DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses the prohibited term “disclosure” in line 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 and 26-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL document rennlist.com - How to Make a Front Splitter (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum/576073-how-to-make-a-front-splitter.html) in view of NPL Document TrackJunkies, and further in view of Shinedling (US 7,661,753).
Regarding Claims 24, 31 and 32, Rennlist discloses a front splitter, the front splitter comprising a front edge and a rear edge, the front edge being curved along at least a portion thereof (see Rennlist, Post #31, 25 June 2010), and the front splitter being made substantially of an aluminum composite material (Alumalite®), the aluminum composite material comprising a first layer, a second layer, and a substantially solid thermoplastic core disposed between the first layer and the second layer (Alumalite® is a polypropylene core between two sheets of aluminum). It does not appear that Rennlist and TrackJunkies discloses an intermittent front end. Shinedling discloses an adjustable splitter for a vehicle in which the font of the splitter may include intermittent concave and convex portions (see Fig.3). Neither Rennlist nor Shinedling appear to disclose the thickness of the splitter. TrackJunkies discloses a front splitter formed of an aluminum composite which includes two layers of aluminum on each side of a solid thermoplastic core (see page 9/15; Mark II splitter formed of DiBond; DIBOND® ACM is comprised of two pre-painted sheets of 0.012" aluminum with a solid polyethylene core; and comes in sheets of 2-4mm thick). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the thickness of the composite of TrackJunkies for the splitter of Rennlist in order to have a solid, stronger and well-known material for the splitter. Use of the surface of Shinedling for the front edge of the combination of Rennlist and TrackJunkies would give the splitter a unique appearance, but also to allow the tuning of aerodynamic advantage the splitter provides based upon a flow profile.
Regarding Claims 26 and 3, Shinedling discloses a first convex portion centrally disposed along the front edge (Fig. 3; central portion), a first concave portion extending from the first convex portion, a second concave portion extending from the first convex portion and being laterally opposed from the first concave portion (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding Claim 27, Shinedling discloses a second convex portion extending between the first concave portion and the rear edge and a third convex portion extending between the second concave portion and the rear edge (see annotated Fig. above).
Regarding Claim 28, Shinedling further discloses a connector 110 for attaching the front splitter to a vehicle.
Regarding Claims 29, 30, 34 and 35, The connector 110 of Shinedling is configured to raise or lower the front edge of the front splitter in response to an adjustment of the connector via lengthening or shortening.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-22, 24-29 and 31-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,286,165. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of the ‘165 patent fully anticipates claims 16 and 21 of the present application.
Claim 2 of the ‘165 patent fully anticipates claims 17, 24, 25, 28, 31, 32 and 34 of the present application.
Claim 4 of the ‘165 patent fully anticipates claims 19, 20, 26, 27 and 33 of the present application.
Claim 5 of the ‘165 patent fully anticipates claims 22 and 29 of the present application.
Claims 23, 29 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,286,165 in view of Shinedling (US 7,661,753).
Regarding Claims 23, 29 and 35, the ‘165 patent discloses the use of a connector to attach the splitter to the vehicle, but appears to be silent as to shortening or lengthening the connector to adjust. Shinedling discloses a splitter for a vehicle, including connectors 110 which are adjustable by shortening or lengthening the connector. Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to shorten/lengthen the connectors of the ‘165 patent, as taught by Shinedling, to adjust the position of the splitter to improve the aerodynamic efficiency.
Conclusion
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612