DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)s submitted on 04/28/2025 and 09/18/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group l, an imprint method, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 10/05/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant has been advised to replace “an imprint region” in lines 2 and 4 to -- the imprint region --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “almost” in claims 5 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “almost” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the compact prosecution, Examiner has interpreted “almost the same” as – the same --.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the illuminance" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hirano (US 2016/0214312 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hirano teaches an imprint method (“a lot process by the imprint apparatus 100”, Pa [0071]), comprising:
a contact step of bringing a mould into contact with an imprint material on a substrate (“the resin on the substrate is in contact with the pattern face P of the mold 18.”, Pa [0081]);
a first irradiation step of irradiating the imprint material on the substrate with first light for curing the imprint material while the mould and the imprint material on the substrate are in contact with each other (“irradiates the resin on the target shot area of the substrate 1 with light from the light source 11 while the resin on the substrate is in contact with the pattern face P of the mold 18 (namely, such that the light passing through the mold 18 is applied to the resin on the substrate)…cured resin”, Pa [0082]);
a demolding step of separating the mould from the imprint material on the substrate (“the mold head 16 is moved upward to separate or release the mold 18 from the resin cured on the target short area of the substrate 1.”, Pa [0083]); and
a second irradiation step of irradiating, other than an imprint region in which an imprint process including the contact step, the first irradiation step, and the demolding step is performed, a skip region that is a region in which the imprint process is skipped with second light if the skip region exists on the substrate (“the controller 400 determines whether patterns are formed in all of the imprintable shot areas of the substrate 1. If NO, the process is returned to S304 to form a pattern in the next target shot area.”, Pa [0084]; “irradiates the resin on the target shot area of the substrate 1 with light from the light source 11 while the resin on the substrate is in contact with the pattern face P of the mold 18 (namely, such that the light passing through the mold 18 is applied to the resin on the substrate)”, Pa [0082]).
With respect to claim 2, Hirano as applied to claim 1 above further teaches
a first movement step of moving the mould close to the substrate before the second irradiation step (“the controller 400 aligns the mold 18 with (the target shot area of) the substrate 1 based on a result of alignment measurement by the alignment measuring unit 12 while the resin on the substrate is in contact with the pattern face P of the mold 18.”, Pa [0081]); and
a second movement step of separating the mould from the substrate after the second irradiation step (“If NO, the process is returned to S304 to form a pattern in the next target shot area.”, Pa [0084]; “irradiates the resin”, Pa [0082]; “the mold head 16 is moved upward to separate or release the mold 18 from the resin cured on the target short area of the substrate 1.”, Pa [0083]).
With respect to claim 4, Hirano as applied to claim 1 above further teaches that the second light radiated in the second irradiation step is light having a wavelength which cures the imprint material (“If NO, the process is returned to S304 to form a pattern in the next target shot area.”, Pa [0084]; “irradiates the resin on the target shot area of the substrate 1 with light from the light source 11 while the resin on the substrate is in contact with the pattern face P of the mold 18 (namely, such that the light passing through the mold 18 is applied to the resin on the substrate)…cured resin”, Pa [0082]).
With respect to claim 12, Hirano as applied to claim 1 above further teaches
a determination step for determining whether an imprint region which is to be subjected to the imprint process is the skip region (“In S311, the controller 400 determines whether patterns are formed in all of the imprintable shot areas of the substrate 1.”, Pa [0084]),
wherein, in the determination step, an imprint region which is determined not to be the skip region is subjected to the contact step (“In S308”), the first irradiation step (“In S309”), and the demolding step (“In S310”) in this order to form a pattern of the imprint material on the substrate (Pa [0081]-[0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (US 2016/0214312 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2013/0093113 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Hirano as applied to claim 1 above further teaches that the mold chuck 17 holds the mold 18 by, for example, vacuum suction (Pa [0023]), the substrate stage 7 holds the substrate 1 with, for example, the substrate chuck (Pa [0031]) and if the controller 400 determines that patterns are formed in all of the imprintable shot areas of the substrate 1, the conveying robot 31 unloads the substrate 1 having the patterns formed in all of the shot areas from the imprint apparatus 100 (Pa [0084]-[0085]), but is silent to a pressure control step of decreasing a suction pressure of the substrate after the second irradiation step.
In the same field of endeavor, an article manufacturing method using an imprint apparatus, Hayashi teaches that the wafer stage 4 has a wafer chuck 16 that holds the wafer 10 by a suction force (Pa [0027]), and further teaches that if the mold chuck 11 holds the mold 8 using a vacuum suction force, the mold chuck 11 is connected to an externally installed vacuum pump (not shown), and attachment/detachment of the mold 8 is switched by turning the vacuum pump ON/OFF (Pa [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hirano with the teachings of Hayashi and substitute Hayashi’s the wafer stage having a wafer chuck for Hirano’s substrate stage in order to hold the substrate by a suction force and unload the substrate 1 having the patterns formed in all of the shot areas from the imprint apparatus 100 by turning the vacuum pump OFF.
With respect to claims 6 and 8, Hirano as applied to claim 2 above is silent to a third irradiation step of irradiating the imprint material with third light having a wavelength which does not cure the imprint material after the first movement step and before the second irradiation step.
In the same field of endeavor, an article manufacturing method using an imprint apparatus, Hayashi teaches that the wafer heating mechanism (substrate heating mechanism) 6 is capable of heating only a partial region of the wafer 10, also, a pattern region (substrate-side pattern region) 20 serving as a part to be treated, which pre-exists on the wafer 10 carried into the imprint apparatus 1, is heated to thereby deform the pattern region 20 into a desired shape or a desired size, the wafer heating mechanism 6 includes a heating light source 22 that irradiates the pattern region 20 on the wafer 10 with irradiation light 21 for heating, an optical adjustor 23 that adjusts the irradiation dose of the irradiation light 21, and a reflection plate 25 that defines the optical path such that adjusted light 24 is directed toward the surface of the wafer 10, and it is preferable that the heating light source 22 emits light of a wavelength at which the resin 14 serving as an ultraviolet curable resin is not exposed (cured) (Pa [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hirano with the teachings of Hayashi and provide the wafer heating mechanism and perform heating the pre-existed pattern after the first irradiation step on the substrate by the heating light source in order to deform the pre-existed pattern into a desired shape or a desired size before the second irradiation step.
With respect to claim 10, one would have found it obvious to perform the same step more than one time in order to deform the pre-existed pattern into a desired shape or a desired size.
With respect to claims 7 and 9, Hirano as applied to claim 1 above does not explicitly teach that in the second irradiation step, third light having a wavelength which does not cure the imprint material is radiated, instead of the second light.
In the same field of endeavor, an article manufacturing method using an imprint apparatus, Hayashi teaches that the wafer heating mechanism (substrate heating mechanism) 6 is capable of heating only a partial region of the wafer 10, also, a pattern region (substrate-side pattern region) 20 serving as a part to be treated, which pre-exists on the wafer 10 carried into the imprint apparatus 1, is heated to thereby deform the pattern region 20 into a desired shape or a desired size, the wafer heating mechanism 6 includes a heating light source 22 that irradiates the pattern region 20 on the wafer 10 with irradiation light 21 for heating, an optical adjustor 23 that adjusts the irradiation dose of the irradiation light 21, and a reflection plate 25 that defines the optical path such that adjusted light 24 is directed toward the surface of the wafer 10, and it is preferable that the heating light source 22 emits light of a wavelength at which the resin 14 serving as an ultraviolet curable resin is not exposed (cured) (Pa [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hirano with the teachings of Hayashi and provide the wafer heating mechanism and perform heating the pre-existed pattern after the first irradiation step on the substrate by the heating light source in order to deform the pre-existed pattern into a desired shape or a desired size.
With respect to claim 11, Hirano as applied to claim 1 above does not explicitly teach that the illuminance of the second light is an illuminance which causes deformation exceeding that of a friction force between the substrate and a substrate holding unit which holds the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, an article manufacturing method using an imprint apparatus, Hayashi teaches that the wafer heating mechanism (substrate heating mechanism) 6 is capable of heating only a partial region of the wafer 10, also, a pattern region (substrate-side pattern region) 20 serving as a part to be treated, which pre-exists on the wafer 10 carried into the imprint apparatus 1, is heated to thereby deform the pattern region 20 into a desired shape or a desired size, the wafer heating mechanism 6 includes a heating light source 22 that irradiates the pattern region 20 on the wafer 10 with irradiation light 21 for heating, an optical adjustor 23 that adjusts the irradiation dose of the irradiation light 21, and a reflection plate 25 that defines the optical path such that adjusted light 24 is directed toward the surface of the wafer 10, and it is preferable that the heating light source 22 emits light of a wavelength at which the resin 14 serving as an ultraviolet curable resin is not exposed (cured) (Pa [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hirano with the teachings of Hayashi and provide the wafer heating mechanism and perform heating the pre-existed pattern after the first irradiation step on the substrate by the heating light source in order to deform the pre-existed pattern into a desired shape or a desired size.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (US 2016/0214312 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 5, Hirano as applied to claim 1 above teaches that the second light is the same as the first light from the light source 11 and the controller 400 irradiates the resin on the target shot area of the substrate 1 with light from the light source 11 to cure the resin (Pa [0082]). Thus, one would appreciate that a wavelength, an illuminance, and an illuminance distribution of the second light in the second irradiation step are almost the same as those in the first irradiation step, and one would have found it obvious to select an irradiation time of the light by routine experimentation in order to cure the resin.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (US 2016/0214312 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Kaneto et al. (US 2022/0334471 A1).
With respect to claims 13 and 14, Hirano as applied to claims 1 and 12 above does not explicitly teach that in the determination step, it is determined whether a region is a skip region on the basis of information regarding a foreign particle on the imprint region.
In the same field of endeavor, an imprint method, Kaneto teaches that for a shot region with a foreign substance in the plurality of shot regions on the substrate, to prevent break of the mold 9 (pattern region 9 a), the imprint material 11 on the substrate is not brought into contact with the mold 9, and the imprint process is skipped (the imprint process is not performed) (Pa [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hirano with the teachings of Kaneto and determine the skip region when there is a foreign substance in a shot region so that there is not the imprint material 11 on the substrate in order to prevent break of the mold.
Conclusion
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742