DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The Instant Application claims foreign priority to 202541014080, filed 02/18/2025. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Berriel et al. (2026/0095366).
As per claim 1, Berriel et al. teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium, comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to: receive a set of transmission control protocol indicators of performance issues (TCP IPI) data, wherein the set of TCP IPI data comprises performance metric data associated with a network communication between a client device and an endpoint [paragraphs 0097-0099];
receive queue monitoring data from a plurality of intermediate routing devices on a path of the network communication between the client device and the endpoint [paragraph 0117];
identify, based on the set of TCP IPI data in conjunction with the queue monitoring data, a particular component on the path of the network communication as a cause of a communication issue between the client device and the endpoint [paragraphs 0024, 0075 and 0111]; and
generate and provide an alert indicating the particular component as the cause of the communication issue [paragraphs 0086 and 0101].
As per claim 2, Berriel et al. teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1 comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors of the one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to: select the particular component from a set of network components of the network communication, wherein the set of network components comprises: the plurality of intermediate routing devices on the path, the endpoint of the path, and a service provider associated with the path [paragraph 0117].
As per claim 3, Berriel et al. teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1 wherein the performance metric data comprises at least one of: a round trip time (RTT) indicated by one or more TCP packets; a receive window size (RWS) of the one or more TCP packets, out port queue cache data of an access switch of the path; an indication of TCP packets being retransmitted; a maximum segment size (MSS) indicated by the one or more TCP packets; or a congestion window reduced (CWR) flag indicated by the one or more TCP packets [paragraph 0150].
As per claim 10, Berriel et al. teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the TCP IPI data is extracted from at least one of: transmission control protocol (TCP) packets or precision time protocol (PTP) packets [paragraph 0133].
Claim 11 has similar limitations as to claim 1 above therefore it is being rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 12, Berriel et al. teaches the processor-implemented method of claim 11, comprising: identifying the particular component from a set of network components of the network communication, wherein the set of network components comprises: a particular intermediate routing devices of the plurality of intermediate routing devices on the path, the endpoint of the path, and a service provider associated with the path [paragraph 0121].
As per claim 13, Berriel et al. teaches the processor-implemented method of claim 12, comprising: in response to identifying that the particular intermediate routing devices is the particular component, determining that an out port queue (OPQ) of a plurality of OPQs on the particular intermediate routing device as the cause of the communication issue [paragraph 0105].
As per claim 14, Berriel et al. teaches the processor-implemented method of claim 12, wherein the particular component comprises at least two intermediate routing devices of the plurality of intermediate routing devices [paragraph 0096].
As per claim 15, Berriel et al. teaches the processor-implemented method of claim 11, wherein the alert is provided to at least one networking entity with operational control of the particular component, comprising at least one of: an application server associated with the endpoint; a network management service, or an internet service provider [paragraph 0081].
As per claim 16, Berriel et al. teaches the processor-implemented method of claim 11, comprising: determining, from the set of TCP IPI data, that the cause of the communication issue is associated with at least one of: network congestion or network delay [paragraph 0072].
As per claim 17, Berriel et al. teaches the processor-implemented method of claim 16, wherein the alert includes an indication that the cause of the communication issue is associated with the at least one of: the network congestion or the network delay [paragraph 0063].
As per claim 18, Berriel et al. teaches a Network Issue Causation Detection (NICD) system comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: receive a set of transmission control protocol indicators of performance issues (TCP IPI) data, wherein the set of TCP IPI data comprises performance metric data associated with a network communication between a client device and an endpoint [paragraphs 0097-0099];
receive queue monitoring data from a plurality of intermediate routing devices on a network path of the network communication [paragraph 0117];
identify, based on the set of TCP IPI data in conjunction with the queue monitoring data, a particular component on the network path of the network communication as a cause of a communication issue between the client device and the endpoint [paragraphs 0024, 0075 and 0111]; and
generate and provide an alert indicating the particular component as the cause of the communication issue [paragraphs 0086 and 0101].
As per claim 19, Berriel et al. teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the NICD system is configured to: receive a notification of the communication issue from the client device; and in response to receiving the notification of the communication issue from the client device, request the queue monitoring data from the plurality of intermediate routing devices [paragraph 0039].
As per claim 20, Berriel et al. teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the NICD system is configured to: extract the set of TCP IPI data from TCP packets that are transmitted across at least part of the network path between the client device and the endpoint [paragraphs 0029-0030].
There are prior art made of record not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached.
Conclusion
Ranodhi N. Serrao
/RANODHI SERRAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444