DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 canceled.
Claims 15-34 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al(US 2022/0045838) in view of Bicksler et al(US 2006/0239458).
Claim 15: Zhang disclose encrypting the current chaotic state vector at a first device using an error correction vector and transmitting the encrypted chaotic state vector to a second device, decrypting the vector using a previous shared error correction vector to resume communication in (page 3[0053-0054],[0056]; page 4[0072]; page 5[0082]:the y(t) represents a complex chaotic variable in the drive system and is used for chaotic masking and generating ciphertext x(t) represents a reconstructed complex chaotic variable in the response system. To implement complex modified projective difference function synchronization, it needs to ensure that a squared error of the first complex state vector in the chaos equation of the response system. A transmission signal determining module, an actual transmission signal determining module, a complex state vector reconstruction module and an information signal decryption module. The information signal decryption module is configured to perform decryption according to the reconstructed complex state vector). Zhang does not specifically disclose detecting a communication failure associated with an update step. Bicksler disclose this limitation in (page 1[0003-0004]; page 2[0022]: system detects communication failure such as lose cryptographic synchronization in noisy channels. Further, when a transmitter and receiver are not synchronized, the transmitter and receiver will have different cryptographic states that must be resynchronized in order to encrypt subsequent data to be received and understood at a receiver. It is possible to majority vote and increment the frame index integer(update step)). It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to detect a communication failure associated with an update step as taught in Bicksler with system of Zhang in order to prevent transmission interruptions thus enhancing robustness of encrypted communications in the presence of channel errors or signal loss.
Claim 16: Zhang disclose the error correction vector is initialized during a session registration in (page 5[0096-0098]).
Claim 17: Zhang disclose the encrypted vector is transmitted using symmetrical encryption in (page 4[0078]).
Claim 18: Zhang disclose an updated state vector is treated as a reset vector for future sessions in (page 3[0053-0054]).
Claim 19: Zhang disclose logging an error event and recovery index in (page 3[0054]).
Claim 20: Zhang disclose the correction vector is advanced after successful synchronization in (page 4[0080-0082]).
Claim 21: Zhang disclose a recovery mechanism is initiated if an acknowledgment is not received within a timeout interval in (page 2[0032-0034]).
Claim 22: Zhang disclose communication failure is associated with a step update encrypted using a chaotic vector in (page 2[0025-0028]).
Claim 23: Zhang disclose recovery is implemented with no transmission of a step index in (page 3[0050-0052]).
Claim 24: Zhang disclose the error correction vector comprises coefficients from a distinct chaotic function in (page 1[0004-0006]).
Claim 25: Zhang disclose blockchain node logs synchronization failure events in (page 2[0042]).
Claim 26: Zhang disclose both devices utilize a recovery log to track fallback state vectors in (Page 3[0054-0056]).
Claim 27: Zhang disclose encrypted state vector messages are time stamped for integrity in (page 3[0053]).
Claim 28: Zhang disclose the correction vector is specific to the pair of devices in (page 1[0016-0018]).
Claim 29: Zhang disclose verifying the decrypted vector using a hash derived from the vector itself in (page 2[0023-0025]).
Claim 30: Zhang disclose fallback vectors are prioritized by distance from last synchronized index in (page 2[0042]; page 4[0080]).
Claim 31: Zhang disclose encrypted error messages are transmitted via a separate recovery channel in (page 3[0054-0056]).
Claim 32: Zhang disclose synchronization recovery supports concurrent multi-party sessions in (page 4[0080-0082]).
Claim 33: Zhang disclose state vector advancement resumes using the corrected vector as new origin in (page 3[0054-0055]).
Claim 34: Zhang disclose state vector update is logged in both devices before confirmation in (page 4[0066-0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the current chaotic state vector",” the encrypted chaotic state vector” and “the vector”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a communication failure associated with an update step”. Claim is vague and lacks specificity because it does not specify what constitutes “updated step” and relationship between the communication failure and the update step. Thus, the scope of this limitation cannot be determined with reasonable certainty by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “an error correction vector” is indefinite. The claim does not define the structure or content of the recited vector. It is unclear how the error correction vector is used to perform the recited encryption and decryption function. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised the metes and bounds of the claim limitation.
Claims 16-34, dependent on claim 15.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-34 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12413386. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other (see table below).
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12413386
Claim 15: A method for re-synchronizing chaotic state vector generators in a communication session, comprising: detecting a communication failure associated with an update step; encrypting the current chaotic state vector at a first device using an error correction vector; transmitting the encrypted chaotic state vector to a second device; and decrypting the vector using a previously shared error correction vector to resume communication.
Claim 1: A method for encrypting a communication session between a plurality of session devices, the method comprising: providing a common starting point for use by a chaotic state vector random generator in each session device to generate chaotic state vectors; sending to the plurality of session devices a common distance m from the common starting point for use by the chaotic state vector random generator in each session device to generate a first chaotic state vector am; updating at the plurality of session devices the common distance m; generating using the chaotic state vector random generator in each session device the first chaotic state vector am; at a sender device, encrypting a plaintext message into ciphertext using the first chaotic state vector am; and at a receiving device, decrypting the ciphertext message using the first chaotic state vector am.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to generating chaotic state vector in a communication session between devices and claims are merely a broader version of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12413386 contains at least all of the limitations (or obvious equivalents) recited in claim 15 of the instant application.
USPTO Contact Information
/HOSUK SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435