DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings remain objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the following reference characters each designate different features of the invention:
Reference character “10” has been used to designate both a rod (i.e., member connecting pedicle screws; Fig. 1-11, 14 and 15) and a locking instrument (Fig. 12A).
Reference character “40” has been used to designate both a female coupler (Figs. 6-11, 14 and 15) and a sphere of a locking instrument (Fig. 12A).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“driving feature” (i.e., a feature or means for driving) in claims 1 and 5.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. These are understood to include features such as a hexalobe or “any other driving feature”. . . “including one or more features along the rim of the head” (e.g., paras. 0052 and 0054), and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ritland (2003/0093078).
Regarding claim 5, Ritland discloses a coupling assembly (Figs. 1b and 30, and annotated Fig. 30, below) comprising:
a pedicle screw 10 comprising:
a threaded shaft 18; and
a head portion 20 comprising:
a driving feature (e.g., a surface of the head or a surface along the rim of the head)
capable of being driven by a tool (e.g., pliers or forceps), if desired;
an external bore-engaging surface (see annotated Fig. 30) defining an external diameter of the head portion 20; and
a proximally oriented screw bore 22 having a proximal portion defining an opening 24 (Figs. 1b and 30) having a continuous perimeter (Fig. 1b) with a first, narrower internal width w and a medial portion with a second, broader internal width W (see annotated Fig. 30) and
a member 202/200 (Fig. 31) adapted to extend between adjacent pedicle screws 10 (id.), the member comprising:
a female member 100 comprising a receiving bore 104 (Fig. 30) adapted to receive the head portion 20 of the pedicle screw 10. The receiving bore has a first inner diameter (i.e., d) and a second inner diameter (e.g., w, of opening 56; Fig. 26) that is smaller than the first inner diameter, wherein the first inner diameter d is smaller than the external diameter D of the head portion but still large enough to allow the bore to elastically deform to accommodate the head portion of the pedicle screw in a press-fit (Fig. 30, para. 0126).
Regarding claim 6, the continuous perimeter of the opening 24 is generally circular (Fig. 1b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (CA-2650223-A1) in view of Hayes et al. (2008/0097441).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a coupling assembly (Fig. 35) comprising:
a first pedicle screw 922, 926, 932 comprising:
a threaded shaft 922; and
a head portion 926, 932 comprising:
a driving feature (e.g., a surface of the head portion or a surface along a rim of the head) capable of being driven by a tool (e.g., pliers or forceps), if desired; and
a proximally oriented bore (i.e., upper portion of 932); and
a member 946 adapted to extend between the first pedicle screw and a second pedicle screw (Fig. 35), the member comprising:
a first protrusion 942 adapted for insertion into the bore (supra) of the first pedicle screw, the protrusion having a protrusion diameter that is larger than a portion of the proximally oriented bore (Fig. 35).
Kim does not explicitly recite a cannula extending through the first protrusion, the cannula being configured to receive a component for guiding insertion of the first protrusion into the bore of the first pedicle screw.
Hayes et al. disclose a coupling assembly (Fig. 13A) and teach a cannula 246 extending through desired portions of the device (e.g., 200, 238; para. 0092), including a first protrusion 245, for guiding insertion of the first protrusion into a bore (central opening of 226) of a pedicle screw 222, 226 along a guidewire and facilitating installation of the assembly (Fig. 13A; para. 0092).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the coupling assembly of Kim with a cannula extending through the first protrusion, the cannula being configured to receive a component, i.e., a guidewire, for guiding insertion of the first protrusion into the bore of the first pedicle screw, in view of Hayes et al., to facilitate installation of the assembly.
Regarding claim 2, a distal end portion of the first protrusion 942 that is configured to be received within a distal end portion of the proximally oriented bore (upper portion of 932) and a distal end portion of the first protrusion comprise a contiguous surface (Fig. 35).
Regarding claim 3, the first protrusion 942 is integrally coupled to a first end portion of the member 946 (Fig. 35; para. 0232, discussing ball-shaped ends 942 and 944 of rod 946).
Regarding claim 4, the member 946 further comprises a second protrusion 944 that is integrally coupled to a second end portion of the member 946 (id.).
Double Patenting
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,616.
Regarding independent application claim 5, issued patent claim 11 discloses a coupling assembly comprising:
a pedicle screw comprising:
a threaded shaft; and
a head portion comprising:
a driving feature;
an external bore-engaging surface defining an external diameter of the head portion; and
a proximally oriented screw bore having a proximal portion defining an opening having a continuous perimeter with a first, narrower internal width and a medial portion with a second, broader internal width; and
a member adapted to extend between adjacent pedicle screws, the member comprising:
a female member comprising a receiving bore adapted to receive the head portion of the pedicle screw, the receiving bore having an inner diameter that is smaller than the external diameter of the head portion. It is noted that the relative diameters and language pertaining to deformation and a press-fit is considered to be satisfied by the receiving bore of the female member having an inner diameter that is smaller than a diameter of the head portion, resulting in the press-fit configuration.
Regarding application claim 6, issued patent claim 11 also discloses wherein the continuous perimeter of the opening is generally circular.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,616 in view of Hayes et al. (2008/0097441).
Regarding application independent claim 1, issued patent claim 1 discloses a coupling assembly comprising:
a first pedicle screw comprising:
a threaded shaft; and
a head portion comprising:
a driving feature; and
a proximally oriented bore; and
a member adapted to extend between the first pedicle screw and a second pedicle screw, the member comprising:
a (first) protrusion adapted for insertion into the bore of the first pedicle screw, the protrusion having a protrusion diameter that is larger than a portion of the proximally oriented bore.
Issued patent claim 1 does not recite a cannula extending through the first protrusion, the cannula being configured to receive a component for guiding insertion of the first protrusion into the bore of the first pedicle screw.
Hayes et al. disclose a coupling assembly (Fig. 13A) and teach a cannula 246 extending through desired portions of the device (e.g., 200, 238; para. 0092), including a first protrusion 245, for guiding insertion of the first protrusion into a bore (central opening of 226) of a pedicle screw 222, 226 along a guidewire and facilitating installation of the assembly (Fig. 13A; para. 0092).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the coupling assembly of issued patent claim 1 with a cannula extending through the first protrusion, the cannula being configured to receive a component, i.e., a guidewire, for guiding insertion of the first protrusion into the bore of the first pedicle screw, in view of Hayes et al., to facilitate installation of the assembly.
Regarding application claim 2, issued patent claim 1 as modified (supra) also discloses wherein a distal end portion of the first protrusion is configured to be received within a distal end portion of the proximally oriented bore comprises a contiguous surface.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the issued patent in view of Hayes et al. (supra), as applied above, further in view of Kim (CA-2650223-A1).
Regarding application claims 3 and 4, claim 1 of the issued patent as modified by Hayes et al. (supra) recites the claimed invention except for the first protrusion being integrally coupled to a first end portion of the member (claim 3), and except for a second protrusion integrally coupled to a second end portion of the member (claim 4).
Kim discloses a coupling assembly of a spinal stabilization device 920 (Fig. 35) wherein a member 946 comprises a first protrusion 942 integrally coupled to a first end portion of member 946 (claim 3), and a second protrusion 944 integrally coupled to a second end portion of the member 946 (claim 4). The integral coupling provides stable support for the protrusions and the member and does not require assembly thereof.
It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have integrally coupled the first and second protrusions to the first and second end portions, respectively, in view of Kim, to provide stable support for the protrusions and the member and to not require assembly thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the replacement drawings filed 03 August 2026, it is noted that not all necessary corrections were made (see objection above).
The amended abstract is accepted.
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
The amended claims stand rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773