DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because it recites "the draw bar" in line 14, line 15, and line 16 (instead of "the draw-bar" as recited elsewhere throughout the claims). Consistent terminology is required. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "at least the wheels of the center section" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The wheels introduced in claim 1 (from which claim 5 depends) are not "of the center section" as recited in claim 5. Rather, claim 1 recites "each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is supported on the ground by one or more wheels;" in lines 10-12. Claim 5 is being further examined as though "at least the wheels of the center section" reads "at least the one or more wheels supporting the center section" in lines 1-2.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "at least the wheels of the center section" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The wheels introduced in claim 1 (from which claim 6 depends) are not "of the center section" as recited in claim 6. Rather, claim 1 recites "each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is supported on the ground by one or more wheels;" in lines 10-12. Claim 6 is being further examined as though "at least the wheels of the center section" reads "at least the one or more wheels supporting the center section" in lines 1-2.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the left and right support linkages" in line 21 an. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 is being further examined as though "the left and right support linkages" reads "the first and second support linkages" in line 21 and in line 23. Additionally, claims 13-20 are rejected because of their dependency on claim 12.
Claim 16 recites "each of the left wing section, the right wing section, and the center section is supported on the ground by separate wheels," in lines 1-3. However, claim 12 (from which claim 16 depends) previously sets forth "each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is supported on a ground surface by one or more wheels," in lines 8-10. It is unclear if the "separate wheels" in claim 16 are of or in addition to the one or more wheels set forth in claim 12. Thus, the metes and bounds of the wheels in claim 16 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 16 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "at least the wheels of the center section" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The wheels introduced in claim 12 (from which claim 16 depends) are not "of the center section" as recited in claim 16. Again, claim 12 previously sets forth "each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is supported on a ground surface by one or more wheels," in lines 8-10. Claim 16 is being further examined as though "at least the wheels of the center section" reads "at least the one or more wheels supporting the center section" in line 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "at least the wheels of the center section" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The wheels introduced in claim 12 (from which claim 17 depends) are not "of the center section" as recited in claim 17. Again, claim 12 previously sets forth "each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is supported on a ground surface by one or more wheels," in lines 8-10. Claim 17 is being further examined as though "at least the wheels of the center section" reads "at least the one or more wheels supporting the center section" in lines 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applequist et al. (US 4,664,202)
Regarding claim 1, Applequist discloses an agricultural implement configured to be propelled over the ground by a prime mover, said implement comprising:
a toolbar comprising a center section (including or of 22), a left wing section (including 62), and a right wing section (including 60), wherein the toolbar is a front-folding toolbar (front-folding about 64 and 66) configured to be shifted between an operational configuration (see Fig. 1) in which the left and right wing sections extend laterally from the center section and a transport configuration (see Fig. 6) in which the left and right wing sections extend forward from the center section;
wherein each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is configured to support a plurality of agricultural tools (e.g., 142 and/or 144), and wherein each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is supported on the ground by one or more wheels (including 26 and 104); and
an elongated draw-bar (including 12) extending forward from the center section of the toolbar, wherein a rear end of the draw-bar is connected to the center section via a pivot connection (at 48 and/or 58) that permits the draw-bar to vertically rotate (about 48 and/or 58) with respect to the center section, wherein a front end of the draw-bar is configured to be connected (via 14) to the prime mover (see col. 3, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 2, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 1, wherein in the operational position (see Fig. 1), the toolbar extends generally perpendicularly to a direction of travel of the agricultural implement (to the left in Fig. 1), and wherein in the transport position (see Fig. 6), at least a portion of the toolbar extends generally parallel to a direction of travel of the agricultural implement (to the left in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 1, wherein each of the left wing section (including 62) and the right wing section (including 60) is connected to the center section (including or of 22) via a pivot connection (at 64 and 66), such that each of the left wing section and the right wing section is configured to vertically rotate (about 72, shown in Fig. 4) with respect to the center section (see Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 4, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 1, wherein when the toolbar is in the transport configuration (see Fig. 6), the left and right wing sections (including 62 and 60) extend forward from the center section (including or of 22) of the toolbar and are in general alignment with the draw-bar (including 12; see Fig. 6), and wherein the left and right wing sections are configured to rotate vertically in unison with the draw-bar (about 48 and/or 58) with respect to the center section.
Regarding claim 5, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 1, wherein at least the one or more wheels (including 26) supporting the center section (including or of 22) are configured to raise and lower the toolbar (via 28) with respect to the ground.
Regarding claim 7, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 1, wherein the plurality of agricultural tools (e.g., 142 and/or 144) is selected from one or more of the following: seeding tools, nutrient applicators, pesticide applicators, and fertilizer applicators (142 for penetrating and opening a furrow in the soil, which is used for seeds, nutrients, pesticides, and/or fertilizer in normal drilling operations).
Regarding claim 11, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 1, further comprising a pair of support linkages (including 110 and 108) extending between the draw-bar (including 12) and each of the left and right wing sections (including 62 and 60) of the toolbar, wherein the support linkages are configured such that when the draw-bar rotates upward and/or downward (i.e., when 12 rotates relative to 22 about 48 and/or 58), the support linkages cause a corresponding forward and/or rearward shifting of the left and right wing sections (with respect to the center section) when the toolbar is in the operational configuration (see Fig. 1, wherein 110 and 108 retain 62 and 60 in the position shown, whereas 22 moves forward and/or rearward, or vice versa depending on its position about 48 and 58).
Regarding claim 12, Applequist discloses an agricultural implement configured to be propelled by a prime mover, said implement comprising:
a toolbar comprising a left wing section (including 62), a right wing section (including 60), and a center section (including or of 22), wherein the toolbar is a front-folding toolbar (front-folding about 64 and 66) with the left and right wing sections being configured to be shifted forward and/or rearward with respect to the center section;
wherein each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is configured to support a plurality of agricultural tools (e.g., 142 and/or 144), and wherein each of the center section, the left wing section, and the right wing section is supported on a ground surface by one or more wheels (including 26 and 104);
an elongated draw-bar (including 12) with a rear end connected to the center section of the toolbar, wherein the draw-bar extends forward from the toolbar to a front end configured to be coupled (via 14) with the prime mover (see col. 3, labeled lines 8-11), wherein the draw-bar is rotatably connected (at 48 and/or 58) with the center section of the toolbar such that the draw-bar is configured to rotate upward and downward (about 48 and/or 58) with respect to the toolbar; and
a first support linkage (including 110) extending from the draw-bar to the left wing section of the toolbar (see Fig. 1);
a second support linkage (including 108) extending from the draw-bar to the right wing section of the toolbar (see Fig. 1);
wherein the first and second support linkages are configured such that when the draw-bar rotates upward and/or downward with respect to the center section of the toolbar (i.e., when 12 rotates relative to 22 about 48 and/or 58), the first and second support linkages cause a corresponding forward and/or rearward shifting of the left and right wing sections of the toolbar with respect to the center section of the toolbar (see Fig. 1, wherein 110 and 108 retain 62 and 60 in the position shown, whereas 22 moves forward and/or rearward, or vice versa depending on its position about 48 and 58).
Regarding claim 13, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 12, wherein each of the left wing section (including 62) and the right wing section (including 60) is configured to rotate vertically (about 72, shown in Fig. 4) with respect to the center section (including or of 22; see Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 14, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 12, wherein when the left and right wing sections (including 62 and 60) of the toolbar are shifted forward, the toolbar is in a transport configuration (see Fig. 6), wherein when the left and right wing sections of the toolbar are shifted rearward, the toolbar is in an operational configuration (see Fig. 1), and wherein a width of the agricultural implement in the transport position is less than the width of the agricultural implement in the operational position (see Fig. 6 in comparison to Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 14, wherein in the transport configuration (see Fig. 6), the left and right wing sections (including 62 and 60) extend forward from the center section (including or of 22) of the toolbar and are in general alignment with the draw-bar (including 12; see Fig. 6), and the left and right wing sections are configured to rotate vertically in unison with the draw-bar (about 48 and/or 58) with respect to the center section.
Regarding claim 16, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 12, wherein each of the left wing section (including 62), the right wing section (including 60), and the center section (including or of 22) is supported on the ground by separate wheels (including respective, separate 26 and 104; see Fig. 1), wherein at least the one or more wheels (including 26) supporting the center section are configured to raise and lower the toolbar (via 28) with respect to the ground.
Regarding claim 18, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claim 12, wherein the plurality of agricultural tools (e.g., 142 and/or 144) is selected from one or more of the following: seeding tools, nutrient applicators, pesticide applicators, and fertilizer applicators (142 for penetrating and opening a furrow in the soil, which is used for seeds, nutrients, pesticides, and/or fertilizer in normal drilling operations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applequist in view of Frasier (US 6,076,613).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claims 5 and 16, as set forth above. Applequist does not explicitly disclose the one or more wheels supporting the center section being configured to castor. However, Frasier teaches an agricultural implement comprising a toolbar having a left wing section (including 46), a right wing section (including 48), and a center section (including 44), wherein each of the left wing section, the right wing section, and the center section is supported on the ground by separate wheels (including 26, 28, 18), wherein the wheels are configured to castor (col. 3, lines 52-65).
Frasier is analogous because Frasier discloses a towed agricultural implement comprising a front-folding toolbar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the implement of Applequist with castoring means as taught by Frasier in order to conveniently level the implement in a coordinated fashion. (See Frasier, col. 3, lines 52-65.)
Claims 8-10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applequist in view of Ryder et al. (US 8,893,629)
Regarding claims 8-10, 19, and 20, Applequist discloses the agricultural implement with respect to claims 7 and 18, as set forth above. Applequist also discloses the plurality of agricultural tools (e.g., 142 and/or 144) being selected from one or more of the following: seeding tools, nutrient applicators, pesticide applicators, and fertilizer applicators (142 for penetrating and opening a furrow in the soil, which is used for seeds, nutrients, pesticides, and/or fertilizer in normal drilling operations). Applequist does not explicitly disclose a tank supported on the ground by a cart as claimed. However, Ryder teaches an agricultural implement comprising a toolbar (including 14) configured to support a plurality of row units, a draw-bar (including 12), and a tank (including 60) to hold agricultural products to be deposited into or onto the ground by the row units, wherein the tank is supported on the ground by a cart (including 62), wherein the cart includes its own wheels (64), and wherein the cart is connected to the toolbar via a connection assembly that permits the cart to rotate with respect to the toolbar (via a towing hitch).
Ryder is analogous because Ryder discloses a towed agricultural implement comprising a folding toolbar and a tank. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the implement of Applequist with tank means as taught by Ryder for storing various flowable particulate materials. (See Ryder, col. 5, lines 14-26.)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,932. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the limitations of those in the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Hornung (US 3,791,673) discloses an agricultural implement comprising a toolbar having left and right wing sections (including 56 and 54), an elongated draw-bar (including 40) rotatably connected to the toolbar (at 48 and 50), a pair of support linkages (including or of 24 and 26) extending between the draw-bar and each of the left and right wing sections (see Fig. 1), wherein the support linkages are configured such that when the draw-bar rotates upward and/or downward, the support linkages cause a corresponding forward and/or rearward shifting of the left and right wing sections when the toolbar is in the operational configuration (see Fig. 1, wherein the pivots of the implement are configured to impart such movement).
/JFM/9/30/26
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671