DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”), US Patent No. 12,248,723.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a display method for an electronic device having a foldable screen (figs. 4A, 4B, and 7), the method comprising: displaying a first group of service entries in a first dock bar when the electronic device detects that the foldable screen is in a folded state (fig. 7, element 710 in folded state displaying 8 icons); and displaying a second group of service entries in a second dock bar when the electronic device detects that the foldable screen is in an unfolded state (fig. 7, element 720 unfolded state displaying additional icons in 722), a second group quantity of service entries in the second group of service entries being greater than a first group quantity of service entries in the first group of service entries (fig. 7, it element 710 there are eight displayed icons and in element 720 there are 12 displayed icons in the expanded state); wherein the first dock bar is located in a display area of the foldable screen when the electronic device is in the folded state (fig. 7, icon area in 710), and the second dock bar is located in the display area of the foldable screen when the electronic device is in the unfolded state (fig. 7, icons displayed in areas 721, 722, and 723).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches wherein the foldable screen comprises at least a first screen and a second screen (fig. 7, screens 721 and 722), the first group of service entries are displayed entirely on the first screen (fig. 7, icons on screen 721), and the second group of service entries are displayed partially on the first screen and displayed partially on the second screen (fig. 7, icons in group 723).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the second group of service entries comprise some or all service entries in the first group of service entries (fig. 2, icons in display areas 721-723), and the second group of service entries further comprise another service entry, wherein the another service entry comprises one or more of the following: a service entry determined based on historical usage data of each service entry in the electronic device; a service entry determined based on a folder in the first group of service entries; or a service entry preset by a user (fig. 21A and accompanying text).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches wherein the second dock bar comprises a first sub-area and a second sub-area (fig. 7, display areas 722 and 723); the first sub-area is used to display the some or all service entries in the first group of service entries (icons displayed in 723); and the second sub-area is used to display the another service entry (icons displayed in 722).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches wherein a quantity of service entries in the second sub-area is related to a second sub-area size of the second sub-area (fig. 7, unfolded screen 720).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches wherein the second sub-area size is set by a system by default, or is determined based on an input operation of the user (fig. 7; col. 16, lines 60 – col. 17, line 20).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches wherein the first group of service entries comprise at least one folder icon, the folder icon indicates that the folder comprises one or more service entries, and when the foldable screen is in the unfolded state, some or all service entries in the one or more service entries are displayed in the second dock bar (fig. 7, folder icon).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches wherein the second dock bar comprises a first sub-area and a second sub-area (fig. 7, display areas 721-723); the second sub-area is used to display the some or all service entries in the one or more service entries (icons in display areas 721-723); and the first sub-area is used to display some or all service entries in the first group of service entries except the service entries displayed in the second sub-area (fig. 7, display icons in folded state).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying a desktop workspace on the display area of the foldable screen when the electronic device detects the foldable screen is in the folded state (figs. 19A-C); and displaying the desktop workspace and an efficiency space on the display area of the foldable screen when the electronic device detects the foldable screen is in the unfolded state (figs. 19A-C, 3rd party widget space); the desktop workspace comprising a plurality of desktop pages, each desktop page comprises one or more service entries, the desktop workspace switching from one desktop page to another desktop page when a touch operation is detected on the desktop workspace (figs. 19A-C, application icons); and the efficiency space comprising one or more service entries, the efficiency space comprising a partial area in the display area that does not switch with switching of a desktop page in the desktop workspace (figs. 19A-C, 3rd party widget).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches wherein the one or more service entries comprises in the efficiency space comprises one or more application-related service entries that are determined based on an application icon on the desktop page of the desktop workspace and that correspond to the application icon (figs. 1, 19A-19C, 21A).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches wherein content displayed in the desktop workspace and content displayed in the efficiency space support a movement between the desktop workspace and the efficiency space (figs. 19A-C).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches an electronic device (figs. 4A-4B, 7; electronic device 200), comprising: a touchscreen (figs. 4A-4B, display 250); a memory storing instructions, a plurality of applications, and one or more programs (fig. 1, memory 130); and at least one processor in communication with the touchscreen and the memory (fig. 1, processor 120), the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps: displaying a first group of service entries in a first dock bar when the electronic device detects that the foldable screen is in a folded state (fig. 7, element 710 in folded state displaying 8 icons); and displaying a second group of service entries in a second dock bar when the electronic device detects that the foldable screen is in an unfolded state (fig. 7, element 720 unfolded state displaying additional icons in 722), a second group quantity of service entries in the second group of service entries being greater than a first group quantity of service entries in the first group of service entries (fig. 7, it element 710 there are eight displayed icons and in element 720 there are 12 displayed icons in the expanded state); wherein the first dock bar is located in a display area of the foldable screen when the electronic device is in the folded state (fig. 7, icon area in 710), and the second dock bar is located in the display area of the foldable screen when the electronic device is in the unfolded state (fig. 7, icons displayed in areas 721, 722, and 723).
Regarding claim 14, it has similar limitations to those of claim 2 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 15, it has similar limitations to those of claim 3 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 16, it has similar limitations to those of claim 7 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 17, it has similar limitations to those of claim 9 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 18, it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee (see above), in view of Zheng et al. (hereinafter “Zheng”), US Patent No. 12,333,202.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 10, Lee fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more service entries displayed in the efficiency space are related to a scenario mode of the electronic device; and the scenario mode comprising one or more of a working mode, an entertainment mode, an office mode, a learning mode, a life mode, and/or a sleep mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zheng teaches a foldable display device with multiple display areas wherein one area can be seen as a working area or life mode (see fig. 11B and accompanying text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the feature of Zheng. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device that adaptively adjusts to screen size changes (Zheng; col. 1, lines 62-67).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chung (US Patent No. 10,627,931) teaches a rollable mobile terminal that includes a set of icons that is increased as the display is rolled out or expanded.
/KENNETH B LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625