DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esenaliev (Pub. No.: 2016/0192867 A1) in view of Say (Pub. No.: 2010/0292553 A1), Mehta (Pub. No.: 2017/0124853 A1) and Brewer (Pub. No.: 2017/0203030 A1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Esenaliev discloses the claimed analyte monitoring system (fig. 15), comprising:
an analyte monitoring device configured to measure analyte concentrations of a user and transmit analyte data based on the measured analyte concentrations (fig. 15: glucose sensor);
a first smart device comprising a smartwatch (fig. 15: wrist watch);
a second smart device comprising a smartphone (fig. 15: cell phone), wherein:
the analyte monitoring device transmits the analyte data to the first smart device and the second smart device (fig. 15 shows the sensor transmits the data to the watch, and ¶0108 discloses the sensor can transmit the data to the cell phone);
the first smart device and the second smart device are configured to receive the analyte data and convert the analyte data into an output displayed on a display of the first smart device and a display of the second smart device (¶0108 discloses the watch and phone may display the sensor data).
Esenaliev does not explicitly disclose the first smart device is configured to generate one or more alarms when the analyte data reaches a predetermined threshold, and the second smart device is configured to generate the one or more alarms only upon determining that the user is not cognitively aware of the one or more alarms generated by the first smart device or a diabetic state relating to the one or more alarms, wherein determining that the user is not cognitively aware of the one or more alarms or a diabetic state relating to the one or more alarms is based on user interaction with the first smart device, the second smart device, or the first smart device and the second smart device.
However, Say discloses it is known for a monitoring system to have a first smart device to be configured to generate one or more alarms when the analyte data reaches a predetermined threshold (¶0070),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Esenaliev to transmit the signal to both the devices, as taught by Say.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Esenaliev as described above in order to provide the information to multiple devices.
Furthermore, Mehta discloses it is known for a diabetic monitoring system (¶0033 discloses a glucose level monitor) to have a smart device to be configured to generate one or more alarms only upon determining a device is non-responsive of a diabetic state relating to the one or more alarms, wherein determining that the user is non-responsive of a diabetic state relating to the one or more alarms is based on a device interaction with the first smart device, the second smart device, or the first smart device and the second smart device (¶0100 discloses when a device is non-responsive the wearable device may do a number of retires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Esenaliev to retransmit a signal in response to determining a device is non-responsive, as taught by Mehta.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Esenaliev as described above in order to get the user attention regarding the emergency alert.
Lastly, Brewer discloses it is known for a diabetic monitoring system to determine whether a person with diabetes (PWD) to be non-responsive based on a severe hypoglycemic event, and in response to the severe hypoglycemic event to transmit a signal to a remote service (¶0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Esenaliev to determine if a user is not cognitively aware, as taught by Brewer.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Esenaliev as described above in order to detect a known state of diabetic patients.
2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the second smart device is further configured to receive analyte data from the analyte monitoring device while not in signal communication with the first smart device (Esenaliev and fig. 18).
3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the first smart device is configured to generate the one or more alarms when the analyte data reaches a predetermined threshold in a first form, and the second smart device is configured to generate the one or more alarms in a second form (Say ¶0070).
4) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 3, wherein the first smart device is further configured to display, on the display of the first smart device, the one or more alarms, and the second smart device is configured to generate an audible or tactile indication of the one or more alarms (Say ¶0070).
5) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 3), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 3.
Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer do not explicitly disclose the first smart device is configured to generate an audible or tactile indication of the one or more alarms, and the second smart device is configured to display, on the display of the second smart device, the one or more alarms if the user does not acknowledge the one or more alarms presented on the display of the first smart device.
However, official notice is taken by the examiner that both the concept and advantage is known for a monitoring system to forward the alarm from the first device to the second device id the user does not acknowledge the alarm from the first device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Esenaliev to forward the alarm to the second device if the user does not acknowledge the alarm on the first device.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Esenaliev as described above in order to add redundancy in the system, thereby, allowing the user to be alerted by the second device if he/she is not around the first device.
6) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the smartwatch is configured to receive the analyte data directly from the analyte monitoring device (Esenaliev fig. 15).
7) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 1), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the one or more alarms are suppressed based on determining that the user is cognitively aware of the one or more alarms or a diabetic state relating to the one or more alarms (Say ¶0276).
8) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 7), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 7, wherein determining that the user is cognitively aware of the one or more alarms is further based on user-entered data on the first or second smart devices, or user self-treatment (Say ¶0276).
9) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 1.
Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer does not explicitly disclose wherein the first or second smart device comprises at least one application configured to communicate with a second application on the analyte monitoring device to provide alerts to a user.
However, official notice is taken by the examiner that both the concept and advantage is known for a system device to utilize an application downloaded on a user device to communicate with a monitoring device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Esenaliev to utilize an application on a user device to communicate with an application on a monitoring device.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Esenaliev as described above in order to allow a user device to communicate with a third-party device.
10) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 9), Esenaliev, Say, Mehta and Brewer further disclose the analyte monitoring system of claim 9, wherein the second application on the analyte monitoring device comprises a continuous glucose monitor application (Esenaliev ¶0108 discloses the monitoring device monitors a user glucose; thus, it is clear a software program (i.e., application) is programmed in the memory of the device to monitor a user glucose level).
11) In regard to claim 11, claim 11 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
12) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 11), claim 12 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
13) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 11), claim 13 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 3 and the references applied.
14) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 13), claim 14 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 4 and the references applied.
15) In regard to claim 15 (dependent on claim 14), claim 15 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 5 and the references applied.
16) In regard to claim 16 (dependent on claim 11), claim 16 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 6 and the references applied.
17) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 11), claim 17 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 7 and the references applied.
18) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 17), claim 18 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 8 and the references applied.
19) In regard to claim 19 (dependent on claim 11), claim 19 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 9 and the references applied.
20) In regard to claim 20, claim 20 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,315,614. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claim together met all of the claim subject matter of current claim. Furthermore, Patent is a sub-genus of the examined application and, therefore, a patent of the genus would, necessarily, extend the rights of the sub-genus should the genus be issued as a patent.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685