DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that De reference does not disclose zig-zag shaped openings, as the passages 61,62,63,66 and 67 of De are strictly straight, intersecting orthogonal passages.
Examiner notes that De discloses zig-zag shaped openings as seen in examiner annotated fig 7 below.
Applicant argues that for Claim 7, Gilmore reference does not disclose the presence of O-rings.
Examiner notes that Gilmore teaches O-rings as part of the elastomeric seal at its ends forming rounded elastomer, which are O-rings, similar to the applicant’s disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 8 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De et al. (U.S. Patent # 3330563).
Regarding Claim 1, De figs 6 and 7 disclose a vent seal (47) disposed in a wall of a sealed enclosure ( wall of 32), comprising:
a barrier defining a balloon portion (48) and an integral sealing element (49, 49), wherein the balloon portion extends through an opening in the wall (opening of 54) of the sealed enclosure (32) and wherein the sealing element (49) is disposed within a groove (groove with 49) defined in the wall of the sealed enclosure (wall of 32); and
an air router (air router with openings 61, 62, 63, 66, 67) disposed within a recess defined in the wall of the sealed enclosure ( recess in the wall of 32),
the air router holding the sealing element within the groove ( air router with passages 61, 62, 63, 66, 67, holding 49 within the groove), wherein the air router defines one or more openings comprising a circuitous route for the passage of air into an interior cavity of the balloon portion of the barrier (air router with openings 61, 62, 63, 66, 67 forming a circuitous route),
wherein the circuitous route comprises one or more zig-zag-shaped openings ( air router with openings 61, 62, 63, 66, 67 forming zig-zag-shaped openings as seen in examiner annotated fig 7 below).
Regarding Claim 2, De discloses the vent seal wherein the barrier is composed of flexible rubber (Col 2 : Lines 51 – 52).
Regarding Claim 3, De discloses the vent seal wherein the air router is composed of plastic ( Col 2 : Lines 34 – 36).
Regarding Claim 4, De discloses the vent seal wherein the circuitous route for the passage of air inhibits the passage or particulates therethrough and into the interior cavity of the balloon portion ( air router with openings 61, 62, 63, 66, 67 forming a circuitous route configured to inhibit the passage or particulates therethrough and into the interior cavity of the balloon portion 48).
Regarding Claim 5, De discloses the vent seal wherein the wall of the sealed enclosure defines a cut-out (cut out of 33) around the opening (opening of 54) sized and shaped to accommodate expansion of the balloon portion ( cut out of 33 configured to accommodate expansion of the balloon portion 48).
Regarding Claim 8, De discloses the vent seal wherein the balloon portion expands into an interior of the enclosure when air pressure outside of the enclosure is greater than air pressure in the interior of the enclosure (48 configured to expands into an interior of the enclosure when air pressure outside of the enclosure is greater than air pressure in the interior of the enclosure).
Regarding Claim 9, De discloses the vent seal wherein the balloon portion collapses when air pressure outside of the enclosure is lower than air pressure in the interior of the enclosure ( 48 configured to collapse when air pressure outside of the enclosure is lower than air pressure in the interior of the enclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De in view of Fournier (U.S. Paten # 3940152).
Regarding Claim 6, De discloses the vent seal.
De does not disclose wherein the cut-out is conically shaped.
However, Fournier teaches wherein the cut-out is conically shaped (cut out with 40 is conically shaped, fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cut-out around the opening of De to be angular as in Fournier with a reasonable expectation of success so that the cut-outs retain the shape of the balloon portion of the barrier.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De in view of Gilmore (U.S. Patent # 4394022).
Regarding Claim 7, De discloses the vent seal.
De does not disclose wherein the sealing element is an 0-ring and further wherein the groove is circular in shape and formed in the recess around an exterior of the opening through which the balloon portion extends.
However, Gilmore teaches wherein the sealing element is an 0-ring (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sealing element of De to be an O-ring as in Gilmore with a reasonable expectation of success so that the O-ring is retained in the circular groove.
The combination of De and Gilmore discloses further wherein the groove is circular in shape ( De groove of 49) and formed in the recess around an exterior of the opening through which the balloon portion extends (De groove of 49 forms recess around an exterior of the opening of 54 through which the balloon portion 48 extends).
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675