DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are the currently pending claims hereby under examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0080] of the instant specification, the statement “An end away from the contact plane is the acting portion 91” appears to contain an incorrect reference numeral and should identify the acting portion as “93”, consistent with the preceding identification of acting portion 93 and the remainder of the disclosure.
Paragraph [0061] of the instant specification, identifies the first housing as “first housing 1”. The first housing is otherwise identified by reference numeral 11, whereas numeral 1 identifies the outer housing. The inconsistent reference numeral should be corrected.
Reference numeral 34 is used for the driving unit's snapping hook in paragraph [0064] and for the locking member's locking snapping hook in paragraph [0080]. These are described as different features. The reference numerals in the description should be made consistent so that different parts are separately identifiable.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 (line 14), 16 (line 11), and 20 (line 13) recite “a single trigger” which identifies one deployment actuation that initiates the recited insertion and component-connection operation. The claims do not exclude preparatory removal of a protective covering or release of a safety interlock. For the prior-art analysis, the operative capability recited by this language is given patentable weight. The distinct ambiguity created by claim 1's imperative user-action language is addressed below.
Claim 4 (line 4) recites “fixed inside”, which is interpreted as retained in the stated housing before deployment, rather than permanently immovable throughout deployment. This is consistent with the disclosed first monitoring component being released for forward movement and the second monitoring component being released from its retaining structure during use (specification, ¶[0064]-[0065]; Figs. 12-15).
Claims 6 and 19 recites “wherein the pushing member and the restoring member at least partially overlap in the first direction” (both in lines 5-6). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, “overlap in the first direction” means that the pushing member and the restoring member have respective extents along the first direction that overlap at least partially. The limitation does not require the pushing member and restoring member to physically intersect, contact each other, or occupy the same radial position. This interpretation is consistent with paragraph [0066], which describes the first direction as the axial direction for purposes of this relationship and explains that the overlapping arrangement reduces the overall axial dimension of the device.
Claim 20 recites “enable the first monitoring component to be fixed to the second monitoring component in the first direction” (lines 14-15). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the limitation requires the first monitoring component to become fixed to the second monitoring component as a result of movement or force applied along the first direction. The limitation does not require that the resulting fixation restrain relative movement only in the first direction. This interpretation is consistent with paragraph [0056], which describes movement of the first monitoring component along the first direction causing the upper and lower housings to engage and become fixed together.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 6 (lines 2 and 4), 8 (lines 2-3 and 5-6), and 19 (lines 2 and 4) recite “pushing member configured to drive” and “restoring member configured to drive”, which are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). “Member” is a generic placeholder, and the functional modifiers identify the required movement without identifying the force-producing structure. The recited overlap, receiving grooves, positioning portions and connections specify spatial relationships but do not themselves identify the structure that produces the driving force. The corresponding structures are the disclosed compression spring 7 acting on driving unit 3 and tension spring 8 acting on puncture unit 4, with their supporting and force-transmitting connections, and equivalents thereof. The latter may be initially unstressed or initially elongated. The particular groove and connection relationships expressly added by claims 8-11 remain additional limitations (specification, ¶[0066]; Figs. 6-8; MPEP § 2181).
Claim 12 (line 4) recites “unlocking structure ... configured to drive the stop portion to disengage”, which is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). “Structure” is a generic placeholder; its placement in a movement path identifies location but does not identify the release mechanism. The corresponding structure is fixed unlocking structure 112 having a contact surface that presses the moving stop portion 33 or its trigger segment 332 to displace the stop portion out of engagement, and equivalents thereof. The identified contact surface and equivalent structures are considered under the equivalence analysis applicable to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (specification, Figs. 6, 8, 12-15; MPEP § 2181).
Claims 7 and 15 recite “trigger unit”, which is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). In the recited mechanical context, the term identifies a user-operated actuator, and the claims specify its location and movement or engagement with the locking member. This usage is consistent with disclosed trigger button 1131. Likewise, the recited stop and locking members have defined retaining engagements and permitted movement, and the driving and puncture units have defined physical movement and engagement relationships. The absence of “means” is not alone dispositive; these determinations consider the complete limitations and the disclosed mechanical context (specification, Figs. 6, 8-9, 12-15; MPEP § 2181).
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 18, line 1: “wherein-the first monitoring component” should be “wherein the first monitoring component”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “prior to use, remove the cover and perform a single trigger to enable the driving unit to move along the first direction, thereby partially inserting the sensor into a host and establishing an electrical connectivity between the first monitoring component and the second monitoring component” (lines 14-17). Claim 1 is directed to a continuous analyte monitoring device, but the quoted limitation requires the acts of removing the cover and performing a single trigger rather than merely defining a capability or configuration of the claimed device. It is therefore unclear whether the claim is satisfied by making or possessing the recited device or only when the cover is removed and the single trigger is performed. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the limitation as requiring the device to be configured such that, upon removal of the cover and performance of a single trigger, the driving unit moves along the first direction, thereby partially inserting the sensor into a host and establishing electrical connectivity between the first monitoring component and the second monitoring component. This working interpretation permits examination but does not resolve the uncertainty as to when the apparatus claim is satisfied. Accordingly, claim 1 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). An apparatus claim requiring user acts creates uncertainty as to whether infringement occurs upon provision of the apparatus or performance of those acts (MPEP § 2173.05(p)(II); IPXL Holdings, L.L.C. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2005)).
Claims 2-15 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending U.S. Application No. 19/190,833, through its dependence from claim 1, in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1).
The analysis follows. The bolded and underlined portions in the Instant Application Claim Language column identify language absent from or materially different from reference claim 13 and the limitations inherited through claim 1.
Instant Application Claim Language
Corresponding Reference-Claim Language
Concise Double-Patenting / Obviousness Analysis
1. A continuous analyte monitoring device, comprising:
Reference claim 1: “A continuous analyte monitoring device, comprising:”
Claim 1 and reference claim 1 concern continuous analyte monitoring devices.
an outer housing having a first end and a second end that are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction, the second end having an implantation opening;
Reference claim 1: “an outer housing having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end in a first direction, the second end having an engagement opening; a bottom housing connected to the second end and having an implantation opening”.
Reference claim 13 incorporates reference claim 1. The claimed outer housing and connected bottom housing together constitute the assembled outer housing under the instant claim, whose second end is the skin-facing end of the connected bottom housing. The implantation opening is already at that end. This construction preserves both reference-claimed housing pieces and the laterally removable seal; it does not require relocating the opening or eliminating the seal (reference claims 1 and 13).
a cover detachably connected to the second end and covering the implantation opening;
Reference claim 1: requires a sealing assembly movable to unseal the engagement opening; it does not recite a detachable cover over the implantation opening.
Reference claims 1 and 13 do not require a detachable cover over the implantation opening; their laterally movable sealing assembly seals the engagement opening. Chae teaches removable protective cap 200 at the application-side end of its applicator, removed before implantation (Chae, ¶[0063], [0068], [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a separate detachable cap over the lower implantation opening of the reference-claimed assembled housing, as taught by Chae, to shield the insertion site and sensor/needle from contact before use while retaining the reference seal for its separate function of closing the engagement opening (Chae, ¶[0063], [0068], [0131]; reference claim 1).
a driving unit disposed inside the outer housing and movable relative to the outer housing along the first direction;
Reference claim 13: “further comprising a driving unit and a puncture unit that are disposed inside the outer housing”, and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”.
Reference claim 13 requires a driving unit to drive the puncture unit, but does not expressly require the driving unit itself to translate. Chae teaches translating plunger body 300 carrying the needle withdrawing body during insertion. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine reference claim 13 with that translating plunger arrangement to transmit the insertion force by an axially guided carrier and permit the separate needle-return operation. The translating plunger supplies movement of the driving unit relative to the housing, rather than inferring that movement solely from the word “drive” (Chae, ¶[0122]-[0127], [0132]-[0134]).
a puncture unit disposed inside the outer housing, the puncture unit being movable along the first direction with the driving unit and movable relative to the driving unit along a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction; and
Reference claim 13: “a driving unit and a puncture unit that are disposed inside the outer housing” and “the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”; opposite-direction needle withdrawal is not recited.
Reference claim 13 does not expressly recite return movement of the puncture unit relative to the driving unit. Chae teaches the plunger body 300 and needle withdrawing body 400 moving together during insertion, then releasing their connection to enable spring S2 to return the needle relative to the plunger (Chae, ¶[0122]-[0127]). It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the invention of reference claims 1 and 13 with Chae’s releasable needle carrier and return spring to automatically withdraw the puncture needle after sensor placement while the driving unit completes its insertion stroke.
a monitoring unit comprising a first monitoring component and a second monitoring component that are spaced apart from each other inside the outer housing along the first direction, the first monitoring component comprising a sensor, and the second monitoring component comprising a signal processing module, wherein
Reference claim 1: “a monitoring assembly comprising a first monitoring unit fixed inside the outer housing and a second monitoring unit fixed at the bottom housing, the first monitoring unit comprising a sensor, and the second monitoring unit comprising a signal processing module”; and a sealing assembly located between the units.
Reference claim 1 places the sensor-containing unit in the upper housing and the signal-processing unit at the connected bottom housing, with the sealing assembly between them. Both units are therefore inside the assembled outer housing identified above and separated along the insertion path before coupling. Reference claim 13 supplies the trigger-operated insertion and electrical-connection relationship. No relocation of the second unit is proposed; the bottom housing and intervening removable seal retain their claimed functions (reference claims 1 and 13).
prior to use, remove the cover and perform a single trigger to enable the driving unit to move along the first direction, thereby partially inserting the sensor into a host and establishing an electrical connectivity between the first monitoring component and the second monitoring component.
Reference claim 13: “the first end is equipped with a trigger unit” and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction, to cause the first monitoring unit to electrically connect the second monitoring unit and cause the sensor to be partially inserted into a host”. Reference claim 1: does not recite a detachable cover.
Reference claim 13 expressly links trigger activation to sensor insertion and electrical connection (reference claim 13). Chae removes protective cap 200 before activation (Chae, ¶[0063], [0068], [0131]). It would have been prima facie obvious to use Chae’s pre-use cap-removal sequence with the reference claim 13 device to uncover the implantation opening before the single trigger-actuated deployment, while maintaining protection before use.
16. A continuous analyte monitoring device, comprising:
Reference claim 1: “A continuous analyte monitoring device, comprising:”
Claim 16 and reference claim 1 concern the same type of analyte monitoring device; reference claim 13 incorporates claim 1.
an outer housing having a first end and a second end that are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction, the second end having an implantation opening;
Reference claim 1: “an outer housing having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end in a first direction, the second end having an engagement opening; a bottom housing connected to the second end and having an implantation opening”.
Reference claim 13 incorporates reference claim 1. The claimed outer housing and connected bottom housing together constitute the assembled outer housing under the instant claim, whose second end is the skin-facing end of the connected bottom housing. The implantation opening is already at that end. This construction preserves both reference-claimed housing pieces and the laterally removable seal; it does not require relocating the opening or eliminating the seal (reference claims 1 and 13).
a driving unit disposed inside the outer housing and movable relative to the outer housing along the first direction;
Reference claim 13: “further comprising a driving unit and a puncture unit that are disposed inside the outer housing”, and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”.
Reference claim 13 requires a driving unit to drive the puncture unit, but does not expressly require the driving unit itself to translate. Chae teaches translating plunger body 300 carrying the needle withdrawing body during insertion. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine reference claim 13 with that translating plunger arrangement to transmit the insertion force by an axially guided carrier and permit the separate needle-return operation. The translating plunger supplies movement of the driving unit relative to the housing, rather than inferring that movement solely from the word “drive” (Chae, ¶[0122]-[0127], [0132]-[0134]).
a puncture unit disposed inside the outer housing, the puncture unit being movable along the first direction with the driving unit and movable relative to the outer housing along a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction; and
Reference claim 13: “a driving unit and a puncture unit that are disposed inside the outer housing” and “the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”; opposite-direction needle withdrawal is not recited.
Reference claim 13 does not expressly recite opposite-direction needle withdrawal. Chae teaches the plunger body 300 and needle withdrawing body 400 initially moving together, followed by disengagement and spring S2 returning the needle (Chae, ¶[0122]-[0127], Figs. 21-23). It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the invention of reference claims 1 and 13 with Chae’s disengaging, spring-biased needle-return mechanism so that after the driving unit advances the sensor into the host, the needle retracts independently, avoiding the need for a separate withdrawal step and leaving the sensor implanted.
a monitoring unit comprising a first monitoring component and a second monitoring component that are spaced apart from each other inside the outer housing, wherein
Reference claim 1: “a monitoring assembly comprising a first monitoring unit fixed inside the outer housing and a second monitoring unit fixed at the bottom housing, the first monitoring unit comprising a sensor, and the second monitoring unit comprising a signal processing module”.
Reference claim 1 places the sensor-containing unit in the upper housing and the signal-processing unit at the connected bottom housing, with the sealing assembly between them. Both units are therefore inside the assembled outer housing identified above and separated along the insertion path before coupling. Reference claim 13 supplies the trigger-operated insertion and electrical-connection relationship. No relocation of the second unit is proposed; the bottom housing and intervening removable seal retain their claimed functions (reference claims 1 and 13).
a single trigger is performed to move the driving unit along the first direction to partially insert a sensor into a host and electrically connect the first monitoring component with the second monitoring component.
Reference claim 13: “the first end is equipped with a trigger unit” and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction, to cause the first monitoring unit to electrically connect the second monitoring unit and cause the sensor to be partially inserted into a host”.
Reference claim 13 expressly recites one trigger-unit activation producing implantation and electrical connection. This supports the same operative relationship in claim 16.
Claims 2 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending U.S. Application No. 19/190,833, through its dependence from claim 1, in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1).
The analysis follows. The bolded and underlined portions in the Instant Application Claim Language column identify language absent from or materially different from reference claim 13 and the limitations inherited through claim 1.
Instant Application Claim Language
Corresponding Reference-Claim Language
Concise Double-Patenting / Obviousness Analysis
2. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 1, wherein the first monitoring component further comprises a battery configured to be electrically connected to the second monitoring component.
Reference claim 1: “a first monitoring unit ... comprising a sensor” and “a second monitoring unit ... comprising a signal processing module”. Reference claim 13: activation causes the first monitoring unit to electrically connect the second monitoring unit. Neither reference claim recites a battery in the first monitoring unit.
The claim 1 DP analysis supplies the inherited deployment-established electrical interface. Chae places battery 540 in sensor-containing module 20 and supplies power through PCB 530 and connector terminal 513 to the subsequently connected transmitter 30 (Chae ¶[0078], [0082]). It would have been obvious to place a battery in the reference-claimed sensor-containing first unit and supply power to the second unit through the electrical interface established by reference claim 13 upon deployment, thereby allowing the two units to remain electrically separated before insertion while supplying operating power after coupling. The reference claims do not require a battery in either monitoring unit.
17. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 16, wherein the first monitoring component further comprises a battery configured to be electrically connected to the second monitoring component.
Reference claim 1: “a first monitoring unit ... comprising a sensor” and “a second monitoring unit ... comprising a signal processing module”. Reference claim 13: activation causes the first monitoring unit to electrically connect the second monitoring unit. Neither reference claim recites a battery in the first monitoring unit.
The claim 16 DP analysis supplies the inherited insertion and coupling arrangement. Chae teaches a battery in sensor module 20 delivering power to the separately connected transmitter through the coupled electrical interface (Chae ¶[0078], [0082]). It would have been obvious to allocate the battery to the reference-claimed sensor-containing first unit so the claimed trigger-established connection also completes a supply path to the second unit, avoiding a need for that path to be operative before the monitoring units are coupled. No reference-claimed transmitter-side battery is presumed.
Claims 3, 4, 14, 18 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending U.S. Application No. 19/190,833, through its dependence from claim 1, in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1).
The analysis follows. The bolded and underlined portions in the Instant Application Claim Language column identify language absent from or materially different from reference claim 13 and the limitations inherited through claim 1.
Instant Application Claim Language
Corresponding Reference-Claim Language
Concise Double-Patenting / Obviousness Analysis
3. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 1, wherein the first monitoring component comprises an upper housing, the sensor being disposed at the upper housing, the second monitoring component further comprises a lower housing, the signal processing module being disposed at the lower housing, and the upper housing and the lower housing are connected to each other to enable the upper housing and the lower housing to be sealed.
Reference claim 1: “a first monitoring unit fixed inside the outer housing and a second monitoring unit fixed at the bottom housing” and a “sealing assembly ... located between” them. Reference claim 13: requires triggering of insertion/electrical connection; neither claim recites the two component housings sealed together.
Choi teaches sensor housing 120 fitted to electronics housing 210 and adhesive layer 230 sealing electrical contact portions (Choi ¶[0072], [0087]-[0091], [0191]-[0192]). It would have been obvious to seal the reference-claimed coupled monitoring-unit housings against moisture after the reference-claimed movable seal is removed, preserving that separate seal and the subsequent electrical connection.
4. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 1, wherein the outer housing comprises a first housing comprising a connection portion, and a second housing connected to the connection portion, wherein the cover is detachably connected to the second housing to cover the implantation opening, the first monitoring component is fixed inside the first housing, and the second monitoring component is fixed inside the second housing.
Reference claim 1: “an outer housing ... the second end having an engagement opening; a bottom housing connected to the second end and having an implantation opening”, and monitoring units positioned respectively in the outer and bottom housings. Reference claim 13: adds deployment operation but no detachable cover.
Reference claim 1 already supplies the first-housing/bottom-housing connection and retains the first monitoring unit in the upper housing; the broadly recited connection portion need not adopt Choi’s particular hook. Chae supplies the removable cap inherited from claim 1 (Chae ¶[0068]). Reference claim 1 fixes the second monitoring unit at the bottom housing but does not expressly specify retention inside a recessed second housing. Choi teaches base unit 200 received and retained within recess 313 of base frame 310 (Choi ¶[0105]-[0106]; Figs. 11-13). It would have been obvious to retain the reference-claimed second monitoring unit in such a recess at the connected bottom housing to support it before deployment, while preserving the reference-claimed separate movable seal and mounting the removable cap at the skin-facing second housing.
14. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 1, further comprising a locking member disposed inside the outer housing, the locking member being elastically deformable or movable relative to the outer housing to have a locked state in which the locking member is engaged with the driving unit to restrict a movement of the driving unit and an unlocked state in which the locking member is disengaged from the driving unit.
Reference claim 13: “the first end is equipped with a trigger unit” and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”. Reference claim 13 does not recite a movable locking member engaging the driver.
Choi’s stopper 500 selectively retains shuttle 441 and translates away from shuttle protrusion 444 to release insertion spring 491 (Choi ¶[0169]-[0174]). It would have been obvious to employ this known predeployment driver restraint in the reference-claimed triggered inserter to prevent premature movement while permitting intentional release.
18. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 16, wherein—the first monitoring component is configured to move along the first direction to establish an electrical connectivity with the second monitoring component.
Reference claim 13: “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction, to cause the first monitoring unit to electrically connect the second monitoring unit”. Reference claim 13 does not specify that the first unit itself advances.
Reference claim 13 states the result of electrical connection but does not expressly identify which monitoring unit moves (reference claim 13). Choi teaches the sensor unit 100 traveling toward and attaching to the base unit 200 during insertion (Choi, ¶[0191]-[0192]). It would have been prima facie obvious to use Choi’s forward-moving sensor-unit arrangement in the trigger-operated invention of reference claim 13, so that the sensor-bearing first unit is advanced into engagement with the second unit to achieve the already claimed electrical connection. The needle withdrawal of instant claim 16 is addressed by Chae as mapped above.
20. A continuous analyte monitoring device, comprising:
Reference claim 1: “A continuous analyte monitoring device, comprising:”
Instant claim 20 and reference claim 1 concern the same monitoring-device subject matter. Reference claim 13 incorporates claim 1.
an outer housing having a first end and a second end that are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction, the second end having an implantation opening;
Reference claim 1: “an outer housing having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end in a first direction, the second end having an engagement opening; a bottom housing connected to the second end and having an implantation opening”.
Reference claim 13 incorporates reference claim 1. The claimed outer housing and connected bottom housing together constitute the assembled outer housing under the instant claim, whose second end is the skin-facing end of the connected bottom housing. The implantation opening is already at that end. This construction preserves both reference-claimed housing pieces and the laterally removable seal; it does not require relocating the opening or eliminating the seal (reference claims 1 and 13).
a driving unit disposed inside the outer housing and movable relative to the outer housing along the first direction;
Reference claim 13: “further comprising a driving unit and a puncture unit that are disposed inside the outer housing”, and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”.
Reference claim 13 requires a driving unit to drive the puncture unit, but does not expressly require the driving unit itself to translate. Chae teaches translating plunger body 300 carrying the needle withdrawing body during insertion. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine reference claim 13 with that translating plunger arrangement to transmit the insertion force by an axially guided carrier and permit the separate needle-return operation. The translating plunger supplies movement of the driving unit relative to the housing, rather than inferring that movement solely from the word “drive” (Chae, ¶[0122]-[0127], [0132]-[0134]).
a puncture unit disposed inside the outer housing, the puncture unit being movable along the first direction with the driving unit and movable relative to the outer housing along a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction;
Reference claim 13: “a driving unit and a puncture unit that are disposed inside the outer housing” and “the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”; opposite-direction needle withdrawal is not recited.
Reference claim 13 does not expressly require withdrawal. Chae teaches initially concurrent plunger/needle movement, subsequent disengagement, and spring S2 needle retraction (Chae, ¶[0122]-[0127]). It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the invention of reference claims 1 and 13 with Chae’s spring-driven withdrawal to remove the puncture needle after sensor placement without a separate user withdrawal operation.
a monitoring unit comprising a first monitoring component and a second monitoring component that are spaced apart from each other inside the outer housing along the first direction, the first monitoring component comprising a sensor, and the second monitoring component comprising a signal processing module, wherein
Reference claim 1: “a monitoring assembly comprising a first monitoring unit fixed inside the outer housing and a second monitoring unit fixed at the bottom housing, the first monitoring unit comprising a sensor, and the second monitoring unit comprising a signal processing module”.
Reference claim 1 places the sensor-containing unit in the upper housing and the signal-processing unit at the connected bottom housing, with the sealing assembly between them. Both units are therefore inside the assembled outer housing identified above and separated along the insertion path before coupling. Reference claim 13 supplies the trigger-operated insertion and electrical-connection relationship. No relocation of the second unit is proposed; the bottom housing and intervening removable seal retain their claimed functions (reference claims 1 and 13).
a single trigger is performed to move the driving unit along the first direction to partially insert the sensor into a host and enable the first monitoring component to be fixed to the second monitoring component in the first direction.
Reference claim 13: “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction, to cause the first monitoring unit to electrically connect the second monitoring unit and cause the sensor to be partially inserted into a host”. Reference claim 13 does not expressly require physical fixation of the monitoring units.
Reference claim 13 requires trigger-actuated sensor insertion and electrical connection, but does not expressly require the first and second monitoring units to be physically fixed together after actuation (reference claims 1 and 13). Choi teaches coupling sensor unit 100 to base unit 200 using adhesive layer 230 during the applicator insertion sequence (Choi, ¶[0161], [0191]-[0192]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a corresponding attachment interface between the reference-claimed monitoring units so they remain mechanically secured after trigger-actuated insertion and withdrawal of the puncture unit, thereby maintaining their operative alignment and electrical connection following removal of the applicator. The attachment would occur after the reference seal is withdrawn laterally, preserving the reference-claimed unsealing operation (reference claims 1 and 13; Choi, ¶[0161], [0191]-[0192]).
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending U.S. Application No. 19/190,833, through its dependence from claim 1, in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), and further in view of Brister et al. (US 2006/0020187 A1).
The analysis follows. The bolded and underlined portions in the Instant Application Claim Language column identify language absent from or materially different from reference claim 13 and the limitations inherited through claim 1.
Instant Application Claim Language
Corresponding Reference-Claim Language
Concise Double-Patenting / Obviousness Analysis
5. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 4, wherein “the cover is equipped with a support post extending towards the outer housing and in contact with the second monitoring component to support the second monitoring component”.
Reference claim 1: “a second monitoring unit fixed at the bottom housing”, and “a bottom housing connected to the second end and having an implantation opening”. Reference claims 1 and 13 do not recite a removable cap or support post.
Chae teaches inner support 203 rising from protective cap 200 to bear against a preinstalled sensor module and improve structural stability (Chae ¶[0072]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to include a corresponding inward support on the reference-claimed applicator’s protective cap to stabilize the bottom-housing monitoring unit during storage; the cap and support are removed before deployment.
Claim 5 (additional recitation): “the second housing comprises a fixing portion configured for interference fit with the second monitoring component”.
Reference claim 1: “a second monitoring unit fixed at the bottom housing”. Reference claims 1 and 13 do not specify an interference-fit fixing portion.
Reference claim 1 already fixes the second monitoring unit at the bottom housing. Brister teaches releasable retention of a monitoring electronics unit by an interference fit (Brister claims 10-11), while Choi illustrates retention of a base unit at a lower housing recess (Choi ¶[0105]-[0106]). It would have been obvious to select a releasable interference-fit fixing portion for the reference-claimed bottom-housing monitoring unit to resist inadvertent displacement during storage and handling while allowing normal separation of the applicator after deployment. This does not require importing Choi’s positive locking hook into the reference-claimed device.
Claims 6 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending U.S. Application No. 19/190,833, through its dependence from claim 1, in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2016/0157759 A1).
The analysis follows. The bolded and underlined portions in the Instant Application Claim Language column identify language absent from or materially different from reference claim 13 and the limitations inherited through claim 1.
Instant Application Claim Language
Corresponding Reference-Claim Language
Concise Double-Patenting / Obviousness Analysis
6. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 1, further comprising: a pushing member configured to drive the driving unit to move along the first direction; and a restoring member configured to drive the puncture unit to move along the second direction, wherein the pushing member and the restoring member at least partially overlap in the first direction.
Reference claim 13: “a driving unit and a puncture unit that are disposed inside the outer housing” and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”. Reference claims 1 and 13 do not recite two overlapping springs.
Reference claim 13 provides trigger-driven insertion; the independent-claim DP analysis further applies Chae’s translating driver and automatic needle withdrawal. Choi teaches insertion spring 491 and tension-type needle-return spring 496 for driving those respective operations (Choi ¶[0146]-[0147], [0153]). It would have been obvious to implement the reference-claimed insertion operation and Chae-based automatic puncture-unit withdrawal using these stored-energy spring arrangements so that a single trigger releases the insertion force and subsequent return occurs without a separate manual withdrawal stroke. Yang teaches inner and outer insertion/return springs having overlapping axial extents (Yang ¶[0121]-[0126]; Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to package the adopted springs in axially overlapping, radially separated regions to reduce the housing height while preserving the reference-claimed monitoring-unit coupling and separate sealing assembly, as well as the insertion and withdrawal operations.
19. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 16, further comprising: a pushing member configured to drive the driving unit to move along the first direction, and a restoring member configured to drive the puncture unit to move along the second direction, wherein the pushing member and the restoring member at least partially overlap in the first direction.
Reference claim 13: “a driving unit and a puncture unit that are disposed inside the outer housing” and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”. Reference claims 1 and 13 do not recite two overlapping springs or a spring-return mechanism.
Reference claim 13 provides trigger-driven insertion; the independent-claim DP analysis further applies Chae’s translating driver and automatic needle withdrawal. Choi teaches insertion spring 491 and tension-type needle-return spring 496 for driving those respective operations (Choi ¶[0146]-[0147], [0153]). It would have been obvious to implement the reference-claimed insertion operation and Chae-based automatic puncture-unit withdrawal using these stored-energy spring arrangements so that a single trigger releases the insertion force and subsequent return occurs without a separate manual withdrawal stroke. Yang teaches inner and outer insertion/return springs having overlapping axial extents (Yang ¶[0121]-[0126]; Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to package the adopted springs in axially overlapping, radially separated regions to reduce the housing height while preserving the reference-claimed monitoring-unit coupling and separate sealing assembly, as well as the insertion and withdrawal operations.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending U.S. Application No. 19/190,833, through its dependence from claim 1, in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), and further in view of Peterson et al. (US 2022/0225899 A1).
The analysis follows. The bolded and underlined portions in the Instant Application Claim Language column identify language absent from or materially different from reference claim 13 and the limitations inherited through claim 1.
Instant Application Claim Language
Corresponding Reference-Claim Language
Concise Double-Patenting / Obviousness Analysis
7. The continuous analyte monitoring device according to claim 1, further comprising a trigger unit disposed at the first end, the trigger unit being movable or deformable along the first direction to trigger the driving unit, to enable the first monitoring component or the second monitoring component to move along the first direction.
Reference claim 13: “the first end is equipped with a trigger unit” and “activating the trigger unit causes the driving unit to drive the puncture unit to move along the first direction”. Reference claim 13 does not specify that the first-end trigger moves or deforms axially.
Reference claim 13 already specifies a trigger unit at the first end and trigger-initiated movement of the driving unit. Peterson teaches a first-end deployment button pressed axially toward the skin (Peterson ¶[0146], [0150]; Figs. 48-57), and Choi teaches advancing the sensor-containing unit during deployment (Choi ¶[0147], [0191]). It would have been obvious to use an axially pressed first-end actuator with the reference-claimed trigger mechanism so that the applicator may be held against the skin while the sensor-containing unit advances to perform the already-claimed insertion and electrical coupling. No particular Choi lateral stopper or tab interlock is required for this DP modification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claim 16, Choi teaches a continuous analyte monitoring device (Choi, ¶[0069]: “An applicator assembly (10) includes a sensor unit (100) including a sensor (110) that is inserted into the skin of a user and measures biometric information, and a base unit (200) that is coupled with the sensor unit (100) to form a body attachable unit (20), and an applicator (30) for attaching the body attachable unit (20) to the skin of a user”, wherein applicator assembly 10 provides an analyte-monitoring sensor and applicator for placing the sensor in a user).
Choi further teaches an outer housing having a first end and a second end that are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction, the second end having an implantation opening (Choi, ¶[0104]-[0105]; Figs. 10-13, 21-25, wherein applicator body 300 comprises base frame 310, middle frame 330 and top case 360; top case 360 defines the first end and skin-contacting bottom portion 312 defines the opposite second end. The skin-facing mouth of recess 313 is the implantation opening at that second end. Base frame opening 314 is an internal opening in the aligned implantation path, rather than the exterior mouth itself).
Choi further teaches a driving unit disposed inside the outer housing and movable relative to the outer housing along the first direction (Choi, ¶[0123]: “The insertion unit (440) includes a shuttle (441) movably installed inside the column member (410)” and “The shuttle (441) is coupled with the sensor unit (100) and can move from the first position to the second position inside the applicator body (300)”, wherein shuttle 441 corresponds to the driving unit and is movable inside applicator body 300; Figs. 11, 21-25, wherein shuttle 441 moves relative to applicator body 300 from the upper portion of the applicator toward skin-facing bottom portion 312 along the claimed first direction).
Choi further teaches a puncture unit disposed inside the outer housing, the puncture unit being movable along the first direction with the driving unit and movable relative to the outer housing along a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction (Choi, ¶[0123]: “a needle assembly (460) that can move together with the shuttle (441)”, wherein needle assembly 460 corresponds to the puncture unit and moves with shuttle 441 during the implantation stroke; ¶[0149]: “The needle assembly (460) includes a carrier (462) ... and a needle (485) coupled to the carrier (462)”; ¶[0150]: “A portion of the carrier (462) engages with the shuttle (441) so that it can advance together with the shuttle (441) from the first position to the second position” and “the carrier (462) is disengaged from the shuttle (441) in the second position and may retreat in a direction away from the sensor unit (100)”; Figs. 11, 23-27, wherein carrier 462 and needle 485 are disposed within applicator body 300, initially advance with shuttle 441 toward the skin along the first direction, and thereafter retreat within applicator body 300 away from the skin along the opposite second direction).
Choi further teaches a monitoring unit comprising a first monitoring component and a second monitoring component that are spaced apart from each other inside the outer housing (Choi, ¶[0100]: “The sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200) are installed in the applicator (30) in a separated state”; ¶[0102]: “The sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200) are spaced apart from each other and are respectively mounted on the applicator (30)”; Fig. 11, wherein sensor unit 100 and base unit 200 correspond to the first and second monitoring components and are shown spaced apart from one another within applicator body 300 before deployment).
Base unit 200 is received in recess 313 formed in bottom portion 312 of applicator body 300, so it is accommodated within the housing's recessed lower region even though its skin-facing adhesive surface remains exposed at the implantation opening. “Inside” does not require the component to be enclosed on every side. Sensor unit 100 is positioned above that received base unit before deployment (Choi, ¶[0105]-[0106]; Figs. 10-13, 21-23).
Choi further teaches a single trigger is performed to move the driving unit along the first direction to partially insert a sensor into a host and electrically connect the first monitoring component with the second monitoring component (Choi, ¶[0190]: “when the operating member (365) is pressed by a user, the operating member (365) presses the stopper member (500)”, wherein a single press of operating member 365 initiates the deployment operation; ¶[0191]: “the shuttle (441) deviates from the stopper member (500) and moves to the second position by the elastic member (491)” and “As the shuttle (441) moves to the second position, the needle (485) and the sensor (110) are inserted into the skin of a user”, wherein the single trigger causes shuttle 441 to move along the first direction and partially inserts sensor 110 into the host; ¶[0191]: “by attaching the sensor unit (100) to the base unit (200) by the adhesive layer (230), the body attachable unit (20) is assembled”; ¶[0089]: “The base unit-electrical contact portion (225) ... contacts the sensor unit-electrical contact portion (146) of sensor unit (100) when sensor unit (100) is coupled to the base unit (200)”, wherein the same trigger-driven movement couples sensor unit 100 to base unit 200 and thereby brings their electrical contact portions into contact to electrically connect the first and second monitoring components).
Moving tab 600 is first pulled to remove protective sheet 240 and release the safety interlock. That preparatory operation does not advance the sensor into the host. After preparation, one press of operating member 365 releases the shuttle and initiates insertion and component coupling, satisfying the single-deployment-actuation construction stated above (Choi, ¶[0181]-[0183], [0188]-[0192]; Figs. 21-25).
Regarding claim 18, Choi further teaches the first monitoring component is configured to move along the first direction to establish an electrical connectivity with the second monitoring component (Choi, ¶[0147]: “may move the sensor unit (100) toward the base unit (200)”, wherein sensor unit 100 corresponds to the first monitoring component and moves with shuttle 441 toward base unit 200 from the first position to the second position along the first direction established regarding claim 16; Figs. 23-25; ¶[0089]: “contacts the sensor unit-electrical contact portion (146) of the sensor unit (100) when sensor unit (100) is coupled to the base unit (200)”, wherein base unit 200 corresponds to the second monitoring component and movement of sensor unit 100 into the coupled position establishes electrical contact between sensor unit 100 and base unit 200).
Regarding claim 20, Choi teaches a continuous analyte monitoring device (Choi, ¶[0069]: “An applicator assembly (10) includes a sensor unit (100) including a sensor (110) that is inserted into the skin of a user and measures biometric information, and a base unit (200) that is coupled with the sensor unit (100) to form a body attachable unit (20), and an applicator (30) for attaching the body attachable unit (20) to the skin of a user”, wherein applicator assembly 10 provides an analyte-monitoring sensor and applicator for placing the sensor in a user).
Choi further teaches an outer housing having a first end and a second end that are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction, the second end having an implantation opening (Choi, ¶[0104]-[0105]; Figs. 10-13, 21-25, wherein applicator body 300 comprises base frame 310, middle frame 330 and top case 360; top case 360 defines the first end and skin-contacting bottom portion 312 defines the opposite second end. The skin-facing mouth of recess 313 is the implantation opening at that second end. Base frame opening 314 is an internal opening in the aligned implantation path, rather than the exterior mouth itself).
Choi further teaches a driving unit disposed inside the outer housing and movable relative to the outer housing along the first direction (Choi, ¶[0123]: “The insertion unit (440) includes a shuttle (441) movably installed inside the column member (410)” and “The shuttle (441) is coupled with the sensor unit (100) and can move from the first position to the second position inside the applicator body (300)”, wherein shuttle 441 corresponds to the driving unit and is movable inside applicator body 300; Figs. 11, 21-25, wherein shuttle 441 moves relative to applicator body 300 toward skin-facing bottom portion 312 along the claimed first direction).
Choi further teaches a puncture unit disposed inside the outer housing, the puncture unit being movable along the first direction with the driving unit and movable relative to the outer housing along a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction (Choi, ¶[0123]: “a needle assembly (460) that can move together with the shuttle (441)”, wherein needle assembly 460 corresponds to the puncture unit and moves with shuttle 441 during the implantation stroke; ¶[0149]: “The needle assembly (460) includes a carrier (462) ... and a needle (485) coupled to the carrier (462)”; ¶[0150]: “A portion of the carrier (462) engages with the shuttle (441) so that it can advance together with the shuttle (441) from the first position to the second position” and “the carrier (462) is disengaged from the shuttle (441) in the second position and may retreat in a direction away from the sensor unit (100)”; Figs. 11, 23-27, wherein carrier 462 and needle 485 are disposed within applicator body 300, advance with shuttle 441 toward the skin along the first direction, and thereafter retreat within applicator body 300 away from the skin along the opposite second direction).
Choi further teaches a monitoring unit comprising a first monitoring component and a second monitoring component that are spaced apart from each other inside the outer housing along the first direction, the first monitoring component comprising a sensor, and the second monitoring component comprising a signal processing module (Choi, ¶[0100]: “The sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200) are installed in the applicator (30) in a separated state”; ¶[0102]: “The sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200) are spaced apart from each other and are respectively mounted on the applicator (30)”; Figs. 11, 21-23, wherein sensor unit 100 and base unit 200 correspond to the first and second monitoring components, are both positioned within applicator body 300, and are spaced from one another along the same longitudinal first direction extending toward skin-facing bottom portion 312; ¶[0072]: “The sensor unit (100) includes the sensor (110)”, wherein the first monitoring component comprises sensor 110; ¶[0087]: “the base unit (200) includes a base unit housing (210) ... [and] electronic components installed inside the base unit housing (210)”; ¶[0087]: “The circuit board (223) may be equipped with a processor chip for processing signals”, wherein base unit 200 contains the claimed signal processing module).
The location of base unit 200 within recess 313 satisfies “inside the outer housing” for the reasons stated regarding claim 16. Its exposure at the open skin-facing side does not place the received base unit outside the housing recess (Choi, ¶[0105]-[0106]; Figs. 11-13, 21-23).
Choi further teaches a single trigger is performed to move the driving unit along the first direction to partially insert the sensor into a host and enable the first monitoring component to be fixed to the second monitoring component in the first direction (Choi, ¶[0190]: “when the operating member (365) is pressed by a user, the operating member (365) presses the stopper member (500)”, wherein a single press initiates the deployment operation; ¶[0191]: “the shuttle (441) deviates from the stopper member (500) and moves to the second position by the elastic member (491)” and “As the shuttle (441) moves to the second position, the needle (485) and the sensor (110) are inserted into the skin of a user”, wherein the single trigger moves shuttle 441 and sensor unit 100 toward base unit 200 along the first direction and partially inserts sensor 110 into the host; ¶[0191]: “by attaching the sensor unit (100) to the base unit (200) by the adhesive layer (230), the body attachable unit (20) is assembled”; ¶[0161]: “As the sensor unit (100) is fixed to the base unit (200) by the adhesive layer (230)”; Figs. 23-25, wherein the trigger-driven movement along the first direction terminates with sensor unit 100 fixed to base unit 200 at the second position, thereby satisfying the claimed fixation of the first monitoring component to the second monitoring component in the first direction).
The preparatory tab-removal operation and subsequent single deployment press are distinguished as discussed regarding claim 16. The recited fixation is supplied by adhesive attachment during the forward stroke, not merely by eventual electrical contact (Choi, ¶[0161], [0188]-[0192]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), hereinafter Chae.
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a continuous analyte monitoring device (Choi, ¶[0005]-[0007]: “continuously measuring blood glucose levels”, wherein Choi describes continuous glucose monitoring; ¶[0069]: “An applicator assembly (10) includes a sensor unit (100) including a sensor (110) that is inserted into the skin of a user and measures biometric information, and a base unit (200) ... and an applicator (30)”, wherein applicator assembly 10 includes the sensor-containing monitoring components and applicator used for continuous glucose monitoring).
Choi further teaches an outer housing having a first end and a second end that are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction, the second end having an implantation opening (Choi, ¶[0104]-[0105]; Figs. 10-13, 21-25, wherein applicator body 300 comprises base frame 310, middle frame 330 and top case 360; top case 360 defines the first end and skin-contacting bottom portion 312 defines the opposite second end. The skin-facing mouth of recess 313 is the implantation opening at that second end. Base frame opening 314 is an internal opening in the aligned implantation path, rather than the exterior mouth itself).
Choi further teaches a driving unit disposed inside the outer housing and movable relative to the outer housing along the first direction (Choi, ¶[0123]: “a column member (410) fixed to the applicator body (300)” and “a shuttle (441) movably installed inside the column member (410)”, wherein shuttle 441 corresponds to the driving unit and is disposed within applicator body 300 through fixed column member 410; ¶[0138]: “The shuttle (441) is installed to be linearly movable inside the column member (410)” and “the shuttle (441) can move from the first position to the second position with the sensor unit (100)”; Figs. 11, 21-25, wherein shuttle 441 moves relative to fixed applicator body 300 from the upper first end toward skin-facing bottom portion 312 and base frame opening 314 along the claimed first direction).
Choi further teaches a puncture unit disposed inside the outer housing, the puncture unit being movable along the first direction with the driving unit and movable relative to the driving unit along a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction (Choi, ¶[0149]: “The needle assembly (460) includes a carrier (462) ... and a needle (485) coupled to the carrier (462)”, wherein carrier 462 and needle 485 correspond to the puncture unit; Fig. 11, wherein needle assembly 460 is shown within applicator body 300; ¶[0150]: “A portion of the carrier (462) engages with the shuttle (441) so that it can advance together with the shuttle (441) from the first position to the second position” and “the carrier (462) is disengaged from the shuttle (441) in the second position and may retreat in a direction away from the sensor unit (100)”, wherein the puncture unit first advances with shuttle 441 toward the skin along the first direction and thereafter moves relative to shuttle 441 away from the sensor unit and skin along the opposite second direction; Figs. 23-27).
Choi further teaches a monitoring unit comprising a first monitoring component and a second monitoring component that are spaced apart from each other inside the outer housing along the first direction, the first monitoring component comprising a sensor, and the second monitoring component comprising a signal processing module (Choi, ¶[0100]: “The sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200) are installed in the applicator (30) in a separated state”, wherein sensor unit 100 and base unit 200 correspond to the first and second monitoring components; ¶[0102]: “The sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200) are spaced apart from each other and are respectively mounted on the applicator (30)”; Figs. 11, 21-23, wherein sensor unit 100 and base unit 200 are shown within applicator body 300, with sensor unit 100 positioned above and spaced from base unit 200 along the same longitudinal first direction extending toward skin-facing bottom portion 312; ¶[0072]: “The sensor unit (100) includes the sensor (110)”, wherein the first monitoring component comprises the claimed sensor; ¶[0087]: “electronic components installed inside the base unit housing (210)” and “The circuit board (223) may be equipped with a processor chip for processing signals”, wherein base unit 200 contains the signal-processing module of the second monitoring component).
Base unit 200 is received within the recessed lower region of applicator body 300. The reference therefore places the initially separated monitoring components inside the assembled outer housing; the exposed adhesive surface at the skin-facing mouth does not require a different result (Choi, ¶[0105]-[0106]; Figs. 11-13, 21-23).
Choi further teaches perform a single trigger to enable the driving unit to move along the first direction, thereby partially inserting the sensor into a host and establishing an electrical connectivity between the first monitoring component and the second monitoring component (Choi, ¶[0190]-[0191]: “when the operating member (365) is pressed by a user, the operating member (365) presses the stopper member (500)” and “the shuttle (441) ... moves to the second position by the elastic member (491)”, wherein a single press of operating member 365 releases and drives shuttle 441 along the first direction; ¶[0191]: “As the shuttle (441) moves to the second position, the needle (485) and the sensor (110) are inserted into the skin of a user” and the sensor unit 100 is attached to base unit 200, wherein the same triggered movement partially inserts sensor 110 into the host and couples the monitoring components; ¶[0192]: “the adhesive layer (230) couples the sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200), and seals between the sensor unit-electrical contact portion (146) of the sensor unit (100) and the base unit-electrical contact portion (225) of the base unit (200)” and identifies “the electrical connection portion (260) between the sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200)”, wherein coupling caused by the triggered implantation stroke establishes electrical connectivity between sensor unit 100 and base unit 200).
The single-trigger limitation is met by the deployment press after preparatory removal of the tab and protective sheet. Removal of the added cover likewise occurs before deployment (Choi, ¶[0188]-[0192]; Chae, ¶[0063], [0131]-[0132]).
Also, regarding claim 1, Choi does not fully teach a cover detachably connected to the second end of the outer housing and covering the implantation opening, wherein prior to use, remove the cover. Choi provides protective sheet 240 at the skin-facing adhesive portion 250 of base unit 200, but does not teach that the sheet is detachably connected to bottom portion 312, corresponding to the second end of applicator body 300. Even if the sheet is regarded as covering the skin-facing opening, attachment to the base-unit adhesive is not the claimed detachable connection to the outer housing’s second end (Choi, ¶[0099], [0105]; Figs. 11-13).
Chae teaches the remaining relationship. Chae teaches an applicator having a cover detachably connected to the second end and covering the implantation opening (Chae, ¶[0062]: “the applicator 10 is configured to have one open side, through which the sensor module 20 is ejected to the outside”, wherein the open side is the skin-facing deployment opening; ¶[0068]: “the protective cap 200 is detachably coupled to the open side of the applicator 10 to prevent the sensor module 20, preinstalled in the applicator 10, from being exposed externally”, wherein protective cap 200 is detachably connected directly over the open deployment side). Chae further teaches prior to use, remove the cover (Chae, ¶[0063]: “the user cannot attach the sensor module 20 to the human body by operating the applicator 10 unless the protective cap 200 is detached”, wherein protective cap 200 must be removed before deployment). Chae additionally teaches that protective cap 200 is coupled to an end of the applicator and physically protects the sensor and needle region (Chae, ¶[0072]: “The outer cover 201 is coupled to one end portion of the applicator 10” and “a sensor protector 204 may protrude downward ... to surround a sensor probe 521 and a needle 550”, wherein the protective cap occupies and protects the skin-facing sensor-deployment end).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi in view of Chae by adding a detachable protective cap to bottom portion 312 of applicator body 300 over the skin-facing mouth of recess 313. The cap would shield the preinstalled monitoring component and sensor/needle deployment region from contact and external exposure during storage and handling, the same protective function performed by Chae's cap. The cap would be removed before placement against the skin and deployment. Choi's adhesive-protecting sheets and tab-operated interlock would remain available for their existing functions; the added cap would not replace the intercomponent sealing sheet or interfere with its lateral removal after the cap is detached. This applies a known end-cap arrangement to the corresponding open deployment end of a preassembled sensor applicator, with the predictable result of physical protection before use (Choi, ¶[0099], [0105], [0181]-[0183]; Chae, ¶[0062]-[0063], [0068], [0072]-[0073], [0131]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Choi does not fully teach the first monitoring component further comprises a battery configured to be electrically connected to the second monitoring component. Rather, Choi teaches that battery 228 is included in base unit 200, corresponding to the second monitoring component (Choi, ¶[0087]: “The electronic component may include a circuit board (223), a base unit-electrical contact portion (225) in contact with the sensor unit-electrical contact portion (146) of the sensor unit (100), a battery (228), etc.”, wherein battery 228 is located in base unit 200 rather than sensor unit 100). However, the modified Choi does not teach the battery as part of sensor unit 100, corresponding to the first monitoring component.
Chae teaches a known power arrangement in which the sensor-containing component includes the battery and supplies power through an electrical connection to another monitoring component (Chae, ¶[0078]: “The sensor module 20 includes a pod 510, a sensor 520, a printed circuit board (PCB) 530, and a battery 540”, wherein sensor module 20 includes both sensor 520 and battery 540; ¶[0082]: “Power supplied by the battery 540 is supplied to the connector terminal 513 via the PCB 530” and “the transmitter 30 operates by receiving power from the battery 540 disposed inside of the sensor module 20”, wherein the battery-containing sensor module supplies power through its electrical connection to transmitter 30). Chae further teaches that, as a result, “no separate battery is required to be disposed inside of the transmitter 30” (Chae, ¶[0082]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Chae by relocating battery 228 from base unit 200 to sensor unit 100 and supplying power through the contact interface established when the two units couple during deployment. Chae teaches a working battery-to-transmitter power path from a battery within the sensor-containing component (Chae, ¶[0078], [0082]). Locating the power source on the sensor side of the initially separated interface is a workable alternative allocation that permits the processing electronics in base unit 200 to receive operating power upon sensor-unit attachment rather than requiring that power path to exist before deployment. Electronics-containing base unit 200 remains the second monitoring component; Choi’s alternative detachable-electronics embodiment of ¶[0101] is not substituted for the mapped configuration. This modification retains Choi’s trigger, coupling, and needle-retraction operations (Choi, ¶[0087]-[0089], [0191]-[0192]; Chae, ¶[0078], [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Choi further teaches the first monitoring component comprises an upper housing, the sensor being disposed at the upper housing, the second monitoring component further comprises a lower housing, the signal processing module being disposed at the lower housing, and the upper housing and the lower housing are connected to each other to enable the upper housing and the lower housing to be sealed (Choi, ¶[0072]: “the sensor unit (100) includes the sensor (110) inserted into the skin of a user, a sensor unit housing (120) to which the sensor (110) is coupled”, wherein sensor unit housing 120 corresponds to the upper housing of the first monitoring component and sensor 110 is disposed at sensor unit housing 120; ¶[0087]: “the base unit (200) includes a base unit housing (210) to which the sensor unit (100) is coupled, electronic components installed inside the base unit housing (210)” and “The circuit board (223) may be equipped with a processor chip for processing signals”, wherein base unit housing 210 corresponds to the lower housing of the second monitoring component and the processor chip corresponds to the signal processing module disposed therein; ¶[0088]: “the sensor unit housing (120) can be fitted into the base unit recess (213) and maintain a stable coupling state with the base unit housing (210)” and “moisture or foreign substances cannot easily enter the gap between the sensor unit housing (120) and the base unit housing (210)”, wherein the upper and lower housings are connected in a manner that inhibits ingress between the housings; ¶[0091]: “the adhesive layer (230) seals between the sensor unit-electrical contact portion (146) and the base unit-electrical contact portion (225), thereby preventing moisture or foreign substances from entering the electrical connection portion (260) between the sensor unit (100) and the base unit (200)”, thereby further teaching that the connected sensor unit housing 120 and base unit housing 210 form the claimed sealed arrangement).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Choi further teaches the outer housing comprises a first housing comprising a connection portion, and a second housing connected to the connection portion, wherein the cover is detachably connected to the second housing to cover the implantation opening, the first monitoring component is fixed inside the first housing, and the second monitoring component is fixed inside the second housing (Choi, ¶[0104]: “The applicator body (300) includes a base frame (310), a middle frame (330) disposed on the base frame (310), and a top case (360) that is coupled to the middle frame (330) and covers the upper part of the middle frame (330)”, wherein middle frame 330 and top case 360 together correspond to the first housing and base frame 310 corresponds to the second housing; ¶[0118]: top case 360 includes hook portion 362 and is coupled to base frame 310 by engagement of hook portion 362 with coupling hole 328 of base frame 310, wherein hook portion 362 corresponds to the connection portion of the first housing and connects the second housing thereto; ¶[0102], [0123]: sensor unit 100 is mounted in applicator 30 and coupled to shuttle 441 within insertion unit 440, thereby being retained inside the upper first-housing portion of applicator body 300 before deployment; ¶[0105]-[0106]: base unit 200 is mounted in recess 313 of base frame 310 and locking hook 350 “secure[s] the base unit (200) without being separated from the recess (313)”, thereby fixing base unit 200 inside the second housing; Figs. 11, 21-23). The detachable cover connected to the skin-facing second housing and covering the implantation opening is provided by the Chae modification discussed regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Choi teaches a locking member disposed inside the outer housing, the locking member being elastically deformable or movable relative to the outer housing (Choi, ¶[0169]: “The stopper member (500) is positioned to move linearly on the stage (331) of the middle frame (330)”, wherein stopper member 500 corresponds to the locking member, is disposed within applicator body 300, corresponding to the outer housing, and moves relative to middle frame 330; Figs. 18-20, 23-24).
The modified Choi further teaches the locking member having a locked state in which the locking member is engaged with the driving unit to restrict movement of the driving unit (Choi, ¶[0169]: “The stopper member (500) may restrict the movement of the shuttle (441) placed in the first position, by being in contact with the shuttle protrusion (444)”, wherein supporting portion 516 of stopper member 500 engages shuttle protrusion 444 of shuttle 441, corresponding to the driving unit, and restrains shuttle 441 in its first position; ¶[0173]; Figs. 18-20, 23).
The modified Choi further teaches an unlocked state in which the locking member is disengaged from the driving unit (Choi, ¶[0169]: “The stopper member (500) may move from a third position, which supports the shuttle (441) to be positioned in the first position, to a fourth position where it disengages from the shuttle (441)”; ¶[0173]: “the supporting portion (516) deviates from the shuttle protrusion (444), so that the shuttle (441) can move to the second position”, wherein stopper member 500 moves laterally from its third position to its fourth position, disengaging supporting portion 516 from shuttle protrusion 444 and permitting shuttle 441 to advance toward the skin under the force of elastic member 491; Figs. 18-20, 23-25).
Regarding claim 17, Choi does not fully teach the first monitoring component further comprises a battery configured to be electrically connected to the second monitoring component. Rather, Choi locates battery 228 in base unit 200, whereas sensor unit 100 and base unit 200 become electrically connected during deployment. (Choi, ¶[0087]-[0089], [0191]-[0192]).
Chae teaches sensor module 20 carrying sensor 520 and battery 540, with power supplied via PCB 530 and connector terminal 513 to transmitter 30 upon their connection (Chae, ¶[0078], [0082]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi in view of Chae by placing battery 228 in sensor unit 100 and providing electrical supply through the contact interface that joins sensor unit 100 to electronics-containing base unit 200 during deployment. Chae teaches sensor-side power delivery to a separately connected processing/transmitter component (Chae, ¶[0078], [0082]). This provides a workable allocation for energizing the base-unit electronics once sensor and base are joined, rather than requiring a powered interface between the initially separated units before deployment. Base unit 200 and the existing single-trigger insertion and return sequence remain in place; no detachable-electronics substitute or second battery is assumed (Choi, ¶[0087]-[0089], [0191]-[0192]; Chae, ¶[0078], [0082]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), hereinafter Chae, and further in view of Brister et al. (US 2006/0020187 A1), hereinafter Brister.
The modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Choi does not fully teach the cover is equipped with a support post extending towards the outer housing and in contact with the second monitoring component to support the second monitoring component. Rather, Choi teaches that base unit 200, corresponding to the second monitoring component, is retained within recess 313 of base frame 310, corresponding to the second housing (Choi, ¶[0106]: “The locking hook (350) may engage the base unit (200) mounted in the recess (313) and secure the base unit (200) without being separated from the recess (313)”). However, the modified Choi does not teach that the protective cap incorporated from Chae includes a support post extending toward and contacting base unit 200 to support it.
Chae teaches a protective cap having a support structure extending toward and contacting a monitoring component within an applicator (Chae, ¶[0072]: “The inner support 203 extends upward from the extension 202 to support the body contact surface of the sensor module 20 preinstalled in the applicator 10”, wherein inner support 203 extends from protective cap 200 toward the applicator and contacts the skin-facing surface of sensor module 20). Chae further teaches that “the protective cap 200 not only blocks the sensor module 20, preinstalled in the applicator 10, from being exposed externally, but also supports the sensor module 20” and “generally improves the structural stability of the sensor applicator assembly” (Chae, ¶[0073]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Chae by providing the protective cap adopted regarding claim 1 with an inwardly extending support post contacting the skin-facing surface of base unit 200. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Chae teaches that supporting the preinstalled monitoring component with the protective cap improves the structural stability of the applicator assembly (Chae, ¶[0073]). The modification would have provided additional support for Choi's base unit 200 during storage and handling without altering the insertion mechanism, since the support post would be removed together with the protective cap before implantation. This would have constituted applying Chae's known protective-cap support arrangement to Choi's corresponding preinstalled monitoring component for its established support function.
Also, regarding claim 5, the modified Choi does not fully teach the second housing comprises a fixing portion configured for interference fit with the second monitoring component. Rather, Choi teaches that base frame 310 includes a locking hook 350 having a hook portion 352 configured to engage housing groove 217 of base unit 200 (Choi, ¶[0106]: “The hook portion (352) may be inserted into the housing groove (217) of the base unit (200) and engaged with the base unit (200)”, wherein locking hook 350 corresponds to a fixing portion of the second housing for retaining the second monitoring component). Choi further teaches that locking hook 350 is released when shuttle 441 presses lever portion 355 during deployment (Choi, ¶[0106]). However, the modified Choi does not teach that the fixing portion is configured for interference-fit engagement with base unit 200.
Brister teaches an analyte sensor assembly having an electronics unit mechanically retained within a housing (Brister, claim 10: “a housing adapted for mounting on a skin of a host” and “an electronics unit configured to releasably mate with the housing”). Brister further teaches that “the electronics unit is configured to releasably mate to the housing by a mechanical fit selected from the group consisting of a slide fit, a snap fit, a press fit, and an interference fit” (Brister, claim 11, wherein interference fit is expressly identified as a known means of mechanically retaining an electronics unit within its corresponding housing).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Brister by providing a retaining surface of base frame 310 that releasably grips base unit 200 by interference fit. This would supplement predeployment retention against displacement during storage and handling using a known releasable mechanical fit for a monitoring electronics component. The fit would be selected to permit the base frame to separate from the skin-adhered body attachable unit during normal applicator removal after hook 350 is released; it would not be a permanent press-fit joint. Release of hook 350 removes the positive lock, while subsequent separation overcomes the supplemental frictional retention. Brister expressly identifies the interference fit as a releasable mating arrangement, providing the basis for this selection. The cap support supplied by Chae would be removed before deployment (Choi, ¶[0106], [0161], [0191]-[0192]; Brister, claims 10-11).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), hereinafter Chae, and further in view of Peterson et al. (US 2022/0225899 A1), hereinafter Peterson.
The modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Choi does not fully teach a trigger unit disposed at the first end, the trigger unit being movable or deformable along the first direction to trigger the driving unit, to enable the first monitoring component or the second monitoring component to move along the first direction. Rather, Choi teaches an operating member 365 configured to initiate movement of shuttle 441, corresponding to the driving unit (Choi, ¶[0190]: “when the operating member (365) is pressed by a user, the operating member (365) presses the stopper member (500)”; ¶[0191]: “the shuttle (441) deviates from the stopper member (500) and moves to the second position by the elastic member (491)”, wherein operation of operating member 365 releases shuttle 441 to move sensor unit 100, corresponding to the first monitoring component, along the first direction). However, Choi does not expressly establish that operating member 365 itself moves or deforms along the first direction at the first end of the outer housing.
Peterson teaches an analyte sensor applicator having a deployment button positioned at an end opposite the skin-facing end and movable along the sensor insertion direction (Peterson, ¶[0150]: “Deployment button 50 has a button elongated body 52, a closed button distal end 53”, wherein deployment button 50 is located at the end opposite the skin-facing opening; ¶[0146]: “The user simply removes the ready-to-use subcutaneous sensor applicator 10 from its packaging” and “pushes the deployment button assembly 40”, wherein pressing the deployment button initiates sensor deployment). Peterson further teaches that “The single push of the deployment button assembly 40 causes a sensor module 160 ... to be deployed onto the skin with an analyte sensor deployed subcutaneously in the skin” (Peterson, ¶[0146]). Peterson also teaches that deployment button 50 moves from an initial loaded position toward the skin, causing the sensor-containing upper housing to move toward and engage the lower housing (Peterson, ¶[0060], [0177]; Figs. 48-57).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Peterson by positioning an axially movable deployment button at the first end of applicator body 300. Pressing toward the skin would allow the same hand to hold the applicator against the skin and initiate deployment, as in Peterson. To actuate Choi's laterally moving stopper 500, the button would carry an inclined contact surface engaging bracket portion 514 so that axial button travel produces lateral stopper travel. This adapts the direction of the actuating contact while retaining the stopper's shuttle-supporting portion, guides, and tab-controlled blocking engagement. The button could release the stopper only after moving tab 600 frees locking body 339 from detent 513. Thus the proposed actuator changes the user-input direction without bypassing Choi's preparation interlock or changing the insertion and retraction sequence (Choi, ¶[0170]-[0174], [0181]-[0183]; Peterson, ¶[0146], [0150]; Figs. 48-57).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), hereinafter Chae, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2016/0157759 A1), hereinafter Yang.
The modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Choi teaches a pushing member configured to drive the driving unit to move along the first direction, and a restoring member configured to drive the puncture unit to move along the second direction (Choi, ¶[0191]: “the shuttle (441) ... moves to the second position by the elastic member (491)”, wherein elastic member 491 corresponds to the pushing member and drives shuttle 441 along the first direction identified regarding claim 1; ¶[0153]: “The needle release driver (495) provides a moving force to the carrier (462)”; ¶[0150]: “the carrier (462) ... may retreat in a direction away from the sensor unit (100)”, wherein needle release driver 495 corresponds to the restoring member and drives carrier 462 and needle 485, corresponding to the puncture unit as mapped regarding claim 1, along the opposite second direction). However, the modified Choi does not teach wherein the pushing member and the restoring member at least partially overlap in the first direction.
Yang teaches an analyte-sensor ejection mechanism having respective insertion and retraction springs arranged about a common guide structure (Yang, ¶[0121]: “An ejection mechanism 1222 is arranged inside the inserter shell 1221, where the ejection mechanism includes: a first sliding block 12221, a second sliding block 12222, an inner spring 12223, an outer spring 12224 and a puncture needle 12225”). Yang teaches that “The inner spring 12223 is located in the ejection space” within hollow guide column 122211 and, when released, “drives the first sliding block 12221 to rise” (Yang, ¶[0122], [0124]). Yang further teaches that “The outer spring 12224 is arranged circumferentially outside of the hollow guide column” and, when released, drives the ejection mechanism downward (Yang, ¶[0125]). Yang teaches that the outer spring drives puncture needle 12225 downward and the inner spring subsequently pulls puncture needle 12225 upward (Yang, ¶[0126]). As shown in Fig. 10, inner spring 12223 and outer spring 12224 extend over a common axial portion of hollow guide column 122211, thereby at least partially overlapping in the insertion direction while providing the respective insertion and retraction forces.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified Choi in view of Yang by arranging the insertion and retraction springs in radially separated inner and outer regions about a common guide, with their axial extents partially overlapping. The reason is to reduce the axial space occupied by the two spring mechanisms, rather than maintaining separate axial regions, while retaining a spring for each direction of needle travel. Yang demonstrates that the inner spring can produce withdrawal and the outer spring can produce insertion within such an arrangement. Yang provides the overlapping inner/outer spring layout, not a replacement for Choi's needle-release mechanism. The respective spring guides and supports would be adapted to accommodate Choi's insertion spring 491 and existing tension-type needle release spring 496 while retaining spring 496's attachment between shuttle 441 and carrier 462. Thus the two Choi springs would occupy partially overlapping axial regions, yet continue to advance shuttle 441 and retract carrier 462 after release (Choi, ¶[0146], [0153]; Yang, ¶[0121]-[0126]; Fig. 10).
Claims 8, 9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), hereinafter Chae, and further in view of Raymond et al. (US 2009/0124979 A1), hereinafter Raymond.
The modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Choi does not fully teach the driving unit comprises a first mounting groove internally provided with a restoring member configured to drive the puncture unit to move along the second direction, the puncture unit being disposed in the first mounting groove, and a second mounting groove surrounding an outer periphery of the first mounting groove and internally provided with a pushing member configured to drive the driving unit to move along the first direction. Rather, Choi teaches shuttle 441, corresponding to the driving unit, and needle assembly 460 comprising carrier 462 and needle 485, corresponding to the puncture unit, wherein carrier 462 is accommodated within the shuttle assembly and moves with shuttle 441 during insertion before retracting relative thereto (Choi, ¶[0123], [0149]-[0150]; Figs. 11, 15-17, 21, 25-27). Choi further teaches elastic member 491 configured to move shuttle 441 toward the skin along the first direction, wherein elastic member 491 is received in an upper cylindrical region associated with shuttle 441 and column member 410 (Choi, ¶[0146], [0191]; Figs. 15, 21, 25). Choi also teaches needle release elastic member 496 disposed within the insertion assembly and coupled between shuttle 441 and carrier 462, wherein elastic member 496 provides a restoring force for moving carrier 462 and needle 485 away from the skin relative to shuttle 441 along the opposite second direction (Choi, ¶[0150], [0153]-[0155]; Figs. 15, 21, 25-27). However, Choi does not teach shuttle 441 having a central first mounting groove accommodating the puncture unit and restoring member and a surrounding second mounting groove accommodating the insertion-driving member, wherein both mounting grooves are provided in the driving unit in the claimed surrounding relationship.
Raymond teaches an insertion device comprising a shuttle 116, a needle hub 110 carrying needle 112 and movable relative to shuttle 116, an insertion spring 108 configured to advance shuttle 116, and a retraction spring 114 configured to retract needle hub 110 relative to shuttle 116 (Raymond, ¶[0058], [0079], [0081], [0084]-[0085]; Figs. 1, 8-11, 14-17). Raymond teaches that shuttle 116 comprises recesses 202 configured to receive at least a portion of insertion spring 108, wherein insertion spring 108 engages shuttle 116 to urge shuttle 116 toward its advanced position (Raymond, ¶[0081]; Figs. 9-11, 14-17). Raymond further teaches that shuttle 116 accommodates needle hub 110 and includes recesses 208 receiving at least a portion of retraction spring 114, wherein retraction spring 114 acts between shuttle 116 and needle hub 110 to retract the needle hub relative to the shuttle (Raymond, ¶[0084]-[0085]; Figs. 10-11, 14-17). Raymond's cross-sectional illustrations further show insertion spring 108 accommodated in an outer spring-receiving region of shuttle 116 surrounding the central receiving region accommodating needle hub 110 and retraction spring 114 (Raymond, Figs. 14-17). Thus, Raymond teaches accommodating an outer insertion-driving spring and an inner needle-retraction assembly within radially arranged receiving regions of the same movable shuttle.
Raymond further teaches that shuttle 116 includes cam surfaces 204 cooperating with needle hub 110 to orient the needle hub while permitting sliding movement relative to the shuttle, and that the retraction spring is accommodated by corresponding receiving recesses of the shuttle and needle hub (Raymond, ¶[0079], [0084]-[0085]; Figs. 8-11). Accordingly, Raymond demonstrates an arrangement in which the insertion-driving member, restoring member, and movable needle hub are accommodated within respective spring-receiving structures while maintaining the needle hub's movement relative to the driving member.
Raymond is reasonably pertinent to the problem of packaging and guiding the driving and needle-return components of an inserter while leaving an implanted component in place. Its infusion-set application does not alter the relevance of its spring-driven insertion and automatic needle-retraction mechanism to that mechanical problem (Raymond, ¶[0058], [0079], [0081], [0084]-[0086], [0104]; Figs. 14-17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Raymond by configuring shuttle 441 with a central first mounting groove accommodating carrier 462 and needle release elastic member 496, and a surrounding second mounting groove accommodating insertion-driving elastic member 491, according to Raymond's arrangement of spring-receiving regions in shuttle 116. The modification would have involved adapting the existing spring-receiving regions associated with Choi's shuttle 441 to provide an inner receiving channel for carrier 462 and elastic member 496 and a surrounding annular receiving channel for elastic member 491, rather than maintaining the substantially axially separated spring-receiving regions illustrated in Choi. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification to reduce the axial space required to accommodate the insertion-driving and needle-retraction mechanisms, thereby reducing the overall height of the applicator while maintaining the respective mechanisms along the common insertion axis. Arranging the receiving regions radially would have allowed the spring-receiving structures to occupy overlapping axial portions of the applicator rather than requiring separate axial regions for the respective springs, providing a more compact arrangement without eliminating either spring-driven function. The modification would also have provided defined receiving regions for the respective springs and needle carrier, thereby facilitating their positioning within shuttle 441 while permitting carrier 462 to move relative to the shuttle during needle retraction. Raymond demonstrates the mechanical feasibility of this arrangement through shuttle recesses 202 and 208, which accommodate insertion spring 108 and retraction spring 114, respectively, while shuttle surfaces 204 guide needle hub 110 during its movement relative to the shuttle (Raymond, ¶[0081], [0084]-[0085]; Figs. 10-11, 14-17). The modification would have retained Choi's elastic member 491 for advancing shuttle 441 and tension-type elastic member 496 for retracting carrier 462 and needle 485, including the existing spring connections and needle-carrier engagement and release operation, while adapting the shuttle's receiving geometry according to Raymond. The resulting modified shuttle 441 would comprise a central first mounting groove accommodating the restoring member and puncture unit and a surrounding second mounting groove accommodating the pushing member.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Choi teaches the puncture unit comprises a puncture needle, and a needle hub at least partially overlapping the driving unit in the first direction (Choi, ¶[0149]: “The needle assembly (460) includes a carrier (462) ... and a needle (485) coupled to the carrier (462)”, wherein carrier 462 corresponds to the needle hub and needle 485 corresponds to the puncture needle; ¶[0150]: “A portion of the carrier (462) engages with the shuttle (441) so that it can advance together with the shuttle (441) from the first position to the second position”; Figs. 16-17, 21-22, wherein carrier 462 is accommodated within and axially overlaps shuttle 441, corresponding to the driving unit).
Also, regarding claim 9, the modified Choi does not fully teach the needle hub having an engagement groove, the restoring member being disposed in the engagement groove. Rather, Choi teaches needle release elastic member 496 coupled between fixing portion 457 of shuttle 441 and fixing portion 469 of carrier 462, wherein elastic member 496 is a tension spring that retracts carrier 462 and needle 485 relative to shuttle 441 following insertion (Choi, ¶[0153]; Figs. 15, 21-22). Although Choi illustrates elastic member 496 within the central receiving region of the insertion assembly, Choi does not clearly teach an engagement groove formed in carrier 462 and receiving elastic member 496.
Raymond teaches a needle hub 110 carrying needle 112 and movable relative to shuttle 116, with retraction spring 114 acting between the needle hub and shuttle (Raymond, ¶[0058], [0079], [0084]-[0085]; Figs. 8-11, 14-17). Raymond specifically teaches that the lower side 184 of needle hub 110 comprises “a recess 188” configured to “receive all or a portion of the retraction spring 114” (Raymond, ¶[0079]; Fig. 8). Raymond further teaches that shuttle 116 comprises recesses 208 receiving at least a portion of retraction spring 114, with the spring engaging needle hub 110 and urging the needle hub away from shuttle 116 (Raymond, ¶[0085]; Figs. 11, 14-17). Thus, Raymond teaches a needle-hub recess receiving the restoring spring in addition to the shuttle-side spring-receiving structure applied regarding claim 8.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Raymond by configuring carrier 462 with an engagement groove receiving at least a portion of needle release elastic member 496, corresponding to recess 188 of Raymond's needle hub 110. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to provide the engagement groove to maintain the positioning of elastic member 496 relative to carrier 462 during the insertion and needle-retraction movements, thereby reducing the possibility of lateral displacement of the spring or interference with adjacent components. This would have been particularly beneficial in the Raymond-modified Choi arrangement, wherein carrier 462 and the restoring spring are accommodated together within the central first mounting groove of shuttle 441, and the carrier must subsequently move relative to the shuttle during needle retraction. Providing a recess in carrier 462 would have allowed a portion of elastic member 496 to be received within the needle hub rather than occupying additional space between the hub and the surrounding shuttle structure, thereby providing a more compact spring-receiving arrangement and maintaining clearance for the relative movement of carrier 462. Raymond demonstrates the feasibility of receiving a retraction spring within a needle-hub recess while maintaining movement between the needle hub and shuttle, wherein recess 188 of needle hub 110 receives at least a portion of retraction spring 114 and cooperates with shuttle recesses 208 (Raymond, ¶[0079], [0084]-[0085]; Figs. 8, 11, 14-17). Choi already provides fixing portion 469 for securing elastic member 496 to carrier 462 and fixing portion 457 for securing the opposite end to shuttle 441 (Choi, ¶[0153]). Accordingly, the engagement groove would have been formed around the carrier-side portion of elastic member 496 while preserving its existing attachment to fixing portion 469, allowing the spring to remain positioned within the groove and transmit the tensile restoring force necessary to retract carrier 462. The modification would have involved adapting Raymond's known spring-receiving geometry to Choi's existing tension-spring arrangement without changing the spring's force direction, its attachment relationships, or the needle-carrier release and retraction sequence.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Choi does not fully teach the driving unit is provided with a stop portion configured to abut and engage with the puncture unit and apply a force in the first direction to the puncture unit, and an unlocking structure located in a movement path of the stop portion and configured to drive the stop portion to disengage from the puncture unit. Rather, Choi teaches shuttle detent 446 engaging carrier latch 477 to transmit insertion force to carrier 462, and stationary release portion 419 pressing trigger 474 to release carrier 462. However, Choi's trigger 474 and associated deformable retaining structure are carried by the needle carrier rather than by a retaining arm provided on shuttle 441 (Choi, ¶[0139], [0156]-[0158]; Figs. 15-17, 25-27).
Raymond teaches an insertion device comprising shuttle 116 and needle hub 110, wherein shuttle 116 includes needle-hub-engaging arms 210 having retaining feet 212. Raymond teaches that the arms are brought into engagement with needle hub 110 to retain the needle hub relative to shuttle 116 while retraction spring 114 is compressed. Raymond further teaches follower surfaces 214 cooperating with cam surface 180 of sleeve 106 to prevent the retaining arms from spreading apart until the arms clear the cam surface, permitting the needle hub to be released (Raymond, ¶[0086], [0104]; Figs. 7, 9-11, 14-17).
Raymond additionally teaches shuttle-mounted sleeve-engaging arms 196 having feet 198 with cam surfaces 200, wherein movement of actuator displacement member 144 against the cam surfaces causes feet 198 to disengage from sleeve 106. Raymond expressly teaches that cam surfaces 200 may be beveled, thereby demonstrating the use of an inclined contact surface to convert axial actuator movement into displacement of a resilient retaining arm from its engaged position (Raymond, ¶[0082]-[0083]; Figs. 9-10, 14).
Choi further teaches a stationary release portion 419 positioned to contact trigger 474 during insertion and actively deform the engaged retaining structure to release carrier 462 after advancement to the insertion position. Thus, Choi teaches a position-dependent release operation produced by affirmative mechanical contact with a stationary release structure (Choi, ¶[0156]-[0158]; Figs. 25-27).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Raymond by providing shuttle 441 with resilient retaining arms corresponding to Raymond's needle-hub-engaging arms 210 and retaining feet 212, while adapting the arms to include inclined trigger-contact surfaces according to Raymond's known cam-actuated release arrangement employing cam surfaces 200. The retaining feet would engage carrier 462 during insertion so that shuttle 441 advances carrier 462 in the first direction. The inclined trigger-contact surfaces would be positioned to encounter Choi's stationary release portion 419 only after shuttle 441 advances to the needle-release position, at which point continued axial movement against release portion 419 would drive the retaining arms outward, withdraw the retaining feet from carrier 462, and permit tension spring 496 to retract carrier 462 and needle 485. The proposed modification would not rely on Raymond's original follower surfaces 214 to produce outward deflection, since those surfaces instead restrain spreading of arms 210. Rather, it would apply Raymond's separately disclosed affirmative cam-release technique to its known shuttle-mounted needle-hub retaining arms. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification to provide a retaining and releasing mechanism on the driving shuttle while maintaining Choi's existing end-of-insertion release timing, thereby allowing the shuttle to advance the needle carrier and subsequently disengage from it through a known cam-actuated resilient-arm mechanism. Raymond demonstrates both shuttle-mounted needle-hub retention and cam-actuated disengagement of resilient arms, while Choi demonstrates stationary, position-dependent release of the needle carrier. The modification would therefore have provided a predictable way to retain and release carrier 462 without altering the intended insertion and needle-retraction sequence.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Choi teaches the stop portion comprises a fixed end and a movable end configured to swing around the fixed end and provided with a stop segment and a trigger segment, the stop segment extending towards the puncture unit and being configured to abut and engage with the puncture unit, and the trigger segment being configured to engage with the unlocking structure. In the Raymond-style retaining arm adopted regarding claim 12, the arm root fixed to shuttle 441 forms the fixed end, its elastically movable free end forms the movable end, inward retaining foot 212 forms the stop segment engaging carrier 462, and the adapted inclined trigger-contact face forms the trigger segment contacted by Choi's stationary release portion 419 at the release position. The arm thereby deflects outward about its root to release the carrier without a further modification beyond that established regarding claim 12 (Raymond, ¶[0082]-[0083], [0086], [0104]; Choi, ¶[0156]-[0158]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), hereinafter Chae, and further in view of Raymond et al. (US 2009/0124979 A1), hereinafter Raymond, and further in view of Funderburk et al. (US 2021/0128031 A1), hereinafter Funderburk.
The modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Choi does not fully teach a support member disposed inside the outer housing and including a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion, the first positioning portion being engaged with the first mounting groove to form a first guiding channel configured to receive the restoring member, and the second positioning portion being engaged with the second mounting groove to form a second guiding channel configured to receive the pushing member. Rather, Choi teaches stationary column member 410 guiding shuttle 441, with retention portion 434 supporting an end of elastic member 491 in the shuttle spring-receiving region, and shuttle retention portion 456 retaining the opposite spring end. Choi therefore already provides a stationary spring-support projection extending into the receiving region of the moving shuttle, although it does not provide the two claimed cooperating channels (Choi, ¶[0123], [0137], [0146], [0150], [0153]; Fig. 10; Figs. 11, 15, 21-22). As modified in view of Raymond regarding claim 8, shuttle 441 includes a central first mounting groove accommodating carrier 462 and restoring member 496 and a surrounding second mounting groove accommodating pushing member 491. However, the modified Choi does not expressly teach column member 410 having first and second positioning portions engaging the respective mounting grooves to form corresponding spring-guiding channels.
Funderburk teaches a sensor inserter comprising a base 344, shuttle 338, actuator button 324, drive spring 336, and retraction spring 342. Funderburk teaches that shuttle 338 includes an inner cup-shaped post 364 connected to an outer ring 362 by bridges 366, wherein retraction spring 342 is constrained at its outer circumference by guides 360 and at its inner circumference by post 364. Funderburk further teaches that drive spring 336 is constrained at its outer circumference by the inner surface of post 364 and at its inner circumference by stem 374 extending from actuator button 324. Accordingly, Funderburk teaches cooperating positioning surfaces that define separate regions for guiding insertion and retraction springs during their axial movement (Funderburk, ¶[0100]-[0102]; Figs. 16, 19-20, 24, 27).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Funderburk by extending Choi's already existing retention portion 434 and associated column support geometry to provide an inner guide portion received at the central first mounting groove and an annular outer guide portion received at the surrounding second mounting groove. Each stationary portion would overlap the corresponding movable groove wall with sliding clearance so that the cooperating surfaces bound a spring-guiding channel while permitting shuttle travel. Funderburk supplies the use of cooperating stationary and moving surfaces to constrain springs radially during axial motion. Its drive spring is inside post 364 and its retraction spring is outside that post; its guides 360 and stem 374 are on different components. Those particular assignments would not be copied into Choi. Rather, the guiding surfaces would be arranged on Choi's already stationary column member to match the inner restoring-spring region and outer insertion-spring region inherited from Raymond. Using that existing support as the common carrier for both guide portions would preserve alignment of the two channels and avoid introducing a separate movable guide carrier. The modification concerns radial guidance, so it would retain Choi's tension-spring connections at this stage and provide clearance for the needle carrier and its release features. The predictable result is less lateral spring displacement and interference within the compact nested arrangement, while maintaining the claimed insertion and retraction functions (Choi, ¶[0123]-[0124], [0153]; Raymond, ¶[0081], [0084]-[0085]; Funderburk, ¶[0100]-[0102]; Figs. 19-20, 24, 27).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), hereinafter Chae, and further in view of Raymond et al. (US 2009/0124979 A1), hereinafter Raymond, and further in view of Funderburk et al. (US 2021/0128031 A1), hereinafter Funderburk, and further in view of Jones et al. (US 2007/0066960 A1), hereinafter Jones, and further in view of Nielsen (US 2010/0228226 A1), hereinafter Nielsen.
The modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Choi does not fully teach the first positioning portion comprises a positioning protrusion protruding towards the engagement groove, and the restoring member has an end connected to the positioning protrusion and another end connected to the puncture unit. Rather, Choi teaches needle release elastic member 496 comprising a tension spring connected between fixing portion 457 of movable shuttle 441 and fixing portion 469 of carrier 462. As modified regarding claim 10, stationary column member 410 includes a first positioning portion cooperating with the first mounting groove to guide the restoring member, but Choi does not expressly teach connecting the upper end of restoring member 496 to a positioning protrusion of that stationary first positioning portion (Choi, ¶[0153]; Figs. 15, 21-22).
Funderburk teaches a sensor inserter having shuttle 338, actuator button 324, drive spring 336, and retraction spring 342. Funderburk teaches that actuator button 324 includes stem 374 projecting from ceiling 372 into the interior of drive spring 336, while cup-shaped shuttle post 364 supports the drive spring along its outer circumference. Funderburk further teaches that retraction spring 342 is radially constrained between guides 360 of stationary base 344 and the outer surface of movable shuttle post 364. Thus, Funderburk teaches using projecting positioning members and cooperating surrounding surfaces to guide insertion and retraction springs, although stem 374 is associated with the movable actuator button and is not disclosed as a stationary attachment for a needle-return tension spring (Funderburk, ¶[0102]; Figs. 19, 20, 24).
Jones teaches a needle-retraction mechanism having tension spring 90 positioned in upper chamber 18 of housing 12, with its proximal coil engaging housing-side proximal spring mount 88 and its distal coil secured to button 80 of spring mount 74 associated with movable actuator 16. Jones teaches that tension spring 90 retracts actuator 16 and needle assembly 14 upon release, thereby demonstrating a tensile needle-return spring connected between a stationary housing support and a movable needle assembly (Jones, ¶[0042]-[0043], [0049]; Fig. 5).
Jones is reasonably pertinent to the problem of supporting a tension-type needle-return spring between a stationary housing anchor and a movable needle assembly. Although Jones concerns an IV safety needle, the spring anchoring and needle-retraction relationship addresses the same mechanical problem encountered in the modified Choi inserter (Jones, ¶[0042]-[0043], [0049]).
Nielsen is reasonably pertinent to the problem of completing a driven needle insertion against a stationary-supported restoring spring before the needle carrier is released for retraction (Nielsen, ¶[0034]-[0035], [0042]-[0044]).
Nielsen teaches an inserter comprising stationary part 10, carrier body 2 movable relative to stationary part 10, and needle hub 6 carrying penetrating member 6A. Nielsen teaches insertion spring 11 acting on carrier body 2 and retraction spring 12 acting between stationary part 10 and needle hub 6. Nielsen further teaches that insertion spring 11 advances carrier body 2 and needle hub 6 while compressing retraction spring 12, after which the needle hub is released and the retraction spring withdraws the penetrating member. Nielsen expressly identifies the stationary-to-needle-hub spring relationship and teaches selecting the spring forces so that insertion is completed before needle retraction (Nielsen, ¶[0034]-[0035], [0042]-[0044]; Figs. 1A-4C; claim 11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Funderburk, Jones, and Nielsen by providing the first positioning portion of stationary column member 410 with a positioning protrusion extending toward the engagement groove of carrier 462, and connecting the upper end of Choi's tension spring 496 to the positioning protrusion while retaining its lower connection to carrier fixing portion 469. Funderburk teaches projecting spring-positioning members for maintaining spring alignment within an insertion mechanism, Jones teaches a stationary housing-side anchor for a needle-return tension spring, and Nielsen demonstrates an insertion and retraction arrangement in which a movable needle hub advances against a retraction spring supported by a stationary member. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Jones's stationary tension-spring attachment to Choi to provide a fixed reaction point for needle retraction, and to incorporate that attachment into the spring-positioning structure of column member 410 so that the same stationary structure both supports and positions the restoring spring within the central spring-receiving region established by the preceding modifications. During insertion, shuttle 441 would advance carrier 462 away from the stationary attachment, thereby extending tension spring 496. Insertion spring 491 would be selected to provide sufficient force to advance the shuttle and carrier against the opposing restoring force, consistent with Nielsen's teaching of completing needle insertion against a stationary-supported retraction spring. Once stationary release portion 419 causes carrier 462 to disengage from shuttle 441, tension spring 496 would contract toward the stationary attachment and retract carrier 462 and needle 485. Although Nielsen employs a compression retraction spring, Jones expressly teaches the corresponding stationary-supported tension-spring arrangement, and Choi already employs tension spring 496 for needle retraction. Accordingly, the proposed modification would combine Funderburk's spring-positioning principle with Jones's stationary tension-spring anchoring arrangement while preserving Choi's insertion and needle-retraction functions, with Nielsen providing further support for completing insertion against the opposing restoring force before releasing the needle carrier (Choi, ¶[0150], [0153]; Funderburk, ¶[0102]; Jones, ¶[0042]-[0043], [0049]; Nielsen, ¶[0034]-[0035], [0042]-[0044]; Figs. 2A-4C; claim 11).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2020/0297258 A1), hereinafter Chae, and further in view of Peterson et al. (US 2022/0225899 A1), hereinafter Peterson, and further in view of Kaufmann et al. (US 2013/0253431 A1), hereinafter Kaufmann.
The modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Choi does not fully teach the outer housing is internally provided with a mounting base, the locking member comprises a trigger portion located at a side of the mounting base and an acting portion located at another side of the mounting base and engaged with the driving unit, the continuous analyte monitoring device further comprises a trigger unit disposed at the first end and engaged with the trigger portion, and the acting portion is configured to swing around the mounting base to switch into the unlocked state when the trigger portion is pressed by the trigger unit. Rather, Choi teaches stopper member 500 engaging shuttle protrusion 444 to retain shuttle 441 before insertion, wherein operating member 365 is disposed in a side opening of top case 360 and moves stopper member 500 laterally to release shuttle 441. Choi further teaches locking hook 350 having pivot portion 351 rotatably supported by support portion 326 of base frame 310, hook portion 352, and lever portion 355, wherein pressing lever portion 355 rotates hook portion 352 out of engagement with base unit 200. However, locking hook 350 retains base unit 200 rather than shuttle 441, and Choi does not expressly teach the claimed arrangement of an end-operated trigger portion and an opposing acting portion pivoting about a mounting base to release the shuttle (Choi, ¶[0106], [0118], [0121], [0169]-[0174]; Figs. 10-13, 18-20).
Peterson teaches an analyte sensor applicator having deployment button 50 positioned at the end opposite the skin-facing end and movable toward the skin to initiate deployment of a sensor module. Thus, Peterson teaches arranging the user-operated trigger at the first end so that deployment is initiated by axial pressure applied toward the skin (Peterson, ¶[0146], [0150]; Figs. 48-57).
Kaufmann teaches a cannula inserter comprising biased spring 220 and a pivoting retaining hook 341 engaged with bearing element 350 to prevent discharge of the spring before insertion. Kaufmann teaches that the retaining hook is released by a lateral force applied to its hooked end, thereby permitting spring 220 to advance plunger 130 and cannula 120. Kaufmann further teaches that vertically movable wedge-shaped elements 415 and 416 engage the pivoting retaining hook to cause its release, thereby providing a known mechanism for converting an axially directed release input into disengagement of a pivoting spring-retaining member (Kaufmann, ¶[0120]-[0122], [0131]-[0132]; Figs. 1, 3, 6-7).
Kaufmann is reasonably pertinent to the problem of retaining and intentionally releasing a spring-driven percutaneous inserter while maintaining a separate safety restraint against premature movement (Kaufmann, ¶[0121]-[0122], [0137]-[0143], [0159]-[0163]). Kaufmann additionally teaches a levered retaining hook 342 engaged with plunger 130 and actuated by linearly moving release plug 419, wherein contact with release plug 419 causes retaining hook 342 to pivot about its levering point and disengage from plunger 130, permitting spring-driven advancement. Thus, Kaufmann teaches employing a pivoted retaining lever directly to restrain and release a movable, spring-loaded insertion component (Kaufmann, ¶[0159]-[0163]; Figs. 13-13C).
Kaufmann further teaches security mechanism 364 comprising a retaining pin that prevents pivoting retaining hook 341 from rotating until release buckle 418 moves the security mechanism out of its blocking position. Kaufmann teaches that disengaging the security mechanism precedes wedge-actuated release of the retaining hook, thereby preventing premature discharge of spring 220 (Kaufmann, ¶[0137]-[0143]; Figs. 11-11C).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Choi in view of Peterson and Kaufmann by employing Peterson's first-end deployment button to actuate a pivoting shuttle-retaining lever according to Kaufmann's known spring-inserter retaining and release arrangement, rather than retaining Choi's laterally translating stopper member 500. The pivoting lever would be supported by a mounting base on Choi's stationary frame, with a trigger portion extending to one side of the mounting base for engagement with the axially movable deployment button and an acting portion extending to the opposite side for engagement with shuttle protrusion 444. Axial pressure from the deployment button against the trigger portion would rotate the lever about the mounting base, swinging the acting portion out of engagement with shuttle protrusion 444 and releasing shuttle 441 for advancement by insertion spring 491. Choi itself demonstrates a pivotally supported hook having lever and retaining portions, while Kaufmann expressly teaches the use of pivoting retaining hooks and levers to restrain and release spring-driven insertion members, including release by a translating actuator. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute the known pivoting retaining mechanism as an alternative positive-retention and release arrangement for Choi's spring-driven shuttle, permitting actuation by an axially operated first-end trigger while maintaining restraint of the shuttle until intentional release. The proposed positioning of the input and retaining portions on opposite sides of the stationary mounting base is an adaptation of the known pivoted-lever arrangement to Choi's housing and shuttle geometry, rather than a configuration expressly shown in Kaufmann's Figs. 6-7.
To preserve Choi's original preparation-dependent lockout, the substituted pivoting retainer would further include a corresponding detent positioned to engage locking body 339 while tab 600 remains installed, preventing rotation into the shuttle-release position. Removal of tab 600 would permit disengagement of the locking body, after which the first-end deployment button could rotate the retainer and release shuttle 441. Choi teaches the original engagement of locking body 339 with detent 513 of stopper 500, while Kaufmann expressly teaches a separate safety member that blocks rotation of a spring-inserter retaining hook until the safety member is released. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to preserve Choi's removable-tab safety function when substituting the pivoting retainer to prevent unintended shuttle release before preparation. Kaufmann's disclosed sequence of first disengaging the safety member and then releasing the retaining hook provides a reasonable expectation that the modified arrangement would maintain positive spring-load retention, intentional first-end actuation, and prevention of premature insertion without altering Choi's subsequent sensor insertion and needle-retraction sequence (Choi, ¶[0106], [0169]-[0174], [0181]-[0183]; Peterson, ¶[0146], [0150]; Kaufmann, ¶[0120]-[0122], [0131]-[0132], [0137]-[0143], [0159]-[0163]; Figs. 6-7, 11-11C, 13-13C).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2024/0366119 A1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2016/0157759 A1), hereinafter Yang.
Choi teaches the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 19, Choi teaches a pushing member configured to drive the driving unit to move along the first direction, and a restoring member configured to drive the puncture unit to move along the second direction (Choi, ¶[0191]: “the shuttle (441) ... moves to the second position by the elastic member (491)”, wherein elastic member 491 corresponds to the pushing member and drives shuttle 441 along the first direction identified regarding claim 16; ¶[0153]: “The needle release driver (495) provides a moving force to the carrier (462)”; ¶[0150]: “the carrier (462) ... may retreat in a direction away from the sensor unit (100)”, wherein needle release driver 495 corresponds to the restoring member and drives carrier 462 and needle 485, corresponding to the puncture unit as mapped regarding claim 16, along the opposite second direction). However, Choi does not teach wherein the pushing member and the restoring member at least partially overlap in the first direction.
Yang teaches an analyte-sensor ejection mechanism having respective insertion and retraction springs arranged about a common guide structure (Yang, ¶[0121]: “An ejection mechanism 1222 is arranged inside the inserter shell 1221, where the ejection mechanism includes: a first sliding block 12221, a second sliding block 12222, an inner spring 12223, an outer spring 12224 and a puncture needle 12225”). Yang teaches that “The inner spring 12223 is located in the ejection space” within hollow guide column 122211 and, when released, “drives the first sliding block 12221 to rise” (Yang, ¶[0122], [0124]). Yang further teaches that “The outer spring 12224 is arranged circumferentially outside of the hollow guide column” and, when released, drives the ejection mechanism downward (Yang, ¶[0125]). Yang teaches that the outer spring drives puncture needle 12225 downward and the inner spring subsequently pulls puncture needle 12225 upward (Yang, ¶[0126]). As shown in Fig. 10, inner spring 12223 and outer spring 12224 extend over a common axial portion of hollow guide column 122211, thereby at least partially overlapping in the insertion direction while providing the respective insertion and retraction forces.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi in view of Yang by arranging the insertion and retraction springs in radially separated inner and outer regions about a common guide, with their axial extents partially overlapping. The reason is to reduce the axial space occupied by the two spring mechanisms, rather than maintaining separate axial regions, while retaining a spring for each direction of needle travel. Yang demonstrates that the inner spring can produce withdrawal and the outer spring can produce insertion within such an arrangement. Yang provides the overlapping inner/outer spring layout, not a replacement for Choi's needle-release mechanism. The respective spring guides and supports would be adapted to accommodate Choi's insertion spring 491 and existing tension-type needle release spring 496 while retaining spring 496's attachment between shuttle 441 and carrier 462. Thus the two Choi springs would occupy partially overlapping axial regions, yet continue to advance shuttle 441 and retract carrier 462 after release (Choi, ¶[0146], [0153]; Yang, ¶[0121]-[0126]; Fig. 10).
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00 am - 4:00 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Jason Sims can be reached on (571)272-4867. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791