Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/22/2026 has been entered. All previous objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-14, 25-28 and 33-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nadkrynechny (US20180328166A1).
Claim 1: Nadkrynechny discloses a pad plunger (Figs. 9-16) comprising a body (1000); and a plurality of pads (1008/1012) biased to move relative to the body, where each of the plurality of pads has a top portion and a bottom portion that are equally biased (Fig. 13, note equally spaced holes 1038 for springs at the top and bottom end of 1012), and wherein at least a first one of the plurality of pads is biased to move relative to the body at one rate (Examiner notes Fig. 9, where a plurality of pads and measuring rings are shown as well as Fig. 10, in which a plurality of pads are shown around the circumference of the pad; paragraph 110 details that a given pad section 1012 can be contacted by a narrower tubing portion, which would involve that pad section moving a one rate with respect to the narrow tubing), and a second one of the plurality of pads is biased to move relative to the body at another rate (Examiner notes that another of the pads--e.g., perhaps one that is lower than the first pad--that is just entering the narrowing transition section of the tubing will move at a different rate than that of the first given pad section or, alternatively, will have the same rate change when it passes through the narrow section).
Claim 2: Nadkrynechny further discloses that at least the first one of the plurality of pads or the second one of the plurality of pads is biased by a spring (note springs in Fig. 13).
Claim 3: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first one of the plurality of pads is biased by a first spring and the second one of the plurality of pads is biased by a second spring (Fig. 13).
Claim 4: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first spring has a first rate and the second spring has a second rate (Fig. 13).
Claim 9: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first spring has a first end and a second end, where the first end sits in a first pocket (1040) in the body and the second end sits in a pocket (1038) in the first one of the plurality of pads (Fig. 13).
Claim 10: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the second spring has a first end and a second end, where the first end sits in a second pocket (note another of 1040) in the body and the second end sits in a pocket (note other of 1038) in the second one of the plurality of pads (Fig. 13).
Claim 11: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first pocket in the body and the pocket in the first one of the plurality of pads have a first collective depth (Fig. 13).
Claim 12: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the second pocket in the body and the pocket in the second one of the plurality of pads have a second collective depth (Fig. 13).
Claim 13: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first collective depth and the second collective depth are the same (Fig. 13).
Claim 14: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first spring has a first rate and the second spring has a second rate (Fig. 13).
Claim 25: Nadkrynechny discloses a pad plunger (Figs. 9-16), comprising a body (1000); and a plurality of pads (1008/1012) biased to move relative to the body, where each of the plurality of pads has an equally biased top portion and bottom portion (Fig. 13, note equally spaced holes 1038 for springs at the top and bottom end of 1012), and wherein at least a first one of the plurality of pads is biased to move relative to the body in response to a force (Examiner notes Fig. 9, where a plurality of pads and measuring rings are shown as well as Fig. 10, in which a plurality of pads are shown around the circumference of the pad; paragraph 110 details that a given pad section 1012 can be contacted with a force imposed by a narrower tubing portion, which would involve that pad section moving a one rate with respect to the narrow tubing), and a second one of the plurality of pads is biased to move relative to the body in response to another force (Examiner notes that another of the pads--e.g., perhaps one that is lower than the first pad--that is just entering the narrowing transition section of the tubing will experience a different force than that of the first given pad section or, alternatively, will have the same force placed upon it at a different time or even experience the force imposed by the tubing against the pad in a non-narrow section).
Claim 26: Nadkrynechny further discloses that at least the first one of the plurality of pads or the second one of the plurality of pads is biased by a spring (note springs in Fig. 13).
Claim 27: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first one of the plurality of pads is biased by a first spring and the second one of the plurality of pads is biased by a second spring (Fig. 13).
Claim 28: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first spring has a first rate and the second spring has a second rate (Fig. 13).
Claim 33: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first spring has a first end and a second end, where the first end sits in a first pocket (1040) in the body and the second end sits in a pocket (1038) in the first one of the plurality of pads (Fig. 13).
Claim 34: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the second spring has a first end and a second end, where the first end sits in a second pocket (note another of 1040) in the body and the second end sits in a pocket (note other of 1038) in the second one of the plurality of pads (Fig. 13).
Claim 35: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first pocket in the body and the pocket in the first one of the plurality of pads have a first collective depth (Fig. 13).
Claim 36: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the second pocket in the body and the pocket in the second one of the plurality of pads have a second collective depth (Fig. 13).
Claim 37: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first collective depth and the second collective depth are the same (Fig. 13)).
Claim 38: Nadkrynechny further discloses that the first spring has a first rate and the second spring has a second rate (Fig. 13)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 15-24, 29-32 and 39-48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 5, 15, 29 and 39, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teaches in combination that the first spring rate and the second spring rate are different.
Regarding claims 19 and 43, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the first collective depth and the second collective depth are different.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has newly relied upon the Nadkrynechny reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746