DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because “the inlet” in line 2 should be --an inlet--.
Claim 9 is objected to because “off-nominal” in line 2 should be --off-normal--.
Claim 14 is objected to because “a perimeter of the exhaust portion” in line 4 should be --a perimeter of an exhaust portion--.
Claim 16 is objected to because “unenclosed skirting flared outward” in line 2 should be --unenclosed skirting are flared outward--.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“of the exhaust enclosure” in line 3 should be --of the exhaust vent--;
“the vertically alignment” in lines 3-4 should be --the vertical alignment--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ehlen (U.S. 3,842,599).
Re claim 1:
Ehlen discloses a thermal management system (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
an exhaust enclosure (16, tubular member - Col. 3, Line 46) configured to receive a combustion gas (Col. 3, Line 62 - “…exhaust gas emanating from the working chamber…”) from a combustion engine (15, two-cycle engine - Col. 3, Lines 31-43)(see Fig. 1 and Col. 3, Lines 62-67), the exhaust enclosure (16) enclosed from an environment (Col. 4, Line 65 - “…the surrounding atmosphere…”) by a plurality of enclosure walls (Modified Fig. 1 above - B, C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize elements B and C as a type of plurality of enclosure walls; elements B and C corresponds to an element 52 and an element 54 respectively described at Col. 4, Lines 57-65)) extending from an exhaust portion (24) of an exhaust vent (24, chamber - Col. 3, Line 49; 70, exhaust conduit - Col. 5, Lines 31-32)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Col. 4, Lines 58-65); and
a plurality of skirting walls (Modified Fig. 1 above - D, E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize elements B and C as a type of plurality of enclosure walls; elements B and C corresponds to an element 52 and an element 54 respectively described at Col. 4, Lines 57-65)) extending from a compartment portion (70) of the exhaust vent (24/70)(see Modified Fig. 1 above), and open to the environment along a surface (Modified Fig. 1 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of surface opposite of element 24/70)) opposite from the exhaust vent (24/70)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Col. 4, Line 65 - “…the surrounding atmosphere…”), the environment fluidly coupled with the compartment portion (70) of the exhaust vent (24/70)(see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 5, Lines 30-33).
Re claim 2:
Ehlen discloses the thermal management system (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the exhaust enclosure (16) comprises:
an inlet diffuser (Modified Fig. 1 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of inlet diffuser; element H corresponds to the portion of element 18 which is an expansion section per Col. 3, Lines 46-47 which is upstream of the 90° bend referenced at Col. 3, Lines 56-60)), comprising an inlet conical diffuser (Modified Fig. 1 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of inlet conical diffuser; see Figs. 1-2)), extending parallel to and towards the exhaust vent (24/70)(see Modified Fig. 1 above (element I is shown extending parallel and toward element 70)); and
an outlet diffuser (Modified Fig. 1 above -J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of outlet diffuser; element J corresponds to the portion of element 18 which is an expansion section per Col. 3, Lines 46-47 which is downstream of the 90° bend referenced at Col. 3, Lines 56-60)), comprising an outlet conical diffuser (Modified Fig. 1 above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as a type of outlet conical diffuser; see Figs. 1 and 3)), extending perpendicular to and towards the exhaust vent (24/70)(see Modified Fig. 1 above (element K is shown extending perpendicular to and toward element 70)).
Re claim 3:
Ehlen discloses the thermal management system (Figs. 1-3) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein a cross-sectional area of the inlet diffuser (Modified Fig. 1 above - H) increases monotonically from the inlet (19, first end - Col. 3, Line 51) along a surface of an enclosure wall (Modified Fig. 1 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element L as a type of surface of an enclosure wall))(see Modified Fig. 1 above, Fig. 2, and Col. 3, Lines 50-55).
Re claim 4:
Ehlen discloses the thermal management system (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the exhaust portion (24) of the exhaust vent (24/70) and the compartment portion (70) of the exhaust vent (24/70) share a peripheral portion (Modified Fig. 1 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of peripheral portion))(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Claims 1, 4, and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (U.S. 2005/0205355).
Re claim 1:
Lin discloses a thermal management system (Figs. 1-5), comprising:
an exhaust enclosure (1, front tube - Para 15; 3, rear tube - Para 15) configured to receive a combustion gas from a combustion engine (E, Para 20 - “…stream of exhaust from an operating internal combustion engine…”)(see Figs. 1-5 and Para 20), the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) enclosed from an environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of environment)) by a plurality of enclosure walls (33, 31, 32, 13, 12, 10) extending from an exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of exhaust portion of element 24)) of an exhaust vent (24, rear section - Para 18 (see Fig. 5))(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above); and
a plurality of skirting walls (23, 22, 20, 21) extending from a compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of compartment portion of element 24)) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above), and open to the environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O) along a surface (at 21) opposite from the exhaust vent (24), the environment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - O) fluidly coupled with the compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above, Fig. 5, and Para 20).
Re claim 4:
Lin discloses the thermal management system (Figs. 1-5) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F) of the exhaust vent (24) and the compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H) of the exhaust vent (24) share a peripheral portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - P (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element P as type of peripheral portion))(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above).
Re claim 10:
Lin discloses an exhaust enclosure (1, front tube - Para 15; 3, rear tube - Para 15) for combustion gas (E, Para 20 - “…stream of exhaust from an operating internal combustion engine…”)(see Figs. 1-5), the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) comprising:
an enclosed portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of enclosed portion; element A corresponds to the portion of element 1 within element 2 as well as element 3)) comprising:
an inlet diffuser (13, flared rear section - Para 16) defining an inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inlet flow path)) for the combustion gas (E), the inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - B) extending from an exhaust inlet (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of exhaust inlet of element 13)) of the inlet diffuser (13) to an outlet diffuser (3, rear tube - Para 15 (see element 3 at 33 which is a flared rear section per 17))(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above);
the outlet diffuser (3) defining an outlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of outlet flow path)) extending from the inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - B) to an exhaust vent (24, rear section - Para 18 (see Fig. 5))(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above); and
an unenclosed skirting (2, outer tube - Para 15) defining a skirting flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of skirting flow path)) separated from the inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - B) and the outlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - D) by the enclosed portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - A) of the exhaust enclosure (1, 3)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above and Fig. 5).
Re claim 11:
Lin discloses exhaust enclosure (1, 3) of claim 10 (as described above), configure to exchange heat between:
the combustion gas (E) in the enclosed portion (1, 3); and
air (A, air - Para 20) exterior to the enclosed portion (1, 3) and interior to the unenclosed skirting (2)(see Fig. 5 and Para 20).
Re claim 12:
Lin discloses exhaust enclosure (1, 3) of claim 11 (as described above), wherein:
the outlet diffuser (3) comprises a plurality of perforated baffles (4, blades - Para 19 (see Fig. 4 at elements 4, 42, and Para 19)); and
the exhaust vent (24) comprises:
an exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of exhaust portion of element 24)) fluidly coupled with an interior (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of interior of element 3)) of the outlet diffuser (3)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above and Fig. 5); and
a compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of compartment portion of element 24)) fluidly coupled with the air (A) exterior to the enclosed portion (1,3) and interior to the unenclosed skirting (2)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above, Fig. 5, and Para 20).
Re claim 13:
Lin discloses exhaust enclosure (1, 3) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein:
the inlet diffuser (13) comprises an inlet conical diffuser (see Figs. 1-4 at element 13) that extends along the inlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - B) between the exhaust inlet (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - C) and the outlet diffuser (3)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above); and
the outlet diffuser (3) comprises an outlet conical diffuser (see Figs. 1-4 at element 3) that extends along the outlet flow path (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - D) between the inlet conical diffuser (at 13) and the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above).
Re claim 14:
Lin discloses exhaust enclosure (1, 3) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein:
the unenclosed skirting (2) laterally surrounds a perimeter (at external surface of elements 1 and 3) of the exhaust enclosure (1, 3)(see Figs. 1-5); and
the outlet diffuser (3) comprises:
a third enclosure wall (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of enclosure wall defining a perimeter of element F)) defining a perimeter of the exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of exhaust portion of element 24)) of the exhaust vent (24) and a compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of compartment portion of element 24)) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above); and
a second enclosure wall (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of second enclosure wall of element 3 (element J corresponds to the radially projecting edge of element 4 shown between views of 1-4))), parallel to and laterally spaced from the third enclosure wall (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - I)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above and Figs. 1-5), the second enclosure wall (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - J) defining a perimeter of the compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above).
Re claim 15:
Lin discloses exhaust enclosure (1, 3) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein the outlet diffuser (3) comprises:
a drain port (see Figs. 1, and 5 at element 32 and Para 20 - “…stream of exhaust E flows into the rear tube 3…”) at a first side (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as a type of first side of element 1, 3)) of the exhaust enclosure (1, 3), opposite from a second side (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of second side of element 1, 3)) of the exhaust enclosure (1, 3), wherein the exhaust vent (24) is disposed at the second side (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - L)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above).
Re claim 16:
Lin discloses exhaust enclosure (1, 3) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein one or more skirting walls (21, flared front section - Para 18) of the unenclosed skirting (2) flared outward from the exhaust enclosure (1, 3)(see Fig. 1).
Re claim 17:
Lin discloses a method of exhaust enclosure installation (see Figs. 1-5), comprising:
coupling an inlet (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of exhaust inlet of element 13)) of an exhaust enclosure (1, front tube - Para 15; 3, rear tube - Para 15) with an exhaust system (see Modified Fig. 1(b) above, Fig. 5, and Para 20), the coupling configured to cause the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) to receive combustion gases from a combustion engine (E, Para 20 - “…stream of exhaust from an operating internal combustion engine…”)(see Figs. 1-5 and Para 20); and
inserting the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) into a wall (21, flared section - Para 18) of a compartment (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as a type of compartment)) configured to receive the exhaust enclosure (1, 3)(see Figs. 1-5),
wherein the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) comprises:
a plurality of enclosure walls (12, 13, 32, 31, 33) extending from an exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of exhaust portion of element 24)) of an exhaust vent (24, rear section - Para 18 (see Fig. 5))(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above); and
a plurality of skirting walls (4, twisted blades - Para 15) extending from a compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of compartment portion of element 24)) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above and Fig. 4), and open to an environment along a surface (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of surface of element 4 opposite of element 24)) opposite from the exhaust vent (24), the environment fluidly coupled with the compartment portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - H) of the exhaust vent (24)(see Modified Fig. 1(b) above, Figs. 4-5, and Para 20).
Re claim 18:
Lin discloses the method (Figs. 1-5) of claim 17 (as described above), comprising:
coupling the inlet (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - C) as vertically aligned with a vertical stack portion (S, one end of a muffler - Para 16) of the exhaust system (see Modified Fig. 1(b) above), wherein the exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 1(b) above - F) of the exhaust enclosure (1, 3) is perpendicular to the vertically alignment (see Modified Fig. 1(b) above (element F is shown extending in a perpendicular direction to the direction of element S)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehlen (U.S. 3,842,599), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tsutsumi et al. (U.S. 2015/0176451).
Re claim 5:
Ehlen discloses the thermal management system (Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Ehlen fails to disclose a radiator to receive engine coolant from the combustion engine and sink heat from the engine coolant to air in the environment along a heat exchange surface of the radiator; and a fan to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and the plurality of enclosure walls.
Tsutsumi teaches a thermal management system (Figs. 1-4) comprising a radiator (51, radiator - Para 34) to receive engine coolant (Para 34 - “…engine cooling water…”) from a combustion engine (Para 34 - “…engine cooling water…”) and sink heat from the engine coolant to air (Para 36 - “…inflow cooling air passes through…radiator 51…”) in an environment (5, heat exchanger compartment - Para 36) along a heat exchange surface of the radiator (51)(see Figs. 1-4 and Paras 35-37); and a fan (54, cooling fan - Para 35) to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and a plurality of enclosure walls (31, side cover - Para 36; 38, upper cover - Para 36)(see Figs. 1-4 and Paras 35-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the thermal management system of Ehlen after that of Tsutsumi, thereby including a radiator to receive engine coolant from the combustion engine of Ehlen and sink heat from the engine coolant to air in the environment of Ehlen along a heat exchange surface of the radiator; and a fan to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and the plurality of enclosure walls of Ehlen, all in the way taught by Tsutsumi, for the advantage of being able to cool the engine (Tsutsumi; Para 34).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U.S. 2005/0205355), as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Patil et al. (U.S. 2021/0404359).
Re claim 19:
Lin discloses the method (Figs. 1-5) of claim 17 (as described above).
Lin further discloses installing an upper surface (see Fig. 1 at element 13) of an inlet diffuser (13, flared rear section - Para 16)(see Fig. 1).
Lin fails to disclose installing an upper surface of an inlet diffuser along a curvature of a locomotive engine compartment, wherein the exhaust portion of the exhaust enclosure protrudes above the locomotive engine compartment.
Patil teaches a method (Figs. 1-4B) installing an upper surface (Modified Fig. 4B above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of upper surface of element B)) of an inlet diffuser (Modified Fig. 4B above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inlet diffuser)) along a curvature (Modified Fig. 4B above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of curvature of element 402)) of a locomotive engine compartment (402, locomotive frame - Para 36 (Para 36 - “…components may be coupled to the locomotive frame, such as components of an engine…”))(see Modified Fig. 4B above), wherein an exhaust portion (Modified Fig. 4B above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of exhaust portion of element 210)) of an exhaust enclosure (210, exhaust stack - Para 32) protrudes above the locomotive engine compartment (402)(see Modified Fig. 4B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the method of Lin after that of Patil, thereby installing the upper surface of the inlet diffuser of Lin along a curvature of a locomotive engine as taught by Patil, for the advantage of being able to provide motive power to a vehicle (Patil; Para 31).
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U.S. 2005/0205355), as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, in view of Wanczura (DE102006037785).
Re claim 5:
Lin discloses the thermal management system (Figs. 1-5) of claim 1 (as described above).
Lin fails to disclose the thermal management system further comprising a radiator to receive engine coolant from the combustion engine and sink heat from the engine coolant to air in the environment along a heat exchange surface of the radiator; and a fan to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and the plurality of enclosure walls.
Wanczura teaches a thermal management system (Fig. 1) comprising a radiator (9, engine radiator - Para 33) to receive engine coolant (Para 33 - “…cooling water…”) from a combustion engine (5, diesel engine - Para 33) and sink heat from the engine coolant to air in an environment (Modified Fig. 1(c) above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of air in an environment)) along a heat exchange surface (Modified Fig. 1(c) above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of heat exchange surface of element 9)) of the radiator (9)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 33-35); and a fan (13, fan - Para 34) to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and a plurality of enclosure walls (see Fig. 1 at element 18)(see Modified Fig. 1(c) above and Paras 33-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the thermal management system of Lin after that of Wanczura, thereby including a radiator to receive engine coolant from the combustion engine of Lin and sink heat from the engine coolant to air in the environment along a heat exchange surface of the radiator; and a fan to circulate the air between the heat exchange surface and the plurality of enclosure walls of Lin, all in the way taught by Wanczura, for the advantage of providing a fuel-powered rail vehicle (Wanczura; Para 1).
Re claim 20:
Lin discloses the method (Figs. 1-5) of claim 17 (as described above).
Lin fails to disclose coupling the inlet vertically above a radiator fan in a locomotive engine compartment.
Wanczura teaches coupling an inlet (Modified Fig. 1(c) above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of inlet)) vertically above a radiator fan (13, fan - Para 34) in a locomotive engine compartment (2, engine room - Para 29 (interpreted as extending between from elements 3 and 10 as shown in Fig. 1))(see Modified Fig. 1(c) above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the coupling of inlet of Lin after that of Wanczura, thereby coupling the inlet of Lin vertically above a radiator fan in a locomotive engine compartment as taught by Wanczura, for the advantage of providing a fuel-powered rail vehicle (Wanczura; Para 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6-9 allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach claimed details of the inlet diffuser and the outlet diffuser and “wherein the exhaust vent is coupled with the third surface and the fourth surface, the third surface and the fourth surface forming at least a portion of an outlet flow path to direct the combustion gas from the opening to the exhaust vent” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 6-9.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by one or more references.
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 3/13/26