DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2 “when the needle is in” should be “when the needle is in each of” or similar.
Claim 4, line 1-2 “between a length that is greater than 10 mm to 30 mm” should be “a length between 10 mm to 30 mm” or similar.
Claim 7, line 1-2 “between a length that is greater than 0 mm to 10 mm” should be “a length between 0 mm to 10 mm” or similar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitations “the handle” and “the slider” in line 2 and 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Weisel (US 20110224742 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weisel teaches a device for palpating and penetrating a joint capsule of a subject, comprising:
a shaft (Elongated sheath 410, Fig. 4A) having a distal tip (Distal end 418, Fig. 4A) configured for palpating the joint capsule of the subject (See Fig. 4C, capsule C is contacted by the sheath 410);
a needle disposed within the shaft and configured to penetrate the joint capsule of the subject (Elongated needle 404, Fig. 4A and 4F; paragraph 0217—needle…for penetrating the capsular tissue); and
a handle (Proximal flange 416 and proximal member 406, Fig. 4a) coupled to the shaft and comprising a slider (Proximal member 406, Fig. 4a) configured to translate the needle between a retracted state in which a distal end of the needle is retracted within the shaft and a fully deployed state in which the distal end of the needle fully extends from the distal tip of the shaft (Paragraph 0219-0225-- Inner surface 414 may be diametrically sized to enable needle 402 and sheath 410 to freely slide with respect to each other along longitudinal direction A-A. Inner surface 414 may include threads 415 which may threadably engage with a portion of needle 402…).
Regarding claim 2, Weisel teaches the device of claim 1. Weisel additionally teaches wherein the slider removably locks into place with the handle when the needle is in the retracted state and the fully deployed state (Paragraph 0219-0225-- Inner surface 414 may include threads 415 which may threadably engage with a portion of needle 402…).
Regarding claim 5, Weisel teaches the device of claim 1. Weisel additionally teaches wherein the slider is configured to translate the needle between the retracted state and a partially deployed state in which the distal end of the needle partially extends from the distal tip of the shaft (Paragraph 0222-0225-- Optionally, needle 402 may partially or fully penetrate the capsular tissue…).
Regarding claim 6, Weisel teaches the device of claim 1. Weisel additionally teaches wherein the slider removably locks into place with the handle when the needle is in the partially deployed state (Paragraph 0219-0225-- Inner surface 414 may include threads 415 which may threadably engage with a portion of needle 402…).
Regarding claim 8, Weisel teaches the device of claim 1. Weisel additionally teaches wherein the wherein each of the needle, the handle, and the slider comprises a guidewire lumen (Paragraph 0217-0219-- Needle 402 may include one or more lumens… inner surface 414 may be diametrically sized to allow other cylindrical devices, such as cannulas, sheaths, stents, etc., to fit between needle 402 and inner surface 414…).
Regarding claim 9, Weisel teaches the device of claim 1. Weisel additionally teaches wherein the handle is configured to removably attach to a cannula configured to receive the shaft (Paragraph 0217-0219-- Proximal member 406 may also be a fluidic connector, such as a Luer connector, in fluid communication with one or more lumens and respective distal openings… Inner surface 414 may include threads 415 which may threadably engage with a portion of needle 402. Inner surface 414 may be diametrically sized to allow other cylindrical devices, such as cannulas, sheaths, stents, etc., to fit between needle 402 and inner surface 414…).
Regarding claim 10, Weisel teaches the device of claim 1. Weisel additionally teaches wherein the wherein a leading tip of the needle is aligned with a side of the handle comprising the slider for orienting the leading tip of the needle (Paragraph 0218-0220; Fig. 4a—leading tip of the needle is aligned with proximal member 406).
Regarding claim 11, Weisel teaches the device of claim 1. Weisel additionally teaches wherein the wherein the distal tip comprises a blunt distal-most end oriented orthogonally to a longitudinal axis of the shaft (Fig. 4a, blunt distal-most end 418 orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the shaft; paragraph 0221—grasping members may…be retractable…).
Claim(s) 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (“Hip Arthroscopy With Fluoroscopy-Free Technique…”--cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 14, Yu teaches a method for palpating and penetrating a joint capsule of a subject, comprising: inserting a distal portion of a palpating device into a target site to contact the joint capsule of the subject (Fig. 2A—self-designed semiopen hollow guide bar…combines the functions of a guide bar and a slide; Page 2—Portals and Transverse Capsulotomy—semiopen guide bar is inserted into the incision…until its tip contacts the surface of the hip capsule);
palpating the joint capsule using a distal tip of the palpating device to determine an appropriate position for penetrating the joint capsule (Page 2—Portals and Transverse Capsulotomy—slide the guide bar distally on the bony slope of the acetabular rim, during which the operator can clearly feel the soft spot in the joint space…width of the joint space and the location of the joint capsule puncture are assessed…);
and upon determination of the appropriate position, extending a needle of the palpating device to penetrate the joint capsule (Fig. 2B-C—a long puncture needle is placed along the slide in the center of the guide bar to penetrate the joint capsule; Page 2—Portals and Transverse Capsulotomy-- a long puncture needle is placed along the slide in the center of the guide bar to penetrate the joint capsule…).
Regarding claim 15, Yu teaches the method of claim 14. Yu additionally teaches comprising, prior to fully extending the needle of the palpating device to penetrate the joint capsule, imaging the target site having the palpating device inserted therein to determine whether the palpating device is in the appropriate position for penetrating the joint capsule (Video 1, approximately 40 seconds—using fluoroscopy after insertion of the semiopen tube to confirm the position before placing the puncture needle).
Regarding claim 16, Yu teaches the method of claim 14. Yu additionally teaches comprising, after penetrating the joint capsule, retracting the needle from the joint capsule (Page 2—Portals and Transverse Capsulotomy—…allows for effective exposure of the central compartment…Note: the needle must be retracted from the joint capsule at some point in the method to allow the insertion of other instruments during the procedure; See also Fig. 3A which shows the portal created by the needle and semiopen tube with nothing in it).
Regarding claim 18, Yu teaches the method of claim 14. Yu additionally teaches wherein extending the needle to penetrate the joint capsule comprises partially extending the needle to partially penetrate the joint capsule, and the method comprises, after partially penetrating the joint capsule, fully extending the needle to fully penetrate the joint capsule (See transition between stages in Fig. 2D, where the central image shows a partially extended needle and the rightmost image shows a fully extended needle).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7, 12-13, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of the record fails to teach and/or fairly suggest, in combination with all other recited limitations, “wherein the distal end of the needle is retracted at least 1 mm from the distal tip of the shaft in the retracted state”, “wherein the distal end of the needle extends between a length that is greater than 10 mm to 30 mm from the distal tip of the shaft in the fully deployed state”, “wherein the distal end of the needle extends between a length that is greater than 0 mm to 10 mm from the distal tip of the shaft in the partially deployed state”, “wherein a diameter of the distal tip of the shaft tapers to a minimum diameter at the blunt distal-most end to facilitate inserting a distal portion of the shaft through the joint capsule”, “wherein the shaft comprises a continuous curve to the distal tip of the shaft to facilitate inserting a distal portion of the shaft through the joint capsule”, “after penetrating the joint capsule, inserting the distal portion of the palpating device through the joint capsule”, “wherein inserting the distal portion of the palpating device into the target site comprises inserting a cannula attached to the distal portion of the palpating device into the target site” and “wherein extending the needle of the palpating device comprises orienting a leading tip of the needle that is aligned with a side of the handle comprising the slider”.
Conclusion
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791