Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-15 are allowable over the prior art.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose a coupling assembly comprising a coupler body and a post rotatable with respect to the coupler body, and a tether rotatably coupled to the first tissue engagement member via the coupling assembly.
Claims 3, 6, 7, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon overcoming the double patenting rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the connection member comprises a post member and an attachment member, the post member extends through the coupler body and is rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the post member and the coupler body, and the attachment member is coupled to the tissue engagement member.
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the tissue engagement member has a first end and a second end, the tether is coupled to the second end of the tissue engagement member and extends longitudinally therefrom, and the tether and the tissue engagement member are rotatable about a longitudinally extending post coupled between the tether and the tissue engagement member.
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the tether is tubular and defines a lumen therein, and a portion of the coupler body is extended into the lumen of the tether.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,208,219. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and granted patent disclose a tissue retraction device extending along a longitudinal axis and comprising, a first tissue engagement member having a first end configured to engage tissue, a coupling assembly, and a tether coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member via the coupling assembly; wherein the first tissue engagement member is rotatably coupled to the tether, the coupling assembly comprises a coupler body and a connection member, the tether is coupled to the coupler body, the connection member is coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member, and the connection member and the coupler body are rotatable with respect to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0237768 to Heftman in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0124962 to Gordin et al.
As to Claim 1, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device (650, Fig. 7b) extending along a longitudinal axis (along 655, Fig. 7b). The device comprises a first tissue engagement member (537), an elongatable member (including 655 and 656, [0187]), and a coupling assembly (657) comprising a coupler body and a connection member (see Fig. 7b, below) rotatable with respect to each other (rotation described in 0192]). The elongatable member (including 655 and 656, [0187]) is coupled to the coupler body (Fig. 7b, [0192]), and the tissue engagement member (537) is coupled to the connection member (seen in Fig. 7b, [0192]).
As to Claim 2, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the first tissue engagement member (537) is coupled to the elongated member (including 655 and 656) to be rotatable about the longitudinal axis of the tissue retraction device via the coupling assembly (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]).
As to Claim 4, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the coupler body and the connection member (Fig. 7b) are rotatable with respect to each other about a longitudinal axis of the coupling assembly (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]).
As to Claim 5, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the first tissue engagement member (537) has a second end extending in a direction away from the first end (towards 655, “medially,” Fig. 7B), and the elongatable member (655, 656) is rotatably coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member (at 657, rotation described in 0192]).
As to Claim 16, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device (650, Fig. 7b). The device comprises a first tissue engagement member (537), a coupling assembly (657), and a tubular elongated member (including 655 and 656, [0187]) coupled to the first tissue engagement member (637) via the coupling assembly (657) to be rotatable about a longitudinal axis thereof and with respect to the first tissue engagement member (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]).
As to Claim 17, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the coupling assembly (657) comprises a coupler body and a connection member (see Fig. 7b, below) rotatable with respect to each other (rotation described in 0192]).
As to Claim 18, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the coupler body and the connection member (Fig. 7b) are rotatable with respect to each other about a longitudinal axis of the coupling assembly (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]).
As to Claim 19, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the first tissue engagement (537) member and the tubular elongated member (including 655 and 656, [0187]) are longitudinally rotatable with respect to each other (rotation described in 0192]).
As to Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 16-19, Heftman discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the elongatable member is a tether, wherein the first tissue engagement member has a first end movable between a first configuration and a second configuration, wherein the first end includes first and second members extending therefrom and movable with respect to each other to move the first tissue engagement member between a first configuration and a second configuration.
Gordin discloses a tissue retraction device (100) including first (101) and second (102) tissue engagement members. The first and second tissue engagement members are coupled to an elastic member/tether (103, seen in Fig. 17, [0144, 0146]). A first end (at 1011) of the tissue engagement member is movable between a first configuration and a second configuration (opening and closing described in [0105]). A first end (near ref. 2001, Fig. 2B) can include first and second members (2005, 2006) extending therefrom and movable with respect to each other to move the first tissue engagement member between a first configuration and a second configuration [0116-0118] in order to allow for ease of connection with the target tissue [0116-0120], while providing rotational mobility of the device [0074].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the tissue retraction device of Heftman with the tether member and first and second moveable members modifications of Gordin in order to allow for ease of connection with the target tissue, while providing rotational mobility of the device.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775