DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,3, 8, 9, 11, 12, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, either alone or in combination does not expressly disclose all the limitations of the method and system of claims 1 and 10 in addition to the subject matter disclosed in claims 2,3, 8, 9, 11, 12, 17, and 18.
Claim 19 is objected to for containing allowable subject matter and would be in condition for allowance pending the formal requirements outstanding, for example, see below the outstanding rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and double patenting.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, either alone or in combination does not expressly disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 19.
Claim 20 is objected to for being dependent upon an already objected to claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 and 19 objected to because of the following informalities: the applicant recites “GUI” without first defining the acronym in the claim language. It is recommended to the applicant to amend claims 10 and 19 to define GUI as it is in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities: the applicant recites “IP Address” without first defining the acronym in the claim language. It is recommended to the applicant to amend claims 18 to define IP address as it is in claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,314,459. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn towards the protection of user data in a privacy zone wherein data is obfuscated and an analysis is made. See for example a comparison in the table below:
Instant Application 19/191,599
Patent No 12,314,459
1. (New) A method, the method comprising: receiving, via a user device, a control signal based on a determination that an object has been detected in a location in a sequence of a first plurality of images; based on the control signal, causing at least one action via the user device, the at least one action including modifying an output of a graphical user interface (GUI) to display obfuscated data instead of sensitive information; receiving, via the GUI, a user response associated with the obfuscated data; and based on the user response, initiating a fraud process for an account associated with the sensitive information.
2. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the object is no longer present in the location based on an analysis of a second plurality of images in the sequence of frames that are captured subsequent to the first plurality of images; bypassing an analysis of a third plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the second plurality of images based on a determination that the object is no longer present in the location; and causing to output a modified display including the sensitive information instead of the obfuscated data.
3. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, via a monitoring device, the control signal by :determining that the object is not present in the location based on an analysis of a second plurality of images, wherein the second plurality of images is captured prior to the first plurality of images, bypassing an analysis of a third plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the second plurality of images and prior to the first plurality of images based on a determination that the object is not present in the location, determining that the object is present in the location based on an analysis of a first plurality of images in the sequence of frames that are captured subsequent to the third plurality of images, and in response to a determination that the object is present, generating the control signal.
4. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the control signal further includes instructions for performing one or more of: causing a flashing screen on a graphical user interface (GUI) of the user device; generating a notification to a user of the user device; or initiating the fraud process.
5. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the notification to the user of the user device may be one or both of a sound notification or a haptic notification.
6. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising generating the obfuscated data by: analyzing the sensitive information to determine content; and generating the obfuscated data based on the content, such that the obfuscated data looks like the sensitive information.
7. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: caching the obfuscated data with at least one of associated time data, associated location data, or an associated image sequence , wherein: the time data include when the obfuscated data is used, the location data include where on a webpage the obfuscated data are displayed, and the associated image sequence includes the sequence of the first plurality of images wherein the object has been detected.
8. (New) The method of claim 7, further comprising: determining a fraudulent user in the sequence of the first plurality of images based on the user response and at least one of the time data, the location data, or the associated image sequence and an Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the fraudulent user.
9. (New) The method of claim 8, further comprising :upon determining the fraudulent user in the sequence of the first plurality of images, analyzing previously collected images to determine whether the fraudulent user is detected in the previously collected images; and upon detecting the fraudulent user in the previously collected images, storing the previously collected images associated with the fraudulent user with the cached the obfuscated data.
10. (New) A computer system, the computer system comprising: a memory storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform operations including: receiving, via a user device, a control signal based on a determination that an object has been detected in a location in a sequence of a first plurality of images; based on the control signal, causing at least one action via the user device, the at least one action including modifying an output of a GUI to display obfuscated data instead of sensitive information; receiving, via the GUI, a user response associated with the obfuscated data; and based on the user response, initiating a fraud process for an account associated with the sensitive information.
11. (New) The system of claim 10, the operations further comprising: determining that the object is no longer present in the location based on an analysis of a second plurality of images in the sequence of frames that are captured subsequent to the first plurality of images; bypassing an analysis of a third plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the second plurality of images based on a determination that the object is no longer present in the location; and causing to output a modified display including the sensitive information instead of the obfuscated data.
12. (New) The system of claim 10, the operations further comprising: generating, via a monitoring device, the control signal by: determining that the object is not present in the location based on an analysis of a second plurality of images, wherein the second plurality of images is captured prior to the first plurality of images, bypassing an analysis of a third plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the second plurality of images and prior to the first plurality of images based on a determination that the object is not present in the location, determining that the object is present in the location based on an analysis of a first plurality of images in the sequence of frames that are captured subsequent to the third plurality of images, and in response to a determination that the object is present, generating the control signal.
13. (New) The system of claim 10, wherein the control signal further includes instructions for performing one or more of: causing a flashing screen on a GUI of the user device; generating a notification to a user of the user device; or initiating the fraud process.
14. (New) The system of claim 13, wherein the notification to the user of the user device may be one or both of a sound notification or a haptic notification.
15. (New) The system of claim 10, the operations further comprising generating the obfuscated data by: analyzing the sensitive information to determine content; and generating the obfuscated data based on the content, such that the obfuscated data looks like the sensitive information.
16. (New) The system of claim 10, the operations further comprising: caching the obfuscated data with at least one of associated time data, associated location data, or an associated image sequence , wherein: the time data include when the obfuscated data is used, the location data include where on a webpage the obfuscated data are displayed, and the associated image sequence includes the sequence of the first plurality of images wherein the object has been detected.
17. (New) The system of claim 16, the operations further comprising: determining a fraudulent user in the sequence of the first plurality of images based on the user response and at least one of the time data, the location data, or the associated image sequence and an IP address associated with the fraudulent user.
18. (New) The system of claim 17, the operations further comprising: upon determining the fraudulent user in the sequence of the first plurality of images, analyzing previously collected images to determine whether the fraudulent user is detected in the previously collected images; and upon detecting the fraudulent user in the previously collected images, storing the previously collected images associated with the fraudulent user with the cached the obfuscated data.
19. (New) A method, the method comprising: receiving, via a user device, a control signal, the control signal having been generated by: determining that an object is not present in a location based on an analysis of a first plurality of images, bypassing an analysis of a second plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the first plurality of images based on a determination that the object is not present in the location, determining that the object is present in the location based on an analysis of a third plurality of images in the sequence of frames that are captured subsequent to the second plurality of images, and in response to a determination that the object is present, generating the control signal; based on the control signal, causing at least one action via the user device, the at least one action including one or more of: causing a flashing screen on a GUI of the user device, causing to output a notification to a user of the user device, or modifying an output of the GUI to display obfuscated data instead of sensitive information; receiving, via the GUI, a user response associated with the at least one action; and based on the user response, initiating a fraud process for an account associated with the sensitive information.
20. (New) The method of claim 19, wherein the at least one action includes modifying the output of the GUI to display the obfuscated data instead of the sensitive information, further comprising: determining that the object is no longer present in the location based on an analysis of a fourth plurality of images in the sequence of frames that are captured subsequent to the first plurality of images; bypassing an analysis of a fifth plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the third plurality of images based on a determination that the object is no longer present in the location; and causing to output a modified display including the sensitive information instead of the obfuscated data.
1. A device, comprising: a camera configured to capture a sequence of images in a location; a memory coupled to the camera to store the sequence of images; and a processor configured to: determine that an object is not present in the location based on an analysis of a first plurality of images in the sequence of images; bypass an analysis of a second plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the first plurality of images based on a determination that the object is not present in the location; determine that the object is present in the location based on an analysis of a third plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the second plurality of images; and in response to a determination that the object is present, generate a control signal, wherein the control signal is configured to cause the device to take an action.
2. The device of claim 1, wherein the control signal is configured to cause the device to display a flashing screen on a display device coupled to the memory.
3. The device of claim 1, wherein the control signal is configured to generate a user notification of the object.
4. The device of claim 1, wherein: the device has first information displayed on a display device before finding the object, and the control signal is configured to display second information different from the first information on the display device in response to finding the object.
5. The device of claim 4, wherein: the first information includes financial data, personal data, or health related data, and the second information includes fake data different from the first information.
6. The device of claim 4, wherein: the first information includes data displayed by an application software operated by the device, and the control signal is configured to cause the device to stop operation of the application software.
7. The device of claim 1, wherein the camera includes a front facing camera located in the device so that a user is within a line of sight of the front facing camera.
8. The device of claim 1, wherein to determine that the object is present in the location, the processor is configured to: detect a change between a first set of images in the third plurality of images captured during a first time period and a second set of images in the third plurality of images captured during a second time period, and the change represents an unauthorized person at the location or an unauthorized device at the location.
9. The device of claim 1, wherein the location comprises an area over a shoulder of a user or behind the user.
10. The device of claim 1, wherein the location comprises a privacy zone comprising an area around the device and a user of the device, the privacy zone being where data displayed on a display device of the device is viewable by an unauthorized person or an unauthorized device.
11. The device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether the camera is enabled or not; and upon a determination that the camera is not enabled, send a request to enable the camera.
12. A computer-implemented method, the method comprising: capturing, by a camera, a sequence of images in a location; determining, by a processor, that an object is not present in the location based on an analysis of a first plurality of images in the sequence of images; bypassing, by the processor, an analysis of a second plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the first plurality of images based on determining that the object is not present in the location; determining, by the processor, that the object is present in the location based on an analysis of a third plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the second plurality of images; and in response to finding the object, generating, by the processor, a control signal that causes a device to take an action.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the control signal causes the device to display a flashing screen on a display device.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the control signal generates a user notification of the object.
15. The method of claim 12, wherein: the device displays first information before finding the object, and the control signal causes second information to be displayed in response to finding the object.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein: the first information comprises financial data, personal data, or health related data, and the second information comprises fake data different from the first information.
17. The method of claim 15, wherein: the first information comprises data displayed by an application software operated by the device, and the control signal causes the device to stop operation of the application software.
18. The method of claim 12, wherein determining that the object is present in the location comprises: detecting a change between a first set of images in the third plurality of images and a second set of images in the third plurality of images, wherein the change indicates an unauthorized person or unauthorized device is located at the location.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: capturing a sequence of images in a location; determining that an object is not present in the location based on an analysis of a first plurality of images in the sequence of images; bypassing an analysis of a second plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the first plurality of images based on determining that the object is not present in the location; determining that the object is present in the location based on an analysis of a third plurality of images in the sequence of images that are captured subsequent to the second plurality of images; and in response to finding the object, generating a control signal that causes a device to take an action.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the control signal is configured to cause the device to display a flashing screen on a display device coupled to a memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, 10 and 19, the applicant recites “display obfuscated data instead of sensitive information,” which is indefinite as it is unclear whether the sensitive information is data contained withing the sequence of images or is the object location. It is recommended to the applicant to clarify if the object area contains sensitive information to be obfuscated or masked.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale as they do not cure the deficiencies of independent claims 1, 10 or 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yost (US 11,030,350) in view of Vaughan et al (US 2022/0188456).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Yost discloses a method and a computer system the computer system comprising: a memory storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform operations including [column 7 lines 65-column 8 lines 9, column 8 lines 31-37]:
receiving, via a user device, a control signal based on a determination that an object has been detected in a location in a sequence of a first plurality of images and based on the control signal, causing at least one action via the user device, the at least one action including modifying an output of a graphical user interface (GUI) to display obfuscated data instead of sensitive information action [column 8 lines 50-67];
Computing device 101 may be used to access a user's financial accounts, resulting in the output of information such as account numbers, balance information, and tax records. In such an example, this information may constitute sensitive data. Upon determining that computing device 101 is being operated in a public space, and the information being accessed or retrieved is sensitive data, such information may be hidden, masked, obfuscated, or otherwise secured for output. In such a non-limiting example, sensitive data can be output as modified sensitive item 106. In some non-limiting embodiments or aspects, such hiding, masking, obfuscation, or securing may be performed by software executing on computing device 101 to create modified sensitive item 106. In yet another non-limiting example, such hiding, masking, obfuscation, or securing may occur on a remote server that retrieves sensitive data such that when this server provides data to computing device 101, it has already been hidden, masked, obfuscated, or otherwise secured for output, as illustrated by modified sensitive item 106.
However, Yost does not expressly disclose but Vaughan et al discloses receiving, a user response associated with the obfuscated data; and based on the user response, initiating a fraud process for an account associated with the sensitive information [0011, 0032];
The detecting includes detecting at least two viewers at the viewing proximity location with respect to the screen, the determining whether the detected viewer is authorized includes determining whether a set of the at least two detected viewers is authorized, by comparing a combination of detected features of the at least two detected viewers to a plurality of multi-user set entries in the authorized user database and the instructions further include displaying the identified one or more secure content portions with obfuscation by default until all members of one of the multi-user set entries are detected at the viewing proximity location with respect to the screen, and obfuscating the identified one or more secure content portions in response to detection of an unauthorized viewer in addition to all members of the one of multi-user set entries.
Examiner’s note: Although Vaughan et al does not expressly disclose the use of a GUI, Yost discloses a GUI for which the user interacts with, see for example [column 6 lines 28-51].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to create the invention as claimed for the following reasons. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yost by receiving a user response, for the purpose of masking content until authorized users are within view, based upon the beneficial teachings provided by Vaughan et al, see for example [0011]. These modifications would result in ease of use and increased security, both of which are obvious benefits to the skilled artisan. Additionally, the cited references are in the field of computer security, as is the current application, and thus, are in analogous arts.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Yost and Vaughan et al discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 12 and 19. Yost further discloses wherein the control signal further includes instructions for performing one or more of: causing a flashing screen on a graphical user interface (GUI) of the user device; generating a notification to a user of the user device; or initiating the fraud process [column 9 lines 6-27];
upon determining that computing device 101 is being operated in a public space and that the output of sensitive data is requested, computing device 101 may adjust the visibility of display 103, by dimming its brightness or a back-light associated therewith to render it less visible to unintended observers within a viewing distance (i.e. FLASHING and/or NOTIFYING). In some non-limiting embodiments or aspects, computing device 101 may dynamically adjust the viewing cone on display 103, such that the angles and directions at which display 103 can be observed by other entities in proximity to computing device 101 is substantially reduced. In some non-limiting embodiments or aspects, computing device 101 may select a different or more secure output mechanism, such as dynamically selecting to output audible sensitive information via headphones instead of using speaker 104 or display 103, given that such output techniques are less likely to be intercepted or observed by unintended recipients.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Yost and Vaughan et al discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 12 and 19. Yost further discloses wherein the notification to the user of the user device may be one or both of a sound notification or a haptic notification[column 9 lines 6-27];
upon determining that computing device 101 is being operated in a public space and that the output of sensitive data is requested, computing device 101 may adjust the visibility of display 103, by dimming its brightness or a back-light associated therewith to render it less visible to unintended observers within a viewing distance. In some non-limiting embodiments or aspects, computing device 101 may dynamically adjust the viewing cone on display 103, such that the angles and directions at which display 103 can be observed by other entities in proximity to computing device 101 is substantially reduced. In some non-limiting embodiments or aspects, computing device 101 may select a different or more secure output mechanism, such as dynamically selecting to output audible sensitive information via headphones instead of using speaker 104 or display 103, given that such output techniques are less likely to be intercepted or observed by unintended recipients (i.e., SOUND notification).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Yost and Vaughan et al discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 12 and 19. Yost further discloses generating the obfuscated data by: analyzing the sensitive information to determine content; and generating the obfuscated data based on the content, such that the obfuscated data looks like the sensitive information [column 7 lines 38-48, column 8 lines 50-67];
“Sensitive information” or “sensitive data” may include any information that is private or secret in nature, which, if compromised could be used by unauthorized parties to access accounts, funds, and credit associated therewith, health or tax information, or, may also include information, which, if revealed to others, might result in embarrassment or concern. Sensitive information may also include personally identifiable information, account numbers, an account balance, an identification number, a password, a PIN, or a photograph…. In such an example, this information may constitute sensitive data. Upon determining that computing device 101 is being operated in a public space, and the information being accessed or retrieved is sensitive data, such information may be hidden, masked, obfuscated, or otherwise secured for output.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Yost and Vaughan et al discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 12 and 19. Yost does not expressly disclose but Vaughan et al further discloses caching the obfuscated data with at least one of associated time data, associated location data, or an associated image sequence , wherein :the time data include when the obfuscated data is used, the location data include where on a webpage the obfuscated data are displayed, and the associated image sequence includes the sequence of the first plurality of images wherein the object has been detected [0035, fig 1];
FIG. 1 illustrates an example process for automated viewpoint detection and screen obfuscation of secure content. At 104, control begins by identifying secure content areas of a document. For example, a document displayed on the screen may include various text portions, graphical images or videos, etc., and control may identify which portions of the document contain secure content that should be protected from unauthorized viewing (for example, by consulting a document properties database the stores details about documents such as locations of secure content within the documents). Secure content may include PHI/PII data, sensitive financial information, etc.
The motivation to combine is the same as disclosed in point (24) above
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Holz (WO 2014/0200589): System and methods for locating objects within a region of interest involve, in various embodiments, scanning the region with light of temporally variable direction and detecting reflections of objects therein; positional information about the objects can then be inferred from the resulting reflections.
/KENDALL DOLLY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436