Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “Teflon” and “hard Teflon” but Examiner does not know what the difference is between these two; what, specifically constitutes a hard Teflon? Examiner requests clarification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pushing module” in claim 1, “linkage assembly” in claim 8, “reduction assembly” in claim 9.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MATERIAL SUPPLY SYSTEM WITH PRESSURE SENSOR, PISTON PLATE AND CONTROLLER ARRANGEMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1).
Claim 1: He discloses a material supply system (Figs. 1-2) comprising a tank (130) having an accommodation space (131) and a discharge port (note port around 170); a piston plate (note flange plate portion of 193) disposed in the accommodation space and displaceable between a first position and a second position when actuated (see Figs. 1-2), the piston plate and the discharge port defining a liquid chamber therebetween (Figs. 1-2); a pushing module (1951/1952/1953/1954/191) that, when driven, actuates the piston plate; and a controller (630) configured to drive the pushing module during a supply procedure (Figs. 1-2).
He is not explicit about a pressure sensor configured to detect a pressure sensing value of the liquid chamber such that an associated controller maintain the pressure sensing value at a predetermined pressure threshold during a supply procedure. However, Shanks teaches a linear pumping arrangement (Fig. 6A) which utilizes a pressure sensor (70) configured to detect a pressure sensing value of an associated liquid chamber (2) such that an associated controller (note controller mentioned in claim 9) maintain the pressure sensing value at a predetermined pressure threshold during a supply procedure (see claims 9-10, paragraphs 38, 42-43; Fig. 6B, noting 65; “Data from…pressure sensors can be used to regulate the motor velocity”; Examiner noting the idea that pressure can become steady/constant when speed is controlled as depicted in Fig. 6B near 65). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the pressure sensor arrangement of Shanks into the apparatus of He in order to prevent overpressure situations that could damage the pump.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and in further view of Biederstadt (US 5,947,702).
Claim 2: He and Shanks teach the previous limitations. He is not explicit about a replenishment level sensor configured to issue a replenishment signal when the piston plate is at the second position, wherein the controller, during the supply procedure and upon receiving the replenishment signal, closes the discharge port. However, Biederstadt teaches a linear fluid pump utilizing a control setup (Fig. 5) which uses a replenishment level sensor (viewed as one of the position sensors 58/60 or 58’/60’) configured to issue a replenishment signal when the associated piston is at the second position (see col. 6, lines 62 through col. 7, lines 1-3, Examiner viewing the replenishment signal broadly as merely a limit signal when the piston has extended to its furthest extent and must transition to its opposite, replenishment motion), wherein a controller (see Fig. 5), during the supply procedure and upon receiving the replenishment signal, closes the discharge port (see col. 8, lines 55-65, col. 9, lines 18-28, and col. 9, lines 62 though col. 10, lines 1-5). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the control/valve arrangement of Biederstadt into the apparatus of He to have precise control over flow rate and pressure as well as the flexibility to adjust the opening/closing timing of the valves. The automatic control can also minimize pressure drop and turbulence, enhancing overall system efficiency.
Claim 3: He and Shanks teach the teaches maintaining the pressure sensing value at the predetermined pressure threshold previous limitations. Shanks (refer to discussion in claim 1) further teaches maintaining the pressure sensing value at a predetermined pressure threshold and He further discloses that the tank further comprises an inlet port communicating with the liquid chamber (note port around 110 in Fig. 1). He is not explicit about a supply level sensor configured to issue a supply signal when the piston plate is at the first position; the controller is configured to close the discharge port, open the inlet port, and drive the pushing module to actuate the piston plate to move toward the first position during a replenishment procedure; and the controller, upon receiving the supply signal, closes the inlet port and drives the pushing module to maintain the pressure sensing value at the predetermined pressure threshold. However, Biederstadt teaches a linear fluid pump utilizing a control setup (Fig. 5) which uses a supply level sensor (viewed as one of the position sensors 58/60 or 58’/60’) configured to issue a supply signal when the associated piston is at the first position (see col. 6, lines 62 through col. 7, lines 1-3, Examiner viewing the supply signal broadly as merely a limit signal when the piston has retracted to its furthest extent and must transition to its opposite, supply motion); the controller (Fig. 5) is configured to close the discharge port, open the inlet port, and drive the pushing module to actuate the piston to move toward the first position during a replenishment procedure (see col. 8, lines 55-65, col. 9, lines 18-28, and col. 9, lines 62 though col. 10, lines 1-5); and the controller, upon receiving the supply signal, closes the inlet port and drives the pushing module (see col. 8, lines 55-65, col. 9, lines 18-28, and col. 9, lines 62 though col. 10, lines 1-5). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the control/valve arrangement of Biederstadt into the apparatus of He to have precise control over flow rate and pressure as well as the flexibility to adjust the opening/closing timing of the valves. The automatic control can also minimize pressure drop and turbulence, enhancing overall system efficiency.
Claim 8: He, Shanks and Biederstadt teach the previous limitations. Shanks (refer to discussion in claim 3) further teaches for an associated controller to be configured to drive the motor assembly during the supply procedure and the replenishment procedure. He further discloses that the pushing module further comprises a linkage assembly (191/191a) pivoted in the tank and connected to the piston plate, configured to move the piston plate between the first position and the second position (Figs. 1-2); and a motor assembly (1951) connected to the linkage assembly, wherein the motor assembly, when driven, causes the linkage assembly to generate a rotational motion (Figs. 1-2);
Claim 9: He, Shanks and Biederstadt teach the previous limitations. He further discloses that the pushing module further comprises a reduction assembly having an input end (1952) and an output end (1953), the linkage assembly being pivotally connected to the output end (Figs. 1-2), and the motor assembly being connected to the input end (Figs. 1-2).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and Biederstadt (US 5,947,702) and in further view of Smith (US20120078182A1).
Claim 10: He, Shanks and Biederstadt teach the previous limitations. He further discloses that the linkage assembly comprises a lead screw (191/191a) pivoted in the tank, the lead screw having a fixed section (191a) and a linkage section (191), the output end of the reduction assembly engaging with the fixed section (Figs. 1-2) wherein the motor assembly drives the lead screw to rotate to move the piston plate (Figs. 1-2). He is not explicit about a shaft sleeve, one end pivotally connected to the linkage section and the other end connected to the piston plate. However, Smith (Fig. 23) teaches using a shaft sleeve (250), one end pivotally connected to a linkage section (360) and the other end connected to the piston plate (106). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a shaft sleeve arrangement of Smith into the apparatus of He in order to provide an additional support towards keeping the piston plate axially aligned within the cylinder, reducing the frictional effects of misalignment.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and Biederstadt (US 5,947,702) and in further view of Smith (US20120078182A1) as evidenced by Servin (US20100111721A1).
Claim 11: He, Shanks, Biederstadt and Smith teach the previous limitations. Modified He further discloses that the lead screw comprises a threaded portion (19) and the shaft sleeve is movable along the threaded portion but is not explicit about the pitch of the threaded portion being substantially equal to 0.5 millimeters. However, a pitch must surely be present with He and evidence exists that suitable pitch for pump threaded portions are substantially equal to 0.5 millimeters as evidenced by Servin (see paragraph 51).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and Biederstadt (US 5,947,702) and in further view of Smith (US20120078182A1) and Rammer (US 4,278,408).
Claim 12: He, Shanks, Biederstadt and Smith teach the previous limitations. He is not explicit about at least one of the piston plate, the lead screw, or the shaft sleeve is made of heat-treated steel. However, Rammer teaches a pump whose piston plate (30) is made from heat-treated steel to reduce wear (see col. 3, lines 5-7). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a piston material arrangement of Rammer into the apparatus of He in order to reduce wear.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and Biederstadt (US 5,947,702) and in further view of Stute (DE102007042566A1).
Claim 13: He, Shanks and Biederstadt teach the previous limitations. He is not explicit about the reduction assembly being a planetary gear assembly with an internal gear ratio of 1:20. However, Stute teaches a liquid actuator with a plunger/piston and whose motor/spindle arrangement utilizes a planetary gear assembly with an internal gear ratio of 1:20 (note English Translation, under Description, pages 1-2, “in the stepper motor 9 integrated…a planetary gear is arranged” and “a planetary gear which with a translation greater than 10:1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to substitute a planetary gear of Stute for that in He as it can be made very compact and provides smooth and quiet operation.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and Biederstadt (US 5,947,702) and Stute (DE102007042566A1) as further evidenced by Kishimoto (WO2021193595A1).
Claim 14: He, Shanks, Biederstadt and Stute teach the previous limitations. Modified He will have specific gear tolerancing in place but is not explicit about the planetary gear assembly and the lead screw of the linkage assembly having a gear backlash of less than 10 micrometers (pm); however, it is evidenced that such tolerances are possible for high precision output, as evidenced by Kishimoto (see English Translation, description, “the distance between…one adjacent gear…and the tooth bottom of the other gear can be easily adjusted to a level of several microns and a minimum backlash can be easily realized” and “Specific examples of the gear mechanisms…are not particularly limited…a planetary gear type…may be used”).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and in further view of Jansson (US20230390470A1).
Claim 15: He and Shanks teach the previous limitations. Modified He is not explicit about the predetermined pressure threshold includes a replenishment pressure range, and the pressure sensing value is maintained within the replenishment pressure range when the piston plate moves from the second position to the first position. However, Jansson teaches a PD pump (note piston arrangement in paragraph 20) whose predetermined pressure threshold includes a replenishment pressure range (see paragraph 178, note negative pressure range of -1 to -3 psi), and the pressure sensing value is maintained within the replenishment pressure range when the piston plate moves from the second position to the first position (paragraph 20, “the PD fluid pump is controllable to pump…within a pressure limit by controlling a level of current to, or the speed of, the PD fluid pump”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a supply pressure range as taught by Feldstein into the modified apparatus of He as such a range could be in place to clearly demarcate overpressure situations while excusing some fluctuation in pressure.
Claim 16: He, Shanks and Jansson teach the previous limitations. Jansson further teaches that the replenishment pressure range is from -10 kilopascals (KPa) to 100 kilopascals (see paragraph 20, note -1 to -3 psi).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and in further view of Feldstein (US20140326665A1).
Claim 17: He and Shanks teach the previous limitations. Shanks further teaches that the pressure measurement value of the pushing module is maintained when the pushing module moves from the second position to the first position (see claims 9-10, paragraphs 38, 42-43; Fig. 6B, noting 65; “Data from…pressure sensors can be used to regulate the motor velocity”; Examiner noting the idea that pressure can become steady/constant when speed is controlled as depicted in Fig. 6B near 65) but is not explicit about the predetermined pressure threshold including a supply pressure range. However, Feldstein teaches a plunger pump arrangement (see paragraph 8) which maintains a predetermined pressure threshold including a supply pressure range (see paragraph 94, note 3-5 psi range). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a supply pressure range as taught by Feldstein into the modified apparatus of He as such a range could be in place to clearly demarcate overpressure situations while excusing some fluctuation in pressure.
Claim 18: He, Shanks and Feldstein teach the previous limitations. Feldstein further discloses that the supply pressure range is from -10 kilopascals (KPa) to 10 kilopascals (see paragraph 94).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN106762509A) in view of Shanks (US20180230992A1) and in further view of Grenon (US 9,897,081).
Claim 19: He and Shanks teach the previous limitations. Modified He is not explicit about at least one of the tank or the piston plate is coated with an anti-corrosion layer being either a Teflon coating or a hard Teflon coating. However Grenon teaches a pump arrangement whose tank/cylinder is coated with a Teflon coating (see col. 4, lines 50-53). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a Teflon coating as taught by Grenon into the apparatus of He in order to improve tribological properties and improve energy efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 4, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination the tank further comprises an exhaust port communicating with the inlet port and an exhaust sensor located at the exhaust port configured to issue an exhaust signal when triggered such that the controller is configured to open the inlet port and the exhaust port and close the discharge port during an exhaust procedure, and upon receiving the exhaust signal, the controller closes the inlet port and the exhaust port.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746