Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “samidorpan” in line 15 appears to be a typographical error and should read “samidorphan”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. While the present specification discloses silicon dioxide, the present specification does not appear to provide support for the limitation “microcrystalline silicon dioxide” recited in claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recited the limitation “microcrystalline silicon dioxide” in lines 4-5. It is not entirely clear whether this limitation is intended to read as such. This is vague in view of the limitation “microcrystalline cellulose” recited in claim 7 and so as in the present disclosure. Further clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (Clinical Therapeutics/Volume 40, Number 11, 2018), in view of Turkyilmaz et al. WO 2019/190427A2.
Sun teaches a method for treating schizophrenia comprising safely administering to the patient in need thereof an oral dosage form comprising combination of olanzapine and samidorphan. See Abstract. Oral dosage form comprising a fixed dose an immediate release bilayer tablet for once a day with one layer comprising olanzapine and one layer comprising samidorphan in a dosing between 10mg/10mg and 10mg/20mg, respectively. See page 1846.
Sun does not teach the claimed tablet excipients. However, tablet comprising the claimed tablet excipients is well known in the art. See for example the teaching in Turkyilmaz, which teaches an immediate release combination of raloxifene and olanzapine to provide a stable storage dosage form with reduced side effect. See Abstract and Claims and Examples.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to, by routine experimentation arriving at the claimed invention given the teachings in the Sun reference in view of the teaching in Turkyilmaz. This is because Turkyilmaz teaches an immediate release bilayer tablet useful for the delivery of olanzapine, this is because Turkyilmaz teaches an immediate release bilayer tablet that is stable for the delivery of an antipsychotic agent including olanzapine, and this is because Turkyilmaz teaches the use of the claimed excipients to obtain an immediate release bilayer tablet is known in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/19/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 08/19/2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615