Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “channel selection determiner” (support found in fig. 4, [0046,60-68]), “incrementer” (fig. 4, [0046, 0050, 0068]), and “determiner” (fig. 4, [0046, 0051-0056]) in claim 1; “resetter” (fig. 4, [0046, 0053, 0062]) in claim 3; “notifier” (fig. 4, [0054, 0072]) in claim 4, “recorder”(fig. 4, [0056, 0061, 0105]) in claim 6; “register” (fig. 4, [0063, 0067]) in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishigaki (US 2008/0178215).
Regarding claim 1, Nishigaki discloses An information processing device comprising:
a channel selection determiner that performs determination as to whether or not a
channel is selectable (fig. 2A, [0025-0027]);
an incrementer that, in a case where a channel, on which the determination is made, is
not selectable, increments a counter of the channel determined not to be selectable(fig. 2A, [0025-0027]); and
a determiner that, in a case where the counter exceeds a threshold value, determines
that a channel, for which the counter exceeds the threshold value, is not receivable (fig. 2A, [0025-0027] Once a threshold value is reached, it is determined that tunable channel cannot be found ).
Regarding claim 9, Nishigaki discloses the channel selection determiner performs the determination by automatic channel scan performed periodically or irregularly ([0024-0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Nishigaki discloses the channel selection determiner performs the determination on the basis of channel selection operation of the channel by a user ([0024-0026]).
Regarding claim 12, see the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishigaki (US 2008/0178215) in view of Yamamoto (US 2002/0178449).
Regarding claim 2, Nishigaki does not specifically disclose a channel scan data storage that stores a registered channel table in which a selectable channel is registered; and a channel deletion controller that deletes the channel determined not to be receivable, from the registered channel table.
However, Yamamoto discloses a channel scan data storage that stores a registered channel table in which a selectable channel is registered; and a channel deletion controller that deletes the channel determined not to be receivable, from the registered channel table (fig. 5A, 5B, [0032, 0040, 0042, 0044]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the channel data storage table of Yamamoto into the system of Nishigaki in order to provide an organized method of storing channel data.
Regarding claim 3, Nishigaki discloses a resetter that, in a case where a channel, on which the determination is made, is selectable, resets a counter of the channel determined to be selectable (fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 4, Nishigaki discloses a notifier that notifies a user of a possibility that there is a problem with a television broadcast signal receiving environment in a case where the channel, on which the determination is made, is not selectable and there is no counter in a reset state for a channel other than the channel determined not to be selectable ([0027]).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto discloses a recorder that, in a case where a channel, on which the determination is made, is selectable, records information regarding time when the determination is performed in association with the channel determined to be selectable ([0037-0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Nishigaki in view of Yamamoto discloses a register that, in a case where the channel, on which the determination is made, is selectable, and is not registered in the registered channel table, registers, in the registered channel table, the channel determined to be selectable ([0026] of Nishigaki, fig. 5A, 5B of Yamamoto).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426