Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2025, 12/02/2025, and 04/10/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 14, & 16 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kojima et al. JP 2007186152 A (hereinafter Kojima).
Re. Cl. 1, Kojima discloses a seat, disposed in a transport, comprising a chair seat (Fig. 1, Ref. 20), a chair back (Fig. 1, Ref. 21), and an air duct (Fig. 1, Ref. 10; Para. 0012) including an inlet (Fig. 1, Ref. 10a; Para. 0013) and a first outlet (Fig. 1, Ref. 31) wherein the inlet of the air duct is disposed at a bottom of the chair seat, and is configured to connect to an air conditioning system of the transport (See Fig. 1), and wherein the first outlet of the air duct extends through a rear part of the chair back (Para. 0019).
Re. Cl. 2, Kojima discloses a head pillow (Fig. 1, Ref. 23), wherein the air duct further comprises a second outlet, disposed in the head pillow (Fig. 1, Ref. 44; Para. 0022).
Re. Cl. 3, Kojima discloses a third outlet (Fig. 1, Ref. 22) that faces a front part of the chair back (Para. 0017).
Re. Cl. 4, Kojima discloses a third outlet (Fig. 1, Ref. 22) that faces a front part of the chair back (Para. 0017).
Re. Cl. 14, Kojima discloses a vehicle (Para. 0053), comprising a seat including a chair seat (Fig. 1, Ref. 20), a chair back (Fig. 1, Ref. 21), and an air duct (Fig. 1, Ref. 10; Para. 0012) including an inlet (Fig. 1, Ref. 10a; Para. 0013) and a first outlet (Fig. 1, Ref. 31) wherein the inlet of the air duct is disposed at a bottom of the chair seat, and is configured to connect to an air conditioning system of the transport (See Fig. 1), and wherein the first outlet of the air duct extends through a rear part of the chair back (Para. 0019).
Re. Cl. 16, Kojima discloses a head pillow (Fig. 1, Ref. 23), wherein the air duct further comprises a second outlet, disposed in the head pillow (Fig. 1, Ref. 44; Para. 0022).
Re. Cl. 17, Kojima discloses a third outlet (Fig. 1, Ref. 22) that faces a front part of the chair back (Para. 0017).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koch et al. US 20210381607 A1 (hereinafter Koch).
Re. Cl. 15, Koch discloses an air duct (Fig. 3, Ref. 18a) with a control valve (Fig. 3, Ref. 14) with a valve body including a first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28a), a second interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28b), and a third interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28c), and a flow-guiding apparatus (Fig. 3, Ref. 22) disposed inside the valve body, wherein the flow-guiding apparatus comprises a plurality of first air baffles distributed in a fan blade manner (Fig. 3, Ref. 36a-d; Para. 0053), and the flow-guiding apparatus is configured to rotate to cause different interface configurations (Fig. 3-5; Para. 0047) and when the plurality of first air baffles are at a preset location the first interface and the second interface are not blocked but the third interface is blocked (See Fig. 3).
Koch also discloses the use of the control valve in vehicle fluid flow management (Para. 0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 11 & 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima in view of Koch.
Re. Cl. 5, Kojima discloses a first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), a second interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and a third interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. d), where the inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), the second interface is connected to the first outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and the third interface is connected to the second outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. d). The Examiner notes that the letter references (b - e) are position indicators in the specification of Kojima, and are used here to indicate the location of the interfaces in Fig. 1 for simplicity.
Kojima also discloses a first rotating control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 25 & 26; Para. 0018) where the first control system is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (Para. 0018).
Re. Cl. 5, Kojima fails to disclose a control valve. Koch teaches a first control valve (Fig. 3, Ref. 14) for use in vehicle fluid flow management (Para. 0037) that comprises a first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28a), a second interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28b), and a third interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28c), an inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 18a; Para. 0042), the second interface is connected to a first outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18b; Para. 0042), and the third interface is connected to a second outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18c; Para. 0042), and the first control valve is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (See Fig. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima with Koch's teaching of a control valve. Doing so would allow for a more advanced flow logic for more precise control in the duct system.
Re. Cl. 6, Kojima discloses a first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), a second interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and a third interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. c-d), where the inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), the second interface is connected to the first outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and the third interface is connected to the third outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. c). The Examiner notes that the letter references (b - e) are position indicators in the specification of Kojima, and are used here to indicate the location of the interfaces in Fig. 1 for simplicity.
Kojima also discloses a first rotating control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 25 & 26; Para. 0018) where the first control system is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (Para. 0018).
Re. Cl. 6, Kojima fails to disclose a control valve. Koch teaches a first control valve (Fig. 3, Ref. 14) for use in vehicle fluid flow management (Para. 0037) that comprises a first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28a), a second interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28b), and a third interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28c), the inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 18a; Para. 0042), the second interface is connected to the first outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18b; Para. 0042), and the third interface is connected to a third outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18c; Para. 0042), and the first control valve is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (See Fig. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima with Koch's teaching of a control valve. Doing so would improve the system by introducing additional flow path combinations through a single system.
Re. Cl. 7, Kojima discloses a first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), a second interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and a third interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. c-d), where the inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), the second interface is connected to the first outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and the third interface is connected to the second outlet and the third outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. c-d). The Examiner notes that the letter references (b - e) are position indicators in the specification of Kojima, and are used here to indicate the location of the interfaces in Fig. 1 for simplicity.
Kojima also discloses a first rotating control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 25 & 26; Para. 0018) where the first control system is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (Para. 0018).
Re. Cl. 7, Kojima fails to disclose a control valve. Koch teaches a first control valve (Fig. 3, Ref. 14) for use in vehicle fluid flow management (Para. 0037) that comprises a first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28a), a second interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28b), and a third interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28c), the inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 18a; Para. 0042), the second interface is connected to the first outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18b; Para. 0042), and the third interface is connected to the second outlet and the third outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18c; Para. 0042), and the first control valve is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (See Fig. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima with Koch's teaching of a control valve such that the third interface of Koch is aligned with the third interface of Kojima to connect to the second outlet and the third outlet of Kojima. Doing so would give a user more control options over the transport interior climate by introducing a more advanced flow logic to the system.
Re. Cl. 8, Kojima discloses a second rotating control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 35 & 37).
Re. Cl. 8, Kojima fails to disclose a control valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima’s second rotating control system with Koch’s teaching of a control value such that a second control valve comprises a fourth interface, a fifth interface, and a sixth interface; the fourth interface is connected to the third interface, and the fifth interface and the sixth interface are respectively connected to the second outlet and the third outlet; and the second control valve is configured to connect the fourth interface to at least one of the fifth interface and the sixth interface under a preset condition, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Doing so increases the potential flow path combinations available to the user, allowing for increased control over the system outputs.
Re. Cl. 9, Kojima discloses a first flow-guiding apparatus (Fig. 1, Ref. 25) that is disposed with the first rotating control system and can rotate (Para. 0018).
Re. Cl. 9, Kojima fails to disclose baffles. Koch teaches that a first flow-guiding apparatus (Fig. 3, Ref. 22) is disposed inside the first control valve (See Fig. 3), and the first flow-guiding apparatus comprises a plurality of first air baffles distributed in a fan blade manner (Fig. 3, Ref. 36a-d; Para. 0053), and the first flow-guiding apparatus can rotate (Fig. 3-5; Para. 0047), and when the plurality of first air baffles are at a preset location the first interface and the second interface are not blocked but the third interface is blocked (See Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima with Koch's teaching of baffles. Doing so would allow for open/closed configurations of the interfaces not possible with the simple single “door” flow guiding apparatus of Kojima.
Re. Cl. 10, Kojima discloses a first flow-guiding apparatus (Fig. 1, Ref. 25) that is disposed with the first rotating control system and can rotate (Para. 0018).
Re. Cl. 10, Kojima fails to disclose baffles. Koch teaches that a first flow-guiding apparatus (Fig. 3, Ref. 22) is disposed inside the first control valve (See Fig. 3), and the first flow-guiding apparatus comprises a plurality of first air baffles distributed in a fan blade manner (Fig. 3, Ref. 36a-d; Para. 0053), and the first flow-guiding apparatus can rotate (Fig. 3-5; Para. 0047), and when the plurality of first air baffles are at a preset location the first interface and the second interface are not blocked but the third interface is blocked (See Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima with Koch's teaching of baffles. Doing so allows precise control and more potential flow paths by at least partially blocking and unblocking the interfaces rather than fully blocking one or fully opening all.
Re. Cl. 11, Kojima discloses a second flow-guiding apparatus (Fig. 1, Ref. 14) that is disposed with the second rotating control system and can rotate (Para. 0015).
Re. Cl. 11, Kojima fails to disclose baffles. Koch teaches a flow-guiding apparatus (Fig. 2, Ref. 22) with a plurality of air baffles distributed in a fan blade manner (Fig. 3, Ref. 36a-d; Para. 0053) and at least three interfaces (See Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima’s second flow-guiding apparatus with Koch’s teaching of a flow-guiding apparatus with baffles such that a second flow-guiding apparatus is disposed inside the second control valve, and the second flow-guiding apparatus comprises a plurality of second air baffles distributed in a fan blade manner; and the second flow-guiding apparatus can rotate, and when the plurality of second air baffles are at a preset location, the fourth interface, the fifth interface, and the sixth interface are not blocked, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Doing so would allow for a second set of flow path controls to further modulate the transport internal climate, by using it for temperature regulation, for example, as in Kojima.
Re. Cl. 18, Kojima discloses a first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), a second interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and a third interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. d), where the inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), the second interface is connected to the first outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and the third interface is connected to the second outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. d). The Examiner notes that the letter references (b - e) are position indicators in the specification of Kojima, and are used here to indicate the location of the interfaces in Fig. 1 for simplicity.
Kojima also discloses a first rotating control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 25 & 26; Para. 0018) where the first control system is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (Para. 0018).
Re. Cl. 18, Kojima fails to disclose a control valve. Koch teaches a first control valve (Fig. 3, Ref. 14) that comprises a first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28a), a second interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28b), and a third interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28c), an inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 18a; Para. 0042), the second interface is connected to a first outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18b; Para. 0042), and the third interface is connected to a second outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18c; Para. 0042), and the first control valve is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (See Fig. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima with Koch's teaching of a control valve. Doing so would improve the system by introducing additional flow path combinations through a single system.
Re. Cl. 19, Kojima discloses a first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), a second interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and a third interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. c-d), where the inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (See Fig. 1, Ref. b), the second interface is connected to the first outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. e), and the third interface is connected to the third outlet (See Fig. 1, Ref. c). The Examiner notes that the letter references (b - e) are position indicators in the specification of Kojima, and are used here to indicate the location of the interfaces in Fig. 1 for simplicity.
Kojima also discloses a first rotating control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 25 & 26; Para. 0018) where the first control system is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (Para. 0018).
Re. Cl. 19, Kojima fails to disclose a control valve. Koch teaches a first control valve (Fig. 3, Ref. 14) that comprises a first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28a), a second interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28b), and a third interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 28c), the inlet of the air duct is connected to the first interface (Fig. 3, Ref. 18a; Para. 0042), the second interface is connected to the first outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18b; Para. 0042), and the third interface is connected to a third outlet (Fig. 3, Ref. 18c; Para. 0042), and the first control valve is configured to connect the first interface to at least one of the second interface and the third interface under a preset condition (See Fig. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima with Koch's teaching of a control valve. Doing so would allow for a more advanced flow logic for more precise control in the duct system.
Re. Cl. 20, Kojima discloses a second rotating control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 35 & 37).
Re. Cl. 20, Kojima fails to disclose a control valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima’s second rotating control system with Koch’s teaching of a control value such that a second control valve comprises a fourth interface, a fifth interface, and a sixth interface; the fourth interface is connected to the third interface, and the fifth interface and the sixth interface are respectively connected to the second outlet and the third outlet; and the second control valve is configured to connect the fourth interface to at least one of the fifth interface and the sixth interface under a preset condition, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Doing so increases the potential flow path combinations available to the user, allowing for increased control over the system output, for example to control the flow speed or air temperature.
Annotated Section of ATEACHING Fig. 2
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima in view of Lim et al. US 20200317097 A1 (hereinafter Lim).
Re. Cl. 12, Kojima discloses a seat (See Fig. 1) and an air duct (Fig. 1, Ref. 10; Para. 0012).
Re. Cl. 12, Kojima fails to disclose a corrugated pipe. Koch teaches a first corrugated pipe (Fig. 1, Ref. 40; Para. 0043) and a second corrugated pipe (See Fig. 2), one end of the first corrugated pipe is the inlet of the air duct (Fig. 1, Ref. 70; Para. 0043), and the second corrugated pipe is disposed near a joint between the chair seat and the chair back (See Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kojima with Koch's teaching of a corrugated pipe. Doing so allows for the system to adjust to a user sitting on the seat while maintaining airtightness, as the corrugated pipe can lengthen and compress along the length of the pipe to as the cushion compresses and expands when in use (Para. 0045).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima in view of Lim as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Song et al. US 20220316635 A1 (hereinafter Song).
Re. Cl. 13, Kojima as modified by Lim fails to disclose reinforcing strips with metal wires. Song teaches two sides of a corrugated pipe comprise reinforcing strips (Fig. 2, Ref. 3; Para. 0077-0078), and metal wires are disposed inside the reinforcing strips (Fig. 2, Ref. 2; Para. 0077-0078). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kojima's invention with Song's teachings of reinforcing strips with metal wires. Doing so reinforces the pipe by improving the axial tensile strength (Para. 0039).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamaoka et al. US 20180117987 A1, Powell et al. US 20220314850 A1, and McElroy et al. US 20190337429 A1.
/GELILA KEBEDE/Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632