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine (See Xiu para[0178] The computer-readable storage medium includes program commands, data files, data structures, or combinations thereof.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 14, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. Gasser teaches determine a deviation of the headlight from a setting position of the headlight; and adapt the setting of the headlight based on the deviation. (See Gasser para[0009] a method for automatic headlight range control is known for motor vehicles, in which the pitch angle of the vehicle is determined and the light emission of front headlights is adjusted based on the determined pitch angle, whereby one or two height sensors are used in the area of vehicle axles of the vehicle in order to determine the pitch angle from the sensor signals obtained.) . However, Gasser does not teach wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine (See Xiu para[0178] The computer-readable storage medium includes program commands, data files, data structures, or combinations thereof.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 15, Gasser teaches determine, at a standstill of a vehicle, a change of a load pitch angle of the vehicle; determine, as the vehicle is driven, (i) an average value of a pitch angle of the vehicle and (ii) an average value of a dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle; determine a current value of the dynamic pitch angle; (See para[0057]) determine a current value of the load pitch angle based on the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch angle; (See Gasser para[0030] For example, it can be provided that each camera takes a first image at the first point in time and a second image at the second point in time and, when evaluating in parallel, a pitch angle difference is determined for each camera, with the pitch angle difference to be used in the further method then e.g. B. an average (z. B. arithmetic mean) of the several individual pitch angle differences can be formed.) determine, based on the current value of the load pitch angle and the current value of the dynamic pitch angle, the pitch angle of the vehicle (See para[0057] For such, e.g. B. occasional "readjustment of the pitch angle value" come z. B. also processes known from the prior art. In one embodiment, it is provided for this purpose that the vehicle has a fixed orientation relative to the Headlight device arranged to use acceleration sensor, which (in particular) while driving z. B. measures the amount and direction of acceleration.) ; and control an orientation of a headlight of the vehicle based on the pitch angle of the vehicle. (See Gasser para[0109] Based on the pitch angle difference ΔWF determined by the comparative evaluation of images P1 and P2, the control unit 10 causes a corresponding change in the emission angle of the front headlight unit 6 (from WS to ) in order to compensate for this pitch angle difference ΔWF.) However, Gasser does not teach A non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches A non-transitory machine readable storage medium (See Xiu para[0178] The computer-readable storage medium includes program commands, data files, data structures, or combinations thereof.) comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry (See Xiu para[0026] Another aspect of this application provides a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, perform any of the aforementioned touchscreen control methods.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 16, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. However, Gasser does not teach wherein the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch value are determined during a calibration time window of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches wherein the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch value are determined during a calibration time window of the vehicle (See Xue para[0106] the calibrated estimated position can be used as a sample for subsequent predictions, and the learning function of the NN layers can be used to further improve the accuracy of subsequent predictions.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Regarding claim 17, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. Gasser teaches wherein the average value of the pitch angle and the average value of the dynamic pitch value are determined in response to the change of the load pitch angle of the vehicle. (See Gasser abstract determine a pitch angle difference (ΔWF) between a first pitch angle present at the first point in time and a second pitch angle present at the second point in time,). Regarding claim 18, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. Gasser teaches wherein the orientation of the headlight is controlled based on a light cone of the headlight with respect to a surface on which the vehicle stands. (See Gasser para[0020], para[0046] The selection of these times is expediently carried out by the control unit, which accordingly controls the camera(s) and/or the image evaluation unit (which receives the images taken by the camera(s)). Regarding claim 19, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. Gasser teaches wherein the current value of the load pitch angle is determined based on subtraction of the average value of the dynamic pitch angle from the average value of the pitch angle. (See Gasser para[0063] an image evaluation device which is designed to evaluate the first and second images in order to determine a pitch angle difference between a first pitch angle which is present at the first time and a second pitch angle which is present at the second time, the control device being designed to determine the pitch angle to use the pitch angle difference determined by the image evaluation device). Regarding claim 19, Gasser and Xue remain applied as claim 9. Gasser teaches determine a deviation of the headlight from a setting position of the headlight; and adapt the setting of the headlight based on the deviation. . (See Gasser para[0009] a method for automatic headlight range control is known for motor vehicles, in which the pitch angle of the vehicle is determined and the light emission of front headlights is adjusted based on the determined pitch angle, whereby one or two height sensors are used in the area of vehicle axles of the vehicle in order to determine the pitch angle from the sensor signals obtained.). However, Gasser does not teach the instructions cause the programmable circuitry. Nevertheless, Xue same field of endeavor teaches the instructions cause the programmable circuitry comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry (See Xiu para[0026] Another aspect of this application provides a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, perform any of the aforementioned touchscreen control methods.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Gasser’s method and device for automatically adjusting the headlight range of a headlight device of a vehicle with Xue’s pitch angle determination based on gravitation sensor in order to allow to provide users with a better visual experience (see Xue para[0002]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NAZIA AFRIN whose telephone number is (703)756-1175. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30-6. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott A Browne can be reached at 5712700151. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666 /SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 2 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 3 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 4 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 5 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 6 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 7 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 8 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 9 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 10 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 11 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 12 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 13 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 14 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 15 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 16 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 17 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 18 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 19 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 20 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 21 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 19/190,112 Page 22 Art Unit: 3666