DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the preliminary amendment filed on 1/16/2026, claims 1-25 and newly added claims 26-34 are pending.
Effective Filing Date
The instant application, filed 4/25/2025, is a continuation of 17/941,307, filed 9/9/2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application 63/344,443, filed 5/20/2022; U.S. Provisional Application 63/254,436, filed 10/11/2021; and U.S. Provisional Application 63/242,856, filed 9/10/2021. Claims 1-34 are directed to subject matter that was introduced for the first time in U.S. Provisional Application 63/344,443, filed 5/20/2022 and the parent application, filed 9/9/2022. The earlier U.S. Provisional Applications (63/254,436 and 63/242,856) do not provide support for the tissue disruptor has a maximum thickness between the radially inner surface and the radially outer surface of the elongate, flexible shaft; dilating Schelmm’s Canal with the tissue disruptor to improve aqueous outflow, and the micro-interventional tool comprising a laser-shaped flat sheet of super-elastic memory-shape material having a distal region comprising an elongate, flexible shaft with a non-circular cross-section and a tissue disrupting profile. The features regarding the tissue disruptor having a maximum thickness between the radially inner surface and the radially outer surface of the elongate, flexible shaft and the micro-interventional tool comprising a laser-shaped flat sheet of super-elastic memory-shape material having a distal region comprising an elongate, flexible shaft with a non-circular cross-section and a tissue disrupting profile are not described and supported until the filing of U.S. Provisional Application 63/344,443, filed 5/20/2022. The feature regarding dilating Schelmm’s Canal with the tissue disruptor to improve aqueous outflow is not described until the filing of parent application 17/941,307, filed 9/9/2022.
Therefore, the effective filing date for the subject matter of is claims 1-25 is 5/20/2022 and the effective filing date of claims 26-34 is 9/9/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ianchulev (US 2021/0022920).
Ianchulev discloses the following limitations:
Claim 1. A method of improving aqueous drainage of an eye ([0005]), the method comprising:
introducing a distal portion of a tissue disruption device (2C) into an anterior chamber of an eye through an ab interno insertion location towards an anterior angle of the eye ([0069], [0117]; Fig. 22A), the distal portion comprising:
an elongate, flexible shaft (6C) of super-elastic memory-shape material (0073], [0092]) comprising a radially inner surface (bottom surface) that is connected to a radially outer surface (top surface) by two lateral sides (left side, right side) (Figs. 13, 14);
a distal-most end (15C) ([0093]); and
a tissue disruptor (10C) proximal of the distal-most end formed on the radially outer surface (Fig. 13), wherein the tissue disruptor has a maximum thickness ([0092]; i.e. height) between the radially inner surface and the radially outer surface (the tissue disruptor 10C is considered a part of the shaft since it is disclosed as being formed with the shaft. Therefore, surfaces of the tissue disruptor 10C, much like Applicant’s invention, is considered a continuing surface of the shaft and therefore the maximum thickness of the tissue disruptor is considered between the radially inner surface and the radially outer surface of the shaft);
positioning the tissue disruptor against a wall of the anterior angle of the eye outside of Schlemm's canal ([0072], [0073]); and
moving the tissue disruptor relative to the wall to reduce a thickness of the wall with the tissue disruptor ([0074], [0112], [0124]; i.e. removal of tissue results in reducing a thickness of the wall).
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the wall comprises a scleral wall ([0073]).
Claim 3. The method of claim 2, wherein the thickness of the wall is reduced by partial thickness cutting, debriding, abrading, shaving, or ablating the wall with the tissue disruptor ([0074], [0112], [0124]).
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the maximum thickness (i.e. height) of the tissue disruptor is at least 150 microns up to about 2 mm ([0092]; i.e. height is between 150 50 800 microns).
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the shaft has a cross-sectional shape taken transverse to a length of the shaft between that is non-circular (Fig. 14; [0094]).
Claim 22. The method of claim 1, wherein introducing the distal portion further comprises introducing an introducer tube (17) projecting from a distal end region of a proximal housing (13), wherein at least a portion of the shaft extends through a lumen of the introducer tube ([0072]; Figs. 1-3).
Claim 23. The method of claim 22, wherein the shaft is configured to be advanced from the introducer tube and retracted into the introducer tube ([0026], [0075]).
Claim 24. The method of claim 23, wherein the shaft develops a spring-load as the shaft extends from the introducer tube ([0007], [0025], [0073], [0094]).
Claim 25. The method of claim 23, further comprising applying a radially outward force with the shaft as the shaft extends from the introducer tube ([0025], [0026], [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianchulev.
Claim 9. Ianchulev discloses the invention substantially as claimed above, including the cross-sectional shape is non-circular ([0094]) but fails to disclose the cross-sectional shape is square or rectangular. However, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the non-circular shape of Ianchulev et al to be specifically square or rectangular because Applicant has not disclosed that these two shapes provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. In paragraphs [0093], [0112], [0127] of the published instant specification, Applicant discloses the shape may be non-circular “such as square or rectangular”. Applicant explicitly discloses the cross-sectional shape may be “circular or non-circular” and may be elliptical ([0112]). The elliptical configuration is akin to the non-circular cross-sectional shape of Ianchulev having a major axis (53) and minor axis (51). However, Applicant has not provided evidence, such as how the claimed square and rectangular cross-sectional shapes have unexpected results over the prior art in the claimed method. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the non-circular shape of Ianchulev because the shaft of Ianchulev is designed to be inserted into the same anatomical region and to perform the same procedure. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the non-circular shape of Ianchulev to square or rectangular since this is a mere obvious design choice that fails to patentably distinguish the invention of claim 9 from Ianchulev.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianchulev in view of Tu et al (US 2002/0169130).
Claim 17. Ianchulev discloses the invention substantially as claimed above, including an incision being made (Fig. 22A) but fails to disclose the ab interno insertion location is a corneal incision having a size less than about 2.75 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor for treating glaucoma, Tu et al teaches an ab interno insertion ([0072]), wherein a corneal incision is made having a size of less than about 1 mm ([0118]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Ianchulev to include the ab interno insertion location to be a corneal incision having a sizes less than 1 mm (within the claimed range) as taught by Tu et al since such an incision is self-sealing ([0118]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianchulev in view of Smedley et al (US 2007/0118147).
Claim 18. Ianchulev discloses the invention substantially as claimed above, but fails to disclose the step of further performing phacoemulsification of a cataract.
However, in the same field of endeavor for treating glaucoma, Smedley et al teaches performing phacoemulsification of a cataract ([0009], [0131]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Ianchulev to include the step of performing phacoemulsification of a cataract to remove damaged or diseased natural lens tissue as a result of the fluid pressure in glaucoma disease.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-34 are allowed.
Claims 4-6, 10-16, 19-21 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record, Ianchulev, discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
In regard to claim 4, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest either singly or in combination the claimed method comprising, wherein moving the tissue disruptor comprises retracting the tissue disruptor relative to the insertion location. Instead, the retraction movement in Ianchulev is only to adjust the stiffness of the shaft ([0026], [0075]). The removal of tissue in Ianchulev is directed to forward movement ([0118]).
In regard to claim 10, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest either singly or in combination the claimed method comprising modifying a second wall of the anterior angle of the eye using a second tissue disruptor.
In regard to claim 19, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest either singly or in combination the claimed method comprising, the tissue disruptor has a distal face and a proximal face, the distal face sloping from a first thickness of the shaft distal to the tissue disruptor towards the maximum thickness and the proximal face tapering down from the maximum thickness to a second thickness of the shaft proximal to the tissue disruptor, wherein the first thickness, the maximum thickness, and the second thickness are each between the inner and outer surfaces, and wherein the distal face of the tissue disruptor is a blunt tissue-engaging surface without any cutting element.
In regard to claim 26, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest either singly or in combination the claimed method comprising dilating Schlemm's canal with the second tissue disruptor.
In regard to claims 27 and 32, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest either singly or in combination the claimed method comprising: dilating Schlemm's Canal with the tissue disruptor to improve aqueous outflow. The current state of the art involving dilation of Schelmm’s Canal instead uses other elements to perform dilation. Prior arts such as Badawi et al (US 2013/0253438) uses an injection of viscoelastic fluid to perform the dilation and Lynch (WO 0064389) uses an inflatable dilator to perform dilation.
Therefore, in view of the prior art and its deficiencies, Applicant’s invention is rendered novel and non-obvious, and thus, is allowable as claimed.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE M SHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771