DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites, “the sleeve is further disposed through the opening in the core ring and extends axially at least partially into the shaft of the pin, and the sleeve is axially slidable inside the shaft of the pin.”
Applicant does not disclose the claimed sleeve further disposed through the opening in the core ring. Instead, applicant disclose the shaft passing through the opening in the core ring (See applicant’s spec, par 0005-0006, 0030, 0031, 0034, 0064, 0072).
Applicant does not disclose the sleeve … extends axially at least partially into the shaft. Instead, applicant discloses the sleeve extending over the shaft (id.).
Applicant does not disclose the sleeve axially slidable inside the shaft. Instead, applicant discloses the sleeve is outside the pin (id.).
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 dependent on claim 1 recites “the sleeve is further disposed through the opening in the core ring and extends axially at least partially into the shaft of the pin, and the sleeve is axially slidable inside the shaft of the pin.” Applicant’s figures 2-6 and all embodiments show the pin sliding into the hollow sleeve (See applicant’s spec, par 0005-0006, 0030, 0031, 0034, 0064, 0072). It is unclear how to interpret the sleeve slid into the pin when all other disclosures and drawings indicate that the pin is inside the hollow shaft. It is unclear how to interpret the sleeve and pin in light of the contradictory embodiments of the disclosure. Claim 3 is rejected for indefiniteness. For the limited purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as indicating the sleeve is partially onto the shaft of the pin, and the sleeve is axially slidable outside the shaft of the pin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ewart (US 1,232,779).
Annotations on Ewart figures 1 and 2
Claim 1, Ewart discloses a tool (fig 1) comprising: a core ring (12) comprising a first end (part of 12 closest to spring 16) and a second end (fig 6, teeth of 12) disposed opposite the first end, wherein: an opening (fig 2, bore through 12 for shaft 9) is defined through the first end and the second end, and the core ring comprises a first radial engagement component (teeth on 12 radiate inward); a pin (3 and 9) comprising a shaft (3 and 9 form the hand crank shaft) having a first side (9) and a second side (3), wherein: the first side of the shaft is disposed at least adjacent the opening of the core ring (9 extends out of 12), the pin further comprises a second radial engagement component (radial clutch teeth on 11 are with pin 3) configured to engage with the first radial engagement component of the core ring (teeth on 11 and 12 are configured to engage as clutch faces), and the second side of the shaft extends axially outwardly from the second end of the core ring (fig 2 shows how shaft 9 extends past the end of 12 and into 11; this is the same arrangement as applicant’s fig 2, 224 extending away from 204); and a sleeve (sleeve 5 meets the plain meaning of sleeve because it fits over shaft 9) connected to the core ring (sleeve 5 is connected to 12 via shaft 9 / spring 16), wherein: the first side of the shaft of the pin is slidable with respect to the sleeve (shaft 9 slides within sleeve 5), the sleeve and the core ring together are axially shiftable relative to the pin (sleeve 5 and 12 can slide relatively away from 11 in order to disengage the clutch), and at least a portion of the sleeve extends axially outwardly from the first side of the core ring (5 extends axially away from 12).
Claim 2, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein: the first side of the shaft of the pin is disposed through the opening of the core ring and past the first end of the core ring (9 extends through 12 and past the first end of 12), the sleeve is connected to the first end of the core ring (sleeve 5 that slides of 9 connects to core ring 12 via shaft 9 and spring 16), the first side of the shaft of the pin is disposed at least partially inside the sleeve (9 is within 5), and the first side of the shaft of the pin is axially slidable inside the sleeve (9 slides within 5).
Claim 3, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein: the first side of the shaft of the pin is configured to receive the sleeve (9 is fitted within sleeve 5; a fitting/configuration meets the plain meaning of receive under a BRI), the sleeve is further disposed through the opening in the core ring (the sleeve portion of 12 that fits over 9 is a bore that shares the end opening through 12, meets the meaning of “disposed through” as shown in applicant’s figures; applicant’s figures 2-6 show sleeve 208 outside of core ring 204 and not “disposed through” in the plain sense; the interpretation under a BRI suggests applicant is referring to simple end-to-end engagement) and extends axially at least partially [onto] the shaft of the pin (the sleeve of 12 goes over shaft 9; this interpretation aligns with applicant’s figures showing sleeve 208 sliding over shaft 222), and the sleeve is axially slidable [outside] the shaft of the pin (id.).
Claim 4, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the core ring further comprises: a main ring (inner circumference of 12) connected to the sleeve (12 is connected to 5 via shaft 9); and a gear ring (outer circumference of 12) connected to the main ring, wherein the first radial engagement component extends radially inwardly from the gear ring (teeth on 12 extend radially inward from the outer circumference).
Claim 5, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the pin further comprises: a free wheel (11; 11 can disengage from the teeth on 12 and therefore 11 and 12 rotate free of each other, which meets freewheel under a BRI) connected to the shaft of the pin (fig 1, 11 is connected to 9), and further wherein: the second side of the shaft of the pin extends axially through the free wheel (a second side of 9 extends through 11), the second radial engagement component of the pin (teeth on 11) extends radially outwardly from the free wheel (teeth on 11 extend radially outward from 11).
Claim 6, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 5, wherein the free wheel is removably connected to the pin (11 can slide off of 3 axially ; fig 1 and 2 show the slot 13 which allows pin 33 to slide out of 11 and frees pin 3).
Claim 8, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 7, further comprising a rotating mechanism, wherein: the second side of the shaft is connected to the rotating mechanism (11), in the first position (11 and 12 are engaged in the first position), the core ring, the sleeve, the pin, and the rotating mechanism rotate together (when 11 and 12 are engaged these parts rotate together as in any conventional clutch, pg 2 ln 90-95), and in the second position, the core ring and the sleeve are configured to permit the first side of the shaft of the pin to rotate freely (when the clutch is disengaged a person can rotate the first side of the shaft / with the handle and it not rotate the 11, pg 2 ln 55-58), and further the second side of the shaft of the pin is rotatable with the rotating mechanism (3 rotates due to engagement between 11 and 12 and the cotter pin 33 transferring torque from 11 to 3; pg 2 ln 44-45).
Claim 10, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the sleeve, the core ring, and the pin are concentric (fig 1 and 2 show these pieces are concentric).
Claim 11, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 1, further comprising: a spring (16) comprising a first face (end of spring 16 toward jam nut 8) and a second face (end of spring 16 toward 12) opposite the first face, wherein: the sleeve is connected to the first end of the core ring and extend axially outwardly from the first end of the core ring (fig 1 and 2, spring 16 extends from the first end of 12), and the second face of the spring is connected to the sleeve to urge the sleeve towards the pin (second face of 16 toward 12 pushes 12 toward 11/3).
Claim 12, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 11, further comprising: a nut slidably connected to the sleeve (jam nut 8 is connected to the sleeve 5), wherein: wherein the first face of the spring is disposed against the nut (spring 16 is against pushes against 8), and wherein axial movement of the nut along the sleeve urges the spring towards a compressed state or a decompressed state (nut 8 can be adjusted to change the compression bias of the spring 16, adjusting the spring compression meets under a BRI the claimed springs compression and decompression, pg 1, ln 75-80, pg 2 ln 95-107, 125-130).
Claim 13, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 1, further comprising: a cover plate (fig 2 and fig 4, escutcheon plate 20), wherein: the sleeve is connected to the first end of the core ring (the sleeve portion of 12 is at the first end) and extends axially outwardly from the first end of the core ring (fig 1 and 2 show 12 with the bore extending axially outward to allow shaft 9 to exit), and the sleeve is disposed through a hole in the cover plate (the sleeve portion of 12 holding shaft 9 goes through the bore in 12).
Annotations on Ewart fig 1 and fig 2
Alternative interpretation of Sleeve leads to this rejection:
Claim 1, Ewart discloses a tool (fig 1) comprising: a core ring (12) comprising a first end (part of 12 closest to spring 16) and a second end (fig 6, teeth of 12) disposed opposite the first end, wherein: an opening (fig 2, bore through 12 for shaft 9) is defined through the first end and the second end, and the core ring comprises a first radial engagement component (teeth on 12 radiate inward); a pin (3) comprising a shaft (3) having a first side (side of 3 closest to 12) and a second side (side of 3 closest to threads 30), wherein: the first side of the shaft is disposed at least adjacent the opening of the core ring (side of 3 closest to bore through 12), the pin further comprises a second radial engagement component (radial clutch teeth on 11) configured to engage with the first radial engagement component of the core ring (teeth on 11 and 12 are configured to engage as clutch faces), and the second side of the shaft extends axially outwardly from the second end of the core ring (second end of 3 with threads 30 extends axially away from 12; this is the same arrangement as applicant’s fig 2, 224 extending away from 204); and a sleeve (bore of 12 meets the plain meaning of sleeve because it fits over shaft 9) connected to the core ring (bore of 12 is connected to 12 and its teeth), wherein: the first side of the shaft of the pin (teeth on 11 connected to pin 3) is slidable with respect to the sleeve (teeth on 11/3 and teeth on 12 slide axially apart as the clutch, this is the same relationship as applicants fig 2 between pin 206 and core ring 204), the sleeve and the core ring together are axially shiftable relative to the pin (12 can slide relatively away from 11 in order to disengage the clutch), and at least a portion of the sleeve extends axially outwardly from the first side of the core ring (12 extends axially away from the teeth side of 12).)
Claim 7, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein: the second radial engagement component is engaged with the first radial engagement component (teeth of 11 and 12 are engaged) when the first side of the shaft of the pin is in a first position with respect to the sleeve (shaft 9 is slid relative to sleeve 5 to engage teeth of 11 and 12), the second radial engagement component is disengaged from the first radial engagement component when the first side of the shaft of the pin is in a second position with respect to the sleeve (shaft 9 is slid relative to sleeve 5 to disengage teeth of 11 and 12), and more of the first side of the shaft is engaged with the sleeve in the first position relative to the second position (the pin/shaft 3/9 has radial engagement portion 11; the teeth of 11 further into the corresponding teeth of sleeve 12 when engaged).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ewart in view of Pawlicki (US 2016/0375528).
Claim 9, Ewart discloses the tool of claim 8. Ewart does not disclose further comprising: a reciprocating pump connected the rotating mechanism.
Pawlicki discloses a barring tool system for reciprocating pump (pumps with reciprocating pistons have systems to rotate the crankshaft, called “barring” when the pump is not running, par 0002) and manual barring is still performed (par 0004).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the rotating mechanism of Ewart into the reciprocating pump of Pawlicki because doing so is a predictable use of the barring tool for its established function of turning a reciprocating piston pump. Examiner notes that applicant’s claims do not require any further structural distinction of the rotating mechanism of claim 1 beyond its normal use. Applicant has not claimed any structure of a reciprocating pump which would require any structural modification of the rotating mechanism of Ewart. Furthermore, there would be a benefit of combing the barring tool of Ewing with the reciprocating piston of Pawlicki because it results in the ability to look into the pump through various opening for inspection and maintenance (Pawlicki, par 0004).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pawlicki in view of Ewart.
Annotations on Ewart fig 1 and fig 2
Claim 14, Pawlicki teaches a device (fig 1, manual barring tool, par 0004; alternately a pinon device, par 0010) comprising a reciprocating pump (par 0002) comprising a pinion shaft (fig 6 and fig 7, retractable pinion 50); … where the pinon is axially shiftable (fig 6 and fig 7, par 0032).
Pawlicki is silent on a core ring comprising a first end and a second end disposed opposite the first end, wherein: an opening is defined through the first end and the second end, and the core ring comprises a first radial engagement component; a pin comprising a shaft having a first side and a second side, wherein: the first side of the shaft is disposed through the opening of the core ring, the pin further comprises a second radial engagement component configured to engage with the first radial engagement component, the second side of the shaft extends axially outwardly from the core ring, and the second side of the shaft of the pin is connected to the pinion shaft; and a sleeve connected to the first end of the core ring, wherein: the first side of the shaft of the pin is disposed at least partially inside the sleeve, the sleeve and the core ring together are axially shiftable relative to the pin, and the first side of the shaft of the pin is axially slidable inside the sleeve.
Ewart teaches a core ring (12) comprising a first end (part of 12 closest to spring 16) and a second end (fig 6, teeth of 12) disposed opposite the first end, wherein: an opening (fig 2, bore through 12 for shaft 9) is defined through the first end and the second end, and the core ring comprises a first radial engagement component (teeth on 12 radiate inward); a pin (3) comprising a shaft (3) having a first side (side of 3 closest to 12) and a second side (side of 3 closest to threads 30), wherein: the first side of the shaft is disposed through the opening of the core ring (side of 3 closest to bore through 12), the pin further comprises a second radial engagement component (radial clutch teeth on 11) configured to engage with the first radial engagement component of the core ring (teeth on 11 and 12 are configured to engage as clutch faces), the second side of the shaft extends axially outwardly from the core ring (second end of 3 with threads 30 extends axially away from 12; this is the same arrangement as applicant’s fig 2, 224 extending away from 204), and the second side of the shaft of the pin is connected to the pinion shaft; and a sleeve (bore of 12 meets the plain meaning of sleeve because it fits over shaft 9) connected to the first end of the core ring (bore of 12 is connected to 12 and its teeth), wherein: the first side of the shaft of the pin is disposed at least partially inside the sleeve (bore of 12 meets the plain meaning of sleeve because it fits over shaft 9), the sleeve and the core ring together are axially shiftable relative to the pin (12 can slide relatively away from 11 in order to disengage the clutch), and the first side of the shaft of the pin is axially slidable inside the sleeve (teeth on 11 connected to pin 3) is slidable with respect to the sleeve (teeth on 11/3 and teeth on 12 slide axially apart as the clutch, this is the same relationship as applicants fig 2 between pin 206 and core ring 204).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manual barring tool of Pawlicki with the manual barring tool of Ewart in order to manually conduct barring without removing the cowling to access the fly wheel, instead inserting the tool through the cowling and also control the applied torque with the spring (16), thereby preventing an over torque application for barring.
Claim 15, Pawlicki in view of Ewart teaches the device of claim 14, wherein: the second radial engagement component is engaged with the first radial engagement component when the first side of the shaft of the pin is in a first position inside the sleeve (Ewart, shaft 9 is in a first position when 11 and 12 of the clutch are engaged ), the second radial engagement component is disengaged from the first radial engagement component when the first side of the shaft of the pin is in a second position inside the sleeve (Ewart, 12 will shift axially on shaft 9 into a second position against the biasing spring 9 and thereby disengage on a different spot of shaft 9), and more of the first side of the shaft is disposed within the sleeve in the first position relative to the second position (on the teeth component 11 of shaft 9, more of the teeth of 11 are axially engaged within 12 when 11 and 12 are engaged in the first position).
Claim 16, Pawlicki in view of Ewart teaches the device of claim 15, further comprising a rotating mechanism connected to the pinion shaft (Ewart, handle 6), wherein: in the first position, the core ring, the sleeve, the pin, the pinion shaft and the rotating mechanism rotate together (Ewart, when the clutch is engaged its intended for the pieces to rotate together), and in the second position, the core ring and the sleeve are configured to turn freely around the first side of the shaft of the pin (Ewart, in the second position with the clutch 12 disengaged, the core ring and sleeve would turn without turning the other side of the clutch 11), and further the second side of the shaft of the pin, the pinion shaft, and the rotating mechanism are rotatable together (Ewart, the other side of the clutch is rotatable together during the barring operation).
Claim 17, Pawlicki in view of Ewart teaches the device of claim 14, further comprising: a spring (Ewart, spring 16) comprising a first face (first face of 16 toward nut 8) and a second face (second face toward 12) opposite the first face, wherein the second face is connected to the sleeve to urge the sleeve towards the pin (second face of 16 pushes 12 toward 11).
Annotations on Ewart figures 1 and 2
Claim 18, Pawlicki teaches a method of using a device (fig 1, manual barring tool, par 0004; alternately a pinon device, par 0010) wherein the device comprises a reciprocating pump (par 0002) comprising a pinion shaft (fig 6 and fig 7, retractable pinion 50); … where the pinon is axially shiftable (fig 6 and fig 7, par 0032).
Pawlicki is silent on a core ring comprising a first end and a second end disposed opposite the first end, wherein: an opening is defined through the first end and the second end, and the core ring comprises a first radial engagement component; a pin comprising a shaft having a first side and a second side, wherein: the first side of the shaft is disposed through the opening of the core ring, the pin further comprises a second radial engagement component configured to engage with the first radial engagement component, and the second side of the shaft extends axially outwardly from the core ring; and a sleeve connected to the first end of the core ring, wherein: the first side of the shaft of the pin is disposed at least partially inside the sleeve, the sleeve and the core ring together are axially shiftable relative to the pin, and the first side of the shaft of the pin is axially slidable inside the sleeve; wherein the method comprises: pressing the sleeve and the core ring together axially towards the pin until the first radial engagement component engages the second radial engagement component, and the pin extends axially further into the sleeve; and turning the sleeve radially, wherein turning the sleeve radially also radially turns the core ring, the pin, and the pinion shaft of the reciprocating pump.
Ewart teaches a core ring (12) comprising a first end (part of 12 closest to spring 16) and a second end (fig 6, teeth of 12) disposed opposite the first end, wherein: an opening (fig 2, bore through 12 for shaft 9) is defined through the first end and the second end, and the core ring comprises a first radial engagement component (teeth on 12 radiate inward); a pin (3 and 9) comprising a shaft (3 and 9 form the hand crank shaft) having a first side (9) and a second side (3), wherein: the first side of the shaft is disposed through the opening of the core ring (9 extends out of 12), the pin further comprises a second radial engagement component (radial clutch teeth on 11 are with pin 3) configured to engage with the first radial engagement component (teeth on 11 and 12 are configured to engage as clutch faces), and the second side of the shaft extends axially outwardly from the core ring (fig 2 shows how shaft 9 extends past the end of 12 and into 11; this is the same arrangement as applicant’s fig 2, 224 extending away from 204); and a sleeve (sleeve 5 meets the plain meaning of sleeve because it fits over shaft 9) connected to the first end of the core ring (sleeve 5 is connected to 12 via shaft 9 / spring 16), wherein: the first side of the shaft of the pin is disposed at least partially inside the sleeve (shaft 9 slides within sleeve 5), the sleeve and the core ring together are axially shiftable relative to the pin (sleeve 5 and 12 can slide relatively away from 11 in order to disengage the clutch), and the first side of the shaft of the pin is axially slidable inside the sleeve (shaft 9 slides within sleeve 5); wherein the method comprises: pressing the sleeve and the core ring together axially towards the pin until the first radial engagement component engages the second radial engagement component (shaft 9 is insert and 11 and 12 are engaged in order to cause rotation, pg 1, ln 75-80, pg 2 ln 95-107, 125-130), and the pin extends axially further into the sleeve (shaft 9 with teeth on 11 slides further into engagement with the teeth on 12); and turning the sleeve radially, wherein turning the sleeve radially also radially turns the core ring, the pin, and the pinion shaft (engagement of 11 and 12 allows rotation of all together).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manual barring tool of Pawlicki with the manual barring tool of Ewart in order to manually conduct barring without removing the cowling to access the fly wheel, instead inserting the tool through the cowling and also control the applied torque with the spring (16), thereby preventing an over torque application for barring.
Claim 19, Pawlicki in view of Ewart teaches discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: urging the sleeve axially away from the pin until the first radial engagement component is disengaged from the second radial engagement component (Ewart, pg 1, ln 75-80, pg 2 ln 95-107, 125-130 adjusting nut and jam nut 8 change the bias of spring 16), wherein, when the first radial engagement component and the second radial engagement component are disengaged (Ewart, when the clutch 11 and12 is disengaged, the crank rotates without rotating the pinon), the first side of the pin rotates freely within the sleeve as the pinion shaft rotates the pin (Ewart, when the clutch 11 and 12 are engaged, the turning the handle rotates the sleeve, pinon shaft and pin together).
Claim 20, Pawlicki in view of Ewart teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the device further comprises: a spring (Ewart, 16) comprising a first face (end of spring 16 toward jam nut 8) and a second face (end of spring 16 toward 12) opposite the first face, wherein the second face is connected to the sleeve to urge the sleeve towards the pin (second face of 16 toward 12 pushes 12 toward 11/3), and a nut disposed around the sleeve (jam nut 8 is connected to the sleeve 5), wherein the first face of the spring is disposed against the nut (spring 16 is against pushes against 8), and wherein the method further comprises one of: adjusting the nut axially towards the sleeve to compress the spring to urge the sleeve and the core ring axially inwardly until the first radial engagement component engages with the second radial engagement component (nut 8 can be adjusted to change the compression bias of the spring 16, adjusting the spring compression meets under a BRI the claimed springs compression and decompression, pg 1, ln 75-80, pg 2 ln 95-107, 125-130); and adjusting the nut axially away from the sleeve to decompress the spring to urge the sleeve and the core ring axially outwardly until the first radial engagement component disengages from the second radial engagement component (nut 8 can be adjusted to change the compression bias of the spring 16, adjusting the spring compression meets under a BRI the claimed springs compression and decompression, pg 1, ln 75-80, pg 2 ln 95-107, 125-130).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ewart (US 1,238,654) includes a cone clutch which is an obvious variation of applicant’s claimed cultch; a reversal of parts between the inner and outer cone would match the claim language.
McQuillin (US 6,595,090) a manual turning tool.
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746