Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “driving” should be “drivingly” in the phrase “the clutch teeth of the sleeve {drivingly} engage the gear reduction unit” in the paragraph beginning “a fourth axial position…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “in” is missing in the phrase “when the sleeve is {in} on of the first, second, and third positions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “the” is missing in the phrases “are disposed within a void formed in {the} input shaft” and “the inner clutch teeth of {the} gear reduction unit” in the third line of the last paragraph, and the phrase “are axially offset from {the} inner clutch teeth” in the fourth line of the last paragraph. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Such claim limitation(s) are:
“power transfer device” in claim 2 (because A – “device” is a nonce / placeholder term; B-“ power transfer” represents the function, and C-no structural limitations are recited, that may perform said function; in other words, the phrase is equivalent to “means for power transfer”). The limitation will be interpreted as one of a chain and/or an arrangement of gears, or their equivalents, based on at least paragraphs [0022] and [0027] of the instant specification; it is noted that where the limitation appears in claims 3, 15, and 19 there is sufficient structure recited (a “controllable clutch assembly” being recited, which is understood to be capable of effecting power transfer) and it is not in those cases interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Mueller (US-20120077633-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mueller teaches an electrified transfer case (Hybrid Transfer Case 44, Fig. 1) for a vehicle (Fig. 1) having an engine (Engine 12, Fig. 1), a transmission (Transmission 14, Fig. 1), and front (Front Driveline 18, Fig. 1) and rear (Rear Driveline 16, Fig. 1) drivelines, comprising:
an input shaft (First Input Shaft 60, Fig. 2) configured to receive motive power from the transmission (14);
a first output shaft (Rear Output Shaft 42, Fig. 2) configured to connect to the front (18) or rear (16) driveline (Rear Output Shaft 42 being connected to Rear Driveline 16, Fig. 1);
an electric motor (Motor/ Generator 22, Fig. 2) coaxially arranged around the input shaft (60) and fixed for rotation to a gear reduction unit (Motor/ Generator 22 being fixed to Planetary Gear Set 64 via Sleeves 104 and 106 and Generator Clutch 102, Fig. 2);
a mode selection device (Mode Clutch 90 and Generator Clutch 102, Fig. 2) including an actuator (Para. [0038] teaches that a Controller 30 controls- i.e. actuates- Mode Clutch 90) and an axially moveable sleeve (Mode Sleeves 94 and 110, Fig. 2), wherein the sleeve (94 and 110) is axially moveable relative to the input shaft (60), the gear reduction unit (64), and the first output shaft (42) for selective engagement with each of the input shaft (60), the gear reduction unit (64), and the first output shaft (42) depending on an axial position of the sleeve (Para. [0023] and Figs. 2-5 teach Mode Sleeves 94 and 110 of Mode Clutch 90 and Generator Clutch 102 being configured to selectively engage each of: First Input Shaft 60 via Hub 76 as illustrated in Fig. 3, Planetary Gear Set 64 via Hub 78 as illustrated in Fig. 5, and Rear Output Shaft 42 via Splined Hub 96 as illustrated in Fig. 5);
wherein the sleeve (94 and 110) has multiple axial positions (as illustrated in Figs. 3-5), wherein each axial position of the multiple axial positions defines a different torque transferring mode of operation (Para. [0023] and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding Claim 2, Mueller further teaches:
a second output shaft (Front Output Shaft 56, Fig. 1) configured to connect to the front (18) or rear (16) driveline (Front Output Shaft 56 being connected to Front Driveline 18, Fig. 1); and
a power transfer device (Transfer System 80, Fig. 2; being a chain or its equivalents as it comprises Power Chain 86, see the related 112(f) interpretation above) configured to connect the first output shaft (42) to the second output shaft (56) (as illustrated in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Mueller further teaches that the power transfer (80) device selectively connects the first output shaft (42) to the second output shaft (56) via a controllable clutch assembly (Second Mode Clutch 92, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Mueller further teaches that the input shaft (60) has a forward end (left, Fig. 2) adapted for connection to the transmission (Para. [0021] teaches that one end of First Input Shaft 60 is connected to Transmission 14), and a rearward end (right, Fig. 2) adapted for selective connection to the sleeve (First Input Shaft 60 configured to connect to Mode Sleeve 94 via Hub 76, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Mueller further teaches that the first output shaft (42) has a forward end (left, Fig. 2) configured for selective connection to the sleeve (Rear Output Shaft 42 being connected to Mode Sleeve 94 in a selective manner, Figs. 2-5), and a rearward end (right, Fig. 2) configured for connection to the front (18) or rear (16) driveline (Rear Output Shaft 42 being connected to Rear Driveline 16, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Mueller further teaches that the gear reduction unit (64) is a planetary gearset (Planetary Gear Set 64 being described as such and including Ring Gear 66, Planet Gears 68, Sun Gear 70, and Carrier 74 as illustrated in Fig. 2), wherein the sleeve (94) selectively engages a carrier (74) of the planetary gearset (64) based on the axial position of the sleeve (Carrier 74 being connected to Hub 78 such that Sleeve 94 engages with it when it is in the position of Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 19, Mueller further teaches that the first output shaft (42) is a rear output shaft (Rear Output Shaft 42 being described as such and connecting with a Rear Axle as illustrated in Fig. 1), and a front output shaft (Front Output Shaft 56 ) is connected to the rear output shaft (42) via a power transfer device (Transfer System 80) having a controllable clutch assembly (Second Mode Clutch 92) for selectively operating in one of a rear wheel drive mode, four wheel drive mode, or all wheel drive mode (Para. [0030] teaches Rear Wheel Drive (RWD), Four Wheel Drive (4WD) and All Wheel Drive (AWD) modes being controlled at least in part by the operation of Second Mode Clutch 92).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller in view of Vogt (US-6155126-A).
Regarding Claim 7, Mueller further teaches that the sleeve (94 and 110) includes a collar groove (a groove being illustrated in Mode Sleeves 94 and 110, Fig. 2), wherein the actuator includes an axially shiftable shift fork that engages the collar groove, wherein the collar groove and sleeve are rotatable together relative to the shift fork.
Mueller does not specifically teach a shift fork, however, shift forks are old and well known in the art. Vogt teaches a transfer case (Transfer Case Assembly 16, Fig. 2) having a shift fork (Shift Fork Assembly 200, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a shift fork as is old and well known in the art and taught by Vogt, in order to actuate the sleeve of Mueller.
Regarding Claim 8, Mueller further teaches that the sleeve (94 and 110) includes multiple sets of clutch teeth (Para. [0021] teaches that Teeth 77 are formed on Hub 76 and Para. [0023] describes element 96 as a “Splined Hub”, both Hub 76 and Splined Hub 96 engaging with Mode Sleeve 94) disposed at different axial locations along the sleeve (94 and 110) on an {inner} surface of the sleeve, wherein different sets of the multiple sets of clutch teeth selectively engage {outer} clutch teeth of the input shaft (60), first output shaft (42), and gear reduction unit (64) depending on the axial position of the sleeve (Para. [0023] and Figs. 2-5 teach Mode Sleeve 94 being configured to selectively engage each of: First Input Shaft 60 via Hub 76 as illustrated in Fig. 3, Planetary Gear Set 64 via Hub 78 as illustrated in Fig. 5, and Rear Output Shaft 42 via Splined Hub 96 as illustrated in Fig. 5).
Mueller does not teach that the teeth are formed on an outer surface of the sleeve and inner surfaces of the shafts because it teaches that the teeth are on an inner surface of the sleeve.
Vogt teaches a sleeve (Clutch Collar 100, Fig. 6) with external teeth (Gear Teeth 106, Fig. 6) which engage with internal teeth (Gear Teeth 96, Fig. 2) a gear reduction unit (Planet Carrier 94; see also Col. 4, Lines 19-31)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the teeth such that they are formed on an outer surface of the sleeve and inner surfaces of the shafts, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claim 9, Mueller, as modified above, further teaches that the multiple sets of clutch teeth include first clutch teeth (the right portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94, Fig. 2) that selectively engage the inner clutch teeth (the teeth of Splined Hub 96) of the first output shaft (42) based on the axial position of the sleeve (the right portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94 engaging Splined Hub 96, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Mueller, as modified above, further teaches that the multiple sets of clutch teeth include second clutch teeth (the teeth of Mode Sleeve 110, Fig. 2) that selectively engage the gear reduction unit (64) based on the axial position of the sleeve (the teeth of Mode Sleeve 110 engaging Sun Gear 70 of Planetary Gear Set 64 via Second Sleeve 104as illustrated in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Mueller, as modified above, further teaches that the multiple sets of clutch teeth include third clutch teeth (the left portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94, Fig. 2) that selectively engage the input shaft (60) based on the axial position of the sleeve (94) and electively engage the gear reduction unit (64) based on the axial position of the sleeve (the left portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94 engaging First Input Shaft 60 via Hub 76, Fig. 3 or Planetary Gear Set 64 via Hub 78 as illustrated in Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12, Mueller further teaches that both the second clutch teeth (of Mode Sleeve 110) and the third clutch teeth (the left portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94) electively engage the gear reduction unit (64) based on the axial position of the sleeve (as illustrated in Figs. 2-5).
Regarding Claim 13, Mueller further teaches that the multiple axial positions include:
a first axial position (Fig. 2), wherein the clutch teeth of the sleeve (94) drivingly engage the first output shaft (42) and the gear reduction unit, and do not drivingly engage the input shaft, to operate in an EV mode (Paras. [0030]-[0031] teach a Front Wheel Drive (FWD) mode where Engine 12 is turned off and Motor/ Generator 22 is the only source of power);
a second axial position (Fig. 3), wherein the clutch teeth of the sleeve (94 and 110) drivingly engage the first output shaft (42), the gear reduction unit (64), and the input shaft (60) to operate in a hybrid mode (Para. [0032] teaches that All Wheel Drive (AWD) uses both Engine 12 and Motor/ Generator 22 to provide power);
a third axial position (Fig. 4), wherein the clutch teeth of the sleeve (94 and 110) drivingly engage the first output shaft (42) and the first input shaft (60), and do not drivingly engage the gear reduction unit (both Mode Sleeve 94 and Mode Sleeve 110 being disengaged from Planetary Gear Set 64, Fig. 4), to operate in a conventional mode (Para. [0034] teaches that Rear Wheel Drive (RWD) uses only Engine 12 for power);
a fourth axial position (Fig. 2), wherein the clutch teeth of the sleeve {drivingly} engage the gear reduction unit (64) and the input shaft (60), and do not drivingly engage the first output shaft (42), to operate in a generator or flat tow mode (Para. [0031] teaches that Front Wheel Drive (FWD) mode may be used for regeneration during coasting); and
a fifth axial position (where Mode Sleeve 94 is disengaged from Hubs 76 and 78 as in Fig. 2, and where Mode Sleeve 110 is disengaged as in Fig. 4), wherein the clutch teeth of the sleeve (94 and 110) do not drivingly engage the first output shaft (42), the gear reduction unit (64), and the input shaft (60) to operate in a neutral mode.
Regarding Claim 14, Mueller further teaches that in the fourth (Fig. 2) and fifth (94 as in Fig. 2, and 110 disengaged as in Fig. 4) axial position, the first output shaft (42) is drivingly decoupled from the input shaft (60) and the electric motor (22), such that rotation of the first output shaft (42) does not backdrive the electric motor and transmission (Mode Sleeve 94 is disengaged from Hubs 76 and 78 as in Fig. 2, rotation of Rear Output Shaft 42 would not cause rotation in First Input Shaft 60 or Motor/ Generator 22).
Regarding Claim 15, Mueller further teaches a second output shaft (56), a power transfer device (80), and a controllable clutch assembly (92) with substantially similar features to that of claims 2 and 3 (see the 102 rejection of claims 2 and 3 above) and further teaches that the controllable clutch assembly (92) is controlled to distribute power between the first (42) and second (56) output shafts to operate in a four wheel drive or all-wheel drive mode when the sleeve (94 and 110) is {in} one of the first, second, and third axial positions (Para. [0030] teaches Four Wheel Drive (4WD) and All Wheel Drive (AWD) modes being controlled at least in part by the operation of Second Mode Clutch 92).
Regarding Claim 16, Mueller further teaches that the controllable clutch assembly (92) is controlled to be in the open position when the sleeve is in the fourth (Fig. 2) or fifth (94 as in Fig. 2, and 110 disengaged as in Fig. 4) axial position, wherein the front (18) and rear (16) drivelines are each independently rotatable and decoupled to facilitate a flat towing operation (Second Mode Clutch 92 being in a free/ disengaged position in Fig. 2 and Para. [0029] teaches Front 52 and Rear 38 Wheel Disconnects such that Front 16 and Rear 18 Drivelines can be disconnected a facilitate a flat towing operation).
Regarding Claim 17, Mueller further teaches that multiple modes of operation are enabled when the sleeve (4 and 110) is in the fourth axial position (Fig. 2), wherein the transfer case (44) operates as a generator when the transmission (14) provides power via the input shaft (60), which is transferred to the electric motor (22) via the gear reduction unit (64), and the first output (42) shaft does not rotate (Para. [0031] teaches that Front Wheel Drive (FWD) mode, Fig. 2, may be used for regeneration during coasting), and the transfer case (44) operates in a flat tow mode when the first output shaft (42) rotates without transferring torque to the input shaft (60) or gear reduction unit (when Mode Sleeve 94 is disengaged from Hubs 76 and 78 as in Fig. 2, rotation of Rear Output Shaft 42 would not cause rotation in First Input Shaft 60 or Planetary Gear Set 64).
Regarding Claim 20, Mueller further teaches that a void is defined between the second clutch teeth (the teeth of Mode Sleeve 110) and the third clutch teeth (there being a space between Mode Sleeve 110 and the left portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94, Fig. 2), wherein the third clutch teeth (94) engage the gear reduction unit (64) in a first axial position of the sleeve (Fig. 5),
wherein the third clutch teeth (94) engage both the gear reduction unit (64) and the input shaft (60) in a second axial position (Fig. 3) of the sleeve (Mode Sleeve 94 engaging First Input Shaft 60 via Hub 76 and Mode Sleeve 110 engaging Planetary Gear Set 64 via Sleeve 104, Fig. 3),
wherein neither the second (110) or third clutch teeth (94) engage the gear reduction unit (64) in a third axial position (Fig. 4) and the void is aligned with inner clutch teeth of the gear reduction unit and the third clutch teeth (the left portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94, Fig. 4) engage the input shaft (60) in the third axial position (the left portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94 engaging First Input Shaft 60 via Hub 76, Fig. 4),
wherein the second clutch teeth (110) are engaged with the gear reduction unit (64) in a fourth axial position (Fig. 3) and the third clutch teeth (94) are engaged with the input shaft (60) in the fourth axial position (Fig. 3);
wherein the first clutch teeth (the right portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94, Fig. 2) are engaged with the first output shaft (42) in the first (Fig. 5), second (Fig. 3), third (Fig. 4), and fourth axial position (Fig. 3) (the right portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94 being engaged with Rear Output Shaft 42 via Hub 96 in Figs. 3-5);
wherein all of the first (right portion, 94), second (left portion, 94), and third (110) clutch teeth are disengaged from the input shaft (60), first output shaft (42), and gear reduction unit (64) in a fifth axial position (Fig. 2) of the sleeve (94 and 110), wherein the third clutch teeth (left portion of 94) are disposed within a void (a space being formed in First Input Shaft 60 between its leftmost end and Hub 76, Fig. 5) formed in {the} input shaft (the left portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94 being disposed between the leftmost end of First Input Shaft 60 and Hub 76, Fig. 5), the inner clutch teeth of {the} gear reduction unit (64) are axially offset from the second clutch teeth (Hub 78 being axially offset from Mode Sleeve 110, Fig. 2), and the first clutch teeth (right portion of 94) are axially offset from {the} inner clutch teeth of the first output shaft (the right portion of teeth of Mode Sleeve 94 being axially offset from Hub 96, Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A rejection under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102/103 is not made because the claims are patentably distinguishable from the prior art of record. Every element of the claims is not taught by any of the references individually and the prior art of record fails to permissibly teach the overall combination as claimed. Even if one could construe the prior art of record such that the combination disclosed each and every limitation of the claims, the ordered combination would not have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art because doing so would require improper hindsight reasoning in view of the present Specification, and furthermore, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the aforementioned references in reference to themselves or in knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The closest prior art of record, as highlighted above, Mueller and Vogt, generally discloses an electrified transfer case with similar components to the claimed invention.
However neither Mueller nor Vogt specifically disclose a support shaft for a shifting sleeve where the support shaft and the sleeve are rotatable relative to each other as required by claim 6.
Even if each and every element of the present invention were taught individually by the aforementioned references, combining the references as an ordered combination would not have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art because doing so would require improper hindsight reasoning in view of the present Specification, and furthermore there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the aforementioned references present in the aforementioned references themselves or in knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
For at least these reasons, claim 6, as far as it includes all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, is indicated as reciting allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611