DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 8/25/26 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 6, 17, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/27 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1 and 17, Applicant appears to argue the allowable subject matter from claims 6 and 10 have been incorporated in claims 1 and 17 and therefore Claims 1 and 17 are allowable (see Remarks filed 8/25/26, Pages 8-10). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. As an initial matter, amended Claims 1 and 17 do not appear to include any elements from previously presented claim 6. Regarding the allowable subject matter from claim 10, the Examiner notes that not all the elements of claim 10 have been incorporated in amended claims 1 and 17. Specifically, claim 10 requires that the inlet flow path extend from an exhaust inlet of the inlet diffuser to the outlet diffuser, and this element is not required in claims 1 and 17. This missing limitation allows for the rejection of claims 1 and 16, detailed below, to reasonably be made. Specifically, element B of Modified Fig. 1(b) below can be interpreted as the inlet flow path as it is not required that the inlet flow path extend to the outlet diffuser. To overcome this, the Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to require “the inlet flow path extending from an exhaust inlet of the inlet diffuser to the outlet diffuser”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (U.S. 2005/0205355).
Re claim 1:
Lin discloses a thermal management system (Figs. 1-5), comprising:
an exhaust enclosure (1, front tube - Para 15; 3, rear tube - Para 15), defining a combustion gas flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of combustion gas flow path)), configured to receive a combustion gas from a combustion engine (E, Para 20 - “…stream of exhaust from an operating internal combustion engine…”)(see Modified Fig. 5 above, Figs. 1-5, and Para 20), the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) enclosed from an environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of environment)) by a plurality of enclosure walls (33, 31, 32, 13, 12, 10) extending from an exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of exhaust portion of element 24)) of an exhaust vent (24, rear section - Para 18 (see Fig. 5))(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above), the plurality of enclosure walls (33, 31, 32, 13, 12, 10) defining an inlet diffuser (13, flared rear section - Para 16) and an outlet diffuser (33, flared rear section - Para 17) disposed on opposite sides of a shared enclosure wall (31, 32), the shared enclosure wall (31, 32) comprising an edge defining an opening (at intersection of 13 and 32)(see Figs. 1 and 5 and Para 20 - “…another portion (i.e., stream component E3) of the stream of exhaust E flows into the rear tube 3…” (there must be a type of edge defining an opening at the intersection of elements 13 and 32 for E3 to flow from E as depicted in Fig. 5)) between the inlet diffuser (13) and the outlet diffuser (33), the inlet diffuser (13) defining an inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1 (b) above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inlet flow path defined by element 13)) for the combustion gas (E)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above and Para 20), the outlet diffuser (33) defining an outlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of outlet flow path)) extending from the inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1 (b) above - B) through the opening (at intersection of 13 and 32) to the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above and Fig. 5); and
a plurality of skirting walls (23, 22, 20, 21), defining a skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of skirting flow path))(see Modified Fig. 5 above), extending from a compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of compartment portion of element 24)) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above), and open to the environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O) along a surface (at 21) opposite from the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above), the environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O) fluidly coupled with the compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H) of the exhaust vent (24) through the skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - B)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above), wherein the skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - B)(i) is separated from the combustion gas flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - A) by at least one (12) of the plurality of enclosure walls (33, 31, 32, 13, 12, 10)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above (separation of the combustion flow path (Modified Fig. 5 below - A) from the skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 5 below - B) by element 12 is especially apparent at the portion of element 12 which is upstream of elements 14)) and (ii) is configured to direct air (A, air - Para 20) from the environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O) to the compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above).
Re claim 4:
Lin discloses the thermal management system (Figs. 1-5) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F) of the exhaust vent (24) and the compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H) of the exhaust vent (24) share a peripheral portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - P (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element P as type of peripheral portion))(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above).
Re claim 17:
Lin discloses a method of exhaust enclosure installation (see Figs. 1-5), comprising:
coupling an inlet (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of exhaust inlet of element 13)) of an exhaust enclosure (1, front tube - Para 15; 3, rear tube - Para 15) with an exhaust system (see Modified Fig. 1(b) above, Fig. 5, and Para 20), the coupling configured to cause the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) to receive combustion gases from a combustion engine (E, Para 20 - “…stream of exhaust from an operating internal combustion engine…”)(see Figs. 1-5 and Para 20); and
inserting the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) into a wall (21, flared section - Para 18) of a compartment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as a type of compartment)) configured to receive the exhaust enclosure (1, 3)(see Figs. 1-5),
wherein the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) comprises:
a plurality of enclosure walls (12, 13, 32, 31, 33) extending from an exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of exhaust portion of element 24)) of an exhaust vent (24, rear section - Para 18 (see Fig. 5))(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above), the plurality of enclosure walls (33, 31, 32, 13, 12, 10) defining an inlet diffuser (13, flared rear section - Para 16) and an outlet diffuser (33, flared rear section - Para 17) disposed on opposite sides of a shared enclosure wall (31, 32), the shared enclosure wall (31, 32) comprising an edge defining an opening (at intersection of 13 and 32)(see Figs. 1 and 5 and Para 20 - “…another portion (i.e., stream component E3) of the stream of exhaust E flows into the rear tube 3…” (there must be a type of edge defining an opening at the intersection of elements 13 and 32 for E3 to flow from E as depicted in Fig. 5)) between the inlet diffuser (13) and the outlet diffuser (33), the inlet diffuser (13) defining an inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1 (b) above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inlet flow path defined by element 13)) for the combustion gas (E)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above and Para 20), the outlet diffuser (33) defining an outlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of outlet flow path)) extending from the inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1 (b) above - B) through the opening (at intersection of 13 and 32) to the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above and Fig. 5); and
a plurality of skirting walls (23, 22, 20, 21), defining a skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of skirting flow path))(see Modified Fig. 5 above), extending from a compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of compartment portion of element 24)) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above), and open to an environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of environment)) along a surface (at 21) opposite from the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above), the environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O) fluidly coupled with the compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H) of the exhaust vent (24) through the skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - B)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above), wherein the skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - B) is separated from a combustion gas flow path (Modified Fig. 5 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of combustion gas flow path)) through the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) by the plurality of enclosure walls (12, 13, 32, 31, 33)(see Modified Figs. 1(b) and 5 above (separation of the combustion flow path (Modified Fig. 5 below - A) from the skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 5 below - B) by element 12 is especially apparent at the portion of element 12 which is upstream of elements 14)).
Re claim 18:
Lin discloses the method (Figs. 1-5) of claim 17 (as described above), comprising:
coupling the inlet (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - C) as vertically aligned with a vertical stack portion (S, one end of a muffler - Para 16) of the exhaust system (see Modified Fig. 1(b) above), wherein the exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F) of the exhaust vent (24) is perpendicular to the vertical alignment (see Modified Fig. 1(b) above (element F is shown extending in a perpendicular direction to the direction of element S)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U.S. 2005/0205355), as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Patil et al. (U.S. 2021/0404359).
Re claim 19:
Lin discloses the method (Figs. 1-5) of claim 17 (as described above).
Lin further discloses installing an upper surface (see Fig. 1 at element 13) of the inlet diffuser (13)(see Fig. 1).
Lin fails to disclose installing an upper surface of an inlet diffuser along a curvature of a locomotive engine compartment, wherein the exhaust portion of the exhaust enclosure protrudes above the locomotive engine compartment.
Patil teaches a method (Figs. 1-4B) installing an upper surface (Modified Fig. 4B above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of upper surface of element B)) of an inlet diffuser (Modified Fig. 4B above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inlet diffuser)) along a curvature (Modified Fig. 4B above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of curvature of element 402)) of a locomotive engine compartment (402, locomotive frame - Para 36 (Para 36 - “…components may be coupled to the locomotive frame, such as components of an engine…”))(see Modified Fig. 4B above), wherein an exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 4B above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of exhaust portion of element 210)) of an exhaust enclosure (210, exhaust stack - Para 32) protrudes above the locomotive engine compartment (402)(see Modified Fig. 4B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the method of Lin after that of Patil, thereby installing the upper surface of the inlet diffuser of Lin along a curvature of a locomotive engine as taught by Patil, for the advantage of being able to provide motive power to a vehicle (Patil; Para 31).
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U.S. 2005/0205355), as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, in view of Wanczura (DE102006037785).
Re claim 5:
Lin discloses the thermal management system (Figs. 1-5) of claim 1 (as described above).
Lin fails to disclose the thermal management system further comprising a radiator to receive engine coolant from the combustion engine and sink heat from the engine coolant to air in the environment along a heat exchange surface of the radiator; and a fan to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and the plurality of enclosure walls.
Wanczura teaches a thermal management system (Fig. 1) comprising a radiator (9, engine radiator - Para 33) to receive engine coolant (Para 33 - “…cooling water…”) from a combustion engine (5, diesel engine - Para 33) and sink heat from the engine coolant to air in an environment (Modified Fig. 1(c) above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of air in an environment)) along a heat exchange surface (Modified Fig. 1(c) above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of heat exchange surface of element 9)) of the radiator (9)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 33-35); and a fan (13, fan - Para 34) to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and a plurality of enclosure walls (see Fig. 1 at element 18)(see Modified Fig. 1(c) above and Paras 33-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the thermal management system of Lin after that of Wanczura, thereby including a radiator to receive engine coolant from the combustion engine of Lin and sink heat from the engine coolant to air in the environment along a heat exchange surface of the radiator; and a fan to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and the plurality of enclosure walls of Lin, all in the way taught by Wanczura, for the advantage of providing a fuel-powered rail vehicle (Wanczura; Para 1).
Re claim 20:
Lin discloses the method (Figs. 1-5) of claim 17 (as described above).
Lin fails to disclose coupling the inlet vertically above a radiator fan in a locomotive engine compartment.
Wanczura teaches coupling an inlet (Modified Fig. 1(c) above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of inlet)) vertically above a radiator fan (13, fan - Para 34) in a locomotive engine compartment (2, engine room - Para 29 (interpreted as extending between from elements 3 and 10 as shown in Fig. 1))(see Modified Fig. 1(c) above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the coupling of inlet of Lin after that of Wanczura, thereby coupling the inlet of Lin vertically above a radiator fan in a locomotive engine compartment as taught by Wanczura, for the advantage of providing a fuel-powered rail vehicle (Wanczura; Para 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are allowed.
Claims 2-3, and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 10-16 are allowed, and Claims 2-3 and 6-9 would be allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach “an outlet diffuser, comprising an outlet conical diffuser, extending perpendicular to and towards the exhaust vent” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 2-3.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach claimed details of the inlet diffuser and the outlet diffuser and “wherein the exhaust vent is coupled with the third surface and the fourth surface, the third surface and the fourth surface forming at least a portion of an outlet flow path to direct the combustion gas from the opening to the exhaust vent” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 6-9.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach claimed details of the inlet diffuser and the outlet diffuser and “the outlet diffuser defining an outlet flow path extending from the inlet flow path through the opening to an exhaust vent” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 10-16.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by one or more references.
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 10/9/26