DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 179-180, 182, and 184-189 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Darty et al. (US 2019/0281204) hereinafter known as Darty.
Regarding claim 176, Darty discloses systems for concurrent imaging at multiple wavelengths (Abstract; FIG.4-5A), comprising:
at most eight wavelength separators (FIG. 4; [0128]; a plurality of beam splitters 212 (e.g., 212-1 . . . 212-3)) [0129], wherein each wavelength separator is configured to convey light having a primary wavelength range ([0129]; “…a dichroic beam splitter that receives light having a spectral range of 450-650 nm (or more) may transmit light having a spectral range of 450-550 nm in a first direction, and transmit light having a spectral range of 550-670 nm in a second direction (e.g., perpendicular to the first direction).”); and
an optical assembly ([0160]; FIG. 5A; 102) comprising a plurality of photo-sensors ([0128]; 210) in optical communication with each wavelength separator ([0128]; “The beam splitters 212 and the beam steering elements 214 are configured to split the light received by the lens assembly 104 into a plurality of optical paths, and direct those optical paths onto the plurality of photo-sensors 210 of the optical assembly 102.”) wherein the optical assembly comprises:
at least six optical components ([0132]; FIG. 4 displays 3 bandpass filters 216-1 -216-3, 1, a triple bandpass filter 217-1, and [0152] teaches of 4 beam steering elements 214 (e.g., 214-1 . . . 214-4, therefore, a total of 8 optical components. ), wherein each optical component is configured to convey light having a secondary predetermined wavelength range ([0128]; “The beam splitters 212 and the beam steering elements 214 are configured to split the light received by the lens assembly 104 into a plurality of optical paths, and direct those optical paths onto the plurality of photo-sensors 210 of the optical assembly 102.”), and wherein an upper range of a first optical component and a lower range of a second optical component differ by at most 15 nm ([0130]; “…a third spectral range having at least two discontinuous spectral sub-ranges including a third spectral sub-range of about 570-600 nm and a fourth spectral sub-range of about 615-670 nm,…”)[0123]; and
a photodetector ([0128]; a plurality of photo-sensors 210 (e.g., 210-1, . . . 210-4)) configured to receive the light from each optical component [0128].
Regarding claim 177, Darty discloses the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the wavelength separators are configured to reflect light having a wavelength outside the primary wavelength range to another wavelength separator. ([0160]; “The first beam splitter 210-1 splits the incoming light (arrow 400) into a first optical path (arrow 401) that is collinear to the incoming light (arrow 400). Light along the first optical path (arrow 401) is passed through to the second beam splitter 210-2.”)
Regarding claim 178, Darty discloses the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the wavelength separator, the optical component, or both comprise a dichroic mirror ([0129]; dichroic beam splitter), a bandpass filter [0088], a beam splitter [0129], a prism [0152]. or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 179, Darty discloses the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the primary wavelength range is at most about 150 nm. ([0113]; “…discrete spectral bands having central wavelengths {510±5 nm, 530±5 nm, 540±5 nm, 560±5 nm, 580±5 nm, discrete spectral bands having central wavelengths {510±5 nm, 530±5 nm, 540±5 nm, 560±5 nm, 580±5 nm, 590±5 nm, 620±5 nm, and 660±5 nm}590±5 nm, 620±5 nm, and 660±5 nm},…”)
Regarding claim 180, Darty discloses the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the secondary wavelength range is at most about 40 nm. [0113]
Regarding claim 182, Darty disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein at least two of the wavelength separators are coplanar. [0153] (FIG. 4; beam splitters 212 (e.g., 212-1 . . . 212-3))
Regarding claim 184, Darty disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the wavelength separators are arranged radially within the light detection system. (FIG. 4; beam splitters 212 (e.g., 212-1 . . . 212-3))
Regarding claim 185, Darty disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the wavelength separators are arranged symmetrically within the light detection system. (FIG. 4; beam splitters 212 (e.g., 212-1 . . . 212-3))
Regarding claim 186, Darty disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the light detection modules are arranged in a polygonal configuration within the light detection system. ( a plurality of photo-sensors 210 (e.g., 210-1, . . . 210-4)) (Fig. 4 display the photo-sensors 210 (e.g., 210-1, . . . 210-4) in a rectangular configuration.)
Regarding claim 187, Darty disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the light detection modules are arranged radially within the light detection system. (FIG. 4; a plurality of photo-sensors 210 (e.g., 210-1, . . . 210-4))
Regarding claim 188, Darty disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the light detection modules are arranged symmetrically within the light detection system.
Regarding claim 189, Darty disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, further comprising an optical collection system ([0084]; FIG.4; lens assembly 104 ) in optical communication with each wavelength separator (FIG. 4; beam splitters 212 (e.g., 212-1 . . . 212-3)) ([0150]; “…the first beam splitter 212-1 is in direct optical communication with the lens assembly 104,…”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 181 and 183 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 181, Darty do not disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein at least two of the wavelength separators are non-coplanar.
Regarding claim 183, Darty do not disclose the light detection system according to claim 176, wherein the wavelength separators are arranged in a polygonal configuration within the light detection system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Robinson et al. (US 2005/0275839)
Buchter (US 2021/0041537)
Vincent (US 5,144,498)
/HUGH MAUPIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884